(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Hi Hazel, Catherine,

When i had epi below my waist down was numb but still felt abit contractions but i didn't ask for more epi. The only pain is when my gal push against my ribs ah, then one really pain so told the midwife and she helped to shift the pillow underneath my right to left and then pain immediately went off. Oh i bottle of epidural last 6hrs now i know why hb says i used only 1/2 bottle.

Bbliss, I also have long meetings so long as my big boss is inside. That's y I always want to have gd breakfast b4 I step into office. Without that I will faint. Big boss is a lady so she gets hungry v easily. Thankfully we dun stretch beyond 1.30pm or past 7.30pm. Like I want to try without epi too. My hb din object but my gynae scare I can't take it. Now I go with an open mind take or not take ... C my luck that day ba...

Hazel I juz saw lavish website v tempting!! Juz printed out to show my hb tonight. I can't take the jap menu. Will b killed by my dad

Hello hello!
I'm seeing dr loh now. I hope don't have to wait for 3 hrs again! Just now went admission counter and they told me apart from the form I submitted, no need doc endorsement or what leh. On day of admission, just go straight to delivery ward, they will call dr loh and husband do the rest of paperwork. Hmmmm. Hazel - u mentioned dr loh gave you admission letter before?!
I wonder what's bb weight.. Read some other mommies at 31 wks baby is 2kg! Haha

Vann - yes I'm easily tired now. Walked for 10min and can feel my lower belly cramping and hardening for about an hour. No energy too until ytd then I could do some baby related stuff! Did yoga today and we did relaxing postures and alignment which felt really shiok! About 40 days left to go! Woohooo... Got to let cot breathe and sun mattress soon!

Chris baby - I'm here. Haha been sick lately with another round of fever, flu, cough on Sunday so have been taking drowsy med and catching up on sleep since now I wake up about 3 times every night

Bbliss - how was yr visit on tues?!

Re. Carriers - yea I heard good feedback on manduca too! Ergonomic for both baby and parent!

Kimmy, nice to hear from u...me too my stomach feels tight...getting more and more scared...jus telling baby to stay there till 37 weeks.
Bbliss...I am 32 weeks+ now...the last time at 31 weeks baby was weighing 1.9kg...I heard they put on most weight in the last 1 and half months.

Vann - 1.9kg?! Wow that's good! I haven't been able to eat well so I can only hope bb is growin well
the seats here at loh clinic are uncomfy! My butt hurts even after a short while! Yay dr loh just walked back in his scrubs. Keke. I wanna see him soooooon!!! Yea I got worried at the tightening and told little man - pls cooperate and stay in there till 37 weeks kay!! Also been trying to fit in misc stuff for baby these days

kimmy...i haven't even bought anything...diezz...this weekend must settle the cot first...don worry baby will grow well...update us k

Kimmy, no other admission letter. But when I was admitted nurse asked me for dr's memo on my medical info, eg med that I m taking, dosage, etc etc.. I said dun hv. The nurse at labour ward said usually will hv n I hv to bring along at pt of admission...

Catherine, your gynae got give u this dr memo?

Hazel, Bbliss, just wondering what's the purpose of baby carrier if can also push around in prams, any difference in functions?

Hazel - thanks for clarifying cuz the admission lady confirmed that I didn't need anything else. Hmmmm...

Tromso - for me bb carrier is when I go out alone for a short while and too lazy to lug the pram along.. Haha I'm lazy!

Hi Chrisl, I'm thinking of getting the medela breast pump from forum Wong Leng Leng, quite substantial savings it seems.

To date I've put on 1kg since BFP, quite a relief cos only started to gain weight during these 2 weeks, hope it's the start of good sign
But hor, I put on about 2kg during IVF cos I was BMI 18 then, so now BMI 19. Means can't wear most of my clothes now, just making do with the few larger size ones

Really pulling hair as to when should start shopping for new clothes, maybe after week 20 scan cos my friend was saying she changed dress sizes 2-3 times during pregnancy and I don't wish to buy clothes so often.

I'm observing more changes in my body this week, (some a bit worrying) not sure if it's cos ive just graduated from first trimester, will fire away my questions when I see dr Loh later.

Oh, was going to say, Chrisl, I think as long as you try to stay away from excessively sugar, you should be fine
The book says for above BMI 25 (I think), ideal weight gain about 10 kg. Luckily you are not in Singapore, no carrot cake and fried kway tiao temptations hee....

I just visited my cousin in law, delivered 3 mths ago. She put on 22kg but mainly due to consuming excessive sugar/ sweets cos she couldn't tolerate the metallic taste in her mouth (until 7th month for her).

Then I've suddenly realized I'm not taking sweets now cos don't get metallic taste in mouth anymore, phew!! My recent favorite is homemade lime juice with little honey, craving for sour now
I find that it breaks the indigested feeling very well too.

Thanks for explaining Kimmy. My parents' place have a baby carrier, but it's only used as a play thing rocking bed for sister's 1 yr old now...lol... Not used outdoor before.

Hmm...my appointment with dr Loh is tonight, hope you won't be there anymore...

Vann and bbliss - dr loh said seeing me in 3 weeks?! Thought now is every 2 weeks... Hmm is your next appt like that too? The screen super dark today I cld barely make anything out but happy baby gained weight as I haven't been eating much. 2.15kg today

Tromso - hehe I just left. Oh goodness imagine if I'm still there, lol. He still can joke earlier he meant to see me earlier... Ha ha! Hmm for me carrier was V useful for me last time as I walked ard with my godson waiting for him to fall asleep or just to carry him for walks without needing to bring the pram :p

Congrats Kimmy, finally outta the cage
I'm bringing 2 magazines there to read later.

Ohh...baby carrier you are talking about is the harness/ clothe that supports fr your shoulder? I thought it's the plastic one (with cushion inserts) that's to be carried on 1 hand (with a handle), like a vege basket, bit like a rocker.

Yep, if it's the harness/ clothe you are talking about, I think it's very handy, especially don't wish to lug the pram around. My sis bb refuses to use the pram now cos can't see the surroundings clearly, so they are using clothe carrier simultaneously with pram when shopping with baby

Kimmy...dr loh seeing me in 3 weeks time too...I was exactly like u I thought he would see me in 2 weeks time too...wow 2.15kg...he has crossed the 2kg mark...great he's growing well

Kimmy, glad to hear fr u again. Tot u mia... Haha.

Yup, mi oso seeing dr loh in 3 weeks time. I told him huh nt 2 weeks ah, he laughed saying 3 weeks is ok ah. Did Dr loh say yr bb is big ? Coz he said wk 32, e wt shld be 2kg. Haha...

Tromso, I tot of getting a bb carrier is becoz so tat when I go nearby run errands or marketing, I can carry her ard using carrier n not nid push pram. I nt getting those clothes slinger but those carrier which look wat hazel has posted. Juz thinking wat brand to get. Tat's one brand bjorn oso quite recommended

Btw, kimmy n vann, haf u gals decide on which rm to take ?

Hazel and kimmy, I was told to bring my gynae record card to hospital can already. The clinic also staple my $450 receipt there. Now I put in my bag daily.

I have cramp since 8am this morning and feeling to puke. But I got no show nor waterbag leakage. I will b scolded if i go to tmc ....

Kimmy, u should c how my boss handle my stuff. One word horrible. I have to scoop dirt and s. I wish I m giving birth the next day!

I forgot at week 30 how heavy is my gal. Gg home now to check.... I remember at week 34 she is 2.4kg. Week 30 should b 1.8kg. Ya I agree we should control sugary food. Better for both bb and us. But b4 I step into tmc
Delivery ward I will drink ice milo, and bubble tea. 1 mth can't drink leh...

Omg my hr mgr juz told me my bb infant care has a q now!!!!! Lucky I book early

Hihi, visited gynae yesterday n bb was 2.2kg according to doc. Look like my bb is big as i only 31wks tis wk. Dpc din sau much so guess everythink ok :) my appt now is 2 wks later. I m doing a counting of wks n realised will b deluvering in 7 wks time! Omg, like very fast but happy will b seeing my gal soon.

meryl Thanks for the offer, you're so sweet
but after much discussion with my hb yesterday, the chances of me going back is very very slim now for this year..cos the airtix price is = to some of the bb things combined, so we decided that we'll get our bb stuffs in sweden instead cos they're much cheaper + the material is more suitable for the nordic cold weather --ie. Merino Wool or fleece. Well, except for the medela breast pump. I still hv to recki and find out more..cos the US set that tan leng leng is selling might not be suitable here (voltage wise) though it's considerably cheaper..and it'll take long time b4 reaching me cos my sis will be here in another 4 weeks! So if touchwood kenna spoilt set then return will be a headache..wah so many east area ladies here
) sometime next year sure to organise a bb playgroup meet up!!!

Tromso As i told meryl just now, though it's cheaper to get from lengleng, i'll probably make a pass after the discussion with hb yesterday..cos of many reasons(see above)..But for you gals in SG it might be a very good idea to buy from her! But i'll get bb stuffs like super cutie rompers or cutie korean clothes from online sprees! see here!! http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/6659067.html?1328698760

yeah lucky not in sg cos i'll be sure very very tempted to buy lots of snacks in between meals lol i am a foodie!

Hi hazel,

my gal appetite coming bk now, she drinking 120ml milk, my BM not able to satisfy her ah so told CL to give her FM instead if my BM not enough.

Tromso - how's your visit? hope u didn't have to wait long :p yeah carrier is the one from the shoulders. You referring to the maxi cosi type with handle over ah...I used to think that's a carrier too until some shops told me that's called a convertible car seat carrier. Hehe..

Bbliss - yeah didn't come online as I made myself bed rest due to the horrible cough and throat. I felt terrible since Sunday and can only take piriton and cough mixture every night to let myself get at least 3-4 hours undisturbed sleep before I start waking up to throw out phlegm. haha yah I also ask dr Loh 3 weeks??? then he said..yah la 3 weeks..all is okay what? Most likely I'd take same room as hazel & vann also...

Vann - I checked with my other friends and they mentioned 35 wks onwards is 2 weeks, then week 37 is every week. lol. Yah I was wondering if can pass 2kg mark initially and how is that even possible?!

tzac - sounds like you got a chubby bub in the tummy
Wow, seeing gynae in 2 weeks' time..nice!!! Can see girl girl again.

Catherine - I still can't fathom why your boss is like that. I hope you deliver soon so that you can get out of this whole work stress thingy. Can't imagine how you can tahan..ahah I read your situation already feel angry for u. Just ensure you have a good rest once delivery okay. Time you took care of yourself & your gal...

chris baby > thanks! yeah, recovery is very slow (sigh) but happy that at least fever left me, cough also getting lesser and flu too. Phew. I told husband I only wish at labour Im not sick, otherwise every time I cough and sneeze, will leak urine then very sian since can't wear underwear = can't wear those poise urinary leak pads. LOL. Glad to hear you are coping well too....

chrisl - hehe I wld think that in europe, breast pumps wld be cheaper than sg :p as well as cute clothing's! since I've been ordering a lot of mother care UK stuff too...those sleep suits are tooooo cute :p

hazel - i asked dr loh about the memo and he said don't have leh. Hahah maybe he forgot. Shall ask him next visit again.
Also for the accumulation of receipts right, so far I only saw him 3 times = $298. Don't know by time I deliver can hit the minimum amt to claim $400 from medisave a not...

Hi Hazel,

guess what? all the new pampers newborn are snapped up in the NTUC. i am very surprised. hahahaha

Hi Chrisbaby, does your gynae prescribe you with medicine that helps to reduce contraction huh? cos dr loh even said that with adeyomoysis might result in early pre term labour.

oh yes ladies, do you all tink is too early to stock up all those baby detergent and soap and wipes if you are giving birth in July huh? cos i tot might be too tired by then to buy.

also for the newborn diapers, like the offer, how many packets should we buy? roughly how many diapers a new born use per day huh?

Kimmy, If in labour pain & dr loh is out of SG (like my case), how are we going to tell the ward medicine what medicine, the dosage we r on & if we are allergic to any medicine? Like me, I was on aspirins & BP medicine.. All these will interfere with epidural.. Worse if c section. I was not in pain then,, but if I was, I dun think I can tell the ward nurses when they asked me... The labour ward nurse asked me for dr memo with all these information... Maybe u post the qn back to dr loh.. Under that circumstances how? His cover will know nothing too.

wanna to share that NLB is giving out a very nice baby journal coupled with a music CD with poetry,songs etc. there is also a growth chart. it is free. pls go and collect from any NLB library
is not displayed at the rack.

Sunbelle, sold out to pp like me loh... 9am plus, my mum grabbed the last 8 packs on the rack! Haha.. Belle uses 7-8 diapers a day! If she is on complete breast milk, it cld be more!!

Hazel - u got a valid point that's why I was surprised when Dr Loh didn't say anything when I told him what the lady at pre-admission told me. Maybe today he got too many things to rush and thought next visit can cover. But I'd be sure to insist on a memo or something. Thanks for the heads-up!

Sunbelle - eheh never to early to start i feel. Its true, now as I looked around for the detergent I want, I can feel the strain easily just after 10min of walking. So good to get while you can so you can at least cross an item off your list of things to do right?
newborn diapers, I bought a pack which comes in 90 pcs first and then see how. Cuz I understand some babies progress from NB to S size very quickly so don't stock up on too many.

Pampers new born is for bb up to 5kg. Will take bb a mth at least to reach 5 kg.. Unless the bb is born heavy weight. New born uses alot of diapers a day... Even more if on breast milk.. Belle can poo every 3 hourly feed.. And some times, change diaper already, She poo again!!

l am glad I didn't use cloth diapers... If not, can faint, no plce to hang also! New born can also change a few set of clothes a day coz they wet themselves from milk during feeding...

Hazel, u so kiasu. Buy 8 at 1 go? Luckily u not staying near me. I will go grab after work tomorrow. I will buy liquid detergent too all put on trolley and push to my house myself heehee....

Thx sun belle, another task for me tomorrow after work. Not display on rack then take from who?

Kimmy, I remember I was seeing my gynae every 2 weeks once I reach 28 weeks leh. Did u know even medication also can claim?

Hazel and Chris, what bb wash brand r u using for yr gals?

Now I m praying that there is bed for me at tmc. Read in another chatroom, situation is v bad at tmc. Will ask my gynae and her nurses on sat...

Catherine, For washing bb clothes, m using pigeon powder.

For washing of milk bottles, pacifiers, pumps, i use pigeon veg n fruit wash - mdm Wong said can use mama lemon! This one run out v fast, so no matter wat brands u buy, pls buy more refill pack.. Non pigeon brand, ntuc got sale also

I saw dr Loh at 2 wks interval from 31w, then 1 wk interval at 35w.. But then coz of my m/c, he monitored me v closely to avoid any mishap..

Hi Hazel and Kimmy,

Thank you so much for sharing the pointers hahaha
really learnt a lot from you all.

Since the fair is til 22 Feb, so guess they will stock up the pampers again. The pigeon brand hand n mouth wipes are also wipe out. None left.

I jus had a bad dream of helping mum in scolding. yeah yesterday my niece high fever n parents closed shop to go n help. then my sis in law apparently not sure issit bad temper from lack of sleep ordered mum around n mum help to do lots of households chores n even slice fish. But sis in law insist the fish to be sliced til very very thin so mum's hand at risk. My mum was crying when she talk to me over the Fone. I m pretty upset cos my elder bro is oversea that why my parents help out. I did not go over cos I m afraid of catching the virus. yeah my mum cried n cried. Can tell she is super upset. luckily my Mum say she has her own house n did not live with them. in my dream I help mum to scold n I believe if chances arise,I felt like telling my sis in law off. Mum told me not to tell my elder bro but I felt justice to be done at times. mum say luckily got us etc.

Sign.. My sis in law quite petty n always threw temper cos she grew up in rich family. I frankly also experience her bad face over minor things. so I tell mum to distance from her. Not worth you having to go so near to a bomb. my elder bro did ask her to give me some baby CDs n she say my two nieces aged 7 n 9 are still listening. To me, a group of my good frens cannot wait to pass me baby tins but sometimes own family people dun expect too muchie. not sure how u all handle your sis in law but mi told parents to stay off her.

Sorrie for using this avenue to let out. I realise I always dream of the tin I do before I sleep hahaha like maybe the scene which I watch from TVB etc hahaha ...

Going back to catch some sleep

Catherine,

If I m not wrong, each NTUC display certain quatity each day. Since the fair is til 22 feb, I believe they have to honor the prices til then. Go at 8am when first open. sure have I think.

Hi sunbelle
Yes, i agree with what Kimmy say on not to buy too many diapers as maybe due to my son is big when born, he weighs 3.7kg.. And because we use cloth diapers during confinement stage so my boy use less than 1pkt of NB pamper n hv to change to small size very soon.. So u can buy one pack stand by first if gonna use cloth diapers.. Else if u gonna use pamper all the way like hazel then u can buy more packs..;)

Hi amelia
My edd is one mth later than u.. So nice to hear fr u again.. Wonder where is moomoo?? Happy for u too.. Hv u start buy bb stuffs?

Finally is friday.. This week seems long.. Maybe due to full 5 day workdays.. So sleepy everyday..

Hi faithfully
Update us ur scan later and maybe ur bb sex..;)

Hi seniors
Usually at what week then doc Loh willing to check ur bb sex? Must we wait till detAil scan then know??

Sunbelle, mayb yr sil wants to keep for her 3rd kid??

I was v emo this morning. Cried in my car as my gal moved. Told my gal I m seeing her via scan in 24 hours more and in person 19 more days. Hb was shocked that i cried and ask me y. I said waited so long. Now final days... He only said ya then no need to suffer. Actually it's not the suffering. It's the wait. I waited for this child for 3 yrs plus. I guess only u ladies understand how I feel now.

J03, if bb's position is right &!dr Loh can see, he will tell u bb's gender. He told me before detailed scan.. He suspected is a bb girl even though her position was not right.. Once u hit 16w, u can ask him during scan If he can see the gender.

Thks Hazel.. Besides bb sex, i wish he can see my both twin nose bridge clearly in my next scan too.. Healthy most impt to me than anything else..

Oh ya, Happy Birthday to U!! Ya, u got the best present and both of you can celebrate birthday together next time since fall on same mth..;)

Hi Catherine

I understand dearly how u feel as i waited for 7-8yrs!! Think i will cry happily on the day i carry them healthily in my arms..

Happy Birthday Hazel...!!! Yes indeed, best birthday gift in the whole world

Heee...my birthday is next week and hubby wishes to do a more than me-and-him celebration, but I'm quite a wet blanket this year, I think just pregnancy hormones. Hope it's nothing I need to help coordinate.

Kimmy, I asked dr Loh's receptionist yesterday about the frequency of visits (cos trying to determine if worthwhile to take up package). She says intervals of 4 weeks from week 20 to week 32, then week 35 visit, week 36 visit, week 37 visit, etc. Btw, is it standard to visit once in 4 weeks in 2nd trimester? I thought it's 3 weeks interval....