(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Chrisbb and hazel, u gals r scaring me by yr breathlessness and stamina. So far at week 32.5 I m still ok though I dislike getting off my car and bed. I still walk at my 2nd trimester speed. Hope to stay like that till I deliver. Cross finger

Din know sg ppl so kiasu and kiasi. DBS bank has lots of ppl. Blame on my laziness I din wake up early to change my passbook now the bank is so crowded. At least 50 ppl in the q. Everywhere is so crowded neighborhood shops so crowded. Ppl juz grab things as if there is no tomorrow. Sigh....

Catherine, all coz of the atm theft in malaysia! My dad queued for hrs to change new notes for cny for me yesterday!

Not everyone will get breathlessness. End of the day, is our own fitness Level. Even pelvic pain, I only get once in a blue moon.. Not so often like Chris.. So, u dun worry...

oh hazel,

our practise is wear new clothes when bb discharge then before u place bb on bb cot, mil's fren taught me to place the other way ie bb's head at the foot of the cot instead for a while before placing it back the right position. Tat way bb will be good and sleep all the way.
6551485.gif

my sil just warned me to look out for contractions, like pulling pain around pelvic area also could be contractions as that time tat was her case. btw u mentioned u dilated very fast last round, how many hrs?

What CNY goodies should we avoid? Can we eat pineapple tart, love letters, cookies??? Goodies wif coconut, can we eat?

Chris, ur mil way I first time hear abt it... But the wear hand me down clothes during discharge, a few told me already. My beautican who is in her 40s also told me to listen n just do!

I was induced. Was told need at least 3-4 tablets, at an interval of a few hrs. So, was told abt 12 hrs.. I was only given oral pain killers. Dr told me if I cannot take the labour pain, tell him m will give me something else.. Hubs was worrying how I m going to take the 12 hrs of pain.... Well, it only took one insert for me to be fully dilated... 1.5 hrs of labour pain...

Qin, can lah.. All cooked n baked already.. Where got cooling?! U try eating alot n see if u fall sick from sore throat or fever or not? Confirmed will, if so, how can they be cooling?! All these goodies are heaty!

Hi Joanne, my bb is growing well. Today is 11w6d at 53mm. Wah is tomorrow 12w Liao ? So happy
. Heard the heartbeat just now, loud n clear. My Oscar is on 17 Jan, next wk fully book already. Dr Loh said as long as not over 18 Jan is okay. I hv applied for FBI, bcos I think it's quite worth it. He said my tummy skin is very good n ask me if I apply any stretch mark cream. I told him Clarins brand. He said okay.

Gosh, waited for him for 2 hrs today. Extremely packed when I reach there. All seats are full, front of counter is full of ppl waiting too, even outside also lots of ppl waiting. He said he can't manage if every Sat like that. He will change the clinic operating hrs to Mon-Fri only. No more Sat. He said he doesn't feel good to see so many ppl not getting seats at all. He is extremely tired today but still sound cheerful hehe.

Hi Cherrie, I have MS for the past few weeks. Every morning I will vomit n night time vomit after dinner around 2-3 times a week. Dr said it's normal n will be over after 1st tri. It's true. This morning I didn't vomit at all n also last nite. I felt good yesterday, no giddy too. I was a bit worry this morning bcos my symptoms seem disappearing one by one. But after saw the bb growing well, I'm relieved now. So no need to worry if u hv ms all the time during first tri. Just try to rest more. Jia you

Something just come across my mind.. Dr Loh now does Ivf procedures in novena centre right? Usu in the morning till abt 11am he is there.. Wat if emergency c section or natural delivery... At a time where he is at novena centre? Can he rush bk in time TMC to deliver for us? In KKH, KKIVF n the delivery wards are just within walking distance, he can easily walk from 1 place to another.. But now novena centre he still needs to drive over.. How ah like this?

Hi Baby love, you might want to check with your gynae. Sorry, r u the one who pm me? I think I missed your post earlier so didn't know your nick when u pm me

I hv replied you

Hi baby
Glad to know that ur baby is doing so well.. Wah.. 53mm.. Thats fast..;) saw baby head hand n leg clearly now right? ya, their oscar test date super pack, infact, nurse say squeeze me in else no more slot.. So coincidence, me oso doing test on 17th jan.. Wht time is ur appointment? U r lucky tt they can still squeeze u in..;) How much is ur oscar test gonna be?
We r still considering whether to sign up sbi (i can only hv sbi though i request fbi as want to hv the three bk instead of only one bk) but they say cannot as already hv one kid.. my hubby say since i want doc Loh to deliver then most probably will sign on 17th jan.. Btw, wht vitamins r u prescribe now? Did doc loh say u can stop duphaston already? When is ur next apptment with doc Loh? U r so lucky tt hv coming to an end for ur ms.. Me still same.. No appetite for dinner.. Btw, since ur bb so big now, is ur tummy showing, wearing maternity wear already?

Hi hazel,

that was really fast, my fren waited 24hrs before full dilation. She has to deliver her bb at 5mths (its case of abortion) cos bb's spine not developing. She didn't take any pain killer throughout as KK don't allow her to. i felt the pain for her when she told me abt the ordeal.
My sil's gf dilated during her 5mth and was given medication to stop the contraction. And when she was in her labour during full term, she dilated really fast so no need epidural. Like my boss's wifey also dilated full within 2 hrs for her 1st bb so no need epidural, and 2nd bb, she delivered in 45mins just when her gynae rushed in the ward. Everything was really chop chop for her.
6551735.gif

i had a chat with my sil, and she told me she was so traumatised during her labour 1mth+ ago tat she told me she'll definitely opt for knife instead of induce. She mentioned she had contractions like 15-20mins apart the day she was warded and she only dilated 1cm at 8am, then dr went to induce her and she was in horrible pain till 1pm where she can't tahan anymore and asked for epi, and she only dilated 7cm at 10pm. I told her that I understand from you tat dr Loh's recommendation is only induce when patients are at least 4cm dilated cos if not mummy and bb will be very stressed if she is unable to deliver in like 12 hrs. In her case was 15hrs, and emergency c-section. So i asked her maybe your dr should not have induced u so early altho she is 40wks, can still wait a day or 2 cos dr did mentioned during the day check-up tat bb is fine and got alot of amniotic fluid. But anyway diff dr diff practise too. I ever read in the forumn about some mummies complained about her gynae that he did a vagina swipe when they are 37 wks preggy and made them go into contractions early in 2hrs time as they overheard that he has a busy schedule jam packed the next week. Got 2 mummies had the same bad experience from him and complained in the forumn tat he did in on purpose so that he can time his schedule etc..But anyway these are all just comments from the forumn. But for me is once i heard negative feedbacks i'll rather not play play lor, tats why when she recommended me her gynae i told her i not comfortable with him lor.

hazel,

I don't felt comfortable with my sil's gynae cos when she gained over 20 kg in her 5mth he can still tell her its okie and continue to eat. And my sil says her 2 buddies' wifey under him say he very good and most importantly he super cheap. His package starts immediately in 6wk preggy and only $500. He has alot of patients. I read about him in motherhood forumn, there are good and bad reviews about him. So i daren't take the risk especially after having a bad experience with dr fong yang. i trust Dr SF loh wholeheartedly cos i find him "real" and honest not like some bloodsucking drs that ask you to operate so as to earn your $$$.
At least he's think for the patient and weighs the pros and cons like he knows that induction v be very painful and tat when is it really necessary and not like my sil's gynae just ask her to admit on her 40wk as he has already scheduled her to go for induction delivery.

Sashamamma the local clinic is just a mere 5 min drive out to the 'sentrum' but the hospital is 2.5-3hrs away by car..well if emergency and weather permits, helicopter will be dispatched..which will take like 30minutes to reach..I'll look for some pte clinics online to see if there's any in my area..or near because i really want some scans for momento purpooses

Oh the period panties i got from singapore, istean tampines wacoal counter back in march last year..think they have sizes up to LL but then upon further reading there some ladies mentioned disposible maternity panties? Might be better..but that periopd panties is good after delivery in future months..

hehe my symptoms are kinda mild..very light MS, some cramps off and on,some giddiness off and on also esp when i get on and off bed, hungry if don't eat enough at the right time but the most annoying to me it the peeing in the night often! Cos my bedroom upstairs and toilet downstairs, by the time i walk downstairs i would be kinda awake...and it's like 2-3 times a night! I supposed this is to 'train' us.. cos when the bb comes out and night feedings will be kinda same same lol

you? how are you coping with your symptoms? Read from joanne03 that your next scan coming soon? So excited!

yeah joanne03 how have you been too? how many weeks now are you?

Cherie the nausaous feeling will be with us all the way thru 1st trimester..so tahan a bit hehe...got symptoms means bb is good and growing..oh and try to take small frequent meals and drink enough liquid..it'll usually help (well at least it does for me
) And some of us usually have much more MS (morning sickness) than others so it varies..

Aiyoh Chris, you are really a very dedicated worker, if im boss sure increase your salary...but hey jokes aside, you hv to take care, cos bb for us don't really come easy, job can find another one..take it easy and do what you can and the rest, handover..OH btw, your emoticons are always soooooo cutie!

Qin should be ok to eat goodies, just make sure drink enough water to prevent sore throat
Enjoy the festive mood!

babylove What trimester are you in now? Cos i hv some crampings off and on too..cos of uterus expending...well sometimes tummy ache lah..but if your cramping is accompanied with spotting (Choi! touchwood) then go asap doc.. maybe a warm water bottle over helps to comfort it?

rest of the ladies in 1st trimester how are you gals doing and coping? Hope all are well!!!

U think I'm at 6 weeks now, achieve by ivf.

Yup my cramp is like tummy ache, sometimes I have to hold my breath or stop what I'm doing coz too painful. Is your cramp painful Chris?

Chris, well dr loh cannot assure me I will hv a quick labour this round... Yes, contractions r painful.. The oral painkillers didn't help at all!

Not sure if u know, KKH's practice, no 4cm dilated for natural delivery, mommies are usually sent home...unless bb is in in distress, then emergency c section... Even sgh also similar practice...

BabyLove yes sometimes it's kinda sharp pain but on and off..normal..and don't worry..if pain just relax and breath in and out...oh maybe cut down cold drinks...btw, im in 7 weeks now

Chris, I hope I will b like yr boss wife. I dun like the wait. My gynae advocate natural birth which I dun object too but I wonder if I can handle the stress while waiting to b dilated and the wait. Ai yo what kind of gynae is this... Put on 20kg also say nothing.... Not v right leh... Btw did yr gynae told u ladies where yr bb pd will b at? I already know mine but now thinking of changing

Dear Joanne,
Yes I waiting for my appt until my neck super long liao. Today is the start of my 9th week. Seeing him next friday 13th Jan.

Hey Qin,
I also wonder if we can eat pineapple tarts cos those and bak gwa are my favourites!!! I believe in everything is ok if moderation, so i intend to eat some. Hehe...

Dear Baby_me,
Congrats on a good scan just now!!! Must be a relief to see baby growing well and hearing heartbeat!!! 2hrs is a pretty long wait hor? But i will not mind. Hehe...

Your symptoms stopped is it also due to stopping some hormonal medication? I know the medication causes discomfort. Or is it just solely based on reaching 12th week? It sounds really amazing!

Dear babyhug,
Your cramps are focused on one point or all over huh? I heard if one point then not very good, if all over, it is normal cos uterus expanding. I also feel it now and then. But last a few seconds, don't last a few hours. When is your next appt? Must ask your gynae!!!

Dear Chrisl,
Yes I agree it'd be good to find a private clinic nearby to handle the just-in-case scenarios!!! And mementoes of bb's photos will be really nice to have too! And I also have frequent urination!!! And bloatedness, so i burp and fart the whole day, lol.

Hey gals,
End of first trimester is the 11w6d or 12w6d huh? Must count until the end of 11th week or the end of 12th week? Sorry if this question seems dumb, lol.

Also, oscar scan is done during 11th week or 12th week or 13th week? Thanks in advance!!!

Hi sasha
Know how it feels as i always look forward too.. Just see my babies last wed n now miss them so much again.. Hee.. 2nd trimester shd start at 13th wk n oscar usually betyer to do 12th wk onwards so tt measurement more accurate as baby bigger..

Hi chris!
Happy for u too tt ur scan goes well.. Me coming to 11th wk now.. Time seems so slow n yet also seem fast.. Hee..

2nd tri starts at 14 weeks after completion of full 13 wks. 3rd tri starts at 28 wks. There are 3 tri in a 40 wks pregnancy. U can refer to www.babycentre.com.sg or what to expect when pregnant. All give the same info.

Hi Hazel,

Can check w u on Ralph Lauren purchase, when the items delivered to vpostusa, wats the merchant indicated? I hv emaijed RL per ur advice n was told my order not captured. Just saw an email fr vpostus tat i hv a package w no invoice value n asking me to declare. I din order anything else fr us so wondering is tat my RL order. Merchant is RI media so does not seem to b RL leh... Hmmm dunno wat shd i do. Thx in advance for ur advice

sashamama haha..luckily i don't usually go out often cos im also so gross farting and burping too! lol oh and i realised that some food makes more gas..like cabbages..or onions

Joanne & Hazel,
Thx for ur advice! If wait til 13th week then Dr Loh need to extend my MC wor, lol. Cos 31st Jan i'm only middle of 12th week. Will check with him on Friday --- 6 more days... argh... Must book oscar scan too then i guess.

Dear Chrisl,
For me it seems to be eggs! I read online that eggs make cos some gas too, lol. I just fart throughout the night, lol.

Hi catherine,

my buddy's gynae quite well-know she's from TMC, in her 60s now. Forgotten her name hahahahaa. she advocates natural birth with no epi. And my buddy's gf also just gave birth naturally without any painkillers so asked my buddy to give it a try. My poor buddy didn't know it to be so painful as she went thro 10hrs of hard labour ah, and till the last 2hrs she finally cry for help and asked for epidural, but too bad, the nurses at TMC says its too late to administer epi liao and asked her to bear with it. So she tahan for another 3hrs before finally pushing her daughter out. And guess wat her gynae says to her, oh i didn't know u can't take pain one ah, aiya then u should have told me earlier than take epi la. She told me she fainted when she heard it ah..all the pain she endured. hahaha i told her next round just ask for epi but i salute her lor she tahan all the 10hrs+ with induction and no epi.
6551888.gif

Hi Chris!

Congrats on your 7 weeks, in another 5 -6 weeks you'll be in your 13 wks. So exciting!!! think can see bb's legs and arms if i remember correctly.

just finished my 25 mins walk round the garden and walked up the stairs (3 storeys high) to my flat's roof garden. Shag ah!! Panting like a dog. Good exercise though.
6551895.gif

Hi Joanne
Yup can see bb very clear. My appt at 1.30pm. What time is yours? I dunno how much is the charges, didn't ask hehe. Do u know? So many things wanted to ask Dr just now but forget everything after hearing bb heartbeat. Too excited hehe. Some more Dr keep telling jokes that made me laugh till I coughed.
How many weeks r u now? Your babies sure are growing well too. I'm given multivitamin n fish oil. He asked me to finish my duphaston n folic acid too. So I'm still taking them. R u still taking yours? Any other vits he prescribed for u? My next appt is on 7 Feb. so loooonggg leh. Can't wait to see bb again hehe. When is yours? So glad that today my lightheaded n ms subsided. Finally I can go shopping for CNY stuffs n clothes. I was always feel giddy when I went out just for awhile, no mood to shop at all. Today I can shop from 3-8pm hehe. Bought new pillows n bed sheet. Some clothes n shoes for new year for me n hubby. My hubby so happy see me can shop around again because previous weeks always stayed at home, either lay down or sleep on weekends haha. So u no need to worry about the ms, will reduce soon. Today my appetite also quite good. Had 4 times of full meals just now. I don't wear maternity wear yet. Tummy is showing up but I just wear my old dresses which still can wear or tshirt, skirt or pants. Can see the tummy is showing up but I don't care la. Ppl ask if pregnant, I just say yes.
What about your tummy? Since you r having twins, isn't showing up faster?

Tzac, vpost USA will put as RI media. U must hv set the default as self declare under vpost profile setting. If u hv change it as vpost declare then vpost will do for u. Then vpost will do everything for u, n will tell u the frieght charge to SG for u to pay.

I think we ordered abt same timing. My parcel just reached vpost USA also. Seems that your order did go thru. Did i check your credit card u used for the purchase m checked if u were charged? Call the bank if u hv not. I hope u didn't do a 2nd order?

Can u remember how much is the value u purchased roughly? U need to Log on to vpost account, keep the value in n put clothing as type of items. Vpost will then calculate the frieght for u to pay. That is what happened to me for my first purchase. But I hv subsequently updated my profile with vpost to declare for me for future purchases.

Hi sasha
Ya lor.. I keep having tons of gas in my tummy n oways put gas out at night.. I asks doc Loh n he say because of our body go thru many changes inside so result our digestion not so gd n will hv lots gas.. Yes, egg is the culprit..i feel so miserable having gas move inside my tummy few wks ago tt i cant stand straight.. Then my mum told me egg will generate lots gas so after i stop eat, feel much better but still fart alot at night.. At least gas dun move around so much in my body..;)

Hi chris!
Thank u.. U too hv a dragon baby..;) actually to me, nothing is confirm till i carry them in my arms.. Looking forward n praying hard for tt day to come soon too..;)

Hi Chrisl,
Glad that your scan goes well too. How many weeks are you now. Is good that your symptoms just mild ones. I had bad ms n giddyness till I didn't feel like doing anything at all. Feel like just lying down till end of first tri hehe. But dun worry, like what other sisters here said before, 2nd tri will be the most energetic time for preggie women. Although I'm not in my 2nd tri yet, but I can feel it already today. Yeah!!

Hi Babylove,
I did feel bad cramp during my fresh cycle. But not at this cycle. Is your bfp from fresh cycle? If it's too painful n unbearable, it's better to check with your gynae. It's best to have assurance that everything is okay. Jia you gal!

Hi Sashamama,
Yeah, I don't mind waiting too. See him so tired but still entertain all the patients with smile really make all the waiting worth. I'm still taking all the medications so don't think it's bcos of this. Maybe bcos I feel happy reaching 12w n seeing bb again today that made all the ms n giddyness reduced haha. This is what my hubby told me. He said after seeing bb growing well, the stones in my heart n my head gone. That's why I feel so energetic hehe.

Can we eat shark fin soup? Understand that can't eat shark bcos it's high in mercury. But dunno about shark fin soup?

Hi Joanne, I was like u. My gynae told me to avoid broccoli , nuts, beans, cabbage etc. Make sure yr food is hot when u eat.

Hi Chris, my hb and I discussed earlier in the evening. I will go without epi. I got phobia for needles so I will try v hard ....

Hi baby
Lol.. Me same as u.. Always too happy after see babies n forget everything tt want to asks doc loh.. Oh.. The nurse book for u huh? I go down to 4th floor to book myself as they say line always engage.. So i asks at the same time abt cost.. Mine different fr urs as slight more expensive.. Abt $400 plus but think urs shd be around $300++.. Thk god scan goes well n me shd be coming to 11th wk now.. Ya, same as u... Multivitamin n fish oil.. So when u start ur medicine above 2vitamins? Feel like so many medicine to take if continue duphaston, progynova, asprin, folic etc n i think my supply still alot...
Oh.. People start asks u (u mean ur collegues?) .. So far no one asks me as my shirt quite lose so still can hide... Can see little bump n some of my skirt cant wear now, very uncomfy especially late afternoon to night time.. Dun intend to get any maternity wear yet.. How abt u? Wearing maternity wear for cny or not intend to get any new clothes? Will u tell all u bfp during cny? So happy for u tt ur ms has subsized n can start eating.. My dinner apetite still no gd.. Feel nauseous when see food.. Hope will feel better fr 12th wk onward too... Long time no go shopping le but must rest well too.. Doc Loh want me to be gd gal fr april to may.. If he gives me mc, i must rest as he worry early delivery.. After may, he say can relax abit.. So i think i can not exercise too much like singleton pregnancy... All is worth it as long babies r healthy...;)
U take care too.. Oh ya, my scan is at 8am n they say i cant be late else will hv to wait 3hrs..

Thk u catherine n glad to know is normal...;)

Hi sasha
I know how u feel, lets continue jiayou..;)

Hi Hazel,

Your concerns of dr Loh rushing back is also what I have think before. Whom is covering him huh? I think is a valid question.

Hi Chris(baby), do you mind sharing your bad experience with dr Fong yang huh? Jus want to understand more. Thks

Catherine~
i've known and heard of epi giving permanent back pain to ppl who got it..

Joanne~haha can de! Jia you!

baby~me at 7 weeks now..going 8 coming tuesday

Im constantly praying for a smooth pregnancy and painless delivery lol...

Cherrie~can lah brocolli is very good in folic..just moderate..everything moderate

Sunbelle, I can't answer your qn too! Anyhow, even if I ask dr loh, he will sure say comforting words pleasing to the ears.. He wun wan us to worry one.. But, we all know my concern is valid.. Coz we hv brains to think! Haha.. Just like he told me if I go KKH to deliver coz of serious complications, he will deliver for me.. Comforting to the ears... But we know the likelihood of he going over.. Also, even more impossible if warded at KKH at subsidsed rate.. I went for night clinic on thurs.. I left the Clinic at 820pm, there were another 5 couples waiting to see him.. & it was supposed to be closed at 8pm! Imagine if his patients are in KKH in labour pain, u expect him to drive over to KKH n deliver when he has patients waiting for him in his pte clinic? If tmc,, he just goes over to labour ward n will just take 15 mins, including delivery.. Coz gynae always appears at the last minute..

Well, I will just tell my bb to choose an auspicious time & day where dr loh is around to be born & I will stop worry abt my concern.. If not bb also stressed by me!

Catherine, but labour pain is really v painful! If the hours are short, maybe still can tahan.. But then, if long, can ask for 'Toh long"! The pain from the actually delivery of bb when the cervix is fully dilated is only abt 30 mins.. But the pain from cervix dilation from 4cm to 10cm can take hours.... That is the terrible part..

Hi morning gals,
I am in my 12 weeks and my tummy is showing lor. I can't hide in office and some of my female coll suspected cos they are either a mom or gt experience. Some of my cool kws but as long as it say fr my mouth I dnt care haha... I abit pantang. Now I only wear dresses so I feel comfy. My tummy gets bigger after a meal and it due to indigestion that y it bloated... If anyone hv the same is very common... Cos I ask my gynae y it like that.

Hi fatefully
Thats fast for you as usually first pregnancy can hide longer.. I remember last time i hide for first 4mths.. N my collegue hide for first 5mths.. Maybe u r much thinner..;) u must be excited to go for ur oscar soon on 10th.. Enjoy ur scan..

Hi chris!
Thk u., yes, all of us can carry our bundle of joy this year in current pregnancy de.. Jiayou!!

Hi Sashamama,
Thanks for the link. I will avoid it better, although it says one bowl is okay. But avoiding is safer hehe. Don't worry, you will pass your first tri smoothly too. Yeah! Dragon babies are coming!

Hi Cherrie,
Broccoli n spinach is good actually, but everything in moderation. If u think eating this will cause u bloated n nausea or no appetite then u can switch to other vege. Otherwise, this vege is really good n also carrot.

Hi Chrisl,
I keep talking to baby too, ask baby to be healthy n growing well
my hubby also will talk to baby everyday when he sees me hehe.

Hazel, like what Chris say, there r ppl who got backache from epi. My hb was saying to me since I so scare of needles and once u r on epi, u dun feel the contraction, u lose the feeling of natural birth. I prefer to go with an open mind. Try without epi and like what u say if too long quickly administer in. Seriously the labour stress and fear is in me now. Though I still have max 7.5 weeks to go. Each morning I wake up telling myself heng no water bag burst.

Sigh I need to q up at bank today again, v lazy to go.....

Hi Joanne,
I went down to book too. Lucky they can slot me in, n told me not to be late on that day. I didn't ask abt the cost. I'm taking all meds together. Multivitamin, fish oil, duphaston n folic. My supply also still a lot. Still can last for another month, now confused if to finish them or not. I dun take progynova n aspirin.

My colleagues all know already, so I hv nothing to hide la. only friends n relatives some dunno yet, but if they ask I will say yes. If never ask then I will keep quite. I don't buy maternity wear yet, think it's not big enough now for that. I just bought normal dresses n tshirt but slightly bigger in size. Can wear them after given birth too, not so wasted hehe.
Take good care of yourself since you are having twins, must be tougher than us.

Finally, can do a bit of house work. Send those curtains to laundry, iron some of new clothes, buy some new year goodies. So fun. The rest of house cleaning leave it to part time maid.