(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Hi kimmy,

How r u today? did u see doc for your throat? think its infection?
oh for me i try to lie sideways to my left when sleeping. Avoid sleep on your back cos you'll feel breathless and dizzy as bb pressing on one of major blood vessels if you lie on your back when u sleep. i toggle between left and right when i sleep cos if i sleep all the way left, my left pelvic area super pain ah, poor circulation on my left side of the body. But if you can sleep left all the way then its good for you.
6541698.gif
For me i had pillows supporting my calve, knee area even my back, whichever way i feel comfortable. hahaha Ng complains jokingly that i took up 3/4 of the bed and he left with only 1/4 to sleep.

hazel, kimmy catherine,

just got my results back from urine culture, dr ang called me last night to tell me tat i'm all clear of UTI, tat's no bacteria in my urine. So i can relax liao... yup i didn't gain weight, hb wondered is it becos i cut down on carbo and i reduce my food intake, hahaa when after my meal, i'm not full i'll just take fruit juice or fruits. So bb on hunger mode most of the time during the last 2wks so feeding on my reserves hahaha..after seeing my gynae, hb very kan cheong worried that he's little princess not gaining much weight so give me the green light now to go ahead and eat what i want. But still he discourage me from eating durians. Yup this whole week, me suddenly appetite increase and always felt hungry. Esp in the middle of the night like 3am, but still i dun take any food after dinner, i only drink milk to sleep.
6541740.gif

So far didn't feel any contractions yet at my 38wks. Just felt abit crampy today.

I'm supposed to be on maternity leave from this week onwards, but as i still have alot of work to handover and my cover only comes in on Fri so i'll stayed till Fri last day.
6541741.gif

Now is the flu season, if can try to avoid crowded places. My fren just sms that her fren's little gal just contracted H1N1, they stayed in KL. Esp for us preggy women, immunity are down and tat's alot of medicine tat we can't take during this period.
So everyone take care.
6541779.gif

Now is the flu season, if can try to avoid crowded places. My fren just sms that her fren's little gal just contracted H1N1, they stayed in KL. Esp for us preggy women, immunity are down and tat's alot of medicine tat we can't take during this period.
So everyone take care.

Take lots of fruits rich in vit C such as apples, kiwis etc and keep hydrated drink at least 2 litres of water per day, try to get ample rest and less stress.

Thanks for the advise, i didn't know contractions can be painless..okie will look out for it. This 2 days more thigh muscle cramps ah, could be due to squat exercise i did 2 days ago hahahaha...oops i meant poor hb now got lesser space to sleep as i occupied 3/4 of the bed with my pillows etc.

Ladies saw my gynae already... I put on 4kg!!!! My craving for apple crumble killed me!!!! Now no sweet stuff no carbo for me. My iron level also fall below the range. Now my diet shall consist mainly beef and spinach. My gal is 1.9kg. That's a 700g increase!! Gynae ask me to check on my hl. She is not issuing me any hl. Sad... Cos I was not admitted whether my co will recognize. Also not to jeopardize my career better not do so. Now she will issue me mc everytime I want

Also my cramp is not labour cramp. Gg to hammer my gp. It's juz Braxton hicks... No fear... Also gynae said what my boss is doing to me is not right.
next visit is 2 weeks time hope she issue me hl by then

hahaha catherine, thank gdness its just braxton hicks and not contractions. Oh ya, u should cut down on sugar. ya if can just take mc lor..rest well.
6542644.gif

hazel,

me now on leave at home now, tomorrow go back office clear my work then i'll be on leave. bb super active, hahaha can see her joints protruding on my tummy ah...quite uncomfy.. still waking up a few times at night to pee, and everytime before i pee my groin area/bladder will feel sharp pain, pain is release only after i pee.
6542720.gif

Chris, tat cute. Can see bb joints protruding out fr yr tummy. Wonder muz be in hw many weeks den can get to see such mmt.....

Ron- thx. Hope is really juz stretching pain

Bbliss,

oh actually around 28 wks u can see liao cos the space in the womb is getting smaller when bb gets bigger, it will be more prominent when u reach 30wks.
board-post.cgi

Bbliss, Chris

Not every mommy will get to see bb joints protruding. It depends on alot of factors such as where the placenta is facing, the amt of amonic fluid, mummy's tummy fats, etc. I dun get to see bb protruding joints at all. The most I see are belly shaking...

Bbliss
Acid reflux or heartburn is common during pregnancy especially during second and third trimester. Progesterone relaxes the valve that separates the esophagus from the stomach, allowing gastric acids to seep back up, which causes that unpleasant burning sensation. Later in pregnancy, your growing baby crowds your abdominal cavity, pushing the stomach acids back up into the esophagus. Although common and harmless, it can be quite uncomfortable.

Kimmy
When I was young, I used to laugh at my mom when she told me stories of her urinating in her underwear. Now, all that poking fun at her is coming back to me. I am also suffering from stress incontinence. It's bad when I cough or sneeze and it even happens just after peeing. It can be pretty embarrassing. I admit I have not been very diligent on kegel exercises.

RitzC
Wishing you all the best.

Just saw dr Loh. His machine is super! Can see umbical cord n lots of amnotic fluid n bb is growing v well! She is 2.4 kg today at 33w 2d! BUT, I have high blood pressure, so he put me on HL till I see him 2 wks later..... N on medication.. He said now, high blood pressure is ok already as I m nearly there...

Hazel, did yr gynae say yr bb is big?? Mine is 1.9 kg at week 32. My mum is happy that my gal is at 1.9kg. Of cos la once a week eat bird nest and dong cong cao. I m hoping my gal is around 2.6-2.8kg when she is born. Now all I have to do is to pump up my iron level. So my mum is gg to buy beef for me to make beef soup everyday.

Catherine, gynae said bb is average size... His machine also stated so. I also checked babycentre online, bb shld be 2.2kg at my current week. Anyway, once hit 34w next wk, bb's lungs r fully developed & her weight is gd (>2kg). Less stressful for me already. I did tell dr my bb is v gentle in her movements.. He said, every bb s different, so is ok!

Kimmy, he wanted to do 3D for me but said cannot see bb's features much coz my bb's face is too close to the placenta. So, I said nv mind, no need 3D. Scan charge is $20. But night clinic consultant is $10 more. I passed my pre admission form to tmc counter already after dr loh chopped on it.

Hazel, u r lucky my gal is v active... Like a Kung Fu gal. Now I keep telling her to b gentle dun b like a boy. Maybe my gal will b >2kg soon... I think u will b getting another admission form soon. That's for u to b admitted in case u r due to give birth, isn't it nice to have night clinic? Envy u ladies

Catherine, I already submitted the pre admission record form to TMC just now. Was given the form during the hospital tour. I showed it to my gynae n he chopped on it!

Hello! Am feeling better after spending the day at my mom's and she took the afternoon off. Had a good nap and husband came by early to surprise me after work :D

Bbliss - yeah I wld think the discharge we get is normal. I remembering mentioning it before to gynae and was told that its normal
Think msmiele responded to you on acid reflex. Its just a horrible feeling, the whole acidic feeling coming up to your lower throat and can intensify whatever sore throat for the worse. That's how I also ended up losing my voice yesterday. I can finally do a squeak now! Yay.

Chris baby - yay on being cleared from UTI! Today woke up feeling shite but towards evening thanks to mom's and dh's TLC and honey to sooth the throat, I can start to whisper without straining my throat. Hope to nurse it back properly before CNY otherwise if kena hit by another round of virus, I will peng san.

Ron - thanks! yep, will use that photos to keep motivating me to stay positive! The phlegm is also starting to appear in my spool of saliva, although still light colored now. hahah the waiting begins...

Hazel - yes agree that his machine is super! oh yah i checked my receipt, its $20 for scan. Affordable! Yeah what matters if you saw what you needed, so no need 3D. Pre admission form get from where? Then Dr Loh only needs to sign? Is it on this form that you indicate which room/package that you want with TMC? how much is his delivery fees and anesthetist's fee, u have breakdown?

Catherine - haha yeah pump those iron levels. My sil lost so much blood during her labour that she needed a transfusion and thanks to drinking beef soup after that, her iron levels doubled then before. You're almost all set to roll too! woohoo.

Msmiele - I've been wetting myself a lot especially since the cough kicked in today! LOL. I may have to wear a pad soon to soak it all up in case I;m not near a toilet when I'm out and it gets on my clothes. Liners are useless man, I cough 5 times = 5 leaks = liner soaked. Boo. I did try to control my bladder earlier when I coughed at home (like an experiment), managed to control it!! till..I got one tiny leak. :p

Kimmy, pre admission form was given to me by tmc during the hospital tour. I just complete the form, including the preferred ward at admission. I asked dr loh what do I do with the form. He just stamped on it & I passed it over to patients service centre at first floor after retaining a copy for myself. I was told, just need hub's & my nric upon admission will do. I nv ask him abt his delivery fees & anesthetist's fees. Coz regardless of what the fees are, I will still want him to deliver, n at tmc. So, it doesn't really matter to me.

His new machine cost 6 digits as compared to the $20,000 machine in tps! So, of course, has to be gd!

sashamamma thanks for the link! I'll update later..

Today just been to the clinic and did the scan for the 1st time! But then it's a vaginal scan and the doc put on the sound and could hear the heartbeat!!! it went ''donk donk donk donk...''so fast hearbeats! lol It's just one bb instead of 2 lah..so no luck for me to have twins hehe..EDD late august-25th IM VERY NERVOUS NOW!!!!!

Chrisl, congrats!!! Hv u chosen a gynae or mid wife for your delivery? In western countries, I was told during regular visit, gynae/mid wife will use a Doppler to listen to bb's heart beat since they dun scan every visit.

Kimmy, luckily I wrote to dr Loh yesterday night after I came bk. coz I didnt feel assured after seeing the counter abit messy/chaos (yea even night clinic!) coz it was packed! The assistants were running everywhere, going in & out of his room, doing BP retest, giving instructions to patients who need to do GD test, settle bills, issue med, etc! I also wonder if dr Loh will be confused or not esp when he was seeing patients n assistant kept bring different patients' re test BP for his review.

Was told by 1 assistant that my BP med to take 3x a day per the system updated by dr Loh. I asked 3x or 2x coz I remembered dr Loh telling me is 2x. Then she took out a PC of paper of all the med n the dosage of the each med n said was correct.. 3x a day! But dr Loh only precribed 30 tabs! That means for 10 days only while I m seeing him 14 days later.. Dun make sense right?

Feeling unease, I wrote to dr Loh n told me wat I was given to take 3x a day & if I should continue with aspirin. He replied n said 2x a day will do as BP not v high n to continue with aspirins!

I din think it will harm me if I take 3x a day but I may feel dizzy n unwell if BP becomes too low.. Also, I understand fr my gf she took the same med to prevent her early contractions when she has twins. So, this med also has other uses.. Phew!! Wat a relief now.. But I really feel abit uneasy from the chaos n wonder if dr Loh/assistant will overlook anything... Even Dr M, also keeps going in & out of dr loh's room!! I also dunno for war?!

Just checked my BP a few times at home.. V normal leh.. But y every time at gynae so high? Even after resting for 30 mins still higher than I test on my own... Take the med already will I feel giddy? Hm...

oh,....so not all mummies can see the protruding joints ah... haha... ok. Me at times do get to c my belly dancing... will observe again when mit 28 weeks.....perharps my tummy fats is too thick that it may hide the protruding. haha....

btw, is hospital tour necessary ? actually wat the purpose of such tour ? do we still get the admission form if din go for hosp tour ?

recently my hb been asking me if i wanna take epidural during the process. For those mummies who have oredi have their 1st child, can you all advice if epidural really necessary ? heard from my colleague, the process can be very painful and the epi is to help on pain control....

Any advice ?

Bbliss, I nv do GD test at all. Is not a compulsory test since every visit, we will do the urine strip test to test for protein n glucose level. Dr Loh nv ask me to do GD test unless he thinks is necessary.

Hazel, wow 6 digits vs $20,000 - that's a lot of diff! I'm guessing he's going for the 'volume' strategy otherwise charging us $20/scan is going to take a while to recover back the cost! haha.
Oh okay, so meaning the next time I go tmc i can ask for pre-admission form from the patient svc centre? Was it included in the hospital tour bag? Cuz I went for the tour too but I din't bother looking into the bag...
Also regarding the operation of the clinic, yah its quite messy right. I was quite skeptical when I was there and I observe the mess initially. Phones ring but no one picked up, staff asking each other "take this and that already?"... re. BP med, good thing u clarified with Dr Loh.

Bbliss - hospital tour not necessary. only if you kaypoh to see how rooms and delivery room look like in person. TMC has photos of these so if you don't see a need, then you don't need to. I believe admission form you can get from patient service centre at level 1. Re. epidural I've always had the mindset I want it but my mom advise me against it. A relative had it for her 1st kid then when she expected her 2nd & 3rd child, she had quite bad back pains which she suspected was from the epidural she had previously. Really depends on you and your labour. Some of my frds want epidural but by time they go in, dilate too much so too late already then have to delivery. Some managed to do without it, using hynobirthing or breathing technique (like what they teach in yoga) to control and it wasn't as pain as they thought. So again, up to u. Have a chat with your gynae and ask as many questions. From what I heard at TMC, they won't administer epidural until you feel at least your first few contractions then it will come into effect. So end of day is depend on your stage of labour when you get admitted...

Kimmy, yes it is in the hospital tour bag. Or u can get it at patient service centre on first floor, complete n give it to dr Loh to stamp. Return to service centre n ask them to give u a photo copy.

I checked my BP this morning a few times. V v normal. In the end I still take the med since dr Loh said is quite safe already.. Coz I read online It helps in easy blood flow to the heart. Surprisingly, took already I dun pant as bad n feel unwell at the chest anymore. It also helps to prevent pre term
Labour where mummies with multiples are precribed to take fr middle of 2nd tri onwards... Though website said a no of cons on the med.. But I guess, I shld trust dr Loh..

Ritzc, u were on adalat for quite a while right coz of shortening of cervix? Wats your dosage n how many times u took a day? I was given nifelat yesterday... It is actually adalat but just a different in brand name coz my BP is like yo-yo.. Big swings...

Hi Hazel,

Think BP is fluctuating cos of our salt intake too. Once I take too salty food, my BP goes up. my BP goes up jus now when measure at KK- white coat symptoms.

Hi ladies, anyone conceived naturally under Dr Loh but followed other gynae huh? Or any lady whom conceived under Dr Loh thru ivf but seeing other doctors as gynae?

Yeah this morning i had a light green discharge. My fren told me can be infection so I rushed down to TMC hoping to see dr Loh. The blur me din nor Dr Loh not in the morning. Lucki I called along the way there. The nurse say he went ivf centre n his clinic starts at 2 pm today n super packed. So my hubby decided to go KKH 24 hrs clinic n get some tests done. All cleared n no UTI. Doc took a swop to send for vaganial infection tests which results only out the next 3 or 4 working days.

At least seen a doctor put my mind at ease. this doctor quite good forgot to see her name. cos been thinking about the UTI last week too. Hubby say I m too paranoid at times which I admit too esp when my preggy fren jus got green discharge n confirmed infection.

Bumped into my hubby's fren whom
concieved twins under dr Loh but she followed June Tan under KKH. she say cost is a big factor to her as she scared premature birth. Guess different people got different prorities.

Hazel,

Is a good thing that you emailed to check with Dr Loh. to me, medicine cannot be anyhow taken. the same tin happen to my fren whom brought her two year old doctor to normal GP. Nurse gave adult dosage but discovered by by fren subsequently. Scary leh really.

Hazel, my dosage was 1 pill 2 times a day. But adalat is technically effective for only 8 hours, so some people r asked to take 1 pill 3 times a day. My blood pressure was always around 110 plus n 74plus when on adalat. Now stop it goes back to my normal blood pressure of 120 plus n 75.

Ritzc, thanks. Yes, usu is 1 pill (10mg) 3x a day. That is what the assistant told me to take yesterday when she gave me the med. but I recalled my dr said 2x a day coz my BP not v high. Just now I checked a few hrs after taking med, BP was around 100/57. Before med, was 110 plus/60 plus. But at the clinic, it went up o 158/95! The lowest at the clinic always also 130 plus/80 plus after retesting 3-4x... I also dunno why..

Hazel, maybe u r anxious during your gynae appt but u r not aware. Maybe ur next visit u bring along ur BP machine to check whether the reading on your machine is tha same as dr loh's.

Ritzc, I told dr b4 that at home BP is fine.. So, he nv give me any med, ask me to oneself monitor at home...

But then, every time I go see him is high leh.. Re-take after resting 30mins after scan n knowing bb is gd, also high! I go GP take also normal.... Haiz,l

Dear Chrisl,
Congrats on your good first scan!!! You must be feeling a lot more relieved now! So when are you going for your second scan?

Hi ladies, I just got my BFP today after my inf. I still find it unbelieveable but very happy. Like to seek you gals advice what can I do n eat now? My scanning will be on 20 Jan. Oh ya, I m under dr hh tan from k k

Welcome Cherrie!!!

Continue with folic acid daily. Any other medicine you taking now? Rest more!!!

As for eating, so long as no raw food and blue cheese, and dr loh avised no papaya no banana no pineapple. Coffee or tea one cup a day still ok. That is all. The rest eat in moderation still ok

The rest of the gals here more experienced, I think they can give better advice

Thanks sashamama
kk give me medicine like dydrogesterone n aspirin. Is you gals also taking these medicine initially?

Hi Cherrie,
I'm taking duphaston and progynova and folic acid prescribed by Dr Loh. I never took dydrogesterone nor aspiron, unsure what they are for.

Dydrogesrerone is the same as duphaston. Porgynova is for those who did medicated FET to support the lining. Aspirin is to thin our blood, aim is to prevent m/c from antibodies from our body, given at discretion of drs n usually for patients who hv repeated failures.

Oh so different. But I think dydrogesterone is to support pregnancy n aspirin I took it since after my ET, think is to thicken lining. Now we in this stage will start worrying the pregnancy process smooth or not? Just hope everything goes well n smoothly

Would also like to seek advice if you gals will continue eat royal jelly n fish oil after confirmed your pregnancy?