(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Hazel thanks
Our next step is to go to the local doc office and then think he'll refer us to the local healthclinic for the midwife--or that's what the fertility doc told us yesterday..not sure if they'll use the Doppler or not..but i want to scan often leh
But guess that i'll hv to go to pte clinics for in between scans-should i want one..hb said costs like S$1000 for a scan! I told him not so much lah! How you know??! lol but anyway think there's not much choice for a midwife or gyne here as it a small town..think there's only 1

sashamamma! Thanks
yes at least i know bb is growing well and is seating comfy inside hehe and oh abt the 2nd scan..not too sure when cos here in the local clinic no machines are provided unfortunately
so a midwife/gyne is only assessing me and growing bb...oh apart from think i know of previous preggy colleagues here they went for 1 scan in the 3rd trimester..i think i hv to look for a pte clinic myself if i want in between scans...times like this i wish im in SG so healthcare is easily accessible!

Welcome and congrats Cherrie! how many weeks are you at now? yes this stage, really wonder if bb is ok not right? Esp not much symptoms.. haha like the other day my hb asked me to take HPT again to be sure if bb's there still LOL

I see
Are you a member of babycentre.com.sg? they'll update you week by week of bb pictures and growth development
and also have useful tips as well.. On what food not to eat..i myself usually avoid too 'liang' foods..like gourds, melons etc..and i take in moderation everything..well some things i avoid too like ham, raw food, leftovers, cold gassy drinks etc..then i completely don't eat is sushi/sashimi, raw oysters/shellfish..

Cherrie, actually there is no necessity to take any supplements, other than folic acid in first tri coz it may worsen morning sickness. Also, quite wasteful too if u vomit them out. When u r ready to start on supplements, usually fish oil & multi vitamins at start of 2nd tri, your dr will prescribe for u. If u need additional supplements, ur dr will give at his discretion. Coz some like calcium tablets are not too if we take too much. It is still better to get nutrituions from a well balanced diet. Just remember not to forget taking your folic acid in first tri. That Is v important as it prevents spinal sifa in bb.

Hi Cherrie, drink more water and eat lots of fruits to overcome constipation. Pulling should be normal as long as there is no bleeding.

so shagged just reached home ah!! my stupid boss keep asking me to handle his stuff, alamak think he forget i not around next week liao ah.. i already very stress up with handover and clearing my work today and he gave me more... hiaz.. dunnoe why he daren't asked my other colleague to handle...
End up i'm the only one left in the office and i left around 8pm so tired. Everyone left around 6pm except me. hiaz...
6549434.gif

Hello!!!
Hehe this afternoon went shopping @ paragon and taka!!!! Helped friends buy bottles too like mad. Keke. Also went to check out quinny zapp and buzz and another one (forgot) which looked quite cute. I think one of them the base quite big can put lots of stuff!!!!!!!!!!! Then saw perego switch @ discount. Alamak so tempting! Haha and I realized due to shopping, I wasn't sniffling and coughing at all. Shopping is my medicine, mwahahaha and also got 12 hours of sleep straight la... Hey check w u, swaddle cloth = receiving blanket? Also anyone got any good nursing cloth to recommend for bf? I don't want the thick material until mom & child sweat type...

chris_baby >> alamak. rest more this weekend. nvrmind, next week not going in already....yay! then ML all the way!

Cherie >> congrats!

hazel >> thanks, will check my hospital bag. BTW. anyone bought maternity pads from MC? I saw Kotex @ taka today but no wings...and am wondering where got sell wings, anyone knows?

MC is ex! I bought i pack at china town, incl 100% cotton disposable maternity underwear. During confinement, no need to hand wash. After the initial days, where the flow will be heavy, I will use Laurier super long night pad with wings. So, I bought 1 pack of that too.

Ya, the MC one is ex! Nearly 'fainted' when I saw the price tag on that one. Chinatown sells is the adhesive one right? Got wings? Yah I also gonna get disposable during confinement , cleaner also!

you know gals there is a thing called period panties..won't leak from behind if you're having period..maybe try that?

Hi Hazel,
Mine is fresh but also given progynova le. But i guess it is always good to enhance the lining, probably cos i have adenomyosis.

Hey Chrisl,
It is indeed quite scary to not be able to scan as and when you want ya? Is it accessible to the clinic or hospital if you need medical attention? Do you have any morning sickness or other symptoms yet? Are their period panties in singapore? hmmm... I always have to use a super long one and stick another shorter one at the butt part cos i super heavy flow.

Dear Cherrie,
I heard that royal jelly no need to take especially if you are prone to cysts. And fish oil usually 2nd trimester. It is normal to feel worried. I am very worried too. We just try to stay positive and hope for the best! Do you have any morning sickness yet?

I use Sofy cos very long and i always have very heavy flow. It is 30 over cm. You mean we will keep bleeding after delivery?

Oh, no wing one ah? Then no choice...
Ahh crap just woke up and sat by my bowl for 10min throwing up saliva wondering why I perspire until reflux of the milk I drank before bedtime all came out, gross!!!

Hi ladies, I use to sleep thru the night but now will wake up to pee n hard to sleep back. Morning symptom is it like feel like vomit type? I got a bit. Is these symptom so early? Is it normal?

Cherrie, maybe you want to go read up on pregnancy symptoms at different weeks? "What to expect when you r expecting" is a gd book. It can be bought at major bookstore. Or you can read up at its what to expect.com website. There r also other useful websites, such as babycentre.

Morning! Wah super tired due to waking up in middle of night.
I know what caused my reflux already!!! Late night supper (cuz dinner wasn't enough and a glass of cold milk right after). And forgetting to take gaviscon. :p
Now that I got it jialat last night, won't dare to do it again liao. haha

Hi hazel,

i also bought Laurier super long night pad with wings and my sil passed me 2 packs of kotex (string kind) pads which she says i can use during hospital stay. i also bought a few pkts of disposable maternity panties from kiddy palace and a shop near chinatown. More convenient hahaha used and throw.
6550515.gif

Was really crampy yesterday cos of work stress. Today mood better
now doing laundry again heehee

o kimmy

so envy you can go shopping!!! I now quite heavy and when i hinted to hb to go shopping today, he just stared at me and say no....
6550521.gif

wow my weight can really fluctuate hahaha i had alot yesterday so last night before i go sleep i weigh myself and i was 72.9kg!! Then this morning, i weighed after going toilet my weight went bk to 70.7kg, a slight increase of 200g since my last visit to gynae on Tues. Will be going for my 39wk review next tueday. Hope bb engaged ah.

My colleague very cute, the day before she delivered her gynae checked on her and she has not engaged, and the next day her waterbag suddenly broke (she was 38wks) and when she reached hospital and after induction her bb engaged overnight. And she delivered naturally, whole process 10hrs.
6550537.gif
There wasn't really much pain for her cos by the time she reached hospital, she was 4cm dilated, and then she just waited for another 4hrs before having epidural and another 5hrs later she just delivered. She told me she praying hard this time round her 2nd bb will be just as smooth delivery as the previous. she's 37wks now, 1 wk after me.

Hi kimmy,

me too, really difficult to pull myself up from bed at night to pee ah, the pressure on the bladder and groin area makes it painful for me to walk to my bedroom toilet (altho just 2m away) hahaha i used to be able to reach within seconds hahaha now got to hold my tummy and slowly make my way and "ouch ouch" all the way. hahaa After relieving myself i felt better ah. Now even in the day time, I need to visit the toilet more often cos of the pressure of bb's head at my groin area ah...can't really hold back urine cos will feel pain and also daren't hold back liao cos of past experience with UTI.
6550570.gif

Chris, if u r ready for bb to arrive, go shopping spree!!

Yes, hospital will use the string kind... The pack it opens will last you at least a day. Thereafter we can use our wn adhesive type...

hazel,

how are u today? Is your reflux getting better?
6550581.gif

I've been really greedy this few days, been eating like a pig, dunnoe why just felt really hungry ah... hb just looked at me when i eat lor, and always asked me whether i'm full or not especially if i looked disatisfied. Now he don't control me that often just that still don't encourage me to eat ice-cream and durian.
6550582.gif

Chris, has your gynae checked you below to see if ur cervix has soften n ready for delivery? Yes, it can trigger the onset of labour after your gynae check! Those who wan bb to come earlier, can request gynae to do the examination at 37 wks! :p

hazel,

oic, i heard from my sil that during hospital stay its more convenient to use the string kind. anyway i just packed both in my hospital bag. I very kiasu bought a few towels along and packed it in my car cos scared waterbag broke will stained the seats ah.
6550597.gif

Chris, reflux is almost gone this week, thanks to bb after I talked to her. I dun hv much appetite. Eat or the sake of eating to curb those stomach juices... Eat abit I full Leow...

Water bag usu burst at night. Carry a pad with you at all times too... I hit 34wks.. Means bb's organs are all fully matured! Her lungs r capable of handling the world outside the womb! Now is to fatten her further... Hehe

hazel,

I did ask gynae if she'll check my cervix during my 34wks appt, however she said normally she dun encourage doing that as it might trigger onset labour or contractions. So did you ask Dr loh if he'll be checking your cervix for you? Think different gynae different practise. Like my current gynae, she same practise as Dr Loh prefer prescribing fish oil from 2nd trimester (like 5th mth) onwards) while my ex gynae and my sil's gynae prescribed straight away and says got to eat asap.
6550637.gif

hazel,

ya i agree now's the time to fatten her further, heehee so i've being indulging myself heehee with FOOD!!! whahahahaaaa....except durians, i refrain from eating.
6550642.gif

Before preggy, I don't take beef cos my mum doesn't allow me and i've not tried beef before. Only when i preggy i started taking beef cos its rich in iron and protein and good for bb.
6550643.gif

Chris, dr loh will only check when bb is full term, ie 37wks n after.. Check at 34wks so early, later trigger onset of labour.. Bb still considered pre mature then.. V hard to buy insurance for her in the first year after she s born...

If u read books n all the online websites, it will tell u, absorption by bb starts in 2nd tri.. N fastest in 3rd tri.. Sorry to say this, those who ask patients to start in first tri to me is want to make money.. MS is common then, vomit all these supplements bk is so wasteful.. Have u been taking fish lately? Bb's absorp DHEA the most at around our stage.. Bb will hv an added advantage at early development if we take alot of DHEA rich food now..

hazel,

yup i've being taking fish, beef and chicken. Tried to include more fish in my diet but tough as eating outside ah. Unlike if i got homecooked food. heehee dunnoe is it i more emotional during this period cos i feedbacked to my hb that my mil like very busy nowadays and unlike the time when my sil's preggy she very excited and cooked alot of nutritious soup and always asked me and her to go back and eat. If we not free, she'll asked my sil who is going back to eat and tabao for me as well. She'll ask her fren wat to cook for preggy woman etc, now her focus is more on grandchild so didn't have time for me hahaha. Hb not to happy with me says i shouldn't complain abt his mum "favoritism" hahahaa altho he knows tat at times they are like tat cos now grandchild their main focus mah...
6550690.gif

furthermore, now approaching CNY, my mil will be more busy then ever ah...heehee tat day while i was at the saloon, she v kancheong called and asked wat did my gynae say, whether i will deliver late ie after CNY, i told her upright no lor, gynae says i might very well deliver early..then she kept quiet hahaha think disappointed la... cos she went to ask temple and they say she can't go pray pray if i delivered b4 CNY cos she norm go temple on 1st day of CNY to pray mah. Hb laughed and told me to ignore her...he says his mum super funny.
6550708.gif
My colleague mil even more crazy, told my colleague (37wks) that if she gave birth before CNY, then she'll only visit her after CNY.

Chris, your bb is 内孙while your sil's one is 外孙 right? So, your bb has higher status leh... :p

She can o temple to pray as long she run visit u after birth & before she he's temple! :p

Hi Cherrie,
I also pee a lot more frequently at night. And yes it will be hard to sleep back unless i'm ultra ultra tired.

And for morning sickness, it can happen throughout the day also. It is the type where you make the vomit sounds, feel nauseous lo. I heard it is good to have such symptoms cos it means your bb is growing. Sometimes, it is also due to side effects of the hormonal medication that you are taking.

You can always google for more information but I understand that we would feel more assured asking and having someone with similar experiences replying. It is more reassuring. So feel free to ask questions ya?

Hazel, cheer up. Dun blame yr mil. She has no cope with the old lady (right), cny also coming. I m like u so emo till my hb can't take it. Juz like my mum super bias. Cook for my sister family daily but not me. My mum work place is juz 2 bus stop Away from my place and my mum cook in the morning but she Also never bring any for me. Same for weekends she cook for my brother and his wife I also dun get it even if I m nearby (she knows it) or I send her home I get nothing. What can I say? Now she knows my iron level falls below healthy range she juz ask me to buy beef or pig liver and ask my hb to cook for me. My hb has no time he is working and studying at night also must rush his final yr project. Tell me how to tell my mum off lor... Hint to her so many times, force her to make dong cong cao and bird nest for me.

Some more I pay for her up bill and my sister family now stay with her she keep using her hp to make calls bill increase I got say Anything? No... Yesterday juz found out her hp can recontract.. Ask her what she wants... She say iPhone. I say ok lor that cost me like $500+ she hear already say too ex then normal phone. So u say abt biasness then look at how my mum treat me. My siblings see her so often and they dun help her read her letters. She juz put at my house when she gives me my soup and ask me to read. I m like what? Fill in the blank yourself....

hazel,

not really both bbs are 内孙 la, just tat mu sil's bb is the 1st granddaughter cum grandchild for the family whom my in-laws waited for yrs to have. so now they are pretty excited hence focus more there lor.. my fren very cham, her mil super one kind, got 3 sons but shows favourtism to her eldest and youngest son. Too bad my fren's hb the 2nd son lor. So when the 1st dil gave birth to her 1st granddaughter, wow she dotes on her like mad lor, and always buy her expensive and branded clothes and give fat ang baos to her granddaughter on her bdae. My fren's daughter is just 2yrs apart from hers, and her mil only buy clothes from pasar malam, or sale at shopping centre for her daughter lor...super jia lak!!! And when my fren is preggy, she still have to help out with hsework when she go over at her mil's place to eat lor, there was a time she even have to squat down and scrub the kitchen floor after her mil cooks lor. When her sil preggy, she just sits and laze around the sofa no need to help out even when she not preggy. Really one kind rite? lucky my mil not like hers ah!!
6550756.gif

catherine,

hahahaha mums are like tat, i told my hb tat next time when we have kids, we must try our best to be fair and not bias ah (altho alot of people told me its tough) cos i heard alot of stories from my buddies on favourtism from their mils and parents also..at times i felt really turn off and wonder how come such stuff exists. For me, maybe i'm a single child so dun have this problem but i'm not close with my mum, i'm closer with my dad cos he took care of me most of the time when i'm young altho he's also super busy working. My mum abit paraniod and also loves to nag at me.

Hb will tell me that cos i'm a single child tats why i will never understand, and tat i'll always complain if i see unjust or favourtism in family.
6550798.gif

Chris, my mum did confinement for my sil's 2 kids when she was in her early 50s. For my bb, she said she 60 yrs old n no stamina already. So, she actually paid the CL for me. She said she has to be fair to all her children... So u r not wrong on u wan to treat ur children fairly next time.. Tell ur hub that. :p

Furthermore, my bb is 外孙 somemore..

Chris, hubs made hell out of noise last time for staying so near to my parents! Now, he dare not say much already.. Keke

Now wk days, I every day at home. Dun even need to worry abt food. My parents will handle. If my mum nv cook, they will buy for me.. If not, I walk out to the hot sun I will faint meh..

hazel,
Is like tat cos sons will norm want to stay near their own parents ma, esp if they are the only sons ah. Like mine, we stay punngol lor 15min car ride to his parents place lor...Actually u go out and walk more often, cos exercise will help you during delivery. That is if you can walk la and u dun feel faint. For me, i lucky my hse opposite got kopitiam so i norm take the lift up and cross the road. my colleague very kiang ah, always takes public transport home and climb the overhead bridge, altho she told me she nearly died 1/2 the way up. hahaha i told her i salute her ah, cos now tummy heavy i have difficulty climbing up stairs too.
6551007.gif

hazel,

yup my hb also told me the same thing tat next time we muz try to be fair and just to our children. Last time, his parents, esp mil dotes alot on his elder brother and ex sil. She'll try to give them everything. Tat time when i dating his son, she even got the cheek ask us go his brother's hse to vacuum and mop his 5-room flat cos its very dirty (as both of them super lazy and doesn't do hsework)Too much rite? i ignored her lor, and my hb told his mum off straight at her face then we not going to do their hsework for them lor, so old already still so lazy. Then my mil will bring her maid there to clean up their hse for them cos she can't stand their mess.
Then when they divorce that time, it was rather ugly lor, her fav dil took most of the $$ and even refused to repay them the $$ that they loan her for the downpayment for their EC and expect my bil to cough out the $$$ from his share. She got a bigger share of 70% of the sales proceeds from the EC and my bil 30% only.
6551029.gif

Anyway, my mil still haven't really learnt her lesson, she still dotes on her elder son till now. But we just ignore her as long as she doesn't do it at our expense we are fine with it.

hazel,

my gynae told my hb tat i need to exercise more to build up my stamina for labour cos of my age ah. If not i might not be able to tahan the long labour hrs esp this is our 1st bb. So hb has been nagging me to exercise lor hahahaha but think he see the way i walk he also faint hahaha a big fat penguin walking slowly..hahahaaa cos i use to be very agile and i often walk very fast before preggy.
6551045.gif

Chris, I pant until can die, even after a warm shower! Walking is worse. I asked dr Loh if I will hv a fast labour based on last yr's incident where my cervix dilated v fast.. He said maybe.. Anyway, cannot take it, he said see knife! Ha!

Congrat to cherrie for ur bfp...;) rest well n take care..

Hi baby
Hows ur scan today? Whts ur bb size today? Ur baby must be growing fast n when will be ur oscar?

Hi tanny
Hv u started ur prenatal vitamin given by doc Loh few days ago or start only after reach 12th wk? Can we start now? Me only started eating the fish oil... Whens ur oscar date too?

Hi sasha
All the best to ur coming week scan.. Must be feeling so excited n looking forward right..;)

Chris, u hv hand me down bb clothes right? A few pp have taught me to let bb wear hand me down clothes inside out when discharge to go home. Was told bb will then be easier to take care. Not sure if u wan to try it out....