(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

sunbelle - u take care & good to know that dr loh pick up your call. yeah he said lately very busy and short of staff that his staff run in and out to answer phone call.

hazel - yeah will increase water intake and rest. he did mention will increase along with weeks of pregnancy during detailed scan time 2 visits ago so I take it as long as he dint say anything, i shan't worry unnecessarily. he so cartoon - today got ready a thick mc book and said how many days you need? then told him not working so he said wahhh you tai tai ah, so good life. told him no la, not true.

okay just got home. will scan in the photos. got 3 shots of the '3D head' and 1 of bird bird and 1 of entire length. his head is till down so doing acrobats... good to know baby is doing okay despite me being down with a nasty bug.

Joanne - just read your earlier message. I take 1 fish oil per day as per prescription when Dr Loh gave it to me the last time.

Kimmy, dun use the nasel spray again ok. The common 2 types used, one contain steroids and another though no steroid but is classified as category B medicine which has not be tested pregnancy safe. I was told ONLY no choice then dr will give.. Also, dr Loh told u to take honey water right? That reminded me I took once a wk from 2nd tri.. 1st trim, is advisble to avoid though... But if ur throat is really uncomfortable, u try a teaspoon of honey (ie, dun mix with water, just take like this. It will soothe your throat.). Prof Ananda thought me one...

I wonder if he can give hl instead of mc? The book u saw is it a mc only? I just showered n now panting.. This breathlessness is making me really tired meh....

o tanny,

yup sometimes when bb hyperactive, and heard my hb talking to her, she'll start to calm down. hahahahah
or in the car, when she heard us both talking she'll start moving and rotating liao...

huh kimmy, u meant ur mil and sil staying with u???
Luckily for me, i don't stay with my mil cos she also same like yours at times like to force her thoughts on me, when i can't take it, i'll ask his son to settle her.
6538742.gif

Hi Tanny
I see.. Me got 3 photos and i thot all will hv 3 photos too.. Hv u make appointment for ur oscar as i heard their appointment quite pack these 2wks.. They squeeze me in too..

Hi Kimmy
Oh.. Thk u.. As the nurse earlier say i shd eat one then after know twins say can eat two per day so i wonder as box oso stated one per day.. Hmm...

HI Hazel,

I waited ab 20 mins after doing the urine test and wgt & ht. Maybe becos my Dr is Dr. Marinanne that why no need wait so long. When I went in there are already got 2 couples waiting for Dr Loh.

At the counter, Dr Loh namecard was all snap up, left Dr. M. And I also saw their charges and Dr Loh charge higher than Dr.M. Dr Loh consultation is abt 80-100$ and Dr.M is 55-70$... The rest i think is abt the same.

Yest when I go for my scan and consultation, I only pay $69+. $55 for consultation and she charge me $10 for the scan (normal charges is $20-80) dont kw why she charge me so cheap. Plus GST total add up ab $69+.

Yest was their first day opening, I even saw Dr Loh at the counter serving his patient. So funny!!! I think really short handed. Usually at TPS, I will see 1 nurse serve and prepare for the scan, but yest I oni see Dr. M alone doing all the stuff. I think alot of his KKH patient follow him to TMC.

I would like to know how does OSCAR scan go ab?

hazel - yeah dr loh told me to keep to piriton, 1 tab 3 times a day should be sufficient to knock me out to get some rest and recover soon.

chris baby - ya loh! sil since Feb hardly sleep here already cuz got bf place which mil dont like. staying with mil cuz all her daughters chose to have their own homes mah so left my hubby who also know he must be filial so stay with her.

Faithfully, I dun really get your qn on oscars scan...

The scan is to screen for risk of fetal anomalies, in particular Down Syndrome (Trisomy 21). It involves a Nuchal translucency (NT) scan and a blood test.

Nuchal translucency is a collection of fluid under the skin at the back of a baby's neck. All babies have some fluid, but many babies with DS have an increased amount.

A NT scan is a screening test which assesses whether your baby is likely to have DS. But this screening test can only estimate the risk of your baby having DS, whereas a diagnostic test, such as CVS or amniocentesis will give you a definite diagnosis (but also carries a small risk of miscarriage).

The NT scan can't tell for certain whether your baby is affected. However, it can help you decide whether or not to have a diagnostic test.

The blood test measures: (1) free beta- hCG and (2) PAPP-A.
A woman who is carrying a baby with DS will have abnormal levels of these two substances in her blood.

The NT scan alone probably picks up about 75 to 82 per cent of babies with DS, and the blood test alone, about 60 to 70 per cent. If you put the two tests together, the detection rate is usually in the range of 90 to 93 per cent with about a 3 to 5 per cent false positive rate.

However, the accuracy of the combined test depends on many factors, such as how good the sonographer is for the NT scan and how good the scanner is that she's using. Plus the timings of the blood tests and the NT scan can also make a difference to detection rates.

Okay, here's a pix of the little one's face. uhm tried scanning and taking using iphone but think the scanning one a bit the blur so hopefully you can make out which is which... basically top one shows eyes close and bottom one eyes open and on the ride side is covered by amnio fluid
6538851.jpg

so amazing bb pic kimmy! im sure after you see these you can't wait to see the actual smiling face!

hehe, yeah!!! with his hands at the side playing peekaboo! head is still down at the moment :p seeing these shots made all my frustrations from this morning disappear!

Ladies guess what, my gp said I looked pale. I told him my signs today and he said I may have labour pain!!!! I was like huh? He told me to relax now since tomolo c gynae, must let gynae know my pain.

My gal is really v active this afternoon. Pray hard that she is ok. I m only 32 weeks today. If bb come out now gp say bb has to go nicu. Scare scare. My hb said my gal wants ang pow. I told my gal dun come out cos I want her to b a dragon gal. 13 more hrs b4 I c my gynae..... Must relax and stop thinking of the stress at work

Yup tomorrow .... Lucky I push fwd my appt last week .... I was laughing with my gp that if he hear screams that's me shouting .....

Catherine: do your best to relax and not think about work and stress yourself up unnecessarily okay? For the benefit of your little princess! good that you're seeing gynae tmr and hopefully from there he can give you HL to rest. Haha glad to hear that you still can joke with your gp and laugh about it
Hehehe. stay cheery babe!

Kimmy, my gp treat us like frens. We can b at his clinic for 20 mins but really seeing him is only like 2 mins. The rest we chit chat. He gives us lots of advices juz like u ladies. I m sure if any of u were to c him u will end up chatting too

Catherine: that's great, to have such a lovely r/s w your gp. Not to mention dishing out advice
you sound more relaxed now too! Yay. Update us on your gynae visit k?

I can't get to sleep. I had bits of blood out from my throat earlier and it hurts like crazy now. Sleeping is also a problem, I'm currently 'sitting up' in bed cuz I got reflux twice today already and lying down gives discomfort. How do you 3rd tri ladies sleep @ night?! Tips please!

Just had reflux twice in a row even while sitting up to sleep. Disgusting! And it's making throat even more raw now. Milk doesn't seem to be doing the trick.

Kimmy, guggle your mouth/throat with salt water.. For reflux, get gaviscon from guardian if after taking some bread & milk dun help...The liquid sachet one is immediate relief.
Well, can't sleep well in 3rd tri Loh... My back has started to ache too.....

I hv been awake since a while ago n bb was rather quiet since 9 plus pm.. With some nudges when i jerked my tummy.. Hubs said she slept early! Now that I m awake, can feel her moving while lying on my left side.. Notti little beanie.. But make me feel at ease.. Haiz, we all just can't stop worrying for our little one ah?! Guess more worries to come after our bb arrives..

I gargled but it seemed to make it come out more. Finally slept close to 3am while sitting up out of exhaustion and I'm up again because my back ache and I started sliding down and the throat started to feel extremely raw again. Grrr. Gaviscon is to gargle also?! Yea those worries will nvr really stop. This early morning till 2am I could feel my little one moving and I didn't know whether it was normal tho books say its normal just that we may not realize cuz we sleep thru it. Haha. I was concerned if my state of health had affected him...

Hazel, im 37 weeks now and having irregular painless contractions as picked up by ctg nearly every hour. That means early signs of labor right? U know of anyone having such symptoms n how soon after that they will give birth? Im going to be induced next thurs or fri, juz wondering whether baby may come out earlier. Gynae says might, but i eant to see if anyone has similar experience.

Catherine, contractions at 32 weeks can be controlled by adalat which is quite effective. I only start getting contractions after i stop my adalat last thurs. But yours may be bb movement or stretching pain, only ctg can tell.

Kimmy, gaviscon Is to swallow. Is safe for pregnancy. Dr Loh heard I m taking that he didn't give me any med. he said just take if comfort is unbearable. Though it provides immediate relief, reflux may return in an hr or two.. So, best cure is to eat something every 2-3 hrs before reflux comes. Something light like A slice of bread n a glass of milk.

Your bb wun be affected much by your flu. But the medicine not only make u drowsy but also will made him drowsy too. So, he may sleep more like u. But if u cough until keep getting pulls or cramps at abdomen, then walk in go see dr Loh. In case got contractions n u dunno. For now, just drink at least 2 Litres of water every day, sleep n rest.. Guess u didn't take vit c tablets fr him? If so, just take more vit C rich fruits but avoid citric fruits for now as they worsen reflux.

Reflux will get better after bb "drop" further downwards getting ready for birth.

Yes, bb does move at night. Some can be ferocious n painful enough to wake u up. But mine, v gentle, I just sleep. I only know when I go for toilet breaks. But not all the time I can feel her movements. Bb sleep alot in final tri.. U r hitting final tri next week!! Another milestone achieved.

Kimmy, take care... bb is well develped will not be affected by. Dun worry. Juz keep urself hydrated n well rest k. I still believe in sleeping on the left side to help blood flow to bb.

Thanks ladies for your advise. Hmm perhaps I will get Gaviscon to standby then. The thought of my dh leaving for work and me home w my mil and her elder sis who is coming over irks me. Im exhausted but I very much wanna go my mom place to rest.
Thanks for reassurance that baby won't b affected too. Yea next week marks another milestone and I'm looking forward to it. I did take vitamin c from dr loh and I've been eating but I guess this bug is a really nasty one that is hitting me.

Ritzc - wow 37 wks! Congrats on being full term!

Hazel - will monitor the cough. So far cough is due to phlegm being sucked occasionally but no cramps or pulls so far... (& hope it stays that way!)

Ritzy, yes, my gf went for ctg check n found out that she has painless contractions every 5 mins. Her cervix is aoready 4cm dilated. Her twins were breeched, so, immediately warded for c section.

For your case, is still 1 hr apart. Ctg will check if bb is in distress or not also. If ur dr didn't say anything, it shld be fine since he scheduled a date for induce. If not, he wld hv done emergency c section. Dr loh told me, cannot induce too early. He told me if cervix is not dilated yet, starting fr stage 0 to 4cm can take days to induce n I may end up more stress.. The bill will be big too.. He said unless I m prepared for that, then he will do for me.

So, though u r having contractioms, it can take u days for cervix to dilate to 4cm.. Again, it varies fr person to person, some gals hv fast labour, some hv slow labors.. From 4cm, dr loh told within 12 hrs bb has to be out, if not bb distress, c section.

So, for your case, pls monitor for yourself. U need not feel contraction pain, if u feel certin signs like lower back suan suan, pls go see ur gynae if office hrs or 24hrs if after office hours.. That cld be a sign of contractions at closer interval & your cervix has dilated already... That is how my friend went to 24 hrs to check.. Her lower back very suan suddenly..

If u feel contractions at close interval of 5 mins, take your stuff n head straight to hospital. R u still working? Carry your nric, appt card/admission letter with u at all times in case you need to rush to hospital when u r working.

Water bag leaked or burst also must go in. Very soon, u will see your bundle of joy! I can understand the anxiety, if I were u, I will too. Hubs was just telling me yesterday, next mth ard this time, he will be v Gan cheong.... I told him dun stress me!! :p

How long does your ctg take? Abt 30 mins right? Dr loh told me will do for me next visit.. I think he wans to check my bb is still doing well by monitoring her heart beat for a period of time. .. Of course any signs of contractions... The heart beat picked up by ultrasound actually dun tell much coz is for the second in time.. Need to see the trend for a period of time then will know.. I m glad he is cautious coz of my history..

Kimmy, gaviscon has tablets n sachets. Tablets r cheaper but slow to act. Yes, I hv them on stand by. During day time, i can eat something every 2-3 hrs, the poblem is night time. Was told to pop 2 pillows n sleep.. But I can't sleep in that position... Also take frequent small meals, no spicy food also. for me, I need carbo to stop the reflux. So I hv a loaf of raisin bread at home. Dun lie down immediately after food also. Upright position fr 30mins to 1 hr.

Go bk to your mum's plc to rest if required. Take care.

Hazel, thanks for the info
gynae checked me for dilation on tues, im not dilated yet. She's going to check me again on fri n next monday. The checking is quite uncomfortable though. Guess my big day is really coming soon. My boy is 3.2kg at 36 weeks 5 days during my scan on tuesday.

Kimmy, thanks, didnt expect but glad i manage to make it to 37 weeks w my cervical shortening n preterm labor risks. Im looking forward to seeing my boy next week

Ritzc, for some women, checking of cervix can hasten the onset of labour pain or water bag to leak/break. Thus, gynae will only do such checks when bb is v close to full term at 37 wks. So, pls monitor closely. If unsure, just go in & check.. Dun be Like my sil, can see my niece's head while sitting on the toilet bowel at home!!

Hazel - thanks for the reco. Right now I'm quite emo. Just had crying outburst again after last night crying myself to sleep. Checked with some friends and all said normal to feel this way in 3rd tri...so its normal huh. Husband thought I was in tears because of my discomfort earlier but somehow I feel more than that. I hope its not depression starting to sink in. No energy to pack to go over mom's place at the moment but will prob do so near noon time hopefully.

RitzC - yeah, you managed to make it to 37 weeks so that's an achievement in itself! Hooray. I can only imagine your joy, anticipating of seeing your boy next week !!!!

Hazel, std ctg is 30mins. But coz they spotted have contractions, i was warded on tues at delievery ward for further ctg until 8pm then transfer to ward then repeat ctg the next morning in the ward. Gynae said in case contractions is due to cord around neck so need this monitoring to check bb is not in distress. Anyway the eventual diagnosis is im having weak contractions n bb is well. I dont feel any pain during the contractions juz tightening which i used to think it is the bb. Now know how to recognize a contraction,haha

Ritzc,yes, dr is concerned abt the cord risk to bb.. Dr loh also told me last visit only ctg can pick up.. He told me, if bb is playing with cord or cord round the neck, the heart beat will go up n down during ctg monitoring for a period of time... hm.. I also feel tightening once a while... Like u, I think is bb.. Though I did wonder if is Braxton hicks though usually painkess, A few times, there were mild pain...

Kimmy, u r feeling emotional coz of a couple of things (1) u r sick, (2) u r feeling irritated from reflux & lack of sleep (3) of course.. The stress from mil.. Do Something that you enjoy.. Such as Listen to some soothing music, watch some comedy movie at www.funshion.com etc.

My mom's taking the afternoon off to spend time with me. Moms always have that magical touch to know how to make you feel better. Sadly the same can't be same for mils. haha

I just coughed badly while throwing out some phlegm and every cough I leak a bit down there until I had to change out of my bottom. How to differentiate between urine leak vs. discharge vs. amnio fluid (hopefully not!), anyone knows? I tried looking at color - its just clear.

I know 10% members sale @ taka may just cheer me up, lol. BUT my dip in energy is so bad I can't even bring myself to bathe. I'm out of bed because lying down makes me cough even harder so I'm kinda in limbo right now. haha.

Interesting..this whole ctg conversation going on. haha learning new things from it. Didn't know that contractions can come in the form of being 'painless' too. I always thought contractions = painful = we won't miss it.

Hi Ritcz
Times really flies for u hor.. So nice tt u r seeing ur baby soon.. Envy..;) rest well n take care..;)

Hi first trimester sisters who r seeing doc Loh these few days
I wonder did Doc Loh has any maternity package fr 2nd trimester onwards in tmc? If u r seeing him these few days, can help check with the nurse whether hv such package? If yes, on when can we sign up n how much is the package price? Overlook in asking yesterday so am curious abt it.. Thk u..

Kimmy, i also blur blur not aware about painless contraction. Juz that i felt light bb movement ( he was way more active before) for 2 days n i spotted for 1 day before the reduced movt, so feedback to gynae when i see her. So she put me on ctg due to cord suspicion. The tps nurse wont comment during ctg. At delievery ward and my ward, the nurses give occassional feedback to me to guide me to identify my contractions, that's how i find out how to identify coz really no pain.

To err on side of caution, if ur nurse mention amino acid low, u may have to

Double check w ur gynae. Coz gynae being human may have miss some aspects esp if he is v busy. There r medication to increase amino level i think. I'm a natural worrier so i will question if i have doubts. Coz our bb are too precious. Anyway, i do leak a bit urine after toileting ever since pregnant.

Ritzc, Kimmy has just saw dr loh yesterday...

Kimmy, anyway, if u nv cough n there is fluid still, go see dr loh again..

Anyway, kimmy, not trying to frighten u, juz feedback what i will do. Anyway, im a difficult patient to gynae la.

Joanna, thanks
glad to know ur pregnancy is progressing well. Twins r cute

Thanks ladies - will monitor if there's still leaking when there's no cough. if not I will go see Dr Loh again. I do have the usual fluid/discharge/wet during pregnancy but was told that's normal right? Its usually just a bit on the top side? But earlier was really near to 'wetting myself' through coughs in the loo. Think I couldn't control my bladder because the cough was too strong.

RitzC - no worries! Really appreciate you sharing. Its natural for us to worry too regardless what stage of pregnancy we are at.

Just saw my detailed scan data. Amnio fluid volume was labelled as 'Normal' so should be okay right? Dr loh told me my placenta should still continue to shift up further so not to worry about that.

Kimmy - your boy looks so cute already
keep that close to you when you r feeling a little down and ignore the negativities. Get well soon!

RitzC - wow! next week to likely induce. Almost there!! Good luck & hope u have a smooth delivery, ya. Take care. Thanks for sharing as I am also like Kimmy always tot Contractions would be painful!! haha. didn't know there was such a thing as painless contractions!

Went to see doc yday for monthly check-up. I put on 4kilos in month of December alone
Doctor asked me to do test for Gestational Diabetes.. will know next week if kena or not. I hope it was just me putting on the weight due to the Holiday period!

Hi kimmy, I oso tend to have wet/discharge on e top part so I presume this is normal ya

Btw, what do u gals mean by reflux?

Till now, I can't sleep on side still as I really find it uncomfortable. Been sleeping all alg on my back eventho somestimes I feel my back aching but turning onto my side is so diff.

Nw for mi, even wearing undies n pants have become such a chore for mi. Find it diff n tend to feel stretchy at tummy area aft manage to wear up n will also pant aft tat. OMG.....

Aft reading the threads on contractions, can I juz ask if crampy or stretchy feeling equal contractions ?

Oh gosh... Getting bit worried nw.....

Ron, thanks

Bbliss, it may be just stretching pain for u. Contractions is real tightening of a large part of the tummy, most obvious on top like a big hard melon. I get stretching pain at times too while i was on adalat. Dun worry la.

Kimmy, if report says okay, u should be fine. Dun worry and have lots of rest n stay hydrated k