(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Nell - wah! 60kg! Queen leh you! Bought more bb stuff? Hehe. How many can u spare? I don't need a lot, juz a fee can already... Lemme know how much so I can prepare to. Wah I better catch you within the next 6 wks then

J03 - congrats on the bfp! No worries on the curry for me I always tell myself moderation is key and since both gynae I go to disnt state that as restriction I believe is okay so don't over worry yourself. As what msmiele said, it's prob a small portion cooked.

Bbliss - the hairdresser I went to, well the moment they see u big tummy they will have people keeping step w u frm yr seat to wash station, hence I reckon anywhere else should be similar
and if u wanna do, better to do now while you still can sit for a while before tummy gets bigger. For treatment, most stylists also quite cautious about touching yr sculpt and likely to protect it by not touching it or putting ampoule to protect it. I also buey tahan, went for trim and layer! Hahaha

Hi Joanne, me too feel like eating pizza and satay, but not sure whether can or not. Maybe just take a bit should be ok ba? For pizza, try not to eat the pineapples topping if any.

Btw, congrats ya
your reading also so high. Maybe twins? Hehe ;) When is your next scan?

Hi Baby
Me just worry abt the cheese.. Hee.. As i am confuse wht is blue cheese and wht is normal cheese..;)

High? Me is 1380.1 at day 16 so thot this is normal.. Yours r higher as i remember u hv 2600 plus..;) so urs shd be twins..

Joanne
Most pizzas are safe for you to eat during pregnancy, just as long they are cooked properly and they use ingredients that are safe.

Pizzas are often topped with mozzarella, which is fine to eat during pregnancy. But you'll have to steer clear of pizzas topped with soft mould-ripened cheese, such as brie and camembert, and blue-vein cheese, such as danish blue and stilton. These cheeses contain more listeria bacteria than other cheeses.

The other common ingredients on pizzas that could be a potential problem are cured meats, such as prosciutto and salami. If they haven't been cured properly, it's also possible to catch listeriosis from them, or toxoplasmosis. Both these illnesses are rare, but they can be dangerous for your baby.

Again, cooking pizza thoroughly at a high temperature will kill the parasites and bacteria that cause these illnesses, making the pizza safe to eat.

Enjoy your yummy pizza

Hi msmiele
Ohh..thk u so much for ur advise... So many technical terms.. Frankly speak, i dun know how to differeniate the different type of cheese (stupid me), so to play safe, better dun eat at all.. Hee..

HI ladies,
I went for a early scan today. Doc say can see water bag and yolk sac.... wa is yolk sac? My hub say can see how many are there, doc say most properly is a singleton.

I have another scan on 07/12 at TPS. My appt change from 06/12 to 07/12 cos she say I dont hv to go up and down, TPS can do scanning everything in 1 room.

Joanne
There is no 'normal' cheese but perhaps you are referring to cheese that are safe to eat. They are made from pasteurized milk (most of the hard cheeses but you need to recheck the label). Most of the soft cheese (blue, camembert, brie) are made from raw or unpasteurized milk. This can be harmful as it might contain the bacteria called Listeria.

Fatefully
The yolk sac is a membranous sac attached to the embryo which nourishes the developing baby (embryo) until the circulatory system has developed.

Hi Joanne, don't be stress. Patiently wait although difficult, me try not to think so much. Have been feeling the pulling around bottom part of tummy on both sides. So uncomfortable, especially walking. Do u have this kind of feeling? Sometimes I must hold my stomach while walking to reduce the pulling feeling hehe. Me too don't really know different type of cheese, so when eating cheesy food, only try to have small bite hehe. Better be safe.

Hi Fatefully, wow can see yolk n sac liao, so good. So happy for you. Aghh 6 Dec seems so long, waiting...waiting..counting hehe. Btw, when scan for HB, can DH go in and see too. The last time when I went for HB scan was accompanied by my MIL, and was asked to wait outside.

Hi msmiele
I see.. Thks for ur valuable advise..;)

Hi fatefully
Congrat for seeing yolk sac..;) must be an exciting moment.. Especially on ur next scan when u see ur bb hb beating strong..;) u do virginal scan?

Hi baby
Me on n off got cramp but more in the centre of womb.. Not both side.. Walking is ok..;) u dun walk too much too.. Take care..;)

Hi Hazel
For first hb scan, can i request to goto TPS since they hv night clinic? As i scare of the long waiting hr in clinic D.. And if i go to tps, am i suppose to go adc scan an hr before seeing Doc Loh? Thk u..

Hope283,
Like u, I oso hv to wear office formal to work.. I hv combed all the maternity shops @ Vivo / harbourfront & Marina square.. & seriously, I felt tt I m paying a premium juz cos they r maternity wear.. My personal views r -
Le blooming chic - formal office wear (less floral prints) --> my personal favourite but not cheap though... I like tis shop oso cos their maternity wear (for 1st / 2nd trim) comes in sizes & doesn't make me look too big though...
Modern maternity - comes w discount / vouchers, so items r slightly cheaper than other shops..
The maternity house / spring - more vibrant colours office wear..
Hope tis helps...

J03, your first hb scan yet to fix? Just tell the nurse you r seeing dr at tps n scan at AMC will be scheduled on the same day 1 hr before seeing dr loh. If u r seeing dr loh in the evening or later then the gap b/w scan and seeing dr loh will be wider as AMC closes at 430pm If I am not wrong.

I see dr loh at tps from d1 when I was not even pregnant. I dun understand why some sisters hv prob seeing him at tps. Just insist lah. If the nurse said no slot then just say dr loh said can see him at tps, just slot u in.

Re: pizza

All can take lah. The oven used to bake pizza is of v high temperature. Regardless of whatever cheese they use, all bacteria wld be died in the oven. Anyway, I Eat italian food v frequently. Even those with pineapples on top. Cooked pineapples no harm at all. N so small slices.. No effect also.

Salad n in whatever dressing I also take. Hub is in food industry. He said we r in SG. Not in OZ where dressing can can be made from scratch using raw eggs. But Not in SG. All our milk here also pressurized milk. If in OZ or NZ, where cows r plenty full, fresh from the cow then is unpressurized n may contain bacteria.

Dun get paranoid from all these. Just be careful on Chinese herbs ESP in first tri.

Hi joanne,
It scan from adobminal scan then follow by vigina scan. When scan tummy hub can see then when doc wa to scan vigina hub was ask to go out and wait.

Fatefully, scan V, hubby can see also. Some sinographer will ask hub to go out while she/he gets wife ready. After that, hub returns bk to room n see the scan. I did this hb scan 3x for 3 pregnabcy n hub saw all the scans with me.

If transfer 2, abdominal scan see 2, then no need to do V scan. But if see only 1, or none, sinographer will scan V thereafter to confirm 1 or 2. V scan Is clearer so can see more.

Hi Hazel
Thk you n appreciate ur advise.. Hmm.. Understand tt tps rm inside hv scan machine so we still need to go AMC for scan before visit Doc Loh? Btw, did u do V scan for ur first scan? Is it ok as i worry V scan will hurt beanies? Thk u soo much..

Hi Fatefully
Yes, hb shd be able to see beanie even is done thru V scan..

J03, dr loh has scan machine in his tps room. Previously, tps patients will just do hb scan in his room. Now, the nurse will arrange it to be done at AMC. Better also since scan machine is bigger n clearer. Also freed biz dr loh some time. Yes, did V scan coz transfer 2 n abdominal scan see only 1. So they hv to confirm singleton or twins n to rule out etopic preg. Aiyoh, wun hurt the embiee one. So many preg ladies do.

Hi Hazel
Thk u for ur info so much.. May i know did ur 2nd embyro get absorb into ur body or did it come out? U r really a great advisor!!

Kimmy, I can spare you 5. If u want more I can ask my hubby to bring back the next time he comes back.

Hazel, my mom got someone to "calculate" the date n time. I just give her the date the doc suggest n find one that is plus/minus 1-2 days from the suggested date. Don't know who she goes to in Rochor area.

BabyPenguin here. Officially shift to this forum. My ET date same as Joanne however I only managed to cross the KK cut off on my Day 15 after ET.

I was worried about spotting and sure enough, my discharge became dark yellowish to brown. I called the TPS yesterday afternoon and managed to slot in an appointment with Dr Loh.

Dr Loh say brown discharge no good and thus I was given an injection for support and to take 2 Progynova 2 times a day and 2 duphaston 2 times a day. Dr Loh wanted to congrats me.. then say.. no no. cannot congrats so soon.. hear liao heart sink..

Tanny and Joanne, are you taking the same dosage as me? He said I am to take until I see him again at the TPS next Friday. My appointment to see him was on 8 Dec but he said too long. Thus see him again next Friday..

Can I ask is cramping common? I used to cramp but after the injection no cramp already.. Dunno if it is normal.

Nell - okay 5 sounds good. No prob! I wonder why SG don't bring in something so basic!!! Hahaha.

Yay, preparing to go TMC for tour later. Hahaha, I sound like one excited monkey! Went out with Queenie ytd to shop for some maternity wear for upcoming wedding dinners we both have and this was how we started our day... :D
6360721.jpg

Happy weekend ladies! Yay, next wk baby fair again so much to see!

Oh yes, sorry got carried away and forgot to ask the question I intended to in previous post...

Has any other sisters been experiencing "sng" cramps around your calves region? I woke up yesterday feeling my right calf just ran some full marathon and wasn't able to move for a bit until I started to massage it slowly for blood circulation. I read that this is part of 2nd and 3rd trimester and to prevent it we should stretch our calves muscles or elevate legs prob when lying down. Just wanted to check if anyone else has any other remedies?

Kimmy, my gynae asked the physiotherapist to prescribe me a pair of compression socks during my second trimester. Wear 1 to bed for the leg that is 'sng' and the next day will feel much better coz it is for blood circulation in the leg. Try not to wear both coz it can be slippery on tiles and the socks are generally tight so quite a hassle to take off and put on before getting on or off bed. The therapist actually measured my knee and calves length before getting me the socks. Maybe you can ask your gynae or check out kkh pharmacy.

The milkshake looks shiok!
ay, I can't stomach cold drinks now.

Kimmy, I hv big time leg cramps n numbness yesterday night. I guess I walked too much yesterday.. Was walking in orchard for 3-4 hrs!

Neil, yes rochor lots of fengshi master around

J3, usually will get reabsorbed by body for most. If not, will see bleeding leh.. Will be freaking meh. U hv been reading the forum for a long time, how many sisters here have implanted embyro that came out? This kind of remote qns they r many. If every one u wan to know u r just stressing yourself unnecessary

Hey kimmy and queeny, thx for ur suggestions on maternity wear. I bought few pants from perfect mom for the moment.

I hv been calling Kk from one week to inform my progynova and duphaston will be over by Friday and if I need to buy agn. Such a bad servIce from Kk. I dint get a call bk sofar instead of calling them somany times. So disappointing.

Girls, need ur help to advise If we still need to continue during 14th week? I remem readg sometime bk that these medicines r only until first trimester. Please can someone help advising.

Hi Baby, I think I will follow him to TMC . Don't really trust the other doctors. Like yesterday, when the nurse tell me to go the 24 Hrs O&G clinic. I told her I prefer to see Dr Loh.

My mummy says also must follow the 贵人. If he is able to help me concieve. Should follow him as he knows best.

Hi Baby
I am taking 50mg progestron injection daily for one wk till next Monday.. Other than tt shd be same as u.. Duphaston and progynova.. As tt time i hv dark brown spotting when wipe and glad had stop 2days ago.

Hi baby penguin
We r cycle buddy as both our ET date same and only difference is ur embroye is 5 days while mine is 2 days when put in. Ur first date for scan is suppose to be 8th dec too? Did Doc Loh scan for u yesterday? I think i will bring forward the scan day too as got something on on 8th dec.. See how.. Me taking 2 pills once for progynova and two time one pill for duphaston, asprin n folic acid.. Ocassional will feel cramp is normal as uterus is expanding..

Hope, all hormones support stops once u cross over to 2nd tri unless still hv spotting issue. U will be started on multi vit n fish oil. If r having multiples, hormones support n muscle relaxer usually start again in 3rd tri to prevent onset of early labour.. All the way till dr asks u to stop, ie multiples r safe to deliver.

Congrats to Tanny, Joanne, Baby Penguin & Babyme!

Rest well and don't stress yourselves

Hopeful, I don't think u need anymore duphaston support. It's given to support early pregnancy. So no need to continue after 1st trimester. I was given 2 months supply of duphaston & frolic acid. After completing, I'm told to start on my prenatal supplements like fish oil, etc.

Hi babypenguin
Did doc loh told u yesterday tt u r at week what of ur pregnancy? If ur embroye is 5 days, does tt mean u r 3 days ahead of me?

Hi baby
Yes, if everything goes well, i want follow him too.. As all along i hope to give birth in thomson.. Since he is going there, it will be just nice..

Hi Hazel
Yes, i hv been reading forum for quite sometime, notice some hv bleeding when the other embroye discharge so just curious is it usually will bleed when only one implant? Anyway, thk u for ur advise...

Babypenguin : I'm taking Progynova 2 tabs 2 times a day and Duphaston also 2 tabs 2 times a day to last until 3 weeks later. Also continue with my 400g Cyclogest 2 times a day until finish.

My appointment with Dr Loh is following Friday Dec 9 to see HB.

Till now, still ok no spotting. Maybe I was on leave. He asked if I wan MC for next week but I said I will go back to work. He say if I need it, just email him. Really can like that meh? (If not ok to say here, can pm me if u know its possible?)

I'm on Fet cycle and I never cramp at all until now. No special feelings at all. Even bloat also no more leh. I know this can get me worried again.... but I try to stay positive.

Do you sisters take BBT now?

Yesterday I saw a little red spot; after that no more. I feel take western medicine not enough, so went to TCM to take An Tai Yao for peace of mind. The TCM medicine is to stop spotting as well as to An Tai. Until now still ok.

Just to share that my TCM says strictly no 3 things - Pineapples, Xian Cha (those sweets when we eat when we were young) and Aloe Vera.

I din know Aloe Vera also cannot eat. Weird...

Baby_me, Fatefully : Are u also on same medication?

Btw Hazel, what is the contact number at Tps to call for appointment? Or is it to call the same appointment number in kkh? Thk u..

Hi Joanne and Tanny, Yup, we are cycle buddies. :p I think my U/S scan maybe will remain on 8th Dec.

Dr Loh says review next Friday to see if I am alright. He didn't scan for me because he says it might be too early to see anything yet. I ask him what about next week? He said might be still early too.

Tanny, I quite itchy hand still mesuring BBT. That day I saw my temperature drop ang got a scare. Was really scare my support not enough because I am on medicated FET.

Hi baby penguin
May i know how u make ur appointment at tps? I try to make appoimtment at tps and they say earliest slot they hv is only end dec.. Omg, so late.. Wondering is there any other ways to get earlier appointment at tps.. ;(

Thx Hazel and sunnie. I feel relaxed now. Donno wat wud I hv done without this forum and support from u all. Everytime i hv issue, first thing comes to my mind is this forum and u helping sisters. Thx to u all.

Hi hopeful, I did check if Dr loh if I need more duphaston and folic acid since my med can only last for another month.My next appointment with him will have to wait more than a month. He replied that we do not need more duphaston and folic acid. Just finish those that I have and then start the prenatal vitamins that he has prescribed. Hope this helps.

Hi Tanny, j03, penguin, congrats!

Hi Tanny/ J03: are u both related? Haha, I am confused. Both of u have the same style of writing .. Can be very gd sisters.

Hi Merly, Thanks..

Hi Joanne, I did a goggle search yesterday and found the TPS hotline number +65 8121 7813 at http://www.kkh.com.sg/Services/Women/MaternityServices/Pages/Home.aspx

I asked the nurse if Dr Loh has any clinic yesterday and she said yes. I asked if I can make an appointment but she told me that he still has many patients to see. So I told her my condition that I had just tested postive but can see spotting.

The nurse told me to wait and went to ask Mr Loh's assistant. The nurse came to the phone and asked how long do I need to reach KK. She told me to reach before 5.30pm and that I have to wait for him to see all the patients first. Finally managed to see him at around 7.30pm. So I think should be quite alright.

I think they are willing to slot patients in for urgent cases. You might want to talk to the assistant and give it a try?

Juz finish my tour! Haha actually quite short and boring but benefit me as I asked the most questions I think. Wahahahahahhahaha. Gosh standard rm seemed quite cramp and bcuz I haven't been to tmc in the last 5 yrs and today a lot of ppl, I was practically walking into someone or walls at the lobby. Mm informative for me in that I asked the whole process in detail and basically once we admit, we will be in an observation ward with other preggers until we dilate or go into active labour then transferred to delivery room which looks not bad (got tub for hypbobirthing). No kids allowed only husband and cam/video only permitted upon permission (i.e if nurses and doc think labour is gg ok and not much of a problem). Epi c-sec, husbands allowed in but no camera and video cux it's sanitized area although nurses will usually have their own and help u snap a pix. The rooms section was much better cuz not so crowded but anything beyond single ward is ala carte price not package which means your diapers, baby stuff will be tag to your room's price. Single ward sofa bed a bit small and tight for my dh's built and they recommended for more visitors to take suite (they have basic suites too).

Hazel - u are right for single bedded in tmc I can get the most premium suite at kkh for same price. Wahahah!!! Wah steady walk 3-4 hours in town! Today my turn... Doing Xmas shopping! Hehe

Ritzc - hehe the milkshakes actually 'cure' me of constipation! Wahahah

J03, i always call general booking line. KKH always full one. When u call, just say u r pregnant n need to see dr loh m he said slot u in via email. U r willing to wait. I nv have any issue when I wan to change date. Bleeding or spotting is nv a gd sign. We will nv know wats the course of bleeding for sure, even the drs too. In case is due to insufficient hormones support, so dr will give extra n ask patients to rest. If bleeding is due to other reasons, no matter how much support also useless.

Catherine - there was soup at the end, even hubbys were invited to drink at the cafeteria. Not bad
thanks again for the slot. Asked most of the questions I needed.

Ritzc - I will monitor the cramp and might go kkh pharmacy to ask for one of those compress becuz my right calf starting to act up again