(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Hihi its friday n on leave today. Yipee!!

Queenie, hope u r ok n do take care when its raining next time. I always walk carefully when on wet floors.

Ron, congrats fot ur oscar scan. Another load off the mind. Yeah let us knw wat u need as will b tough for u to populate the spreadsheet by looking at posts.

All talk abt food make me want to eat too. Sometimes run out of ideas wat to eat n seem like my ms is here to stay for a while though i just past 1st trimrster.

Jane, hmmm our offices near but stiill a bit difficult to meet up for lunch hor.

Everyone has a gd day n enjoy your weekend!!

Happy children day to all bb in mummies tummy :)

Tzac - so good! On leave! Haha on a Friday. Enjoy your day off!

Vann - have a great scanning session! Sure your bb is developing very well!!!
wait for your updates too!

Good morning everyone. I always feel so happy reading forum in the morning. I tend to get lazy at night and just watch TV. So never get in forums. :p

Queenie, you take good care ok.. I walk really slow and like aunite when it rains.. keke..

Vann, good luck with your scan!

tzac, yeh.. but maybe one of the fridays we can arrange to meet. longer lunch time. hahha..

Gosh..feeling tired again. What do you girls do to stay awake? Now no kopi and teh. sobz.

Hi ladies! Today I will be working from home. Was feeling light headed while waiting for a cab just now and having cold sweat, so I sat under the block for a while. Still feeling dizzy, so I went back up to my house. I think I walked and moved too fast!

jane - u can still drink coffee or tea, one cup per day only.

have a good friday everyone!

andreanie, you take a good rest ya. I'm also working from home today. Feeling so tired. Working at home allows me to take a nap during lunch time. hehee..

Lunch time soon! Ladies, what is your craving today?! kekke...

Hey hazel, gen i give my nric no in the email and also the details. I will anyways send an email to him today and follow up with phonecall.

He told me yestdy that he will be move to Thompson. I said I will follow him. He ws laughg. I am glad he will be more accessible once he shifts to Thompson.

Jane - haha yah last night raining I walked so slowly duno how many people overtook me. Although still no one give up seats in the train. *faint*

Andreanie - Oh no are you okay? I read its normal for us to feel light headed at this stage now but you take care okay? Good at least you work from home, whenever you don't feel too good, can lie down a little & all.

Happy friday! I'm so happy whenever its Fridays!

Hi koirc, I rem u sd u hd spotg initially. May I know how many days did it last? And did also tk a jab? How long does it tk to completely stop spotg after the jab?

Hope,
I had spotting initially in my 6th week.. it was brownish n it happened on the day of my cousin's engagement party n i was walking alot.. i went to kk o&g n got a jab and up my duphaston to 3 times a day.. i did a lot of bedrest n minimised walking even tho at home.. 2 days later, no more spotting.. pls rest well n dun exert urself too much.. still quite fragile.. if spotting persists, u can get the progesterone jab once a week..

Yoz yoz, sisters,
Thanks for the kind concern.. U gals r simply great!!
Juz had a bruised kneecap.. & yes! I shall REALI walk like a QUEEN now...

Juz had laksa for lunch.. Thanks to whoever for the foodie toks yesterday.. & now drinking my muz-have apple juice.. Yummy yummy...

Hope283,
Did u ask dr Loh is hes moving to the TMC building or? Coz that time he told me its going to be a new building just a few stops away.. Am wondering could it be the Novena /
Specialist Centre in Sinaran Drive..? Hmmm... I'll go ask him tmr.... :p

Just had fish & chips for lunch. Had only a few bites but at least its not fishy not me.. Surprisingly! Those stir fried sliced fish i canot tahan....

Thx silsilly and cloud. Will follow ur advise.
Sunflower- I dint ask him in detail, however he told me he will update further info durg my next visit. Becog still somthgsyet to be finalised it seems.

hope283, mine lasted for a very short while. It didn't persist so I just let it be and when I went for scan, doc said everything ok. But my week 8 scan, doc found blood clot. So she asked me to monitor for spotting again.

Ooh... sisters, I'm so excited and apprehensive. I'm going Retrolicious tomorrow but I know there are gonna be a lot of people!!! Gonna bring my bb for some fun time! :D

Koirc - you are so happening!! I think your bb is going to have lots of fun 'dancing' inside. hehee.

Im only going to the boring cordlife event

Kimmy, what cordlife event? Ohoh... I also want to go leh. Cos I think it's important... But don't know if it may be too early for me. Hehehe...

Kimmy, I m not banking bb's cord blood coz I asked dr loh n he told me is not cost/benefit effective. He said I get more benefits using the money to buy insurance. He also told me one bb is 30kg, ie 8 yrs old, the stem cell is useless. He also said if bb develop certain issues in life that wld most likely mean is already in the stem cell at birth.

Koirc - its a baby talk by Cordlife, the company that banks baby's stem cell storage. I going just to find out whats it about, benefits etc.

Hazel - Mm I didn't speak to Dr Loh on this yet but maybe because there's 25% of bb getting a thal. major and hubby's dad died of liver failure so hubby is a bit concerned that should baby needs any help, even when young. Hubby also a bit the ambitious, hoping that with advanced medical science, perhaps it can be used for more illness/diseases in future too

Kimmy, all these u mention abt thal major, family history will already be in the genes. So the stem cell will already have all these. So wun be able to use to treat these subsequently. That is wat dr loh told me. Coz I was for cord blood banking but hub said it is not useful. I asked a few dr friends also told me same thing. So, I decided to ask dr loh for his opinion so that I can arrive at a decision, dr loh said got money then no harm but it is cost/benefit not as effective as buying insurance. Hub heard that n went "I told u right? Dun believe me," kekeke

Kimmy - will arrive ard that timing too I think. Yup talk is at 1pm. We are gng for lunch first cos confirm I'll be hungry haha...

Hazel - thanks for your additional info. Will also check with my gynae this Monday. But will also find out more info on cord banking tmr.

hi sisters...saw Dr loh at TPS yesterday...Long waiting...baby's at 8cm at week 14...I asked him if it was small and he said it's within the norm range...seeing all the sisters sharing bigger baby size I'm really worried...Anyway I'm finally gonna start eating multivitamins and fish oil...Hope baby continues to grow well...

Hazel - wah really ah??? Hahaha I must tell hubs that! He was actually keen cuz his bestie had a kid last yr and did stem cell banking and told him its damn good. Thanks for sharing. Hai..since I register already and its free...and I'm going to be available around that time then go loh. Hahah at most bored liao go shopping after that since its at Mandarin Gallery, very near orchard!. Thanks for the info though. I think I will have to also ask Dr Loh in front of hubby the next time so that he can hear from the doc's mouth himself also. Its not cheap also loh...

Andreanie - yah! Definitely have lunch 1st. This kinda things might delay then scarly tea snacks very long queue and not appetitizing... Hahaha. I wonder if we will bump into each other without knowing...mwahahahahahha

Vann - that's good news! bb is growing well... Yeah mine also around there...8.9cm for 2 days ahead. Its +/- in the range.
I'm sure your little bub is going to grow well.

Happy weekend sistas!!

Oh ya, one more question:
- Anyone considering to put bb in playpen all the way as oppose to cot first? Mmm am starting to do my research first so when bb fair comes in Dec, I can whack when I see prices.

M newbie here. Have just gone on to see fertility expert but haven't gone on to ivf yet. M amazed how all mummies go through all difficulties to have their little ones... Any advise or doc that u can recommend? Cos each time we see doc, he ask us to try naturally... Husband every month also disappointed when af appeared. Thank u

I read that the cot I much stable and easier for u to pick baby up cause it is adjustable to your height...also the cot can be converted to a bed later...

Kimmy, go taka after that! Got sale n if u hv taka card another 10%! alot of gd deal for bb.

Re: playpen or cot
I plan to get a sturdy play pen first. Coz it is easily collapsible n stored. I hv seen a few friends, including my bro where they bought cot n hv use much eventually coz after first mth bb sleeps on matteress (safer). So, I will see if I need a cott only after bb is born. When bb is bigger a few yrs later I will prefer a single bed instead of a converted cot

Vann - I am planning to get cot which can be converted to toddler bed afterwards. Will be better and more sturdier. But we are still keeping our options open.

Kimmy - We end up not going to the talk. Cos hub suggested to just go for the antenatal classes at NUH and they will cover all the topics during today's talk. Hope u'll benefit from the talk!

KKH Patients - Anyone knows when Dr SF Loh be moving to Thomson? Asking on behalf of my 2 friends who had ivf with him for their past pregnancy, and they wish to do another ivf soon for their second/third one. Please advise, thanks!

HAZEL - what kind of sale is there at Taka now?

Dr loh going to tmc in jan 2012. Also, dec he usually will take leave xmas time, 1-2 wks.

Re: taka sale

Store wide 20%. taka card another 10%. Can earn taka points some more. eg maxi cosi carbrofix car seat plus quinny zapp stroller cost abt 650 with taka card plus a free traveller bag. Very good deal. I m only interested in this brand. Other brand I nv Check.

For play pen I can place it at my mil or mum's plc thereafter coz need a plc to confine the bb safely after 3-4mths old when she starts to turn n thereafter crawl, etc.

I intend to buy a play yard from japan.. Bigger area for bb to move around but yet confine bb safely in an area. There is a reliable link in mtb forum that a lady brings in from Japan. Very nice!

For sisters who r getting mendala pump, the pump will fit nicely onto mendala bottles n nuk bottles only. Usu mummy pumps directly into the bottles n store them in fridge to reduce the need to wash n sterilise so many bottles. Mendala bottles r v ex. Nuk bottles mainly narrow neck. Sisters who prefer wide neck bottles like avent has to buy an avent conversion kit separately to fit onto the breast pump so that it can fit the avent bottles. The conversion kit is sold at first few years shop at KKH or paragon.

Pigeon steriliser like rapid steam can fit all bottles type n brands n other accessories such as brushes, tubes, etc. Other brands like avent sterilizer can only be used on same brand of bottles as it has fixed bottles holds inside to hold the bottles.

Hope these help!

Hazel - steady! I will go check taka out. Am
Also gonna apply for taka card ;) ooo I will ping you on play yard from Japan. I quite keen also!!!

I reached cordlife baby talk late. Haha but ok la quite interesting and now got 2 sessions with mrs Wong on baby massage demo & breastfeeding. Then later on is on labour. Wahahaha. Free one!! So see what they have. Mrs Wong speaks quite well! Haha I thought is those aunty- confinement lady type...

Shopping..I can't wait! Saw some maternity clothes selling here :p

Hazel - I plan to get medela pump but sounds troublesome that can only get medela bottles and nuk
sterilizer also I tot is one big container type one? U mean it has the milk bottles 'mould' that can only fit certain brands?
hai... More research!!!

To all sisters out there, I haf 4 boxes of progesterone inserts (brand new, unopened) for sale.

I have gotten too many boxes for additional pregnancy support during e 1st trimester. Nw left balance of 4 boxes.

Anyone interested, pls let me noe. Discounted price to let go. (negotiable).

Thx.

Thanks hazel for the link.
I like the mat.
Sil brought the mat, is very useful & thick. The mat also has nice pics on it.
But was wondering hers was the parkland green or LG.

Hello sisters! Omg, I'm tired out by the boogie last night. But Retrolicious was a blast!

Hey just wanted to check, we can take chicken essence right?

Thanks hazel for the link! I like that the Matt is thick and yea I wanna form a big yard too!
thanks for sharing.

Hi koirc, what a happening mommy boogie-ing away. You sound like you had a lot of fun! And I think baby had lots of fun too!

My belly button is starting to pop under tees, normal rift? It kinda creates a mark or indentation on my tee!

Wow.... Kimmy, so fast ur belly button popping out ah. Mi still nt yet. Wonder is this normal ?

Any Sis who r ard 13-14 weeks yet to haf their belly button popping out?

Hey girls, how r u all? There is still no improvement on my side. While I had black ligh discharge until yestdy, tody I suddenly had red spottg in the eveng. Had rushed to 24hr clinic immediately. Dr scanned agn and inside baby is fine. I askd her if need to increase medicine. She sd not required as already dr gave the jab on thursdy. But why is this happeng to me? She ws not able to give any reason for my spotg. Also I hv stopped aspirin also two days ago per dr advise, but still no improvement. And now it is in red, donno wat to do.

Hopeful, write to dr loh, to request if u can increase dosage of duphaston. Now u r taking twice a day right? Can incease to 3x a day or more. But ask dr loh how much u can increase to. Rest more on bed.