(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Koirc and mumtobe,
My EDD is 16/05.. Very near to urs.. Likely to be baby taurus..

Sunnie_gal, im drinking Mamil Mama.. But never drink daily leh. Tried once with empty stomach and i got tummyache.. Not sure if im lactose intolerant.. So nowadays i add milo to 2 scoops of mlk powder. Heard Anmum has better contents but i cant find original flavour so didnt buy.

Regarding the doing the ivf thingy, my ILs and my family know abt it but not in details.. They're v understanding abt it. As for normak frens/ colleagues, i dun bother to tell them abt it..... Some of them can b very gossipy.. But if there are pplnwho genuinely wants to know abt the procedures, i'll gladly tell them my experience too.. Afterall doing ivf really needs alot of support from ppl around u...

Wow a few websites to get maternity wear!! Im going to vivo this sat after my med appt to shop haha. Thanks ladies!

Sunflower - I cannot drink the pregnancy milks, I drank last week and end up having bad tummyaches for 2 days. So I guess its cos of my lactose intolerant.
I now drink goat's milk, choco flavour. Helps me alot, feel so much better and no tummy ache!

Talking about clothes I bought Bella band from maternity exchange...quite good...so I wear my pants as I can still fit into it just cannot zip or button up then I wear the Bella band on top...

Sunflower,
I used to drink cold fresh milk daily but I understand we should avoid cold drinks at this moment. So my hubby bought mamil mum for me. I find that the taste is quite okay with vanilla flavor. But problem is the milk powder doesn't dissolve well, so limps of milk powder will be floating. So when I drink I have to keep stirring.

Yesterday, had an appt to see Dr Loh at abt 2. When we were there, he was still seeing patients for 12pm appointment. Think he finally finished seeing all the am patients close to 4. Then he went for quick lunch. We finally get to see him close to 5pm. Hubby remarked that he must be really overworked and looked kinda stress, not his usual shelf.

During the appt, Dr Loh referred to a blood test I've done years ago and wanted to refer me to do thalassimia testing. But I used to be regular blood donor, so think I'm unlikely a carrier. Is there a need to test?

Regarding ultrasounds,

My 1st ultrasound is schedules middle of my 7th wk. I had wanted to arranged an earlier scan in wk 6, but I read something from the net that changed my mind. Not going to go for extra scans unless necessary or medically required.

I may be paranoid but this is what I found-
http://www.unhinderedliving.com/pultra.html

Just google 'risks of ultrasound' and you'll see much more. So it's good to be aware so that we can make more informed choices.

Sunnie gal, so it is better to start drinking Mamil Mama once preggie? I'm only drinking either milk or soya bean every morning. Not enuff uh?

Posted By Dr. Ben Kim Healthy Pregnancy

While ultrasound scanning doesn't pose the same dangers to human and fetal health as ionizing radiation, it is a mistake to think that ultrasound is entirely safe for a baby growing in your womb.

Ultrasound scanning works by sending sound waves into your tissues. As these sound waves bounce off of your tissues, a picture is created.

These sound waves are capable of producing the following physiological effects:

Increase in blood flow and temperature in local tissues
Production of gas bubbles that can put pressure on local tissues
Mechanical effects like movement of the fluid that surrounds your cells, which can also put pressure on local tissues
The conventional view on ultrasound scanning during pregnancy is that the intensity and duration of sound waves that are used for scanning are not enough to produce these physiological effects at a level that is harmful to a fetus.

I believe that this conventional view is influenced by the number of dollars that are being made by this industry.

Before you allow ultrasound scanning to be performed during pregnancy, please consider the following points:

Ultrasound scanning of pregnant women has been shown to significantly increase the likelihood of miscarriage, preterm labour, and even infant mortality.
Pregnant physiotherapists who provided ultrasound treatments for more than 20 hours per week were found to have an increased risk for spontaneous abortions.
One of the reasons used to support ultrasound scanning for pregnant women is that it can help to diagnose a condition called placental praevia. This is a condition where the placenta is implanted in the lower part of a woman's uterus, which can cause bleeding in the third trimester and increase her chance of being encouraged to have a caesarean section.
A study of 4000 women found that of 250 women who were scanned and diagnosed with placental praevia, only 4 actually had placental praevia upon delivery. Who knows how many unnecessary caesareans have been done and how much needless anxiety women have experienced due to incorrect diagnoses of placental praevia wiith ultrasound?
Using ultrasound scanning to detect serious problems before birth does not necessarily save lives or reduce illness. There is evidence to suggest that using ultrasound to attempt to detect problems while a baby is in the womb can do more harm than good.
There is evidence to support that children who have been exposed to ultrasound while in their mothers' bellies have a greater chance of suffering from dyslexia and other speech and learning problems than children who have not been exposed to ultrasound.
Ultimately, the two main reasons why I believe that it is best to avoid ultrasound scanning during pregnancy are:

No matter what intensity and duration of ultrasound waves are used, there is always a possibility of these waves creating unnecessary thermal and physical pressure to a growing baby. Why take this risk?
There is always a possibility of practitioner error and/or a defective machine that can result in a higher than intended dose of ultrasonic waves to your baby.

Article from http://drbenkim.com/articles-ultrasound-pregnancy.html

Jane, what kind of milk are u drinking?

Mamil mama is specially formulated for pregnant & lactating mothers. It's enriched with frolic acid, iron, calcium & DHA. There's a immunoforce- a prebiotic that's suppose to stimulate growth of good bacteria, etc.

There are many other milk powders in the market specially for pregnant & lactating mums. Extra calcium is good for us now.

I'm only drinking normal fresh milk like Farmhouse and soya bean bought from market. Ok Ok, I will go and get Mamil Mama. Thanks!

Good morning sisters!

I just did my scan and now waiting to see doctor. Was peeking at the scan result and got caught by a nurse who asked me to surrender the document.
Does anyone know of a good website that clearly explains fetal development by the week? Eg. Crown to rump, heart rate, fetus size etc.?

Tried to google but always find those that tell you your baby is growing a webbed hand now etc. Not scan readings.

Jane - Normal milk and soya bean is fine too. My gynae said that its not necessary to drink specially formulated milk during pregnancy cos we will still be eating our vitamins and folic acid. Especially for me who is lactose intolerant, Mamil Mama or other specially formulated milk makes me have a tummy ache cos of the high fat content.
So now I have switched to pasteurised goat's milk. It has more benefits than normal cow's milk and have a higher calcium content. Plus most importantly, it doesn't make me have a tummy ache because of the fat in the milk.

Koric - You are so cute. Eager to look at the scan result too! HEhe.. good luck with the scan!

Andreanie - I'm taking folic acid, fish oil and prental vits but not eating any chinese med. This is my first preg so super kan jiong. hehe.. trying to find out what will be best for baby.

Jane, this is my first pregnancy also hehehe...
As long as u're taking your prenatal vits, any milk is ok for you.
I have been drinking soya bean and goat's milk everyday now. And yes, please do not take any herbs of any kind, even chrysanthemum tea.

I have stopped taking coffee and tea. Feeling so sleepy in office! haha..

Sunnie_gal and andreanie, let's all jia you!

Andreanie,
Where do u get the goat's milk? Does it taste ok?

Sunnie_gal,
I just keep stirring until lumps gone leh.... Looks like no choice... Hate the lumpy feeling also.
Gosh, refering to the ultrasound article u showed us, looks like i better think twice abt asking dr Loh for a scan this sat! Am feeling paranoid so thought of requesting for a scan to make sure bb is ok... My next scan is 2 nov... So long...

Vann - Bella Band rocks right? Haha but sometimes I conscious that my top can 'ride up' and reveal my half-zipped pants. Haha.

Sisters please dont wear anything too tight around your waists. I went tailor recently & she told me her cousin keep wearing those tight, fitting pants/skirts and then end up her bb didn't move in 3rd tri and now they seeking emergency help

Sunnie_Gal >> I will be unemployed again in mid Oct. We can arrange outings to go bb shopping and/or exercise class or something. Hahahahaha

Morning.
Kimmy-I am on my no pay HL leave till end of this month then going to apply for maternity leave. So can quit job @ the end of it. Not sure if my organisation would approve. Not interested in going back to work, as the environment is not healthy. The toilet is no good. There is construction work in and around the area. So ofcourse we can meet up.

finally oscar scan done and all cleared. what a relief :) today is past my wk 12 and check with doc who told me trimester 1 is officially over..but....does not seem my ms is over leh :-(

welcome to new mummies-to-be *wave wave*

am also v tired as been working late past 2 days...how i wish can zzzzz

Kimmy, was also thinking of going to look at baby stuff. Kinda early cos haven't even gone for 1st scan :p told hubby about the expo baby fair and told him we can go look see first. Then he reminded me Dr Loh just advised to stay away from crowded public places :p so don't think my hubby will let me out shopping till really sure everything's gonna be alright since this preg doesn't come easy. He doesn't want me to cook and mimimum housework (I only walk ard the house with the 'paper mop'. He does all the cooking and housework now. He say I better enjoy this special treatment cos only valid for limited time only. :p

tzac - I just came back from lunch, eat so little yet so sleepy! I rather sleep than eat nowadays haha.. cannot take it today!

Jane & Sunnie_gal - Yes lets jiayou together!!!

Kimmy - really? gosh, so sad for your tailor's cousin. Yesterday i wore one of my tight skirts to work and I have to say its so uncomfy when I sit down. Feels like its too tight on my lower abdomen.
So no more tight skirts for me!!!

Sunflower, didn't mean to scare u regarding the ultrasound risks. But think its important that we need to be aware that there are risks involved.

Sigh I envy all of u who can drink milk or soyabean. My princess dun like such things not even coke or Ribena! I m only down with plain water and sometimes bird nest ot aloe vera drink. I hope to improve if not v scare bb dun develop well....
gg for my detailed scan next week really v scare!

My big problems now r r stress at work, bb development and which hospital to choose argh!!!

Sunflower - I get my goat milk from Hay Dairies. You can google them and visit their website.

It tasted ok as long as u take the chocolate flavour.

Catherine,
Don't worry too much, stay positive! It's a good thing your baby doesn't like Coke. It's definitely not beneficial! Your prenatal vitamins & supplements come in handy now to supplement whatever you're not getting enough from your diet.
Some suggested talking to baby first to help with the eating part. You may wanna try that

Sunnie_Gal - yup, the goat milk is pasteurized and homogenised. Its safe for babies,toddlers, pregnant women.

Its locally produced too! So AVA checks on every milk that is being produced. Theres more info on their website.

thanks sunnie gal :)

andreanie, haha...same here..nowadays when i eat like dun seem to really enjoy the food leh...

btw, anyone workinig ard suntec area?

Sunnie Gal, thanks! This is very helpful. Btw, your company is very good to allow you to take such long leave hor?

Hi all-
Think today is a bad day for me. Have been vomiting since 3.30am. And having a bit of headache. The past two days been having bad appetite. Do you ladies think I should call my clinic for advice

mum, hv u treat the nausea n vomitting medicine? i find that it works for me as in at least will not feel so nauseous. as for headache, i hv been having it for the past few days and checked with gynae before and she said that its due to harmonal change....u do take care...

Thanks andreanie for the information on goat milk.. I will be interested to check it out!

Anyone around 5+ weeks preggie now?

tzac - i work around beach road. 1 mrt stop away..

Jane, I'm just 5 weeks as today
based on IVF due date calculator. EDD is 5th June. But I understand this info will change after 1st scan.

Koirc, I actually extended my HL :p The most impt priority now is to minimize stress and sufficient rest for the 1st trimester. Have to sacrifice work. Even if they don't allow, I'm ready to quit. But fortunately, my mgt has been very supportive so far

Mum,
When is your EDD? If u really feel unwell, just keep your clinic informed and get their professional advice.

Jane, I don't have MS yet. Symptoms minimum- fuller breast, erected nipples, feelings of belatedness, need to visit toilet more often. That's about it.

Sunnie gal, KK nurse calculated for me. So I should be around 5 wks 4 days bah. I don't really have MS too.. Only that i will feel a little nausea in the morning.. not much appetite. Still glad that I'm able to take my meals. Oh, I'm pretty bloated. I look like i'm 3mths preggie

Opps! I forgot to take my prental vits for today. Got to crush it and take with milo. Very cham, don't know how to swallow pills.

Jane - Ure not alone!!! I don't know how to swallow pills also hahaha.. and Im taking liquid prenatal vitamins! Found it in an organic store and everything was the same as the normal prenatal vits only that is liquid. Taste like banana hehhe.. Many good reviews online too!

Hi Jane, I am from Kk. U?

Girls- I am thinking of asking extended HL from dr loh. Do u hv any idea how many weeks does he give generally? While I hv 2 months HL per year, hv already used 3 weeks durg my fresh cycle few months ago. Can I ask him to grant the remaing now? Later I might also go for unpaid leave until I can claim my maternity leave. Now decided that my job shd not challenge my baby's health

Hi bbliss, cfm. 2nd trimester start aft 12 wks. Asked gynae today already..

Hi Catherine, nvr mind abt milk. I think water most impt. In fact, I m opposite if u. I hate the taste of water now. And since hubby ban me from Ribena n sprite, I dun ve much options left now except 1 glass if milk a day n sips of water..
On d hospital choice, I think dun stress urself.. Just go wif flow.. My mummy has been asking me to stay wif SGH. But I wan go east shore. She ask y n I say nearer.. N she just said: u r just going to stay there for 3 days!! N not a permanent resident thr.. So why thunk abt distance?? Eehhh... She has a pt. But I just feel more comfortable wif my pte gynae. Bottom line. Just go wherever it makes u feel comfortable..

I've just been upgraded from 10 wks 3 days to 11 wks!! Happy tat baby is growing well at 10cm. Baby was moving during the scan. Gynae say shd b able to see sex in 2 wks time!! Yohoo!!!

Just go

Oh.. Btw I just got the new px list for east shore. In case anyone is keen just let me know then I post.

Meanwhile, I think I m signing package wif pte gynae. $700 including vitamins n supplements till give birth. Abt 10 visits. Monthly till wk 35. Then wkly till give birth. Additional consultations will be $60 per visit. Ok right?

Tzac-thks looks like my morning sickness has kicked in. Checked with clinic & they asked me to collect but hubby busy. So have to tahan.
Sunnie_Gal- My EDD is may 20th.

Hope283,
I think u can request from dr Loh how many days HL u want.. That time he asked me too.. But since i'll be seeing him in abt 2 weeks time, he gave me 2 weeks first...
I'm also thinking of extending my HL (although its gona be no pay one) until end oct... See what he says come this sat...

Mum,
Cos u mentioned that u're applying for maternity leave, I thought u're due soon :p can apply so early? That's like 6 mths b4 you EDD!