(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Hi Ashley, my tcm say no no to oranges. My mum also prohibit me eating mango in my first trimester.

Like all I look forward to sat 9am to c my little fellow. This morning I had ms wanted to throw up I tell my bb dun b naughty n cooperate ... And I promise to go home early to let bb rest. Hope I can fulfill what I promise. Jiayou everyone we will overcome ms, eating problem and all sorts

Ron, no ms yet. Hopefully won't have any... but yet, wondering if I am normal...

thansk, Ashley!

Btw, why can't we take orange and mango? I've been taking oranges leh. And mango juice & yogurt drink.

Planning to go for IVF (SGH) in Dec period. Am thinking of doing acpuncture to prepare my body for it. Heard that it increases success rate if done immediately after ET.

Anyone got recommendation? The one SGH is a bit steep I feel.

Bluenosebear, I am so blur lah. Now I know you are BNB! :p Thanks and all the best for your scan too.

ph80 - yes, TCM at SGH is very expensive!!! I went there after a chemical pregnancy the last IVF and my medication is $200+ for one week. I took the medicine for only 3 weeks. I didn't do any acupunture though.

ritzc
the 0.1cm does not make a difference, unless it's steadily decreasing every day as it's subjective to the skill of the sonographer doing the scan.

purpose of duphaston/progesterone is to relax the womb so that it does not tighten/contract, so if you are not actively feeling tightenings like i did, then perhaps yr case not necessary yet to be put on ventolin/adalat or drips.

hang in there, just stay in bed and rest, got any tightenings must tell the nurse immediately. i was pretty paranoid the first few days when warded, insisting they do ctg to monitor the contractions, cos i read that even if one does not feel it, it's still there and true enough the ctg picked it up.

for cerclage, it was not even an option for me at that point cos it will worsen the contractions and trigger premature labour.

Hi Ashley, I ve heard of pple saying no to orange n mango. But I dun care at this stage cux mango makes me feel much better. I will usually drink red apple n orange juice w/o ice. It also relieves my MS.. Jia you!! Pple say twins' MS will b worse. But think of it that u need to go thru this once only..

Another 35 min n it's time to go home for a nap!!

Hello sisters!
Yay survived Another day at work though cramp a bit here and there. Hope it's due to uterus enlargement ;)
Oops I've been eating lots of mangos including juice cuz of the rich vitamins I read about. I take only a bit of oranges got vit c cuz too citrus...

Hi hopeful - sorry I don't get the don't say shift part... Hhe as in who will I say to? Ya I appreciate u for sharing bcuz I also rather 'be safe than sorry' decided to go Oscar scan tmr hehe get to see bb again and hopefully no surprises! Can't wait to see nose bridge and all...

Last evening in the train, one stop away from my stop, this lady spot me and ask if I needed a seat. Yay feels nice to know bump growing more obvious ;D

Babymaking, I asked for ctg but they said it was not neccessary in my case coz they did a in-house antepartum test for amino acid leakage n checked bb hb n said I'm not going thru preterm labor. They also made me feel I'm too paranoid coz they did not seem to worry about my shortening. Anyway, I'm moving to my mum's house to get better rest for the rest of my pregnancy

Hi Kimmy, as in if u r on a general conversation wif pple, dun say shift or move house. Just mention that u r staying overnite.. The idea is in case baby "Xiao Qi".. It happened to my Sis. She was staying in japan. But when she was in 3rd trimester she came back to Singapore n alternating btw my mum plc n hotel (cux hubby posted to sing during that period). Then started to bleed whenever she move btw d 2 places..

Hi mum,
Yay ny cycle buddy! Where did u do ur ivf? Cant wait for next tue to come... Just now i have this orangy brown spotting... 2 days ago also have.... Hope its nothing.....

Hi sunflower,
I did my Ivf in Mt.E. With Dr.Nair. This is my 3rd full cycle and had 1fet. Just waiting for next tue, but my baby bump big ppl can see. Mum keeps telling me not to inform ppl till 90days. Find it impossible.
Don't worry abt things so much think of holding your baby in your hands and you will send +ve signs to your baby.
TC

Hopeful - got it! Hehe thanks for explaining. Yay...seeing bb tmr. Ladies if got job offer will u take knowing that u will be in new environment and pregnant at the risk of stressing bb out? Of course incentive is if I work then can get more diapers money but for glc I dont know if will stress bo...

Good morning sisters!

Just done with my scan. It's a singleton! What a relief! But the heartbeat was so tiny I could hardly see it. The sonographer said it's diffcult to capture the heartbeat. Hope my baby is doing fine.

Ritz, take care.. I don't have much knowledge about cervical shortening but i hope you will get better..

Koirc, congrats on seeing your baby! Don't worry so much about the heartbeat, my gynae said sometimes cannot hear properly due to position of the baby during scan.

Kimmy, congrats for having job offer! At least you have options right.. Maybe can discuss with hubby whether he supports you taking on new job, ya quite scary if it's going to be stressful.. But stay home also can be quite boring, i sometimes regretted quiting my work. Maybe if i'm in office also will not feel such a bad MS..

Koirc - yeah! congrats on seeing the bb. It's such a relief, ya. Now another 2 weeks wait. haha. ya, we all hope to have pregnancy with no or little m/s, but when no m/s then worry coz dun feel pregnant!

These 2 days lost my pregnancy symptoms again, boobs also shrunk in size - hope bb is ok

Kimmy - hope it was a good scan. On the job offer, i still think depends if you plan to be SAHM after deliver. If plan to return to work, then can start looking at job offers that will fit your needs as a FTWM - some mothers want to work but a more relax job so that they can go home on time, etc. Some want to continue their career. If you plan to return to work, might as well do it now esp if you feel bb is stable & get to enjoy maternity leave benefits, and you don't think will be a threat to the pregnancy.

But if this is only temp until you deliver, the personally i would say depends stressful or not. Our babies didn't come easy, since you already decided earlier to quit for this baby, so maybe look for a less stressful job if only a temp job to earn some diaper money. Just my personal tots

Morning & thanks Ashley, ron for your thoughts ;)
Well I told recruiter my concerns that im stressed about scan, returning to work, rushing to and fro that it was stressing me up... I agree this bb didn't come easy so once I know I'm tensed I called it off & she's nice enough to let me think about it, till I'm more comfy w proceeding.. Meanwhile temp has been ok. Its busy but people look out for me and remind me to eat, rest and go back when it's knock off time. That I appreciate. Ron, was thinking after delivery most likely I wanna spend more time with bb since we have always wanted this... And its so precious!!! And I probably don't wanna tire myself out more unnecessarily at any risk.

Thanks gals. Appreciate it so much

koirc, congrats! Dun worry too much, be happy :)

kimmy, if u can afford not to work and u plan to b SAHM after giving birth, then it will be good if u do only temp.

I wish sometimes i dun hv to come to work as ms is so so bad and also veryy tired but as a FTWM, no choice but to drag myself to work. Everyday waiting for knock off time. hahaha

Still hv a week to go before my nxt doc appt....

Thanks, sisters!

Just came back to office from hospital. Saw the doctor after the scan. My bb's hb is a little slow. So need to monitor.
Can someone tell me what is bb's hb supposed to be in week 6?

Koirc, congrats on seeing your bb.

Kimmy, I also agree with tzac that if you can afford not to work or plan not to work after giving birth, perhaps you may consider taking up part time job that is not so demanding and stressful.

BNB, all the best for your scan tmr.

Btw, how did you all feel when you went for your first scan? I was very emo... I wanted to cry at the clinic. Was so nervous...

Then after I know the result, I was very happy. But when I was waiting to see the doctor, the mixed feelings came back and I wanted to cry again. Is it the hormones huh?

Koirc - i am also very emotional nowadays.. read newspaper also i can cry if the news is very touching. I suspect hormones too.

btw, around 6w-7w, i think fetal heartbeat is around 90-110hbpm, and increasing approx 3beats per day until first tri. You are 6w how many day?

Hi Kimmy, if can afford, then do part time work first ba.. Starting new job comes wif new n additional stress.. If I ve option, I also feel like staying home. MS is so miserable n I get tired aft a few hours at work...

Hi koirc, what is d heart beat reading on d report? Mine showed 100, n Dr Yu nvr mention anything abt the heart beat being slow.. Ya, I also wan to cry all the time ESP when I m feeling do miserable from MS or panicking cux I can't eat..
I think it's d hormones

Hey Koirc,
First anxious movement of the life.Congrats
Cannot just wait till tuesday for my turn.

My boss just called me and said that I cannot be on hl for too long. HB says donot worry let it be a no pay leave. BB after 9yrs of marriage no joke.Just worried a bit.

Ron and Hopeful, ok at least now I know I am normal to feel emo. Hahaha...

Hopeful, mine is 99. Doctor Yu said it's a bit lower than normal and said will need to monitor. She said sometimes because it's too small so it's difficult to capture the hb rate accurately. But can't help to be worried.

Mum, all the best to your scan on Tuesday!

Kimmy, I agree with the sisters' advice. I had a very satisfying job previously but after I knew that I have to go through this, I decided to leave to take on a less demanding job. I hate my job now because I find it lack of challenges but on the other hand, it does give me my personal time back.

So when I go through the process, I am less stress... I think going through this is really not easy. And yes, like what Ron said, our babies don't come easy. So I will not take any chances... Although I still crave to job excitement and satisfaction from time to time.

Koirc - same here. i am in a more boring job now that allows me to get on SMH everyday (and FB!) so that I can focus on a less stressful journey. hahaa... but sometimes damn sian at work compared to the previous buzz, but i am hoping this job continues even successfully have bb so that can spent time with bb.

mum2be - you are entitled to a certain number of paid HL days per MOM. I am not a believer of fighting with management but if they are being unreasonable (ie. you have HL and they say cannot take), then have to use the law on our side.

http://www.mom.gov.sg/employment-practices/employment-rights-conditions/leave-and-holiday/Pages/sick-leave.aspx

Hi sisters!
Wah Oscar scan finish in 15 min and nurse took so many photos. Hehe I kept smiling at the scans and she so professional, just keep taking and taking. Hahahah. Baby move from left to right but always lie down soon after. Keke! Alamak so cute but I worry got results on sat. Saw the thickness of neck and wonder why the neck stretch to the same line as the back..mm maybe bb at this stage looks like that and I'm overthinking like mad. Hehe. What a lovely day nonetheless!

Good one, Kimmy! Keep the spirit up.

Ron, me too! I have been reading about the pregnancy... Sometimes information overload!

I think I over ate today. Had an early lunch at 11am and then I went out to buy nuggets from McD just now at 2pm. Now I feel unwell...

Kimmy, how come u dunnl the result on day of scan? U shld know your combined risk of scan n BT on scan day. That's the practice. The person who is doing Oscar scan at ADC is s doctor n will explain to u.

Btw, Mum, same as you... BB after 9 years of marriage. We delay baby making because we want to focus on career... Then when we think we are ready and start trying, no result. Sigh. So have to look for help. And because of this, career has to put to a halt. So much for working so hard for career.

Don't worry about your boss lah. My hubby always says this to me "What is the worst that can happen?". And my reply is "Leave the job". And he will say, "You will not stay in the same job forever. But your baby will be with you forever. Better returns!" Lol.

Koirc, agree that work is only work! Kekeke.bb stays forever! Woohoo ;)

Hazel, no leh cuz after bt I left and they said need 2 hours to know and I need to go back work. Oh well.. I saw the lady measuring 0.17-0.19. Does those numbers mean anything?

Mkt is so quiet.. Bored at work. Guess wat I m surfing??
Whr to hold 1st mth baby shower!! Wahahahah...

I know it's a lame question. But for d fun of it, has anyone thot of that?

Sisters, I have a question again. :p

Can someone tell me what is the normal size of the fetus at week 6? Some articles say 1/4 inch. Some say 1/8 inch. It's quite a bit of a difference leh!

Hopeful, I am not so advanced. Only starting to think what name i will give to my baby if it's a boy and if it's a girl. :p

Kimmy, u shld hv done BT one wk earlier. Then u will hv combined result today. Pte patients also can request for a scan report after the scan. The dr will give u on the spot for free. I m not sure why measurements are those. Neck thickness shld not be a range.

Hopeful, like u when I m bored in office I surf which bakery to order the first mth cake, what confinement lady has to eat....haha

Kimmy, I support u in yr decision outcome. In life it's not all abt work. I was v materistic in the past working v hard. My mum knee surgery, fear of losing a great guy (now my hubby) made me leave a job in a prestige firm. Now anything la juz got $ can Liao.

Ladies, I finally told my new boss I m expecting!! He knew it thru my current boss n was waiting me to say! He told me from now dun stress out, take things easy n delegate out. From Jan onwards I must take things even easier and relax!! He has task me few things to do.... I should b able to complete b4 I go on leave from 14 feb - a date I set myself to go on leave. I m v fortunate that my current and new boss r so understanding, accommodating and kind!

Cath - great to know that both bosses are understanding. Yipee. It helps a lot. Wah, intending to go on leave from Valentine's day? Niceeeeeee...

Koirc - I think size of fetus differs depending on growth (i.e.: late implantation so need a bit of catching up) but usually there's a range... I think the range they put there might be for ang moh babies

Kimmy- I set the date myself of cos if I can still work I will. I still must take gynae advice b4 I finalize the date.

Koirc- my boss told me to ask gynae whether bb is in the right percentile. Like what kimmy say the range can b for nag moh...

Good morning sisters,

Catherine, you are so blessed with understanding bosses!

I am back with more questions for the sisters. Can I check what kind of light exercises we can do apart from walking?

I am feeling sluggish and pain all over my body especially lower back!

Thanks Ron, I've read somewhere that it's better to do exercise only in 2nd tri leh. So confused!

Morning sistas.
Prof can't see the sac yet. Maybe too early or ...
Repeated beta hcg, awaiting for the result in another 2 hrs.
Waiting game