(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Kimmy, u did the test in KKH? If so, why need to wait for the report. Is all in the system. Dr loh can retrieve from the system since it is out already. He can advice u on the probability but he wun be able to conclude unless u did further tests. Anyway, is 1/4 chance and not a definte case of thal major. And the part on can't live beyond 20 yrs old is only applicable if nothing is done. Eg no blood transfusion. Also, there is a cure, bone marrow transplant.

I m a silent reader in this link. Saw u r panicky so divided to post. now dun fret. Your bb has 3/4 chance that he/she is okay.. Thal minor like u wld not harm her.

Hi hazel,
Thanks for your quick reply! Really appreciate it tonnes! Trying to fill myself up with positive thoughts. Yes I took the test at kkh but dr Loh previously told me to pass him the full report when it's out. I think the thal registry don't communicate much with their outside world... The nurse still tell me outside can't detect mild thalassemia one, only they can.
Thanks so much for your comforting words. I was in panicked cux everyone tells me I should only worry if there's 2 of us who has and now that it's true, I was thinking shucks! Thanks for telling me about treatment options too! I do feel a lot better now ;) really appreciate it.

Kimmy, be strong through this, just believe that God will only give the best for you.. Stay positive and stop crying, otherwise your baby will feel sad also.. I don't have much knowledge in thalassemia (and in fact all other pregnancy matters) so can't normally contribute much, but always pray that you & baby will do well!

Hi, RitzC,
**wave wave** m glad I boarded tis train...

Hi, Summer, thanks yah...

Phew.. It has been the longest 2 weeks in my life & m glad it is here.. Woohoo.. Meeting my baby(s) tmr lo.. Soo excited yet stressed.. :-D

Kimmy- watever it is, pray hard.
Eventually everything would be fine de.
Queenie- is a day 3 transfer. Have worry the pv bleeding + the low hcg level.
Crossing my fingers & toes, everything would be ok on thurs

Thanks Ashley & bluenosebear for your kind words. Yes! I shl remain positive and trust in God, trust that my bb will be absolutely fine & healthy and have your kiddos as future play mates. I feel mch better now, went supermarket and cooked up a storm for dinner ;)

Kimmy, cheer up. Not sure if u know. Thalemmesia runs in family. I got it thru my mum family. I m shocked that yr hubby has 50%. As what my informal check, usually Cantonese and Indian have it. Somehow like i told u my past bad exp with kk, if I were u, I would pay to do another round of test at another govt or pte hospital.

Look at things on a positive side. My mum din know she has thalemmesia when she had. She also has 50% thelemmesia. If she din go trot the full body check 11 yrs ago, would she know she has 50% thelemmesia? Till today I dun believe my dad has tested on thelemmesia. What if he has? Would I b able to survive till today? I want u to look at things on a positive side. Seriously I dun know y u r tested now when it should b done long ago. I did mine b4 I got referred to ivf centre and they warn me of the risks at ivf clinic. Till today whether my baby is a carrier I leave it to fate. I trust that I will give my little fellow the best and stick with little fellow in gd or bad times

BNB - keep positive! We r all rooting for you.

Kimmy - when r you next seeing dr loh to discuss your test results? Stay positive & let the doctors interpret the results.

Queenie - have a good scan tomorrow

Hi Catherine,

yes am cheering up already because even if I sad also what use? Yea, I might get myself tested again at my pte gynae side because kkh tested my hubby previously and said he's clear. negative on thalessemia. Today said he 25% (mild). I am 50%. So they said total is our kid will get 75% if our baby ends up being carrier. but there's also 25% that our kid will not be a carrier too. So I suppose its all a numbers game, for me I know there is a greater being up there who gave us this miracle in the first place, and hence he will see us through this and I also decided whatever the case is, I will stay positive and like how you put it nicely, be there for my little one.

My hubby is cantonese. haha so maybe that's why. He is shocked too because he had gone for several blood tests from school to army days and all tested him negative for it. This KKH tells me only their side can detect even the mildest...my goodness. How is that any good? Yah my husband also said it should have been done long ago and kkivf said because they tested my husband negative hence I was allowed to proceed.

Thanks for your advice and sharing nonetheless.

Ron - seeing Dr Loh in 3.5 weeks. Gosh so far away but yeah I'm not going to dwell on it. Going to occupy myself with happy, cheerful things again!

Thank you sisters for showing your concern through one way or another. I truly appreciate it, and it has somehow made me feel a lot better, lighter, more positive. Big group hug!

Kimmy, how can a person with no thelemmesia when he did first round of test becomes a thelemmesia minor when they claim they can detect the mildest?? Sorry their logic dun stand!!! Hang in there we r all here for u right sisters?? Sleep well today.

Catherine - ya loh!!! that's why hubby so shock, and I'm surprised too. That's why throughout all my visits, Dr Loh still tell me since my hubby was tested negative, he told me not to worry at all. And now suddenly they call and say positive. weird right! Urgh. This makes me feel like going to pte to deliver from now on already.

Thanks for standing by me sisters!!!! I don't feel so 'alone' in this anymore. Yes, will have good sleep. I told baby that mommy is going to be strong and happy for him. :D

Kimmy,
Stay positive, will pray for u n bb. Am not good at words, we r here to support each others, cheer up, hugs...hugs...

Am also a thal minor, only found out when I preggie with #1. Not sure got it fm my mum or dad, they
also din check when my mum preggie.

Thanks Summer,
the news def came as a surprise to us that hb has it but whatever it is, I will continue to have faith and stride on and enjoy every moment of pregnancy, stay positive for a happy bb!

Hello sisters! Joining this thread for the first time! So happy I can be here. Thanks Ron!

Nell & Summer, how are you doing?

Hello sisters.... seeing all the bfp mummies here make me so happy and envy.

I also wana share my damn sienz story. Actually I had my FET done on 11Aug... I did a blastocyst trsf. I m currently still consider as pregnant... hahaha. My first hcg was 227, second hcg was 284. One wk later my hcg was only 403. Dr loh said I m 50% ocnfirmed ectopic. I cried throughout that day but only to confirm not ectopic and they found a waterbag... phew.... But last wk, I was told is a empty sac. Dr Loh said observe one more week and see how it goes...

I know many sisters went thru so many hurdles but at least they get to happily carry their babies on their arm.... but why I cant?

Sorry but I juz wana rant abit... i m so tired!

Hi miraclebb - sorry things are not going smoothly, when r u seeing dr loh again? good that they ruled out ectopic which is more risky. See how it goes when you see dr loh again for your scan, if really blighted ovum, at least have an answer. You still have any embbies frozen for another FET?

Hi koirc - how did the BT go? Was it for progesterone levels?

Hi BNB - how r u today? Did the bleeding/spotting recede with the proluton & duphaston?

Ron- I got a scare when I went toliet in the morning, was having dark red when wipe on the tissue. But lucky the pad only 2 drop brown stain.
Till now only very minimal.
Hope the med & Dr Zou remedy helps.
Really like taking roller coaster.
I still remind rest in bed, k only pray hard everything is ok

Hi Ron,

Yes, it's for progesterone level if that's what it's called. They say that if they don't call me means I'm fine and I just need to go for scan next week. How are you now?

bNB - good only little spotting. Rest & pamper yourself to let body stabilize. Hopefully by tomorrow spotting will b under control. Praying for u and bb to keep strong!

Koirc - u will be ok, very good leh SGH test every week... At least if anything they will know early... I'm ok, caught the flu I think our bodies r weaker hence v quickly I got the flu, sigh... Waiting for my 9w scan tomorrow.. Excited but nervous
when is your scan?

BNB - ya must take care, all our bb are hard-fought. Now u no choice Have to rest, hehe, R u still on HL? Don't worry about work, ok? This bfp is more important than our work for now.

Miraclebb - I guess as IVFers we r more aware of the darker side of fertility. Hcg is a bit low but who knows, miracles sometimes happen. You have strong embbies, and womb proven able to get pregnant. Just need the correct embbie. But yes, v sianz thinking of another cycle. Stay strong to the next scan.

Bnb, miraclebaby, take care and don't lose hope til the end!

Queenie, how was your scan today?

Ron, enjoy your 9wk scan tomorrow.. So envy, i only have 10wk scan next week, no 9wk scan for me..

Decided to do the blood test for my diabetes on saturday so DH can accompany.. MS still kicking very strong, feeling very weak ;(

Hi. Ashley, BNB, Ron, thanks yah...

Had my scan in the morning & zzz thru aft tt cos my battery went flat.. Haha... Gets tired out easily nowadays...

Scan showed singleton & flickering heartbeat.. Such a cutie.. Haha... So, Dr Loh started warning me w his etopic stories cos of my high hcg level & yet found singleton.. Hmph...
& that starts another 3 weeks wait to see him again... Argh!!!

Ron, good luck for 9th week scan tmr..

BNB, it's a good sign tt spotting subsided liao.. Positive thoughts, tok to ur embbies to hang on tight to u & all ll b fine... Brush away the negative thoughts as they don't help @ all, yah...

Ron, I just recovered from flu too. Rest well and drink plenty of water. The haze is not helping very much. Btw, is it a norm to do 9w scan?

My scan is next Wednesday. I am very excited leh... :D It's really a different experience from the previous cycle.

Queenie - what's your hcg at BFP? I thought I read that you're having twins in the other thread. Eh, have I confused myself? :S

Queenie... Don't worry too much... My hcg level was also high...and doctor loh was scaring me with the same ectopic stories...jus don't think too much about it cause I think it is his duty to warn u abt all the possibilities...

Koirc,
Nice to see u here. Million congrats!!! Take care while waiting for ur scan.
Am coming to 20wks and expecting a bb girl. Experienced lower abdominal pain for the last three days. Checked fm internet that this was due to ligament stretching. Went down to KKH 24 hrs clinic today to make sure everything is ok. The pain still on & off now.

Queenie,
Congrats on seeing bb heartbeat!!!

Kimmy,
Hope u r doing well. Take care, dear.

Queen - yeah! Congrat u saw the hb. Ya, now wait again, hahaha...

Koirc - I feel like a pipe, drink water on one end, 5 min later release water on the other. Hahaha... Was supposed to have scan on Monday which would be 8w plus, but we move to Wed due to work scheduling. I think norm is week 6, 8.

Ashley - hang in there, hang in there.. Found of remedy that at least work/help a little?

Hi Ashley, I just found out that fruits seem to help with my MS.. Maybe u wan try too?

Hi Queenie, congrats on hb!!

Eeerrmmm.. Anyone knows when we can start having bird nest wif pao shen? I having strong urge for it..

I am taking promethazine...it has helped my vomiting alot...I only vomit once in the morning....no more 8 times a day!!

Ron, no remedy so far! I am still taking florxine which used to help but now no more..

Hopeful, really, fruit? Ok shall try.. No energy to peel myself so just wait for DH to come back at night
what fruit works well on you? I'm throwing up everytime i eat apple!

Vann, promethazine ya, i shall ask for that fromy gynae on next scan, thanks!

Queenie, congrats on seeing lighthouse!

Hi Ashley, I buy the fruits from those fruit stall. All cut nice nice already.. The fruits that worked for me rock melon or honeydew or mango. Ya, apple does not work for me too..

Hopeful u can only eat bird nest with pao Shen during yr 2nd trimester. So far I make pao Shen water every alternate morning and share with my hubby.

Sisters, I have a stupid question to ask. Anyone went for hb scan with hubby? My hubby is traveling and won't be able to go with me next week. I want to know if you can actually hear the heartbeat and record it. Don't want my hubby to miss this milestone.

Morning everyone!

Koirc, you stayed awake until so late. These days i can only stay awake til 11pm. Anyway, yes we could hear heartbeat during my 6wk scan, and it was so moving. Wasn't really recorded (as in the sound), but my gynae printed the heartbeat movement next to the baby scan. It shows the heartbeat per minute there. I don't think you want to postpone your scan until DH comes back from travelling right? He can listen to the heartbeat on your next scan.. Unless he can postpone his travelling ;)

Kimmy, not v gd w words but happy u r positive
tats the spirit :)

Sunflower, welcome n congrats!!

Koirc, me went for 6wk scan n c gynae alone as hubby not free. Like ashley say, ur hubby can always hear/see hb on the nxt scan. Me will not want to postpone as waiting for 6 wk scan is a long wait for me, heehee

Quuenie, congrats for seeing the flickering hb :)

Has anyone tried asking hubby to place ear on ur tummy? My hubby said tat can hear the hb leh. Try it as i find it so amzing. Too bad i cant hear haha