(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Hi joanne, I dun care hb can sleep beside me and I juz play my music. He will get up and encourage my gal to sleep too. when I first knew I was preggy I can't sleep the whole night. Mayb v happy and excited. That's how I came to buy these 2 musical toy and keep playing. Like what my skin doc told my hb, pregnancy is v difficult and he should play a important part. I shared with my hb how I feel now b4 preggy to gg thru 33 weeks... Told him to cherish woman more. He said he never take ad of me. Like real u know till today I do my laundry on weekends and bring it out to hang myself. I dun wait for him cos half the day is gone y waste the sun and time? Like food I eat, I try to eat what my hb like. Though he let me choose. I was thinking I m a big trouble now cos I want the best food for my bb. So nvm la eat things he like too

Hazel, I admire yr Patience. So far I think I only have 1 preggy photo. That's when l was in my 2nd trimester. Really no time to do it!!!

Wah u all younger than me..keke!

Awaiting to go to sleep now (after pee) sianzzz...

Sunbelle : missed the 9pm show cos im so tired that when i reached home, i ate a few spoons of soup and lie on bed.... So tired! I know its quite funny at times. The mil so bad only zoe tay can tahan..

Joanne ; must b i blur... I read some ladies use topi cream, also same to reduce stretchmarks?

Baby-me :'when i make vomit sounds, means coming out already.. Yr colleagues know u preggy?

Wow Tanny u woke up at 3 am plus again.
Mi woke up to pee n cannot get back to sleep. trying to think what are the best ways to increase vegetables n fruits intake. How muchie vegetables do you gals take huh?
last time me love those salad stop type where u mix this and that.

The 9pm show is very funny so it can makes u luff luff luff n best part is unlike 855 , no need to think one.

Mi thinking of buying medala freestyle pump n jus then my fren say wan to pass me an old version of medala style pump. I haven't explores the cost of buying the spare parts issit the same as buying a new pump.

Sunbelle, spare parts r cheap. Order from tan Leng Leng who gets them from USA directly! Even cheaper. I m gettIng my freestyle pump next wk! I ordered in end nov.

Hi tanny,

avoid nuts at the moment cos it will cause bloatedness. Take it when u reach 2nd tri. I got very bad ms during my 1st tri tat i was warded 48hrs on drip at kk

ya tanny,

carry some sweets and sour plums with you. My fren also told me that it works for her, at 1st i didn't really believe cos doesn't like sweets but no choice i puking like merlion and still got to work so tried and it works for me. Citrus fruits such as orange, kiwi works for me as well. Just take in moderation, and they are rich in vitamin C too. Just remember to keep yourself hydrated.
6560891.gif

Hi hazel,

yup my poking pain is at the front too actually its at the groin area. It started when i hit 34 wks. Now have gotten used to the discomfort. Told my gynae and she said i got a big bb and its head has rotated down liao so the pressure is there. Oh i started seeing gynae 1wk once in my 38wks. U might wanna ask to see Dr Loh earlier.
6560903.gif
I've started having cravings and good appetite so hb joked tat he's my maid cum driver and got to ferry me around looking for food. But okie la, the food which i love can be found in the east, like tamp, bedok and eastcoast area hahahaha. He said since its my last stage liao so he just bring me to eat whatever i crave now.

wow hazel,

I love your idea of creating "digital" scrapbook. I've thought of having a scrapbook too to file my bb's photo and mine but too lazy to get started. Can you share where you get the templates and where to download
6560913.gif

catherine,hazel,kimmy,

My CL called my last night to confirm my delivery date again with my Hb. And she shared with us this "old wives" tales which I'm sharing here. She told us that before we leave the hospital for delivery, to open up all the doors in our bedroom's wardrobe, this will ensure smooth and fast delivery. CL says it's a practise passed down by old folks and i works. Hb said no harm trying.
6560930.gif

Hi catherine
I see.. Haha.. I cant bear to wake him up as he has to drive n take care my son this period and do all hsework so worry if he not enough sleep, no energy in day time to work too..;p wonder any other way to go back to sleep.. Sometime i wonder is it bec bfp so more thing to worry n think, hence cant go back to sleep easily after wakeup.. Ya, agreed with u tt we gals r strong women too.. We just hope n pray hard all goes well now.. Wah 33 wks already, so envy.. U will see ur darling soon.. Hv a smooth delivery ya..

Hi tanny
Not sure wht is topi cream? But if can, is better go for the right product.. Stretch mark cream.. Not sure whether non stretch mark cream ingredient safe or not to apply on tummy too.. Btw, wah.. Ur tummy already measure 37.5.. Thats big.. Mine only 37.. Hope both babies r growing well n healthy inside..

Hi chris!
U r most welcome..;)

Hi sunbelle,

My fren also passed me her medela pump. it looks pretty new, I just changed the tubes tats all, the rest of the parts i just washed with warm soapy water (like wat mrs wong bb taught me) then i sterilised them. Will sterilised them again before i used them. You can buy the parts from MUMs and Babes outlets. They have the full range at united square and i think is jurong area their main office. You can google. I just bought mine last week.
6560942.gif

Hazel,

Sorry do u still have the massage lady's contact? Sil and me are using the same massage lady but she told me its no good and wanna change. So we both looking for other choices.
6561726.gif

just had yummy lontong for bfast. whopppeeee.
my 1st lontong since i gotten preggy. Wasn't able to find nice ones near where i live.
6561870.gif

just had yummy lontong for bfast. whopppeeee.
my 1st lontong since i gotten preggy. Wasn't able to find nice ones near where i live.

Hello all!
Just graduated over to this thread! I'm around 4wks now

So far, hardly any symptoms except for bloat especially at night and some lower abdominal cramps. I checked with Dr Loh on the cramps and he said as long as there's no spotting its ok. Did any of you experience those cramps? Can feel quite painful at times and I get very worried when that happens.

Juz sharing with u what my skin specialist told me about stretch mark cream. Stretch mark cream has a lot of
Chemicals .... My rash could have Been trigger by it. I stored away all my stretch mark cream and listen to what she said. If yr stretch mark cream is reacting and giving u slight rash pls pls stop. I dun wish to see another mummy to b going thru the agony i went thru from mid nov to mid dec.

Chris, thx for the tip. I have a walk in wardrobe and no doors Heng!!!! I will juz open my walk in wardrobe door juz in case

Chris baby,

Thank you for your contact. I will go website to check.

Yo ladies, when do u all think to start attending the child birth education course huh? At which week huh? thinking of week 25th. Since got 6 weekly class. Issit too late? I jus called up FBI got 10% discount. Going for ms wong Boh Boi class.

Chris baby, I also have a good Malay massage lady whom do for my jc fren. I oso used her for my normal massage before i start IVF that time. See whether are you able to get one. If not, I can email u her contact. She is a very nice lady whom is caring n chatty.

Hi catherine
Is it.. Oh then for those first time using stretch mark cream must be careful in case got allergy.. For me has no issue.. Or before u try on ur tummy, try on ur leg for few time first..

Hi chrisbaby
I also hv one good massage lady to recommend.. She is chinese n always do for pp after birth massage n wrap ur body to slim down ur tummy.. She bring along her bed too n charges r reasonable to me..;) let me know if u want her contact..

Hi sunbelle
How many wk r u now? U going on weekday or weekend? Any idea their respective charges? Understand we can go only after 20th wk..

Congrat to Sue..;) whts ur reading? Rest well n cramp is normal ya..i hv clamp every wk till now..

Yest i did oscar scan at kkh and the scan result was not very good. How long will the blood test be out and when will the nurse call?

i just watched daddy101, yesterday episode.. Mrs Wong is impressive! the bb keeps crying non stop, wants milk every 1 hr plus & his parents cant do anything to stop him from crying.. But once Mrs Wong carried the bb, soothe him, he stopped crying!! well well well....

Qin: BT result is out usually within a week. U still need the dr to compute the combined risk level of scan & BT. Go see Prof Ananda at Camdem for a detailed 14 wks scan. In most instances, bb is fine.

Thanks Joanne. My reading was 500+ on Sat then went up to 1k+ on Mon when I requested for a retest.

Do any of you walk like normal in your first trimester? I used to walk quite a bit before this and wondering if you all continued walking like normal.

Qin, wat do u mean by the scan result not very good? I hve not or might not go for the Oscar.. So not too sure abt the results.. Only heard tht it's results in ratio calculated against mother's age.

Miracle, the base risk level is based on mother's age. Then it is adjusted upwards or onwards based on results of the scan and BT to arrive at the final adjusted risk level. A younger mother has a lower base risk to begin with n that is an advantage being a younger mother. So, if scan & BT results are not gd (depending on how bad it is), it may raise this risk level signifcantly. High risk, is adjusted risk level higher than 1/300 or so.

Same principle apply to older mothers. Eg, base risk may be high at 1/100. but scan & BT results r gd, thus lowering the base risk level to final adjusted risk level to 1/2000.

Hi ladies, any of you stay at punggol area? I m having cough now, hence thinking where shall I see doc? Do you all have any advice?

Hi sue, congrats
I just got BFP last fri too, we r ard the same time. Your reading is high, you probaly got twins?
dun worry, cramp is normal, I have it too initially but now gone Liao.

Hi Cherrie - Thanks
Is it considered high? I thought twins are 3k+! I think mine is single...cos it was below 1k on Day 16 post ET when I tested.

Do you have any nausea or symptoms? I don't have any for now and am wondering if its too early?

I do have nausea. Maybe is aso still early for symptom
my reading only 288 at 18dpo. I hear one of my friend got twins when her reading is 1 k plus le. Never mind, you will know it soon
when is your first scanning? My is on 20 Jan. So u following dr loh to thomson?

Cherrie - my first scan is 19 Jan with Dr Loh. I haven't decided if I'm going to stick with him yet as his clinics are usually very full and waiting times very long.

Sisters, for e jamu Malay massage lady, do we nid to appoint them before delivery juz like how we appoint our confinement lady?

Miracle, my scan result show adjusted risk 1:390 and wif background is 1:700. The doc said the scan cannot see the fetus nasal bone. Then now waiting for blood test result to determine the overall risk.

Yesterday when doing the scan, bb is not cooperative and i went into the room 4 times. I went at 11am in the morning and left at 3pm.

Oh hazel, den when can we start the jamu massage if say for e case of natural birth or c-sec ?

As I yet to find any, so dun noe shld find nw or aft. Wat's yr advice ya?

Bbliss, post natal massage Is different from Jambu massage. The former involves the use of massage oil applied to the stomach area, the application of a gurita and tummy wrap (bengkong), which is essentially a long cotton cloth (removed only 24hrs later). This pushes up the uterus, clears water retention, wind, spasm, shrinks the tummy and helps to reduce weight.

Post natal massage usually can start 1 wk or 1 mth later after natural delivery or c section respectively. For c section, need to get clearance from gynae that the wound has healed before massage. So, for some can take up to 3 months post delivery then can do. Some maaseurer needs tobook in advance n pay a deposit. Some no need. If u use the former, u need to reserve loh..

Actually, mrs Wong does not encourage hammock. Coz bb's skull is still very soft. Forceful swinging by inexperienced care giver may do bb more harm. But, traditionally, hammock has always been used during our parents time & when we were bbs. Back then, pp are not so educated. My mum let My niece n nephew slept in hammock from birth coz at times, the hammock calms bbs & they sleep better n longer. End of the day, it really depends on the caregiver & how experienced n careful she is. If the caregiver is a maid, I guess, probably not.

For me, I try not to let bb sleep in hammock for a start unless is necessary... Ie for fussy bb who dun sleep well.. Then no choice. If not, bringing bb out may be a problem... where can I go find a hammock outside for bb to sleep? :p

The same logic applies to whether to let bb sleep on tummy or not OR whether bb should be given a pacificer..

Hello! How is everyone doing?
Quick question - anyone bought thermometer yet? If so, from the spree? Forehead or ear?

Dear Qin,
Really hope everything goes well for you. When will the blood test be out?

Dear Sue,
Welcome!
The cramps are normal so long as they are not only focused at one point and that the cramps are unbearable and that there is bleeding. Dr loh switched to private liao and i believe when things settle down a bit more, won't need to wait too long to see him. He is an excellent gynae too, so even if need to wait, I don't mind and I'm following him to TMC. Very grateful to him for helping me BFP in the first place.

Also, some ladies have bad MS til the day they give birth and some don't feel anything much except for the tummy getting bigger. It varies for everyone so no worries ya?

Hi hazel, ya I refer to post natal massage where they help u lose water n push up uterus. Wow... If that the case, tink I haf to quickly source ard coz scare can't find aft delivery.

Regarding e hammock, y I ask is becoz I oso haf e concern tat newborn bb mayb soft. My mum oso tell mi tat bb sleeping in hammock can sleep longer. Nw still can't decide whether to install hammock at hm not cox nid to drill ceiling for e hook.

Hazel, mind to share if u haf any recommended massage lady n roughly e cost ? Hw many sessions wld be req'd huh ?

Thx!

hello ivf sisters!
as a fellow ivf sister, i would like to announce that i have just delivered a healthy baby boy at around 3 just now!
i was 37 weeks 5 days when baby decided to say "hello world"!
its my first baby and ivf icsi helped me conceive.. the feeling is just marvelous! all the poking and egg whites and brazil nuts during 2ww and acupuncture tcm is all worth it when u see ur bb in ur arms!
so girls, all the best in your upcoming deliveries! its just a wonderful experience!
oh, and pple said that labor pain is worst than any other pain.. but i think ive felt worst.. its all in the mind!
everyone's different.. i thot i had a low pain threshold but went thru labour without any painkillers.. i swear!
for those going to deliver soon, all the best!