(2012/11) Nov 2012

rin, gynae gv me 30 tablets ! cos i finish 1 bottle cough syrup and still cough badly so he ask me to tk antibiotic..aft 3 days recover alrdy..its good tt she dont come up so often so u can hv peace at home

Porky:i c fish already wana vomit..can imagine big m fat wan..mayb u nid to vomit in front of her once to show her u reali cant take.she very funny leh...wil duno hw to ck less wan meh?30 tab is alot!!

porky.. hmm but so far i haven really find anything that tastes nice except for curry puffs but due to the weather nowadays, i dare not eat much too.

lalaa.. i don like rice b4 preg n now worse.. i always feel rice bits stucked in throat and wan throw it out but cant. very sian. my mom cooks my dinner daily so i just take a few mouthful of rice only and maybe some fish n soup. those meats i try to skip. cannot tahan veggies too. dim sum i don like the veg ones lol. prawns..cereal ones work for me but only take 3 max then cannot tahan le. but i will mix the cereal bits with other dishes for flavour. for mac i can take apple pies and fries very well. so far i tink i hv 2 apple pies each wk, try not to over do cos scared to cut off my already limited supply of food haha. only tried filet o fish 1mth back and took 2 mouthful only..so far haven try other burgers cos all meat ones. funny thing i can take kfc's roasted meltz...but also 2 slices and full liao but that have mayo so i try not to take like few wks once.

pinkie, laruru.. steam fish also same.. can tk few mouthfuls only. not much. still v bland to me. im not sure wad fish my mom cooks..i'l tell her to try threadfin n see if it works for me

where is the motherhood fair? so far i no mood buy stuff yet. see also no mood...

Laruru,i wun b goin to d fair but I tink its a lil early to buy stroller n cot.i bought my cot for #1 wen I was ard 7 mths.cos deliver wil assemble ma den I dun wan to take up space.actuali for stroller,i bought a capella@first but realise very hard to manovere plus bb din like to b in stroller so bought a carrier n later changed to maclaren stroller instead.for nw,i tink u can get steriliser,bottles,pump etv if there r gd deals

hi rin.. im staying w my mom for d moment but she also headache wad to cook for me. though she's at home w me but still i feel depressed cos no one/nothing can help me. what did u do for ur gastric then huh? 2-3 slices of bread is really little! i can understand the crying cos i also cried a lot and smtimes felt like jumping and v often feel like giving up bb. feel very guilty but i cannot help it...

Piggie: Take sweets! My tongue feels bland most days, so now I take sweets. Drink rose syrup or ribena. That helps me a little.

Porky: Wah such a waste! Very bad to throw food away when so many ppl are starving out there. Anyway, I wish I had more home-cooked food. Now too tired to cook after work. So eating out most days.

Piggie/Rin: Must persevere.! My oscar results not that great, need to do amnio. That's when I really, really cry. I don't mind all the MS now, so long as my bb is healthy. So jia-you ok.

hi pinkie.. im drinking ribena n honey water but how does it help ar? im hving home cooked food but hor i cannot stand the smell and cannot really eat too, so also the same leh.. yup u must be strong for the amnio! i'll be praying for u for gd results ok...

Buying pram, I dun recommend to buy it earlier. it will collect dust if keeping it @ the store. I bought mine when bb just reach 1st moth old, where she could get to try on the pram she could lie down on. To c if she comfortable with it. Before she was delivered, I had shortlisted the models of pram that I wanted.

hi moms, yes.. the vicks may help and safe to use from what i read. tried it last night, couldn't clear my blocked nose
maybe will try the nose strip if still quite bad.
went to gp, but only gave me the med for running nose - no antibiotic luckily.

when i had sore throat, i also drink honey like once a day..it helps i think

Piggie: If u can't eat much, it helps to keep drinking to stay hydrated. My tongue feels bland most days, so I take some sweetened water or prune juice and sweets to counteract. Also eating lots of oranges these days. Before this, i was into apples and kiwis, but my taste changes every other week. Keep experimenting.

Pigmohippo: yup honey works wonders for sore throat. When my throat's itchy and feels like a sore throat is coming, I will quickly drink eno. It helps too.

Rin : it must be quite tough for u during your first trim. I understand where u coming from. When u were so sick with MS, nausea could not eat, felt like sleeping but still have to attend to #1. Luckily your mum pops over to help. I also feel that when there are more people at home, especially to help out, time passes by faster n better. During my first trim, whenever my hub comes back n he settled down at home, I pass #1 over to him n I will to go to the room to lay down coz nausea mah the best is to sleep. But I was quite hurt when he said why I always sleep one. Sometimes men dun get it.

Just now I nearly successful in putting #1 to bed at 9pm but my hub walked into the room with the iPad. In the end the kid refused to sleep n was distracted. He just slept at 11pm
how I scolded the father :p how I wish he sleep earlier so that I can finally rest n have my own space for a few hrs.

Sorry for my grumbling, just tired mentally I guess

Hahaa if ever I going back to the workforce, I also want a male boss! Strange hor male bosses not so fussy, wonder why..

My previous lady boss is also a mum herself because I was in HR whenever the staff gets pregnant, my boss would comment " pregnant again." becoz it meant more work for us to get a temp in and to work with the business partner on how not to disrupt the on gg projects etc. Becoz we doing operations we were not allowed to take a full 4mths ML. During my #1 I went back to work at 11 weeks, partly also due to the temp left early. My team mate who gave birth recently in dec last yr also went back to work at 12 weeks.

Mummies with good bosses now, do cherish it n thank this blessing!

good morning!

2nd time or 3rd time mummies, do you get new milk bottles?
My #1 was born in mid 2010. I have like 30 medela bottles... is it ok to re-use?

Cindy,where are you? Haha

yesterday i went check up ,doctor say May be a boy ! Coz he saw something between the legs! But can't confirm,must wait for detail scan!

Mrs Teo, I am also using medela bottles for my #1.
usu I change my bottles every 6 mths. This is recommended by the manufacturer. Cos if we used them too long, the plastic in the bottle will melt when sterilizing or when using hot water.
If ur bottles are new shouldnt be a prob. but if they are used and have turned yellowish, may want to consider getting new ones.

sharonleo, thanks. in that case have to change... its such a waste coz for #1, initially did not know about milk bags.. so end up storing milk in medela bottles.
i guess now just let #1 play with the bottles... ;(

Laruru: like what some of the mummies posted earlier, shortlist the models that u want.. Cos all the fairs, the distributor selling is the same, so can always go down to their showroom to buy. No need to wait for fair to buy. In addition, the ones displayed at the fairs are usually the latest models. So by the time u r ready to buy, a newer model may hv been launched and u can get the older model at a cheaper price.

Mrs Teo: think can reuse the bottles? Just buy new teats for the bottles. But since urs is 2010, not sure if the manufacturers change the teats for the bottles, may not be compatible. U may want to chk it out first. Otherwise, i always see at the fairs they hv trade-in for old bottles. U may want to consider trading in.

Re maternity leave, this is mutually agreed with company. Cos sometimes operationally cannot release staff for 16 weeks. The last 8 weeks of ML is by law flexible, to be taken within 1year of the child's birth.

Dearies, I also read somewhere the bottles must be replaced every 6mths. But I did not follow also. Since this is for a new bb think get new bottles better coz newborn stomach more delicate.

The last 8 weeks of the ML some companies encourage the mums to spread it out e.g. like take one day off every week until u utilize all the 8 weeks. but it can happen too if operational the mums unable to clear the last 8weeks within the child 1yrs. then my previous company will pay the mum the worth of the remaining ML in cash. Actually if u have a say in who the temp to hire, try to get one who can stay for full 4mths. Else very sian have to go back early.

Mrs Teo: next fair is motherhood fair this weekend at expo. But usually don't see Medela there. Usually for Medela, only at the taka baby fair which shld be end-July, early August. Or can look out for the mums n babe warehouse sale. There shld b another one before we deliver in November.

Laruru: forgot to mention. U may also want to shortlist the other essentials (steriliser, breastpump) that u need, but don't buy yet, since the warranty will start to run from the date u buy. So touchwood in case the unit u buy really hv problem still can change.

rin, v true ! if small fish i still ok to eat a bit..big n fat fish aiyo i see alrdy no appetite loh. i did vomit infront of her during my 1st trim..then she say why this baby so difficult everything dont wan to eat..sign..so now hb say better tabao than ask her to cook cos she dunno how to agar agar the ingredients..really cook alot !

pinkie, i know is v wasted. so before i ttc for this baby. i try to tabao leftover food to my office to eat as breakfast or lunch so no need to throw again the rice or meat..but now pregnant i try not to eat leftover food..

re : baby stroller
i order my baby stroller when my #1 is abt 2mths old..go check up or injection i usually carry or sling him

re : breastpump
which brand are u all using ? i need to get new breastpump..my previous one was medela pass down by my cousin but quite old alrdy

Porky: me used Medela freestyle. Can order in from US. Cheaper, jus that no warranty. This spreeist Tan LengLeng brings in regularly. Can chk thru the threads for overseas sprees to see.

Porky: I used medela freestyle for first child. Bought from tan leng leng also. its very light so very convenient to bring around bout 1kg. but its not very strong.
This time will be buying Medela pump in style-advance. This pump is much stronger than freestyle but very heavy bout 3kg so will use at home.

Hui:
)) I'm here!!!
reading posts usually hahaha! I sent u pm yesterday night ! Did u receive? ;)))) heee... I so Eager to know too!!!! Maybe weekend hope can convince hubby see gynae or not hahahah.
Now doing pedi. Heeee.

darienna/sharon, think i will choose medela also. thanks for sharing ! i will check out tan lengleng's spree

oreodinary, ur gynae is dr adrian at SK ? yest he not in good mood ah ? haha

cindy, so good life doing pedi now !

hihi mummies, haven't have time to post for the last few days. Just been reading silently..heehee

For breast pump I used Medela freestyle and ordered from Tan Lengleng too! I love this pump, it really save me a lot of time when I'm expressing in the office and it is light to bring out. I also have the Avent manual pump. Quite good too, it helps me to establish my flow and very good in clearing block duct. But very tiring to use manual pump.

porky, i'm in hk...my gynae not happy cos i told her i'm going back to singapore to deliver.

seems like quite a few mummies see dr adrian in SK...must be stay in SK too? before i moved to hk, my place is at SK but i didn't know dr adrian is so popular and went with a gynae in nuh instead. once there was traffic jam from NUH back to SK, the cab ride was like $40 when normally only $10 plus. that time see the cab meter jump very stressed....haahha

Porky: hahaha relax ma!!!
)))

Hui: I thought will send to your email?!! U see top of the screen, just at the top left corner.. Below the logged in as ...
Got one link check new messages!! See can or nt!

Thanks Hui & ahko80!

I'm getting better just bored at home.. Have you all start booking for CL doing homework? I'm kinda lazy even now at home, haven really do much read-up.

Hui,

Congrats!!! I'm so excited for you to know the gender of the bb.. I try many times asking Dr Poon to find out the gender but bb leg always close, can't see... I'm hoping the next chk up I'll be able to know the gender so I could go for my baby shopping trip in Bkk during end june

Have you heard of Ardo breast pump? Seems very new in the market, still haven made up my mind what breast pump to buy yet...

Hui! Okay I try again! U check ha! Hahaha

Linda: I also eager to find out!!!! Maybe fri night or sat morning I will go!! A week earlier but I cannot take the suspense!!

Gender: actually I realise, most of you girls here who already know the gender, are boys!!!!
yea? Hahha.

Beloved: yes I agree! Need lotsa luck on finding CL...even tru recommendation soo not necessarily good for us too...I just confirmed a FT one 2 days back...will need some help since my mum is working, leaving the inexperienced me n hubby...

Porky: thanks for e reco but I found one FT CL...whr did u get e recommendations from? ;)

Pinkie: I feel it's beta to get one if it's ur first bb...cos may have a lot of unexpected stress to handle n we may nt b experienced enuff to take care of e bb...no offense! And most imptly we need to rest and recover from childbirth!

Thanks Cindy! Haha i think you email me isfaster! Lol
hope you can know the gender soon! i realised my relatives all is get boy as first child,then gal as 2nd! Haha i wonder if its related!

Linda, thanks! Hope you can know soon! But Dr Poon say mine is not confirmed! Haha coz baby din really open his legs,just that he saw someting between the legs, looks like a thumb to me! Haha so i thought maybe its the hand! Haha
when is your next check up? Mine is 26th June,doing detailed scan! Excited!

Mrs teo, i think its around 2.2-2.5k? I read that from other threads!

hui: hahaha soon! either fri or sat i will go!! my hubby say later the bb not cooperative then also pointless! oh well!! my detailed scan only on 2jul!! hahaha. gimme your email add!

Cindy, i pm you! ;)
ya really need baby to cooperate! But July is really too long! My gynae says he will see me once in 3 weeks! Its amazing to see baby growth every month!

i just called my CL for #1, she has taken up one in Oct in signapore.. so cannot help me..
seems like all CL are very tight in dragon year...

hi mummies good morning !

i bring forward my gynae appt last night as i experience some sharp pain..Dr woody was in a good mood yest ! he scan a while and stop the machine..then he scan again and show me the gender told me is a baby girl ! haha so happy. btw i request the nurse to help me book an earlier DS too and it was 1 week earlier on 5th July

oreodinary, yes he is v pop in SK ! but some mummies dont like him as i read thru the forum..our visit is always short and fast but he is v assuring whn he says baby is fine means u no need to worry. if suddenly he talk too much there must be some concern which happens to me for my first preg 4yrs ago

twinkle24, it was recommended by a fren. but i still not confirm yet..so how much is your FT CL ?

linda, im gg to bkk too ! depart on 20th june. when are u gg ??