(2012/10) Oct 2012

Hi Ladies, i am new here. EDD was recorded as early Nov but i think i will highly deliver by Oct!

See so many of you do Oscar tests! I am still wondering if i should do mine. I should be in mid week 8 now.

Anyone already see/felt your bump? How does it feel like? Hard hard one?

Thks skinnybeanie and tang0 abt ur oscar experience ... Will ask clinic abt d pic when they call me abt result. We were so happy to see d motions made by Bb during d oscar n d u/s on screen so clear !

On hindsight I wonder why my gynae got me to see her on same day as oscar .

Oh for those using Tmc , do u know that they just started $20 surcharge sat for FA scan (d 5th month detailed scan) ... My clinic nurse told me yest

the wait for the oscar was really super tiring. we are considered the walk-in since it has been fully booked till end of next mth.went 9am and only able to complete the test around 1230pm. my gyne visit is less than 10mins, haha! my gyne visit is more of her askin me if im ok, any qns and to give me e supplements. i got the fish oil, vits and the calcium yest..and the bills r hefty. faint. yet to apply for the FBI till I get the result first..

Welcome Heartbeats!

My gynae scheduled his appt on the same day as my Oscar test to save me a trip down to TMC. The clinic called me about the result and I'll receive the paper result the next time I visit my gynae.

I asked my gynae that since he can measure the nose bridge and neck thingy, similar to the Oscar test, why do I still have to pay so much for the test. He said it's because the Oscar test is licensed and the results has to be generated at this Oscar company.

Heartbeats - Oscar test is to detect down syndrome so if you want to keep the baby no matter what reason, then it is not necessary to do it. Your gynae would schedule you for Oscar test and it is usually done between 12-14th week.

Heartbeat - my gynae 's clinic will call me to inform me d oscar test result when they rec fr d tmc fetal assessment unit, no need to make another trip .

All - I asked my gnae on sat if I can do facial, should n head massage n she say can . Thrn today I went for my hair spa treatment which includes a 15 min should massage . I informed them i m Pregnant n the boss say they will switch the oil to baby oil (no smell ) and use relaxing not point massage. I wasn't sure if d actual massage girl knows anot cos I felt she still used point massage not lighter then before (I always go there so I know their steps). Can't help bur feel abdomen has cramp like feeling after that , or maybe it started before my treatment started . My Hubby thinks I m paranoic but I asked a massage place just for preg ladies n they say they will not do any shoulder n body massage till week 14 and 18... Anyone has a view on this. ?

Think I walked too much yesterday (brought the kids for outing together with hubby)... Very painful lower backache tdy... There's a bone (or is it muscle?) at my lower back that hurts when I walk...

Hope it gets better tmr, can't really walk much now and still every breathless too

btil: Usually massage recommendation should be done from 4th mth onwards when the foetus is more stable. The massage touch should be much gentler on preg ladies than normal massage and the kind of essential oil must be minimal. It would be best if u go for massage that is for mothers-to-be rather than juz any spa places. (mostly they will say all massages are suitable for preg women which may not be the case)

May - At least it's a 4-day week! And it's April, which means I'm counting down to my next gynae visit which is in more than 2 weeks' time.

<font color="0000ff">Kanelmo:</font> <font color="aa00aa">It's a 3-day wk for me.. Haha.. Cos I am gg to visit my Gynae this web morning to do my Oscar test I think.. Cos Clinic nvr really mention wat test I will be doing.. Juts say need to do blood, urine and dwn sym test for bb..</font>

oh ya 4 day work week, thanks for the reminder!!!

ystd while laying on my back, i thought i felt some strange movements in my tummy again :p

<font color="0000ff">Skinney:</font> <font color="aa00aa">So nice to feel strange movement.. So far I hv not had any such of the movement.. Maybe hv just tt I am not aware of it..</font>

<font color="red">
Good morning mommies! Returned back to work after so many days of rest @ home! Coughing &amp; Flu improved, feeling so much better now!! Preggy woman seriously recover slow man!
How's everyone these few days? Good?</font>

May, cuz 2nd time mum. i felt these funny movements before mah. actually everytime i go for scan, seems like #2 less active than #1.

Yen, u cant be worse than me. i've been eating pringles for the last few days!

Good Morning Mummies! Am gonna see my beanie tonight and the oscar test. Praying that all will goes well.

May: i think im into my wk 12. I feel better and MS subsides by almost half. hehee.. but i still have this 'habit' - superb hungry but dunno what to eat. order food liao, eat halfway dun feel like eating. haish....
Hope you're getting better too..

oh May, i rmbr during #1 time, i first felt some vibrations when i drank ribena.. this time round i din buy ribena though..
and i rmbr he always started to move a lot afetr 730am.
luckily i din usually feel anything at nite so he din keep me up either

sharonk, i also dun feel much passion for food usually. save for the durian i had the other day :p

<font color="0000ff">Skinney:</font> <font color="aa00aa">Maybe there are vibration.. Just tt I thgt is my tummy bah.. Cos at times I cant tell if my tummy is gasy making noise or I am hungry.. haha..</font>

<font color="0000ff">Yen:</font> <font color="aa00aa">Think I am the worse.. I always eat junk n fast food..</font>

<font color="0000ff">Sharon:</font> <font color="aa00aa">Think my MS is slide better too.. Can eat more.. But oso still no idea of wat to eat when meal time is here.. When walk too fast or climbing the stairs will be breathless too.. Tired easily like an old grandma..</font>

anyone told ur parents/ PIL abt pregnancy yet?
i haven't. was going to tell my mum abt it last nite then she kept saying small age gap no good, wait till #1 is at least 4 yr old (ya, then pay doc to do IVF issit??) then see. so put off. din tell her in the end. she will just po1 leng3 shui3.

anyway my #1 will be almost 3 yo by the time the bb is born. not exactly small gap also. i think 2-3 years age gap is good. actually if got family support, younger is better, less jealousy.

<font color="0000ff">Skinney:</font> <font color="aa00aa">I have not tell my parent and my in law family too.. Intend to tell this wkend or next..</font>

Skinney: I've been feeling some movements too... Initially thought it was just my imagination but my dh felt it too when he placed his cheek there. But it is rather soon cos I'm only 13 weeks now... For previous pregnancies, I only felt movements ard 16 weeks or so

May: I've been eating lots of tidbits too, esp twisties. My boys even complained to my gynae abt it. But my gynae says at this stage, it's better that we eat something rather than nothing :p

<font color="0000ff">Serene:</font> <font color="aa00aa">Ya.. It's better dan not eating anythg at all.. But hope 2nd trim will be better and more appetite for other more healthy food..</font>

<font color="0000ff">BBKay:</font> <font color="aa00aa">When I go to my normal GP.. He oso tell me no coffee n coke leh.. Yr mil opp wow.. haha</font>

May: I oso forgot all abt my folic acid, calcium, iron and fish oil the past weekend. Went out early in the morning w/o breakfast so totally forgot.

Bbkay: my gynae said at most can drink 1 coffee a day. So I think it's fine. But I haven't been drinking any cos I prefer my milk tea

Afternoon MTBs! No work today cause raining in the morning &amp; HB dont allow me to go out (so for those who need the list to be updated, it'll be done tomorrow instead, paiseh!)

Let me catch up on the past posts first, hehe!

Constance - You're referring to this?
http://www.mumsfairy.com/product_info.php?products_id=31

Jo - Birdnest, I'm starting to take soon, since only 2nd T baby would tap your food supply. I think we recalled discussing this - cause 1st T eat also no pu baby so no use.

Only 1 test is mandatory - 20 week detailed scan.

May - How to look after our nipples? Any idea if we should start now and got any cream or what to apply or not? Also, any field reports from Robinsons sales at Expo? Btw my MS is improving much, no more feeling nausea, improved motion sickness, better appetite, but pretty constipated, hehe!

Oh! I think I am also experiencing giddiness more often these days. Abit like vertigo but when lie down on bed also kenna, as if the world is spinning...

BBKay - 9th weeks you detected sugar? Thats fast, what have you been eating? (I also very scared I will kenna, cause I been craving for carbs only).

StarryMum - Your post so informative! So in SG so hot, confinement also neednt be so strict right, heheheh...

ReineLuv - Yes, OSCAR de u/s is sharper (and also they zoom until very big cause they need to measure) so can see the spine very detailed too (like fishbone now) and his fingers, his eyes/eye socket. Nope. But I think a copy was printed for my Gynae, maybe next visit I would ask from her if possible. Hahaha!

Serenelm - Novembaby would add you into the FB page. So sorry I can only update the list tomorrow. I also v breathless &amp; giddy nowadays. I dunno if it is vertigo cause when I lie down, my bedroom spins too.

Autumm - Do you have the dates for Motherhood Fair? Please update us! Thanks!

Hello and Welcome Tiffany!

Anyone here know how to use those new type cloth nappies? those with many buttons and need to put inserts that kind. Interested to get those for my second bb.

BabyJo - if you ask the sonographer to GUESS, they might be keen to 'share' their observations, cause afterall they are not allowed to disclose because it's not confirmed.

Unfortunately my baby closed kiap his thighs so tight, we even try to swosh him at all angles, he kept it closed. Also dont expect the sonographer to go all out just to find the gender for you - cause thats not their job.

I think we had abit more fun because we were able to obtain the measurements that are needed very fast, so maybe thats why she is willing to spend abit longer with me.

BTIL - Saw your post only today, sorry! So how's the date with your peanut? Heheheh... Ya, the fuller the bladder the easier to see the baby (because the bladder lifts the waterbag up) and anyway if you went TMC, while waiting for free water to drink, hahahaha!

Serenelm - I sleep at least 16hours a day, tell me about it, I sleep until I feel guilty cause HB is doing everything.

Devilene - I also ate alot of sushi and Jap foods, got so worried when I saw Jo's radiation post, even after I think I pass OSCAR already. I am still abit paranoid.

Btil - Just saw your OSCAR field report.

Wahahaha! Ya, I was also taken aback when she first shook the scanner on my tummy - you should have noticed the screen instead while the sonographer shook (I actually requested her to redo) and my baby turned 360', hahahah!

My baby was also not in position when we started, after she ask me to lie on my sides and so on, I started talking to my baby aloud to get into position, ok, he cooperated shortly after that &amp; we were so relieved, hehe. I think the sonographer did commented that she had a bonus shot - something like because the baby was not lying on the waterbag so the neck is not pressed on, and that gave more accurate measurement of neck thickness. I think she was happy (afterall they have to deal with sooooo many preggies daily) hahaha!

Ya, so I paid correctly loh. S$457 incl. the 20th week detailed scan too, but wahsei, so fast collect money liao ah... Geez!

Actually I havent got my OSCAR results yet. I know the clinic supposed to call be back, but then they are so busy &amp; even when I call in, also on answering machine... Sigh, ACJ hor...

Btw. Wk12 3days too but 7+cm, my peanut's a giant then!

Ms_Lala - OSCAR includes scan &amp; a series of blood test (I think I drew blood for 4-5 tubes).

For those whom have not gone &amp; wanna know the procedure, neednt fast &amp; even if you forget to bring a full bladder (for those testing in TMC, while waiting they have water for you to drink, so dont worry) - this is because a full bladder will lift up the waterbag &amp; it's easier for the sonographer to scan. Hope it helps!

Ccharis: No worries, take ur time
At least u can sleep, do try to sleep more while u can cos 3rd tri sometimes will hv insomnia due to discomforts, eg body aches, cramps, Braxton Hiks contractions etc...

I'm oso not doing much at home either... Hubby has taken over most of the housework...

Ms lala - Thks for ur advice on massage ...

Anyone did shoulder massage alrdy ?? I can't help but feel nervous abt my shoulder massage on sat :-(
Been talking to Bb to stay normal healthy n grow well !

Charris - when r u getting ur oscar test reeding ? My clinic say they will call me to tell me d result by thur/fri... N told mr not to call them ;-) Nervous !!!

btil
I hv been using my Otto back roller massager every night. I suppose that is also considered? Anyway, back massage should be ok but I was told not to do foot and head massage as there are areas on e foot and head which directly connects to the womb and can cause some contractions.

<font color="0000ff">ccharis:</font> <font color="aa00aa">I duno if there is any cream.. But I do try to apply anythg on top.. I will wear padded tops so as to minimize movement to reduce friction on the nipple on my tees.. But think e soreness somehw reduced and not as bad as last wk le..
Wat kind of field reports from Robinsons sales at Expo do you wan? I din go last wk.. Cos cant think of anythg to buy yet..</font>

Ccharis
Yup! It's this one. I didn't buy thou. Somehow I mastered the skill of using one hand to hold 2 pumps while surfing Internet on the pc. Hehehe

ccharis: lol.. u very hardworking to backtrack.. i am always damm lazy to backtrack..

hahahha u also sleep very long arh.. like me leh.. i feel like a lazy mum ahhaa..

i guess birdnest is suppose to take in 2nd trimester ba. u buying and brew yrself or bottles? bec i am wondering those bottles inside gt some chinese ginseng can we drink and eat that?

eh.. those who did Oscar anyone walk in anot? the que for april is fully book. and anyone knows how to travel there hubby not around that period =(
can also highlight the procedures other than bladder must be full? need to fast anot? if yes, i think i will die of hunger..

<font color="red">Chris Lin</font>:
<font color="blue">Wow grats! You're having twins!!

<font color="red">May</font>:Same here babe, i'm so sleepy.. wanna sleep.. bed rest too much le, even more lazy now :/</font>

Hi Mommies, since so many of you went for Oscar already, do they extend MCs? I'm just wondering whether need to take leave.
Skinneybeenie, i told both my parents and in laws already. My parents cos it's good news to share with them. and I gave my dad a scare when I told him cos I burst out crying so they thought I had bad news.
For parents in law, it's for practical purposes since there are some foods that I can't eat and I eat at my mil's most of the time so it's better to let her know so she won't end up cooking things I can't eat.
I behaved in a manner that I should not have last night. I hope bb is not affected. I was angry with my husband and shouted and screamed and threw things at him. Although I regretted it after that cos of bb, but I hope no damage done to bb. Resolved to control my temper in future.

<font color="0000ff">Sksf:</font> <font color="aa00aa">Ya lo.. Rest too much during wkend for me.. At hm= lie dwn.. Haha.. Now need to move abit oso lazy..</font>