(2012/09) Sep 2012

Ching.
I am waiting till 2nd trim more stable then return to my jogging. Missed exercise!!
Plus exercise regularly means baby easier to come out. Ha

I went for scan today, foetus is 0.26mm and 5week3days.
Edd is 30sep.

But didn't manage to see hb....hmmm...a bit worried, praying very very hard.

Gynae ask me to see her next week. Need to stay positive and hope and pray can see hb next week.

hello mummies!

my pregnancy is thru ivf, my hb n i have tcc for some yrs. i'm so excited abt my first baby!

nice to see so many mummies here!!! =D

Baby: #1
edd: 19 sept 2012
Gynae: Dr Christopher Chen
Hosp: Gleneagles

thks pigy!

yeah, he will monitor v closely after e ivf process. i see them like almost every week, in e beginning, 2-3 times per week. he will alter e medication accordingly. but..... very costly...

congrats plyn! :D

when i was at Dr Tham's yesterday, i could see the scan with my hubby standing beside, see the heart and hear the heart beat... and see the baby wriggling around stretching the back too! Doc also shifts the scanner around to see at different angles, like see the two legs sticking out and toes wriggling.

everyone please stay positive! pray that we will all have healthy and sticky babies! :D

Harrods, the bitter taste in my mouth is very unbearable too.. I dunno if it's coz of the various medication I'm on or what... Miserable

Thank you guys for your answer. I have indeed told my parents only. Not to my Parents In law. Only will inform them on my 2nd Trimester

Hi Lyn,

Mine is a IVF baby too. But doc only see me once every 2 weeks. I was given Folic Acid and Dydrogesterone for daily intake. Hmm.. Am i missing out something by seeing my doc lesser.

Hello ladies, does it mean that miscarriage sure will experience spotting/bleeding 1st? Some of u mentioned baby's heartbeat stopped suddenly though previously was v strong. I dunno y I suddenly feel worried & paranoid. So far I dun experience much MS, only threw up once, other times juz feel a bit queasy or indigestion. No spotting or what too. Sigh... M I juz being paranoid?

Welcome to all newcomers!

Harrods & Mrs Lee - am also suffering from bitter taste in mouth. I am already suffering from bad MS so this just make things worst. Any idea how to help reduce this taste? My hubby thinks its the medications that cause the taste.

Ching and lily snow - happy that you can see the sac! Which gynae are your with?

Lyn - congrats on a successful IVF? Mine is a IUI baby. Hope we both have sticky beanies!

Hi, I am also joining the thread. I am in my 6w n just seen heartbeat last week. Tink hve overworked on cooking on cny therefore Have been slight spotting since cny n after 3 injections still nt going off. Told to hve bedrest but too bored and went out a couple of times to hve meals. Can I check wif those sisters who hve spotting do they do 100% bedrest. Have history of blighted ovum so cant seems to worry.

EDD : 26 /9/2012
Hospital : kk
Doc : Dr Wee H Y

I found out I was preggers when I was about 2-3 weeks and have been reading the thread since. This is my second bb and my eldest is turning 3 tml. Have history of severe MS and seems tis time also suffer from hyperemesis. But thank God its been a little easier to bear and now am at abt 8 weeks hoping to faster go into 2nd tri.

EDD: 18/9/2012
Hospital: Mt E
Doc: Dr. Kowa Nam Sing

Gan ba te to all mummies here!

Actually I have the same question as wildhoney.. My previous mc had spotting first.. So just wondering if the chances of a mc are significantly lesser if there is no bleeding / spotting...

Thks mrs lee for ur reply. Glad to know I'm not alone feeling these questions. My hubby actually asked me to visit e forum lesser as I seem to get more worried reading abt other ppl's symptoms.
guess being mummy we r juz concerned abt baby's safety. My next check up is 3 wks ltr on 23 feb, by den i b 9wks. Maybe other mummies can share ur thoughts/experiences?

EDD: 24 Sept
Gynae: Dr Chua Yang
Hosp: Mt A

Qing/wild honey

My last miscarriage started with light bleeding to heavy bleeding and of cos with cramp.
This time I also have spotting which got me very worried but gynae also never tell me 100%bedrest. As much as I am worried bb's hb will suddenly stop in d 6-9weeks, ESP I have spotting throughout the 6weeks which I am in means not stable also but there's nothing I can do but continue to monitor.

Wild honey
Yr hubby is also right. Haha I also feared more whether if it will happen to me haha. But I tell myself if me n baby is healthy everything should go well. Even if we worry theres nothing much we can do anyway.

Hi pigy, so sorry to hear tt u had a previous mc. Ur pregnancy shall go well tis time! Ur optimism is an encouragement to me, thks for ur sharing. Today I felt that my breasts r not swollen or sensitive anymore, n dun feel the queasiness in my tummy, hence my mind started to wonder abt what some ladies went thru here, who eventually found out their baby's hb had stopped.

So now u oso abt 6-7wks like me?

Pigy,

I also hve light spotting on n off. My doc gave mi hospitalisation leave n i tink he wan total bed rest as i told him i went walking nearby n he said no. I m aso quite worried abt the 6 - 9 wks tis period. Hope to pass by fast. Hw i wish i hve a ultrasound at hm haha

Hi ladies, I have got a very bad cough now. I cough the whole night n not able to sleep. I m now ard 8 week pregnant. Shall I go to gaynae or normal gp for medical advice? What would you all suggest? I just did my scan last fri but I just worry. The cough is really bad, non stop at night

Morning gals!

Wild honey, I am like you, this morning wake up breast not sore and my stomach used to be very bloated like 4-5mths pregnant but now almost flat. Kinda worried..My Gynae visit is tmr, duno shld bring forward to today anot sigh

Ariadne, mine is a IUI baby too!

Gals, when you have spotting/bleeding and given hosp leave to bed rest, pls have complete bedrest. Included having your meals on the bed if possible. Only movement is go toilet. Yes it is abit extreme but i am sure you are able to endure this little inconvenience for your little one..

Personally I do not think spotting/bleeding is an indication of m/c coming neither will it increase the chance of m/c. There are some women who bleed thru out their pregnancy and went on to deliver a healthy baby too. My last 3 m/c was normal w/o any spotting at all.

Cherrie, think safer just see Gynae? My GP used to refer to a medicine book when I request for baby safe medicine. It just give me the feeling he is not 100% sure. You have to get well soon, prolong sickness is not very good for bb .. Drink more water ya. Take care

CJ JUnior is right. If its just some spotting now n then, I guess its alright. Don't think too much about it.I know for me spotting comes especialy if I walk too much but I can't afford hosp leave in the office, so I can only try minimize.

Hi Ladies.

Good morning, I need to chcek on behalf of my sister. She is 7 weeks pregnant now. Since yesterday she has been having brown d/c. When to KKH 24 Hr clinic, checked by consultant, she was informed that its old blood. She still has it. No pain though. Her 1st gyne appt is tomorrow.
Previously she had a MC at 6 weeks 2 yrs ago.

Any suggestion or is there anytg to be alarmed abt? Pls advice. she is worried.

Anne - is it possible for your sister to bring forward her gynae appt to today instead? At least she will get a peace of mind after having seen the gynae...

CJ - sorry to probe.. but if u dun mnd sharing.. for your earlier mc, there were no symptoms / signs of MC at all and u only found out during the scan?

Mrs Lee, she cant cos her gyne has clinics on Tues. If any emergency for now, she has to go the 24hr clinic.Shd she see other gyne?

If i were in her shoes, i would...coz im the kind that dun like to be "kept in suspense" and having had a mc before, I tend to be more kiasi... but it may just be me....

Mrs Lee, yes can say that. Except for the last m/c I can feel the pregnancy symptoms gone before the scan so more or less expected the outcome. All 3 found out during the scan. All along do not have MS so can only feel the breast and other small details to monitor but I guess you all shld not worry unneccessary. It is common for forummer to share their m/c experiences but we dont mean to cause unneccessary stress to you all, and now sad to say having m/c in this era is no big deal, majority of women experience at least once. Since nothing you could have done to prevent it, just try to stay positive lor. I know easy said than done, cos I am also trying hard myself.

Let me share this article which i copy and paste from another website:

"Despite their prevalence, it is always devastating when a woman experiences a miscarriageMiscarriage. A large portion of women will experience at least one miscarriageMiscarriageduring their reproductive years. If you have had a miscarriageMiscarriage, take the time to understand better why these occur and why it is not your fault.

"When you conceive and a baby is created, it takes half its genes from the sperm and half from the egg that ovulated that month. At the exact time of conception, the cross-over of these genes takes place. Sometimes, for no reason other than bad luck, some information is lost and the pregnancy is destined from that point not to be.

"It might be that this lost information is not needed for many weeks, and the pregnancy will continue as normal until that time. When the needed information is not there, it is then that the baby dies and you begin to miscarry. Another cause might be that the baby did not implant, or bury itself, into the womb lining properly - once again, just due to bad luck.

"These are the most commonCommon coldreasons that women miscarry. Not because of something you did or didn't do, but just because of chance. Not because you drank alcohol, ate some unpasteurised cheese, or didn't take folic acid. Certainly not because you had sex or didn't rest enough.

"Whether you lay in bed from the day of your positive pregnancy test or went hang-gliding every day wouldn't have changed things. Its nature's way of making sure that when you do have a baby, it has the best chance for all of its life. Miscarriage does not mean that you won't be able to get pregnant again.

thks for ur sharing, CJ. i oso found out tt having a missed m/c (hb stop) is actually not a common occurence.. meaning that most m/c happen with bleeding symptoms 1st. so i kp telling myself now tt i shd not worry too much, otherwise its not gd for my emotional health and baby too. my boobs not really sore anymore but i still feel like some minor cramps (like pms) which i had throughout the past few wks, so i guess i shd not be so alarmed now.

minnie, do rest well during this period. u n e baby is more impt than anything else!

CJ: That was a wonderful article. Thank you for sharing and have a safe and smooth pregnancy and delivery. I am TTC now, hope to hear good news soon.

CJ - Really? Cool! So happy to have you to share this journey with. I am still under the care of my fertility doc so no gynae appointment yet. What about you? My doc say this is a premium baby we are having. lol.....

Thank you for the article too. Actually just to share with you what my doc say. He told me in the first 3 months, it is never what we do or did not do that cause a miscarriage. It is just base on nature selection. In fact, he told me I can eat anything and do anything I want. Life goes on. I can go shopping, I can go for massage, facial....everything that I normally do. I can eat everything I want except chinese herbs cause they contain western component which might clash with the medicine he gives me.

When it all boils down to natural selection, it is just cause the genes or chromosome that comes together just does not work to create a healthy baby. In such instance, the fetus will naturally stop growing and our body will naturally reject it and hence miscarriage happens. There is nothing we can do about it.

So, let's pray that we all have healthy babies and sticky beans, so that we all will have smooth pregnancies.

CJ - did you see a fertility doc too? How far along are you now?

ariadne, my fertility doctor is also my gynae. He is specialist in fertility so seeing him once a week now. yah our babies very exp haha you on IUI or SO IUI? Mine is actually SO IUI... strike on 1st try. I am 7week+ now, you? Hope we have a healthy baby

Hi CJ,

What is the difference between IUI and SO-IUI? Did not even know there is a difference. Who is your gynae?

We also strike on first try, so we count ourselves really blessed. Till today, it still seems surreal to us though. Part of us still dare not count our eggs before it hatch.. if you know what I mean.... lol

ariadne, IUI is when you ovulate naturally whereas SO IUI is thru self injections daily to produce more than 1 eggs. I had 3 eggs when I did my IUI and very happy to get pregnant with a singleton
I am seeing Dr Fong Yang. So when can you go for gynae check? Have you scan and see/hear baby's hb already? How many weeks are you now?

Arh I see....then I am SO-IUI too. Need the stimuli to produce more than 1 good eggs. I have 3 good one too. So, we are also very happy that we are successful.
Is Dr. Fong Yang good? He is at Glen right?

My doc will monitor me all the way through to 12 weeks scan for oscar then refer me to gynae. I am only just 6weeks now. Did scan but did not see or hear BB's HB yet. Have you seen or heard BB's HB?

my sore breast is back! hahahhaa luckily i at home if not everyday every now and then touch my breast, others duno will think why i so weird heehee.. can feel them sore i just feel very relieve ... maybe just now wake up still early the feelings haven come to their full sense yet hahaha

ariadne, to me Dr Fong Yang is very good haha but kinda exp though but I trust him so stick to him all e way. I feel not many gynae will prescibe progesterone pills right after O but he will, to be on e safe side in case I really strike so I like KS doctors. Yah I saw baby's hb when I was 5week+ and heard the hb during my 6week+. Do not worry if you have not cos usually it is more common to see hb during the 6-7th week and not all gynae's ultrasound machines can hear the hb rate also

hello ladies, such active discussion.
didnt know that some of u r under care of fertility docs.. seems tt many ppl haf difficulty conceiving naturally. 1 of my colleagues has been trying for a yr but unsuccessful.. most prob due to age for both her n her hubby, n she said 1 side not ovulating too. which docs r ur gg to? maybe i can recc to her. the couple wans a child badly.

Good morning all mummies!

CJ, thanks for sharing your experiences with us. Last time i thought mc will accompany with spotting first, now i knew it's not always the case. I also don't have much pregnancy symptoms like MS and bloated, except mild nausea and sore breast. I will continue to monitor myself to make sure I am having some symptoms, hehe....This is my #2 (now at week 6), but i still feel pretty nervous and excited.

Hope all of us will breeze through 1st trimester very fast

Cj thanks for the info on CL. Hope your scan goes well tmrw!

My morning sickness is getting from bad to worse. I can't even take dinner and ended up with gastric. Feel so miserable. And I'm only halfway to end of first trimester. Sob.

Wildhoney, sometimes some couples no prob ovulating but just wanna speed up the process or increase the eggs to increase the chance will choose this kind of fertilty treatment too. For me, I strike naturally for my 1st 3 pregnancies but this round seems not to be ovulating each month so I jump straight to IUI. You can ask your frez check out Dr Fong Yang if she want, from IUI thread there is another lady also same Gynae as me, both of us strike on our 1st try too.

Sophie, yah lor I also not much symptoms haha I always wish I have MS cos I read MS is good, means hormones level high but well.. dont have also cannot force haha luckily still got sore breast, not sure if you all will feel your body temp hotter than b4? Like when you lie or sit at a certain spot for awhile the spot will like 'heat up'? this is a good sign too I believe