(2012/07) Jul 2012

hi ashley, thanks for the encouragement. i feel for u and i hope we can both stay sane and strong for our little ones!

actually im a bit vague on the colic / high needs baby definition. my baby don't cry for hours on end but needs a lot a lot of carrying. she only fusses if she don't get her way, i.e. carrying, rocking, us walking around while carrying her. i classify that as high needs but not colic. is dat rite?

Jonquil: i m nt sure hw to dfferentiate too but if e bb cries ard same time everyday n for long den i tink its possible its colic. I'll observe n mayb bring my bb to pd next week

Lynton: e gap shud b abt 2 hrs ba. Alcohol is highest in ur bm at 30-45min so dun express or feed at dat time especially

Ivftwins: i gt chillipadi for confinement tingkat before. Service was gd n i liked e food. But my colleague tried their trial n dint like so i tink it varies
my company gt chilli api for buffet before n serving was generous! Food was gd too! Chilli api is halal version of chilli padi. I'm gettin mum's kitchen for my bb shower

My maid ran away this morning. I came back home after breakfast and thought she went market. Waited after 1.5 hours and discovered something is amiss coz she never take the trolley and house keys. End up I had to carry baby downstairs to pick my son from the school bus. My baby was crying for milk and my son no lunch to eat. He even cried when I told him the helper was gone. Agent called us to say my maid is with them, say she homesick want to go home. I am very disappointed with her. I engaged her about 3 months before I delivered as I wanted time to train this new maid. I spent time and effort to train her to cook and plan meals. Told her that if she cannot cope, better tell me before baby comes then I can get replacement. 6 weeks after baby comes, she say she homesick. Really damn sian....

Hi java
Omg... Can know how angry u feel now especially u need her help most now..did ur agent say how fast can they get u a new maid? In the mean time.. Can consider asks ur mum or mil for help?

Just curious whether wht my cl taught me is correct? She says to use detergent to wash all bottles after each use, then after detergent wash, got to rinse 3 times of water to ensure no more soapy foam inside before sterilize using my avent sterilizer.. I feel quite stress when all 3 bottles are running out for each bb and had to sterilize asap in case they asks for milk again.. And find the process of cleaning is long so wonder is this method all of u r using or only me? Any other shortcut method in case bottles all use up n bbies r crying for milk? I remember last time my boy washing of bottles not so tedious neh n i use only boiling water but cant recall got use detergent or not.. Hope to hear fr u gals on how u do it.. Also, how long we need to sterilize bottles like this? Till bbies one yr old or??

jonquil,
Sorry to hear about your situation. jiayou ok? I think you're doing a great job. Do persist. It's really not easy. Even now as I go through the jouney again, I wonder how did I even survive all the pains and stuff. I've actually forgotten all about it. Must keep on telling myself, it'll be over, it'll be over, it'll get better, it'll get better. Although during the pains, I also breakdown sometimes. You are already a lot braver than I am.

Oh, there's actually medicine for colic? it'll be nice news to have that option. Colic crying is bad, pity the babies.

cosmicstar,
Your maid ran away? oh mine, just as I was thinking of getting a maid. These people are really problematic huh?

Joanne,
I'm using Pigeon liquid soap. On package says can wash vege. so I presume it's safe. Anyway, I rinse it twice after use, then put it back in sterilizer to sterilize. Then I take it out again when I'm about to use it. I don't quite understand when you say you use 3 bottles. one bbaby one bottle, so should be 2 bottles only right? Anyway, I have around 6 or more bottles, in case they run out, but I hardly do.

Joanne
I also use the pigeon liquid wash and rinse until no foam inside. After that, I will pour boiling water inside the bottles to leave them standing till the next feed. I only put them in the sterilizer twice a day.

Jomomm
This is my first maid, so quite shock and emo that she did this to me after how nice I treated her. Anyway replacement coming in a months time. In the meanwhile, I activated my part time cleaner and tingkat contacts

Cosmicstar,
Yeah, that's what Im worried about too, that I cant handle the dissappointment, after treating them so well, they still wu qing.

Lucky you got all your contacts. One month seems like a long wait...

Hi jomomm... I realized after 4maids .. I've come to term to treat them as employer-employee relationship basis... When I was first timer before; I treated my #1 too well but to be disappointed as well... I've learnt the hard way

Perhaps if we treat them well / humane enough as just as how we are treated by our boss... We will be less disappointed and managed expectation too.

If they do well they get praises or bonus or treat, if do bad gets warning or worse fired

hi July Mommies,

I am from the Aug - and baby was born on 1st Aug! Like to ask you moms some advices.

1) For my 1 week old baby, is drinking 90ml FM or 120ml BM too much? My PD said he is going thru a growth spurts.

2) Any mommies experiencing baby suddenly cough out (note not sneeze) loud? Got me a scare!

3) Lastly, i am getting discouraged about breastfeeding cos actually my baby can latch well. The problem will be he doze off which i know he is not getting hind milk the rich cream milk which will sustain him with a full tummy and last him to sleep 3 hrs till next feed. My question is will pumping out BM decrease my supply or should i do alt BM and pumping. Btw i am doing FM at night and he can sleep better and more full too (well CL said as usual)

Happy: my bb was drinkin 70-90 at first 2 weeks too. Actuali nw at 3 weeks old his appetite still e same. If pd say ok den shud b fine ;) some ppl choose to control e milk intake but my bb doesnt allow mi to do so or he'll cry till e house collapse

My bb coughs when he chokes too so i tink its ok?

On pumpin n latchin, my bb dun latch on well. He'll flare up after 5-10min so i'll juz pump after latchin on so as nt to waste e hind milk. It wudnt reduce milk supply. In fact regular pumpin n latchin increases milk so no worries ;)

My bb coughs n sneezes at times but the CL says their nasal passage stil quite block or something like tat so it's ok..I tot bb going to catch a cold

Hi Sgsc, I also worry the same cos my bb also sneeze & cough, I hv ask PD he say as long as it not running nose then it normal and it not flu. He also say bb sudden change of temperature that y will sneeze. So dnt worry.

Do ur bbies sleep in aircon room after bb full mth? Recebt weather super hot especially at night so hope n wish to turn on aircon.. But worruy they catch a cold..especially when need to change pamper at middle of the night.. So wonder how u gals do if want change pamperwith aircon on? Willthey catch a cold? Also, how thick u wear them to ensure they wun catch a cold? Thk u all for advise..
Btw, a friend tell me avent pacifier cannot be sterilize.. Just use hot water will do.. Is tt true? Oh, i just sterilize them..;(

Hi Joanne, i sterilze the avent pacifer in the avent sterilzer.

My bb doesnt sleep in aircon room cos i am concerned once he get used to the nice cooling temperature, he will sweat and fuss alot when we bring him outside. So far i nursed him i will switch on aircon cos i am sweating non stop esp my CL said baby and i cant have the fan blow towards us.

I dont think he will catch a cold as long u set the temperature at 25 - 27 degree.

Hi faithfully, glad to get double assurance frm ur pd..

Joanne, I'm quite sure can sterilized else hw we disinfect their pacifier? Hmm...

Happy, I'm always perspiring so even wif air on on, I stil need on the fan. Be it side fan or ceiling fan...so its always blowing directly on mi..tink I sure rheumatism one..now getting body aches oredi..I also worried but weather too hot, can't tahan. Dunno hw u al survive lei..can share?

Oh gosh dont blow the fan at yourself. I dunno how I survive but I "dong" thru it - just be determined and don't give in (cos I scared of old age aches). I "dong" until now 25 days without aircon and fan. My hubby poor thing also don't with me until sometimes sleep in the living room with fan. I also dont give my baby aircon in case she get too used to it. Worse still my house has no wind at all during this part of the year. I just washed my hair today - lucky I have short hair.. I just tahan as long as I can. My Sil washed her hair and now she has serious headaches now and then. I kiasi lor. Strange thing is after 2 weeks you stop thinking of washing hair - immune feeling but the worst is the first week and second week. Somehow by 3rd week my body got used to confinement. First week I was sweating so much that got to change clothes every couple of hours. Dunno it's the weather or body trying to get used to confinement. Jia you! Try your best; if wash hair got to dry it asap.

I keep sterilizing my bottles each time I use. Hmmm....

MummyDee,
I guess I must also learn how to treat it ike employer-employee relationship hor? Othwise.... But I think I'll find it difficult to do. I mean even in the office, we also always treat our staff well mah. But yah lah, I've heard so many stories where they'll always climb over your head once you treat them well.

Btw, do you bring them along when/if u go for holidays? I'm thinking where to put her if we do go for holiday, but can't bring her along. Also, do they get afternoon naps?

Happy,
One of the ways I used to make sure she get hind milk is to pump and feed. Not sure if this is correct way, but I did so now and then, especially the last feed before sleep.

SG_SC,
U still in confinement or finish already? Anyway, when I was confinement, I switch on aircon, cos always sweating, even with aircon. Most people say it's ok cos aircon is dryair,so long as wind no direct blowing at you. I don't know true or not, but everything also "people say mah", so I chose to believe aircon is ok. But blowing fan direct at yourself is not good.
After confinement, I also like u, aircon + fan. But aircon is set at 27-28, then use fan to circulate the cool air.

Even while typing this, I am still perspiring. Weather damn hot these days.

Jomomm
I made the mistake of letting my maid take afternoon naps until when the baby is out, she is not used to not sleeping in the afternoon. So don't let her nap unless u ask her to help with the night feeds.

Tanny- u're realli good!! Can tahan the heat wo fan n air on!!! But body always feel so sticky n smelly...sweat plus milk plus crying bb...arrgghh... Each time confinement I tell myself to bu my body back but always fail. CL also say I need rest more coz she seldom see mi rest on bed, then she say no gd..next time body n back ache. Very v bad habit of mine.

My CL stil ard so I also sterilize the bottles each time, but once she leaves, ink I'll jus pour hot water over in case they spoil n turn yellowish easily wif too much sterilizing...

Jomum- stil in confinement..air on is ok. Dr all say so, but no outside wind nor direct fan blow..but hw not to...so HOT!!! many times i woke up shivering a little..then i feel guilty tink body sure spoil. Wind got in Liao...sigh...

Same same..My bb likes to wake up wen I'm pumping, so I will just latch bb midway hru the pump n that shld contain the hind milk too..Then cont pumping once she's done.

Jomum, java- can u leave her at ur mums house wen u go holiday? Best not to let her be alone in ur house.

We Neva allow the maid to have aftn naps coz we ourselves dun get tat at work, buti tired can jus sit down n rest. Only confinement nannies r allowed to have aftn naps!

Haha u all very guai leh! I've been doing illgeal bathing. But i will bath with super hot water and use hair dryer to blow my hair dry. I feel that made my mood much better. Yes i sweat alot too. I been wondering if is the food! In addition to bathing, i too use the herb water as well. Hahaha!

I cant imagine after one mth my CL goes off. I ve been quite bless to have her like a mom to me.

How much bm do u all produce per day. Mine is demand more than supply and I gt to mixed fm. Haha! Anyway to increase bm? I hv been pumping out e same amount for 3weeks le.

cosmicstar, SG_SC,
I see. Dunoe if I'll feel paiseh anot, cos I do take afternoon naps myself, especially my #1 want me accompany him to sleep, so I also take the opportunity to sleep, keke. Yah, at work, we also don't get to sleep hor? I must always remind myself employer-employee relationship. Dunoe I can do it anot...

Can't leave maid at mom's house. Normally, I like to invite mom to go on trips with us, altho she always say dun wan, expensive all these. But I feel it's fun to go with her, and also she should get a treat from us for working so hard mah. I wonder if agencies have a place for them to go to.

What you say is so right. Sekali she invite her friends to my house when we not around hor?Hm....tough tough....

Hm...must think so hard, to get maid or not to get...??

SG_SC,
Yes yes, I can totally understand you. Don't say confinement time. Normal time, I no fan no aircon also sweat already!
If you have wind in your body, can still do massage to get the wind out. Apparently, all moms who give birth, sure will have some wind in body one. So, is how to get rid.

Happy,
Got such thing as illegal bathing ah? Hahahahaha..... Can bathe after one week lah, but must use herb water.

LSK,
Sorry, can't help you, cos my problems is opposite. Supply is ok, but milk keep leaking everywhere. I'm very tempted to buy breastmilk collector. Anyone knows what are those called and where to buy them cheaper?

Anyone try the lactation milk tea before? It says can increase milk supply...my cousin give me one box, it says drink 3 to 5 times per day but is it keep use the same teabag n just pour hot water over n drink to 3 to 5 times or always has to change the teabag at least 3-5 times a day?? Any one who drink before can advise? Not sure whether this tea is useful or not..

jomumm > thanks for the encouragement. my cl has not left yet but she will be leaving next week. i hope to be able to strike a good balance b/w keeping my sanity and providing sufficient caregiving to my bb. my cl carries her 24/7 n i think it will drive me mad to do that!

btw the breastmilk collector... are you talking about breast shells? i will collect my "leaks" in sterilized breast shells while i feed from the other side.

joanne03 > yes i've taken fenugreek tea before. i feel it helps but if you really wish to increase supply, i think the supplement works faster. or u can try getting prescription medicine from your gynae. i had motillium.

LSK > i believe very much in powering thru when it comes to bf. i had to stop for 6 days coz of uti medz. when i resumed bf, my supply was def lower than requirements of my bb coz my cl overfed her with formula. what i did was to keep feeding n i refuse to supplement. if u supplement, ur supply may dwindle. it's ok for bb to go hungry a bit n when they do, they nurse more frequently and suck more efficiently, boosting supply. it may take 3-5 days for your supply to pick up if u try this method. now my baby is fussing from an oversupply so it can be done.

u can also try pumping for 5-10 mins after some feeds to clear ur breasts (assuming u latch on to nurse bb). u may pump nothing but it signals to ur boobies u need more. hope this helps.

Are there any side effects to taking motilium? What about domperidone? I heard taking fenugreek will cause baby to have alot of wind in the tummy cos my 1st kid, got very bad colic, maybe due to fenugreek. This time round, thinking what shd I take if supply low.

There are other alternatives like Organic Mother's milk tea and motherlove milk. But as I'm not a tea lover, and not sure like the taste, would prefer medication over these.

SG SC : I think better to suffer one month than suffer for life.. That keeps me going.... I washed my hair at 25thb& 26th day and now tahan few more days - next hair wash on day 30. Once I felt v cold hands n legs and shivered in the afternoon, and I covered myself all up in blanket - think some wind go into my body too! My thinking is I need to be well in order to take care of baby ;)

I'm currently 37 weeks preg, n my older boy has been behaving very funny these few weeks. He will toss and turn in bed and make some noises like having nitemares and wake up at 6.30am and very cranky and go in and out of the bedroom n kitchen. Then he'll open the drawers, put the straws in the milk bottle which has water and drink water from there. He'll also place all the pillows in a circle around him and say "close the door". My sensing is he does not have a sense of security n only want me to bath, feed, make him sleep. He don't want my maid and hb.

I'm not sure if he's very stressed out cos there have been many changes in his life since mar 2012. I put him in a CC in mar and he was there a few days and sick for 3 weeks, so I pull him out temp. Then the maid who looks after him since birth left end Mar and only me and hb take care of him without a maid for more than a mth. He was sick in Apr often, as we have no maid, thus hv to push him into the CC. If he has fever, I will then hv no choice but to take urgent leave to care for him. HB can't take leave due to work. Very tiring for me as was already 4mths preg n slept at 1am daily.It was indeed very sad to see him cried loudly and prolonged every day in CC.

My 2nd maid came in May and my boy couldnt get use to yet another change and was cranky again. As she was fresh from Indon and with poor eng and attitude, I changed maid in late Jul. My boy got to adjust to 3rd maid. So 1st 4 weeks of each maid change, I'm the one who has to care for him personally as he dun want maid and HB.

Some people told me boy cranky nowadays could be due to he knows baby coming. Do you have such experience to share? Am worried how he'll adjust without me during my confinement. Another baby brings yet another big change in his life. My mum felt he's traumatized and said ought to bring him to see psychiatrist.

I've the following to let go:

- BN Playskool busy balls patterns & colours $12
- BN Pigeon breastmilk storage bottles (3pcs) $10
- BN Pigeon S sized teat (standard neck) $2.50
- BN Pigeon M sized teat (wide neck) $3.00
- Tiny Love Musical Mobile $65
- 2 boxes of Tollyjoy napkin liners 200 pcs $10
- 2 tins of NAN 2 400g (exp Oct'12) $20
- Avent twin electronic breast pump full set $350
- Avent refill 10 cups (240ml) $18, with lids $25
- Medela Mini Electric breast pump full set $105
- 2 tins of Mamil Gold 400g (exp Nov'13) $20
- 2 Pigeon pacifier for 8mth+ $7

Kindly WA me @ 9653 0121 if keen/ for pics, thanks!

Hi mommies!

Letting go of merries and goon size S diapers cos I overstocked. Merries letting go @ $18 per pack (usual retail price $20.95) and Goon @ $20.50 per pack (86 pieces). Self collection at sengkang.

Please PM me if interested, thanks!

Sorry to interrupt.
I'm due to delivery in early Feb2013 and is looking for a good confinement lady who can stay over-nite. If your CL is of great help and not driving you crazy, pls pm me her contact.

I am in delimma now on the caring of my bbies after my maternity leave.. My mum keep asks me to let my mil take care another bb while she take care only one..as she worries she cant cope..;( due to hv not get a gd maid who can help yet.. Does anyone here use maid to take care bbies and during wkdays, maid follow bbies to mum place? As maid r not suppose to do housework in another household so cooking and general housekeeping got to take care by my mum?? Actually my thinking is want my mum try to take care bbies while left housework to maid.. So how can i do so?
Some say pay a nominal fee xtra fr 20-50 per mth to maid to help in the housework n cooking.. But shd this be bought up before hire her to check whether is it agreeable or i shd not bring this up infront of the agency and shd bring this up
Only after hire her? Isnt it abit late if to inform later? Sigh, can anyone share with me their experience? Really hate this government who didnt do much to help us n yet keep asks us to give birth only.. I really dun wish to separate my bbies n yet not sure n stress on wht to do now.. Or shd i put them in infant care which r not cheap too..

Hi Joanne,

I can kind of understand the ruling, because I know of people who have the maid follow the children to grandparents' place and do the housework there while the grandparents look after the children, but also expect the maid to clean the house once they are home too. Rally take advantage.

What I do when I bring my maid over to my Mum's or PIL's is tell my maid that she has to cook for my #1, and help to cook and wash up after meals since that is what she has to do at home anyway. The rest of the housework she does not have to do (sweep & mop) since she wakes early to do them.

for those latching on, after pumping the excess milk do you keep in the fridge or freezer?
how long can we keep the milk at room temp after taking out from the fridge? cause sometimes my girl cant finish the milk at one time.

me having a difficult week again. Blocked ducts that just won't seem to go away. I've tried everything, hot compress, hot shower, massaging, cold cabbage...sigh...

jonquil,
Your CL carries her 24/7? She'd probably have gotten use to all that rocking... may need to "re-educate" baby. But depends on baby also...

Ah Yes yes, breastshells. Where do you get them from, and which brand is good?

joanne,
So agree on your line about govt!

I don't have maid experience yet, so can't share with you. But for infant care, my friend told me need to check out the place properly. Apparently, some places don't really care for them well enough.

Do you have your CL to recommend to me?
I am from 'Jan2013' forum and because my EDD fall on 26 Jan 13 will cross over CNY very hard to find CL.

Im also looking for CL. Anyone got good CL to recommend.
My EDD is Mid Oct, but gynae just told me will shift to late Sep c-sec. So my original CL cant make it. Im in a fix now, no CL.

Would appreciate if any mummies can recommend theirs. Thanks.

jomumm >> yar we trying to recondition her but the crying is getting to us... n when my mil comes over she does the same walking, rocking thing so it really doesn't help in the training... =S

i got the avent shells! it's about 30+ bucks but i got it at 20% off. there is an air shell for airing sore nipples and a collection shell for bm. medela also have but they sell it separately so if u only want the collection shell u might wanna get medela. that is about 20 plus.

you can check the avent one out at this link... --> http://www.philips.co.uk/c/avent-baby-breastfeeding/breast-care-6-pcs-scf157_02/prd/

GJ >> i usually put it in the fridge, top up till i have a bottle den "promote" to the freezer within two days. at room temp in sg, bm lasts about 4 hours. so u can drag it out to 2 feeds if they are close enuff.