(2012/07) Jul 2012

Hi ladies, been a silent reader for a while, decide to join you here. Expecting our #2 & our son turns 3 tomorrow! Edd shd be 18 July & seeing dr woody at cck. Had Oscar at TMC last thur & recd a call on sat that results are normal, was surprised the results came back fast!

I am also worried that I cant handle bb after the confinement lady left.. I watched the DADDY 101.. see liao.. more scared..hahaha.

Think may need my hubby to learn to bath e baby and we try to learn as much as we can..If not, will get my MIL to come over help impart some bb skills lor. Afraid panic..esp.. at night when BB cry..

yah lor yah lor.. after watching Daddy 101.. i lagi feel scared.. especially when baby keep crying.. alamak!! Especially for those of us who are having #1.. worse right? no experience...

ourlovestory: u can go to XINMSN to catch up on what you missed.

I think the baby has colic or smth.. intestine prob? so must rub lah.. or change position in carrying baby to make the baby feel better..

Haha, u're quite funny QQ!

LFCfan: Ya, same here. think no choice but to spend. But cant help complaining. It's so exp!! At first didnt know must give ang baos and gifts somemore. Add-on cost..

Ourlovestory, i also haven't done much for CNY. But i ordered pineapple tarts, almond cookies and some other cookies. Hopefully by CNY, we all would have re-gained our appetite and energy.

Talking about folic acid, how long do we need to take the folic acid for? During my last appt with my gynae, he didnt prescribe me with more folic acid and i forgot to ask. He only gave me pre-natal vit and fish oil. Now i dun have any more folic acid. Dunno whether it's coz he forgot to give or no need to take folic acid liao?

Jul mom: I think after first trimester can stop folic liao leh.. i left with a few more days supply also.. then after that next week see gynae.. i think he going to give me new vits.. like calcium, iron, fish oil etc.

Yah lor.. so ex hor.. my mum was shocked when i told her it's more than 2k.. excluding ang pow..

Jul mom, some gynaes prescribe folic acid for 12 weeks while some for the whole pregnancy...mine used to give for whole pregnancy but not sure if he changed now.

re: confinement catering
for my number 1, i order lunch from natal essentials. the portion is quite big, so normally can't finish will keep some & heat up for dinner.
when mil cooks dinner for family, will add additional dishes like ginger fried with egg, or pig liver etc...

this round should be the same too, mil looking after & #1 will be sending to playgroup by May or Jun hehe

Ourlovestory....I know some CL will define an amt for both first & another when confinement is over while some will asked for a token.

SG_SC, which agency your sis get the CL.
If I were you, I will wait till 1st tri....They ask, say you want to wait till 1st tri confirm.

Your Gynae so yayapapa ya. Who is ur gynae again?

the final ang bao will depend on the CL's performance already. If she is good then give a bit more for her efforts.. but how much to give for first ang bao when I do not even know her??

mahjong, i called a few CL before I can get one because they are booked for may/june already, so might not make it in time for us in July... so better ask around first if you do want a CL...

A quick read thru...

QQ : your sil really say that in your face? Seriously , shoot her back!!! How can she comment such things to you !! Good or bad mother is not for her to comment!! EVERY SINGLE LADIES HERE IS A GOOD MOTHER!!! Dont she know that every woman carry this "Motherly Love" in us ever since we born? This is a natural power of a woman! No one can win a motherly love... So is she trying to tell you that she is a good mum herself? Hello, please! She haven even see how are you going or willing to learn when your kids is not yet borned and
She could simply just say you like that. Wth! This is pissing me off! If i were you, i sure argue with her!!! If she is really so "good" why not you tell her that you will leave your kid with her and let her handle for you since she thinks that you're not a good mum? Walau! *pissed!* she is a woman herself and yet she can comment such things! How "good" is her, i wonder~
Please dont let her words affect you okay! Prove her WRONG!!!

Sorry for such a angry post! Cause i really cant tolerate ppls to comment such things that have yet to happen.. I do have problem with my SIL too! She also sama sama patterns as yours! My sil is 1986 de.. I'm actually younger than her by 2years... So when i pregnant with my #1, she also sort of commented that i'm young and i cant look after a kid! But ofcause i prove her wrong after i gave birth to my girl... I do everything myself!!! Eventhough when i'm sick! I still takecare of my girl without any helps from their house!!! Cause my mil
Dont know how to takecare of bb at all.. And i have to bite y teeth to look after mygirl when i, myself having fever lo... So now, she always dont dare to look down on me.. Cause she know that i'm more capable than her...

Thanks for all the info about the folic acid! Think i shall check with my gynae during next appt. Maybe i just go and buy and continue taking a while more, since i think Unity selling at v cheap price. heh. Mahjong, whose gynae u asking? Mine? Mine is Dr Lim Teck Beng frm Mt E.

I asked 2 persons before about the angbaos. One gave 28, then 88 with a bottle of DOM. The other gave 12, then 128.

Piyobaby, my doc oso Dr Adrian. he talked so fast till i forgot what to ask. I did my Oscar on Mon and the nurse called me ytd to inform the results.

I not taking folic acid le. the doctor only gave me prenavit.

My coll said she regretted not hiring cl cos her mum needs to do a lot of things n they had a lot of argument.

It can b quite tricky, too little then she might nt b happy & bu gan yuan to do well? Hw abt considering $68, thot sound quite reasonable thou I hv not engaged one b4

ourlovestory: Depends on you - if you want TBF (Total Breastfeeding), then no choice gotta wake up since you are the milk bottle. If you go on formula or EBM, then CL will wake up to bottlefeed baby and you can rest.

Ourlovestory : haha!! I'm still learning too leh!! Although now is #2, i also need to learn how to cope with 2bb... Although maid will be coming next week but still they're my kids.. I need to jaga well rather than later tio shoot by SIL again. Hahaha!!

Jiayou mummies!!!

And forum is a place where we share our experience, joy,sorrow etc etc.. But most important is learn from each another! I hope our group here really help every mummies here.. We still have a long journey to go! Must hand on hand and strike the barrier together along this motherhood life ! ^^

Ourlovestory...ya... So called gota bao her 3 meals too. CL shd feed bb for night feeds unless u r on tbf. Its good to let bb sleep wif CL so you could hv a good rest.

ourlovestory,

even if you opt to pump out the milk and get CL to bottle feed bb, you still have to wake up every few hours to keep up the milk supply.

My CL told me she will sleep with bb at night and do the feeding. So I plan to go for EBM la. Then hopefully can sleep thruout!

By the way, any experienced moms who did breastfeeding? I heard when breastfeeding, cannot take ginger and alcohol. But when doing confinement, must take ginger and that kind of bu jiu (tonic alcohol). So how???

Jul mom...some believe dat to prevent jaundice to avoid ginger for 1st week or so but some dismiss it as myth. If alcohol is used to cook food, its alright as it will be vapourise. I cant recall after drinking eg Dom, had to wait like 1 hr later b4 breastfeeding, cant rem the timeframe

Jul_mom : if on total breastfeeding.. Maybe you can just tell CL to lesser the Ginger , cause scare bb too yellow... Than as for those tonic right.. After latch bb already than drink... Cause usually newborn feed is 2hr interval.. After latch you drink, than by next feed should be okokay liao... What i do is like that lo..

Or ask your CL or the person who cook to "tun" the tonic for 4hours first than drink.. Cause like that than the liquor is not that thick..

Mmm but if dun take ginger, how to get rid of e wind?
Wah, nb must drink evey 2hrs.. my coll told me u need to burp bb too.. by the time u r done wif feeding and burp.. its like back to the same feeding cycle again..Wah.. scary. sounds like simply no time.

The more i tink.. the more i scare..liao..
My fren told me best to go c-sect then natural birth..cos natural will broaden the hips and waist..Any comment on that?

E Tan : ah! No scare no scare!!! Newborn usually is 2hrs lah. But depend on bb bah.. If you get the position of burping, very fast de.. No worries!

Eh? C-sec is better than Natural! Who say so? C-sec lagi jialat hor.. Imagine when you wanna feed bb that time sit up.. Later press on wound how? Hahaha! =X eh? Natural will boarden the hip and waist? You see me before right? What do you think? My waist got boarden? Hahahah!!

Good idea. Think i take only "cooked alcohol" and ask my CL to "tun" longer.

Trismummy: So cant take ginger is coz of jaundice? Then if baby no jaundice, can take ginger? Actually the ginger just used to cook right? we dun really take the ginger and eat one right?

ETan, my fren told me, everyday she spend 8 hours pumping milk also. Totally horrified. R u getting CL? Maybe let CL help with the bb's burping? (anyway after 1 month we still need to do ourselves!!!)

I din take ginger as it is cos dare not eat them so hopefully having food cooked wif ginger help!

My son is a very difficult bb...take 30mins to feed, 30mins to burp & by then put him back to bed, wont be long b4 the routine start again.

Piyobaby, Im at the sk one. but his supplement really seems little compared to what other mommies having. Haha.

Etan , i watched taiwanese program n they said c-sect is cut off woman's organs (hypotetically). damaging for our body. but i very scared of natural. my coll said it's 100x menstrual cramp.

B00ney : yup! 100x menses cramp! But is can tahan de... I'm a person even a needle poke into my finger i also will pain that type.. But i still manage to give birth to mygirl thru natural without epidural.. Just tell yourself that all the pain is worth it when you see bb out...

Ourlovestory : you mean EBM is it? EBM is express breast milk...

QQ : yes! You can do it! Jiayou!!!

Hmm again must eat ginger in moderation. the western doctors will say jaundice is caused by bilirubin in blood unable to breakdown because baby's kidneys are still immature.

I agree with angelia, natural heals faster. But i have not gone through C-sect, only natural so cannot compare cos don't have first hand experience.

If want to take alcohol, best to cook it so that the alcohol content evaporates. or want to drink direct also can, but small amounts and right after breastfeeding so your body has at least 2 hrs to "digest" the alcohol before the feeding starts in 2 hrs time

anyone got feedback on PEM agency CL? i am thinking of going to an agency this time around because my previous CL was terrible! i fired her at my 3rd week and ended up my last week my mom gotta cook for me. i want to have a backup CL this time round. heard agencies will keep changing CL until satisfied? feedbacks pls!

Aylie: I just booked CL through PEM. Recommended by Angelia in fb. But some mummies have bad experience with the CL there. I think really depend on luck

Angelia, but normal menses cramp already v pain.. faint. Im scared of bf too.

Now tummy still small i still feel obliged to give up my seat. but sometimes stand too long v uncomfortable.

WTS: 2 tins of NAN HA Milk Powder @$37 each. Original price $42.50 each. Expiry date: 4 Jul 2013. Self-collection at Kovan MRT.

WTS: 6 bottles of Obimin @$18 each. Original price $28 each. Expiry date: 11 Jan 2013. Self Collection at Kovan MRT.

Pls call 96568688 to deal.