(2012/07) Jul 2012

Fluffy : anyway for this #2, i'm going to donate again.

audrey> don't panic.. just relax i think small amount of spotting is normal. just go see doc for peace of mind. If you're ok, Thursday is ok for me.

MZ> the steamboat is by imperial treasure at ion. can go google it..simple food but i find quite good. abit of the expensive side though

Peapea> thursday you can too?

audrey> don't panic.. just relax i think small amount of spotting is normal. just go see doc for peace of mind. If you're ok, Thursday is ok for me.

MZ> the steamboat is by imperial treasure at ion. can go google it..simple food but i find quite good. abit of the expensive side though

Peapea> thursday you can too?

hi fluffy
was it you who plan to give birth in Mt A instead of TMC with Benjamin?
I m thinking of the same too. ANy idea how we will know the package?

We wld prefer to have it at MT A too.

hi fluffy
was it you who plan to give birth in Mt A instead of TMC with Benjamin?
I m thinking of the same too. ANy idea how we will know the package?

We wld prefer to have it at MT A too.

mom of 2, lunch? can... but same like audrey, appetite not that big now... we see how is audrey after her review... just had laksa... yum yum

mrs yee! we got same edd and at TMC too! maybe will bump into each other

mom of 2, lunch? can... but same like audrey, appetite not that big now... we see how is audrey after her review... just had laksa... yum yum

mrs yee! we got same edd and at TMC too! maybe will bump into each other

peapea,
i wouldn't say I guarantee its not going to be helpful.. but my take is, in case of a transplant needed, the doctors will always tap into the public bank, and since it has been medically proven in most cases, the stem cells of the own child will hardly match, than I rather quickly tap into the masses instead.

While $7k to save a life sounds cheap enough, but to pay $7k for something I dunno if it even helps, becomes abit questionable lor.

And you know how doctors always not pantang, everything also look at science, if i have total 6 doctors tell me no use already, I really can't convince myself to spend that $7k for this "insurance" anymore lo.

Angelia:
Fluffy loves to do research by nature. Or u can say "kia-si" everything also must check gao-gao. LOL~~

peapea,
i wouldn't say I guarantee its not going to be helpful.. but my take is, in case of a transplant needed, the doctors will always tap into the public bank, and since it has been medically proven in most cases, the stem cells of the own child will hardly match, than I rather quickly tap into the masses instead.

While $7k to save a life sounds cheap enough, but to pay $7k for something I dunno if it even helps, becomes abit questionable lor.

And you know how doctors always not pantang, everything also look at science, if i have total 6 doctors tell me no use already, I really can't convince myself to spend that $7k for this "insurance" anymore lo.

Angelia:
Fluffy loves to do research by nature. Or u can say "kia-si" everything also must check gao-gao. LOL~~

angelia, what makes you decide to donate? im likely gg to donate, but hubby seems keen to keep... so want to know more

E TAN,
yes me, with Dr Benjamin Tham but wan give birth at Mt A. My family 50% TMC 50% Mt A so I tink i seen enuf to compare keke, anyway Mt A nearer my hse and tis Aug, I was hospitalised 8 days for high fever, i stayed Premier Suite, its heaven!! Oh I love the food and the nurses!

I already gotten Dr Tham's delivery packages and TMC rates but I haven got Mt A's yet. Tmr I'll go check TMC's FBI to see if its worth it even if I not gng to birth there. Then 2nd trimester onwards I'll go Mt A check out the package also. I rmbr they have a Ladies card thingy that offers disc for stay or prenatal classes etc.

Basically u just add Dr Tham's delivery plus Mt A's room rates lo. Accordingly to the recent comparison, Mt A room rates are slightly higher den TMC's now. Used to be Mt A cheaper.

E TAN,
yes me, with Dr Benjamin Tham but wan give birth at Mt A. My family 50% TMC 50% Mt A so I tink i seen enuf to compare keke, anyway Mt A nearer my hse and tis Aug, I was hospitalised 8 days for high fever, i stayed Premier Suite, its heaven!! Oh I love the food and the nurses!

I already gotten Dr Tham's delivery packages and TMC rates but I haven got Mt A's yet. Tmr I'll go check TMC's FBI to see if its worth it even if I not gng to birth there. Then 2nd trimester onwards I'll go Mt A check out the package also. I rmbr they have a Ladies card thingy that offers disc for stay or prenatal classes etc.

Basically u just add Dr Tham's delivery plus Mt A's room rates lo. Accordingly to the recent comparison, Mt A room rates are slightly higher den TMC's now. Used to be Mt A cheaper.

fluffy - i'm not disagreeing with you here and i have no vested interest in cordlife or cord blood banking. i think what the doctors say are subjective? i know 3 doctors, including my own SIL and BIL, and they are all on cordlife for their 2 kids. so this is quite a personal decision and i agree with you - if can afford, then good, if can't then it's ok. I think it's just how "kiasu" you want to be. anyway for cordlife you can use the $ from the gov to pay for half (i don't know what's the account called, it's the one where you put $ and the gov will match dollar for dollar. there's a cap and it expires when the child hits 7). so good to have, if not so be it.

Fluffy : haha! Not kia si lah. Do research is good okay! Like that you will know the different between A and B mah...

Peapea : me? Cause i use to be like Fluffy lo.. Hahaha! I do research on this when i'm having my #1 that time... And also asked afew of my Doctor friends.. They tell me the same
Answer... Why spend sooo much on storing it but if at the end of the day you cant use leh... So by donating to save others life is a good deed. So why not?
anyway, still depending on the parent bah.

Fluffy : haha! Not kia si lah. Do research is good okay! Like that you will know the different between A and B mah...

Peapea : me? Cause i use to be like Fluffy lo.. Hahaha! I do research on this when i'm having my #1 that time... And also asked afew of my Doctor friends.. They tell me the same
Answer... Why spend sooo much on storing it but if at the end of the day you cant use leh... So by donating to save others life is a good deed. So why not?
anyway, still depending on the parent bah.

hui chinz, realised my appetite is better after i have spicy food! hopefully no nausea later if not heartburn will confirm start!

no worries Aylie, I know all decisions will be personal. which I agree and mentioned its everyone's own call.
I tink for me, having helped out my sis now with her daughter's blood disorder which is indicated as 1 of the list of diseases treatable under cordblood banking, yet so far none of the patients in SGP with that disease had used the cordblood successfully, gives me different insights too.
My sis was pregnant with her 2nd daughter when her 1st daughter was diagnosed, so we had that option to spend that mere $7k then, but even the doctors who are very experienced told us it is very unlikely, esp since we have talked to not only SGP's doctors but also Australia & US doctors, so now we are in the process of the transplant matching and the procedure will cost us estimate $140k. By the way, even if she had saved the cordblood, the transplant will have cost the same amount. So there is really no savings here. We still have to do a match within family, public bank den only u can tap the cordblood.

The disease affects 1 in 80,000 worldwide. Even thus rare, especially more the cordblood could have proved itself, but unfortunately not 1 single recorded success.

Different school of thoughts, good to have both set of opinions too.

loshita, ya! when i booked last monday, they already told nurse that dec very crowded. so the nurse just took whatever slot that is available

Angelia:
^5!! Ya i also tink if i keep so long also no use.. i donate can save others, why not. But hor we must help to spread the word la, alot of ppl don't keep the cordblood and they throw it away, cos they dunno can donate lor! And donate is free.. so it's really no loss to the mummy leh. I hear ppl throw away I very sad.

Angelia:
^5!! Ya i also tink if i keep so long also no use.. i donate can save others, why not. But hor we must help to spread the word la, alot of ppl don't keep the cordblood and they throw it away, cos they dunno can donate lor! And donate is free.. so it's really no loss to the mummy leh. I hear ppl throw away I very sad.

fluffy - i asked my doc about mt A coz I think Mt A environment plus nurses better too. but the nurse at tmc told me response time will be slower coz doc have to drive to mt A. so have to take that into consideration when you're deciding on the hospital

sigh, my no.1 oscar was scanned by gynae, just need to do blood test at the lab, this round gynae just back from holidays her app too full so she can't scan for me.

Fluffy : hi^5! Heee.. Yupyup... Spread to others...

*WAVE!*
HELLO FIRST TIME MUMMIES! IF YOU DONT INTEND TO BANK YOUR BB's CORDBLOOD, REMEMBER TO DONATE OUT TO SAVE OTHERS LIFE K!
))

Fluffy : hi^5! Heee.. Yupyup... Spread to others...

*WAVE!*
HELLO FIRST TIME MUMMIES! IF YOU DONT INTEND TO BANK YOUR BB's CORDBLOOD, REMEMBER TO DONATE OUT TO SAVE OTHERS LIFE K!
))

mom of 2, not sure wor... i assume so... cuz supposed to see dr tham after that... exactly 3 more weeks to go

For me,the nurse din book the OSCAR for me. Probably mine stil early. I gg to see Dr Tham again in my 9.5 wks.
Fluffy, can share wif me once u done research on the MT A room?
I will follow u..haha.. wherever u go..haha.
R u ladies planning to get the 2 bedder or single room?
I was kind of confused when i see the pricing and package.. so blur.

Thank you all for the views on the blood cord. Will need to ask my hubby, he also quite kiasi type..will keep doing research..esp. when payin for $$
I always commented tat its difficult for him to part wif his $$.