(2012/05) May 2012

mamagene: Thanks! All babies look cute, but I'm amazed by the contented look on her face.

Yaolan: My gal definitely sleep longer now with the yaolan

ak: look for words like yaolan or sarong stand. And better ask for a pic. Better to get the U-shape one instead of the single handle (like fishing rod) cos it looks much more sturdy

The "hanger" that comes w it is 17 inches, I got a new one from baby shop which is 20 inches. My mum say then the sarong won't pressed onto baby face.
Also check with them if it comes with the spring, the "hanger" and the sarong cloth (mostly netted) below is the pic of the sarong I bought from the seller

7173109.jpg

>> ak
yup tts correct for my fb nick.. you added me le? .. my tummy is still flabby.. also cos i lazy to put on the girdle after the massage lady left..

i bought my yaolan from a shop in chinatown.. think it was $80 plus.. free delievery if you spend more than $200..

yingzz:yup, added u alr. what brand of girdle u bought? i only use the binder that the massage lady wrapped.but once i finished the session, also not using as only she knows how to wrap.

u bought ur yaolan from cheong choon?

hello mummies how everyone?

kelly: i hvent try the schedule yet! too lazy to wake up at 7am......lol
usually bb n i slept til 11am.......whahaha

too bad i cant use yaolan at my place coz no space... my no 1 used it, it gd! easy to sleep n can sleep very long. especially when i wana fix routine for nap, i just put her in shake shake awhile n she will sleep.

>> ak
sorry your nick is? have i added you into the grp?? hmm my girdle is given by massage laady.. there is too many holes to pull the string thru.. takes some time to wear.. can wear by myself though i am just lazy.. i always hear ppl say the dale binder is good..

yup i bought from cheong choon

>> juski
i have 2 yaolans at my place (currently staying with mum).. one for my sis kid.. one for mine.. and there is also a walker which takes up a lot of space.. so the hse like no space to walk around one.. have to keep shifting here and there..

ur bb sleep till so late??? best

yingzz: Thanks for adding me.
May I know the yaolan you bought for $80, what does it include? Does it look like the one I posted? Got pic?
Thinking of getting one more

Hi mummies, sorry to hijack your thread but was thinking you may be the best group to ask for recommendation of confinement lady (since you have just gone through it not too long ago).

I understand that there is no best CL so would appreciate your recommendation and why is she recommeded.

Pls PM me so I can keep my disturbance to the minimum. MTIA.

>> dolly
chk fb.. i posted the pic there.. its $85

>> juski
i see.. the bad part about putting yaolan in the living room is sometimes we cant really watch tv lol..

Hi mummies, I'm from the Oct thread. I'm looking for confinement caterers but need opinions.

I have shortlisted the following, please advise.

1) Natal Essentials
2) Newbaby.com.sg
3) ConfinementFood.com
4) Chili Padi Catering
5) Aunty Li Confinement Food

Those who have tried for your this/previous pregnancies or your friends/families have tried, please advise tastiness of food.

yingzz: Thanks! 40 cm is shorter than 17 inches, got so many different sizes!
The spring is the sun flower spring (7 removable springs) is it?

Namie
i used natal essentials for 2 weeks, food wise not bad, a few nice dishes but they repeat menu every week, so for 2 weeks okay lah but if 4 weeks, certain dishes i sure dun want to eat again like their pork kidney cuz got a not so nice smell.. the portion is big enough for me and hubby cuz i am a small eater, but the soup portion is definitely not enough if you are on TBF.. so personally, i will think if you have someone cooking soup for you at home, then just dabao vege outside can le, cuz their vege to me, almost same as outside food besides, no msg...

juski
yes my baby is on FM most of the time now, we give water, cuz #1 also gave water from start and he loves water from baby time, i find it a good thing.. i know by right doc will say no need water if on TBF but singapore is so hot leh, just a bit to moisturize their lips also necessary ba... lol

juski: my #1 on TBF has no water till he's 6th month old. Planned to do the same for #2. Anyway, our BM is so watery, if it's left in the fridge can see almost 80 to 90% is water

there are so many updates already that it took me quite a while to read!
Hope everyone is good taking care of the babies..

Anyone took baby to the vaccination already? I am bringing mine tmrw..will there be a fever or baby feels uncomfortable after that?

I give my boy abit of water everyday becoz he is also on FM and BM, so feed him some water according to my mother..

My bb reject Yao lan. Put him in, shake shake, he will cry n if dun shake, he will b so stiff inside till dare not move. If he is asleep n we put him in Yao lan, he will stretch n then cry.

Wonder how to pacify him to accept Yao lan n sleep longer during nap time.

Juski, i also gave water like my sis, but 5-10ml a day only. got once my girl pushed away my breast before feeding, end up she wanted water.

Dolly, breast milk watery meh? mine is thick, put in fridge got 2 layers, on top is the cream and below is the thick milk like FM.

i envy mummy with good milk supply, my girl is 16 days now but i can only pump out max 60ml with full breast in the morning. Sigh.

Namie - I just started ordering from richfood catering. The food is quite nice and feels home cooked. Delivery for me is prompt and typically at 6:30 pm and 12:30pm. Most importantly, their food are delivered hot so I could eat it immediately without heating up which is great! In terms of serving, its just nice for one person, insufficient to share with anyone. overall, I would hihly recommend them.

My family ordered from natal essentials last yr for my sil. Can't remember the taste and service but I do remember thinking that their serving size is slightly larger.

I would like to buy NB diapers - huggies/pampers/mamy poko.
If your baby has outgrown this size and you want to sell pls PM me

Jazzlyne: maybe ur baby scare? perhaps swaddle works better for him? my mum also comment that all e chn she takes care of, when in the yaolan will keep still then sleep.. my girl once put in, keep figiding and adjusting herself.. once we don't shake, she kicks and make noise.. lol..

kelly: Wow, yours is milk concentrate!
Yeah, the top is like a cream, once "formed" the milk won't "move" when you shift the bottle lightly. For my case, the bottom part is translucent, not as thick as fomula milk

My gal is almost 6th weeks old when first put into yaolan,she didn't like it at first too.

i just started to let my boy 'taste' afew drops of water.. hahaha

kelly> dun envy..my boy 30days liao still stuck at 40- 50ml nia..

the top part of the milk is the best de.. tat part they say it 'fats', that make bb feel full

Kelly: Dun think about that leh, though my #2 is not of big size, but my #1 is always 95% when BF till 6 mth old... then weight "remain" at 10kg since then! And we start to introduce other food to him at 6 mth old loh...

Keiko: yup swaddle works better for him. Coz nite time swaddle him n he sleep deep. Afternoon swaddle him need on air con abit hard on our wallet. He likes to sleep in rocker too.

My mum also comment mayb he scare. So ask me dun scare him too much.

Dolly, my no.1 is super chubby so felt no.2 did not put on much weight.

Jazzlyne, I on aircon from12 to 2 pm in th day cuz it is juz too hot. My room got big windows so it is hot even when it is windy.

I am short listing a stroller and maybe those experienced can advise which of the following is better?

1) Maclarent Quest
2) Combi Urban walker
3) Graco Citilight

I got feedback that should not choose a lightweight for newborn cos more prone to topple over. But heavy ones I can't manage. any advise which of the above is good for use till toddler age?

Hi rabbitz, initially I short listed combi and maclarent as well but when I saw the actual prams I feel it's flimsy. In the end we settle for the peg perego compact 3 pram it's good, many good reviews from magazines too.

If you like combi I would suggest the miracle turn pram.

Rabbitz I bought graco citilite, quite good. My boy is comfy in it, easy to manage the pram coz it is light, the space is sufficient too. Personally, I like lightweight prams.. But my boy still prefers e pupsik pouch when we go out.. Mayb snug fit so feels safe..

rabbitz: I tried out my cousin combi for #1 before deciding to buy Maclaren. Cos I feel Combi a bit filmsy.
We bought the Maclaren XLR - the one with wider frame cos our #1 was pretty big in size. But then it is so heavy (10.5kg) and when we go overseas, it's a big challenge to bring up and down (think of HK MTR where there's no escalator and only stairs). So in view of this, we bought one more stroller, Maclaren Volo, a much lighter weight only about 5kg and still sturdy. But these kind of stroller only suitable for bigger baby cos it cannot adjust the angle to lie flat.

If you can always take train and not bus, then a heavier stroller could be good for now cos baby so small, a light stroller might topple... especially the diaper bag is so heavy with all their stuff!

BTW, I uses pupsik as well, so if I'm out alone and need to fold the stroller, put baby inside the pupsik then got both hands to do so. It's convenient when we need to take cab too, cos with the pupsik, baby is "strapped" to you and you strapped by the seat belt, I felt safer.

rabbitz, i bought Graco Quattro Tour at Taka baby fair earlier in the year, 500+ only, very big and stable. other brands will cost you 1-2k to get a stroller with such standard.

Hi kelly,

The lc I met advice to stop latching if u have crack/sore nipples. If not, very hard to recover. U may wanna pump till recover then latch again

kelly: Yeah, for me also #1 is chubby while #2 is not. But the diff between you and I is for me, both are TBF, so my elders didn't have much "doubts" on BF. While during #1, cos they are very used to FM, they keep wondering if #1 was getting enough eventhough his weight was at 95 percentile. BTW, my #1 was born at 41 weeks while #2 was at 37 both csec. So #2 was much smaller size from the beginning (3.75kg vs 2.91kg)

Just finish pumping! Have been doing it regularly and feeding baby w EBM cos my nanny and mum wanna train her to take from bottle. My nanny worried that she got to spoonfeed her like my #1. Now #2 seems to be more willing to take EBM from bottle after 2 weeks of introducing the teat. *phew*

morning mummies!!

my boy is about 20 days old, and now i realized it is a bit tougher to put him into his cot after feeding, he will wake up easily and have to carry him to sleep, then carry for a while longer till he's in deep sleep then can put down..

at night he will just wake up after 1 hour of sleep, and i need to carry him for a while before putting him back again, worse part is around 5am i need to carry him to sleep till about 630am, or else i have to feed him instead, seems that when he's a little hungry, he can't settle down in bed on his own, any baby having same problem?

Priscilla, thanks for the advice, I stopped latch on for 1 night, and feeling better now.

Mama gene, I did not buy whole series, borrowed some from library and bought 2 books only.

Think my girl is able to follow the schedule cuz she sleeps a lot, so I just need a bit effort to keep her awake. When baby cry I will try to let her wait for few mins, my no1 always get what she wants immediately so now became very impatient.

To me most importantly is to let baby sleep less in day time and more at night, so it is not necessary to follow the timing exactly. And I am glad to see my girl did not have colic after trying this schedule. Plus after 4 days, seems she can automatically wake up on time during the day liao.

Morning mummies!!

Felicia> my bb like urs! Seen hard to him to fall into deep sleep.. Sometimes he fall asleep on my bed n when I put him bck to his cot he will wake up!

Kelly> glad tat ur nipple recover n can bck to latching!

Jialut I tink my boy need to latch to sleep... Any bb the same?

I feel bm bb does put on weight. My boy face is pretty chubby n he did put on quite abit since birth. Last checkup, he's ard 4.5kg. His birth wt is 3.59 but was 3.2kg when left hospital.
He's still a few days away from his full month.

coming back to GF, sorry i did not make it clear on one point.

e.g. 10am wake baby up, and settle her down to sleep by 11:30/12. that means once you wake up the baby, you need to give bb half of the feeding, so that bb will not cry for milk, but still won't fall asleep immediately. so when bb is half full only, they can remain awake for half to one hour. then you complete the other half of feeding by 11:30 so bb can settle down to sleep.

same thing if you look at bath time, you need to feed baby half full so he won't be cranky during bath time.

however, for those timing like midnight feeding, or 10:00pm feeding, you had to give a quick full feeding to settle baby back to sleep asap.

hope this will help to make it sucessful.

Hi kelly,

Remember to apply more nipple cream, will heal faster. I using medela nipple cream as my friend recommend. It heals by crack nipple in 2days.

Do share more info on gf..thnks ya

Mama gene,

My cl said after 30 days can eat seafood but not too much la.. And if u bfing , don't overeat junk food. If not, baby will have it also...
And no duck and yam for 100days

Priscilla, thanks. I am using medela also, all their products are great.

Mama gene, it will be good to follow the schedule, cuz like the longest nap from 12 to 2pm, that is the best timing before nap, and bb will ge refreshed after nap at this time rather than any other timing in the day. I am flexible also, like now my girl sleep Liao, supposed to be 4pm de, but I know she is a sleepy baby and extra 1 hr sleep in the day won't mass up her schedule at night, so I allow it. As for waking ba up, I also dun feel like doing so in the beginning, cuz she can sleep at least 3-5 hrs every nap de. But just like dr said BF baby must be waken up for feeding every 3 hrs. Sleeping too much will cuz baby eating less or not enough. And in fact, after putting her on schedule for 4 days, she automatically wake up at the right timing, I dun need to find ways to wake her up liao.

As for full or half BF, you can roughly judge by timing. If you need 45 mins to pump your milk, that means feeding for 20 mins is abt half feeding.

One more impt thing to take note is we need to train bb to sleep on their own without assistant. If they had wrong association for sleep, like must be cuddled to sleep, in long term, it will result in bad sleeping habit, and most likely they can't stop waking up frequently at night until age 3.

Kelly,

So wat u do when baby is awake.? Do u carry her?
My boy wants ppl to carry him when he is awake / he wants ppl to cuddle him till he fell asleep. If not he will cry very loud.

How ar? Cannot let him cry and scream Le...

justi: me too, baby even well fed (300ml in few hours) still won't sleep at night until I latch a few times... I've become human pacifier
Have been trying to introduce bottles,but she does not seem to be satisfied until she latches. And it seems that after a EBM feed, she feeds on me longer (like 25 min instead of 15 min) eventhough I might have just pumped!

I'm trying to stretch my baby wake up time in the day as well. so far her feed is kinda reduced to once at around 4 to 5am, that's when I get up to pump as well. But wonder if that is a good timing cos once I started work, if I continue to pump around 5am then I will not have time to sleep again! Can't imagine wake up at 4am+ everyday and go to work!

zp1503: Only heard that fenugreek might cause your milk to turn green. But herbal smell sweat sound good to me!

Priscilla, after feeding her half full, I will put her on sofa with a mat, take out her diaper and let her kick out. She can do this quietly for 20 to 30 mins then will start to make noise, then I will let her sit on my legs with my body supporting her back and read books to her, seems she is really looking at the pictures although in slow motion. When she gets bored with all that, I will carry her in the position like how I wash her buttock, then bring her to see posters on the wall, she won't be that sleepy in this position as compared to you cuddle her for sleep. After that will let her sit again with my support to play piano. I know currently things that we can play with them are quite limited, but 1 hr easily passed with all the activities mentioned above. If she still not that hungry for milk, I will play music and sing along with my face next to her, and she will listen to it quietly. Can't wait to complete my confinement, so I can bring her out for a walk, but I will only put her into her stroller to minimize time spent on carring her.

As for sleeping, I put her to sleep on her own, today she managed to settle herself down without any assistant, basically just need to ensure she is well fed with and burped before putting her in her cot.

Priscilla: I'm facing same situation as you. My gal wants to be carried to slp while she's awake. Else she wil scream n cry. Haiz.. Really tormenting. Also need to pat on her buttock to slp. Have to ensure she's in deep slp before putting her back to bed. And usually in the morning, she will wake up crying in 15 mins time.