(2012/05) May 2012

>> wu py..
got 60 in total.. tollyjoy how many?

>> phyllis
same here.. bb is 15 day old today.. just increase his feed from 75ml to 90ml today.. somehow he still gives me the impression tt he is still hungry..

>> juski
usually the suction of the pump not as gd as bb suckle.. i think wat you pump out will be lesser than what bb can actually drink when latched..

Hello mummies. Sorry for interrupting.. Wan to ask mummies here who deliver at TMC - what does TMC provide so that I know what not to bring in my hosp bag?

Yingzz, 60pcs means 30pairs?the pigeon my hubby bought only 36pcs cost $12
y so ex? Where u buy?
Tolly got 48pcs

>> juski..
mooooooooooooooo

>> wu py..
yup 30 pairs.. its the disposable kind u are talking about right? i bought in this shop in Chinatown.. apparently its wholesale price so its cheaper..i got lotsa stuff from the shop..

Waiting for my bb to wake up for milk!
My supply seems to drop today... Usually can pump abt 80-100 for both sides but am pumping 60 now... Not sure if this is going to be perm... Anyway to increase?

So happy, managed to latch my baby to drink twice tonight without topping up with ebm. And he lasted 3 hrs in between.

Ak - latching is still possible. I think it helps when baby is sleepier and not so impatient at the breast. Jiayou

Hey mummies.. Any idea what does green shit refers to? My gal poo-ed green colour shit, not sure if she's kena scared cos she keep startling during slp which we known as mono reflex (not sure correct term). Haiz.. I also dint manage to slp..

juski: I'm also moo-ing now

Juski.. Me too.. Now gonna grab some rest zzz before the next milking session..

Amy.. Drink hot beverage n massage before u pump??

Kris: that's gd for u! After my first and previous successful session, dint manage to latch on again. Cos she's impatient and also I think she's alr used to bottle feed alr. Find her less willing to latch on since it takes more effort for than to suckle than bottle feed

Ak - my bb also used to bottle. Can tell becoz he refuse to open his mouth wide. But I still stuff his mouth to my nipple. Then use my hand force his head to stay there. Try a few times like that and he seems to understand that nipple also got milk.
Plus I offer him nipple sometimes when he's looking for comfort in between feeds. Treat it like a pacifier so he can get used to it.

I'm also trying to latch my girl but she's that impatient type... Once she wants milk, she means NOW. And when I offer ny nipple, she'll just grab whatever and suck real hard thus making my nipple sore and painful...

It is more convenient to direct latch on than pumping. Headache next time when going out, how to bring those expressed milk...

moooing again.. the 6am pumps are the killer!

Kris: Still need to burp.. Try lying him flat for like five min and try again? My boy even if i stuff my nipple in his mouth he can still wail the house down :'(.. i am trying to get him to latch again.. but he usually get frustrated after 5 min..

zp1503: Same here.. my boy can suck real hard and its so painful!!!! Agree tt if can latch on will be best.. else need to prepare so many things..

Morning mummy!!

Wah Ying u like no need sleep de... Keep seeing u here n fb.. Lol

Mummies, mayb u all can try to latch bb when he or she not so hungry.

>> juski
because i am a cow which need to be milked every 3 hrly.. when milking i fb lor.. haha.. zzzzzzz

>> CK
can.. just make sure they are the same temp.. usually i mix the ebm which had been stored in the fridge for some time.. cos i know they will be around the same temp..

Yingzz, can give me the address of the shop? Think I go there buy..else everyday I use like 4-6pcs very fast finish

Try to direct latch when bb not so hungry. Eg if feed is 3hrs, maybe can offer 15mins earlier or in between feed like what Kris mention.. My latching, I treat as in between meals desserts snack ;)
When bb very hungry then u give, they suck very hard..
First few secs I always feel painful then after that not pain when settle down..I always wish my bb empty my breast fully but seems like theres always milk left.
Seems like my milk flow no increase
so sad.. Still at 40-50ml but now I express shorter time like 10-15mins lesser.

Kris, I will try burp bb after latching., sometimes she burp herself but sometimes also difficult..
Even bottle feed sometimes half an hr later then she burp..

Hmm burp means they suck in air too? Or implies they are full?

Ck, the max I add on storage milk is 2session expressed milk together & then let my baby drink. I use milk bottle to store then tie tight dead knot with plastic bag..
My baby ok after drinking..

>> juski
thanks! hahha dunno how long i can tahan this though.. lol..lack of slp!

>> wu py
Cheong Choon Store
Blk 34 #03-132 Upper Cross Street S050034
Tel: 6532 3855
It's near OG.. usually i will go to the store via OG second level.. turn left.. then there is this stairs you need to go up.. then go straight again.. the store shldnt be too diff to find..

Yup usually i offer latch early.. but sometimes bb still frustrated..

i think burping doesnt mean they are full.. cos my bb still can drink after burping.. prob they suck in some air.. and need help to dispel the gas?

hmm i usually max add two or three pump together.. cos that will roughly make up one feed..

Hi yingzz looks like our babies share the same birthday 27 May. You are so diligent I don't wake up to express at night. Only during the day I express every 3 hrs.

Usually will get baby to latch at 11.30pm for an hr then I'll sleep through till 7.30/8am for another round of latching. He will wake up around 5am to drink fm.

My boy has the habit to vomit out 3 mouths of milk after each feed despite burping for a while. Can be 10-20 mins later after feeding. Not sure why??

mummies, sorry to interupt but I do hv question about bf.

If baby rejects nipple and we con't to bottle feed with ebm, do u wait for bb to wake up than heat up e milk or heat up before bb's milk time?

As i know tat ebm cannot be left over for more than an hour, so if we heat it up before bb's milk time and if bb still sleeping, we gotta to wake e bb up to drink?

>> Phyllis
oops think i calculate wrongly the other day.. blur me.. my bb bday is 25 may.. so today he is day 17.. i wake up to express because i am trying to establish supply.. my supply still very low..

hmm i actually still wake bb every 3 hrly too to feed.. shld i start letting him sleep through instead if he doesnt wake??

can try to sit him in an angled position i.e 45 degrees for 15-20 min.. tt was what my sis taught me..

>> rainbow..
usually if bb starts to stir i will heat up first since it takes time.. if bb doesnt.. i will wait a while before heating and then wake him when the feed is ready.. actually my sis just told me that warmed ebm can tahan 4 hrs.. its only if touch saliva already then need to consume within the hr.. but i also tot i read somewhere it is within the hour for warmed ebm..

Hi mummies, anyone ordering baby full month cakes?

I want to give vouchers to my guests as it's more convenient but not considering bangawan solo. Called sweetest moment but they only have 2 packages for vouchers collection. It's boring only cake n cookies 12.90 or 15.90

Any other recommendation?

Hi rainbow,

Now my cl is with me. She only heat up my ebm when baby cry... And only heat up to room temp for baby to drink.. I don't think is advisable to heat up before hand, as u can't reheat the milk again after that. Unless ur baby can drink sleep.. Cos my baby can't drink and sleep at the same time.. If he sleeps, he will not suck..

Amy,
I also same.. At times I only pump 60-70ml.. But the next pump will go back to 100ml. Hope to pump more than 100ml..being pumping 100ml for the last 4-5days.. Supply Didn't really go up..

For EBM reheating, is it ok to heat till slightly warm? Room temp seem cool and my fren says will get wind, so slighyly warm is better. I know EBM can't be hot and asked my PD he says ok to heat to 37 deg ie our body temp which is warmer than room temp.

TBF will get menses? After a month post deliver, mine came, is this normal? But my fren also on TBF didn't get, her baby now 4 mth.

Rainbow, for me I will take out the ebm n leave it 1st coz can last 4hrs.. Than when bb wake up Liao than I warm it.. Faster to heat up too

For natural delivery, how early can we eat seafood ie prawns, squid, crab -- the 'poisonous' type? Is it after 40 days?

Are u all having water retention on limbs still after confinement and Malay massage? I am wondering if going to steam bath helps?

the shop that sells diapers is at fernvale lrt train station, just beside the NTUC..I think the name of the shop is Kim Seng, it looks like a medicine hall but you can see the diapers n milk powder stock.. i buy the desitin cream, pigeon wipes n etc there too as they are relatively cheaper..

rabbitz: i had c sect and my mum said better to stay off seafood for a while..

ak: my boy get these startling movements very often too and they wake him up at times..but he doesnt hv green poo, you can give baby some jing feng san..i give mine when he was 2 weeks old and he had green poo..

i also latch baby on thou he falls asleep everytime he latches..no time to pump since cl went back..every waking moment is like taking care and watchin over baby..

Rabbitz: I think menses is individual hormones.. Most TBF will not have so early, some come after a few months, the lucky ones can have no Mense until they stop BF.. But how come urs so soon? I deliver on 5th may, my lochia just finish ytd.. Abit brownish left, I thought menses maybe another 4 weeks later?

I ate poisonous stuffs after 1 month but my mum says cannot eat fruits with "milk" like banana etc. for 4 months... If not next time pregnant will itchy.. Not sure how true..

My initial bleeding after birth also slowly finishing and using panty liner. I delivered 8 may. Then 2 days ago discharge turn fm brown to bright red then ytd more flow till I hv to use pad. I hope this is temp and I hope to resume menses only after stop BF.

Initial I thought my discharge is over but after after latching or expressing, red came in but can still be using panty liner. I delivered on 9May.
So I'm also wondering when will it be fully over..

Btw, anyone did jamu massage?
Somehow I feel after sometime my tummy kind of bounce back a bit, not as small as when I first finished the massage,
Anyone has similar thoughts?

My tummy was flattest around week 3. With no change in diet, tummy also kinda bounce back and look more bloated one week later. Maybe cos stopped putting on binder?

Rabbitz: lochia and menses somehow different... Yours is menses or lochia?

Wu_py: mine is after massage it came out abit more... But didn't hear after expressing lei.. Hhmmmm..

Yingzz I'll let bb wake up naturally. I feel shouldn't disrupt his sleep as he's still adjusting to planet earth. I think he can kind of differentiate day n night now. My supply is also low n I'm not takIng any supplements. About 40-60ml per express

Guess u can still do ebm at night then store. When bb is angry then warm up n feed. It's useful to chart down his feeding time and how much so that you can establish his feeding pattern. It helps in planning yr feeding time.

Pris, in time to heat up? when i hv my #1, my mum will heat up and wait for the bb to wake up. She says if bb wake up than heat, he'll be screaming away...

Juski, I tot bm can only left 1hr in room temp? Cannot finished must throw..

>> wu py
another mummy posted this:
For the breast pad, their is selling at $0.198 per piece. Kiddy palace and john little selling at $0.193 per piece. It's 72 pieces per box.

i did jamu massage.. but tummy still not very flat.. also lazy to put on girdle.. it has require lotsa work to wear it!

>> juski
oh yah fathers day! totally forgot about it but i will still be under confinement so cant do much too..

>> Rabbitz
my frenz tbf.. she no menses for a year plus already.. for me i had csect.. still have a bit of lochia..

>> Phyllis
Hmm recall someone telling me should wake bb up.. my mum told me after first mth then try to let bb sleep thru.. will be easier on us too.. i also think my bb can differentiate day n night.. ur SS still more than mine.. mine is around 30ml - 40 ml per express.. i have recently started on fenugreek but dont see much improvement yet.. i have been charting his feed / urine / stool since day one..

btw any mummy feeding with nan pro? is the poop very watery kind? my hubby worried its diarhea and will dehydrate bb..

I think mine is menses since its like second time blood discharge after the lochia became brown and slowly thinning. Jus as I Thot it's all over, fresh red came in an I need to use pad.

When it's abt time my baby's next feeding I take out EBM from fridge to standby. At initial whinning faster heat up to give baby. Swirl the milk while heating speeds up heating.

Tummy will bounce back a few days after massage session ends. Must continue to wear girdle or corset to maintain the flatness. But Tats so uncomfy..anyone doing that?

Hi Amy & Priscilla,

Hws yr bb jaundice? U still feeding yr bb with FM? I Duno if I shld cont to gv my boy FM or shld I feed him with my BM? Am scare that the level will shoot up again..nw store my BM In the freezer..
Dear mummies my fren say that if bb use to FM they will reject BM is that true?

Yingzz,
U did jamu massage aly? I tot csect can do only one month after that?

Phyllis,
Our bb share the same birthday

hi kitty
my bb jaunice is better
now its 175.. tml will start to gradually switch back to BM and see how is it..

i dont think bb will reject BM.. they will drink anything if they are hungry