(2012/05) May 2012

Claire, just shower.. If the herbal water not enough then add hot water.. I add both boiled & hot water from tap.. 1 pail to wash hair definitely not enough for me..
Plus still have discharge, need to clean to avoid infection to wound.
I sweat a lot too & very smelly..
When I feel dirty, I will wear a cardigan b4 carry bb..I'm hiding in aircon room most of the time..

Priscilla,

Welcome to may mummy forum..I hav also been experience back ache if I sit or stand long without support..

Amy,

U went to check up and doc advise u to stop BM? Did u so the blood test to test the J.level?the doc advise my boy to stay for 2 day under the lights to bring the level dwn..do u still express out the milk?

I also latch bb straight after confinement lady left, no time to pump at all, now I ask hubby watch bb sleep then I pump.. Quite miserable.. Sometimes I really like want to give in n give formula since baby already on half fm.. But will persevere, thinking of the benefits.. Jiayou all mummies.

Yes yes, buy the spare parts kit n bottles. If anyone wants S teats for ur medela bottles let me know k! I hv 4 boxes to give!

Btw I also shower after a wk with the herbals, juz feel that if u really unbearable is ok to bath with herbals juz Prevent wind frm coming in the bath room..dun stress yrself..

Gals, thanks so much for hearing me out. Almost go into post natal blues the last 2 weeks. Though I can't wash hair I try to use the spray dry shampoo daily. I also don't care already, half bucket I still bathe n soap. Have to do something to make myself better. Also my mil cant take care of my bb, she freak out so I was stressed that time to ask my mom to help. Both my mil n mom not very willing to take care children.

Yeah, I finally managed to latch Bb on to one side ;) then out of sudden, she's like couldn't locate the nipple hen discontinue ;( well, it's a gd start!

Py: yes, my Bb cheek got abit like rashes but since I never latch her on, it may not be due to the Direct feed. Mayb kisses? Or our shoulder when carrying her.

Claire: gd that u went to bathe to Make urself feel better. That wk when my Hubby suspect I got post natal blues due to the crying, he consulted my gynae and my gynae advised to discountinue the confinement as it's the main contributing factor to the stress level since we can't prevent baby from crying. He even told us that confinement is worse than BMT and ask my Hubby bring me go mac for 3 days. He's so amusing. And I felt better thereafter, after getting used to baby routine.

As I'm a first time mum, really missed those days before preggy and before baby arrived. Think most of u would feel the same

ak - i miss the days before i got married..courtship days...haha
Ya, i would say that you have already fully emptied your breast, when you no longer can get any milk to come out. For me, i go 1 step further to hand express after pump until really no more milk.

Confinement lady leaving tomorrow liao...cross fingers my new maid will be able to handle 2 toddlers and 1 infant.

Took the chance to go out for a while today while i still have more help at home. Feels so good. Strongly encourage mummies here to take a trip out of the house too, without baby, if you can afford to. Will definitely make you feel better.
I even bought a cup of bubble tea even though confinement not officially ended yet..hee

Kitty,
Yup doc ask me to put bb on full formula for 2 days to see if the jaundice will come down.. According to the doc, usually will comemdown real fast...

Tml will be checking the level again.the last check on tues, the level was 196...

I still express my milk and freeze it to maintain my supply.. But my supply hasn't been increasing even pumping 3 hourly..

Amy,

Yr bb j level was 196? No need to go under light? My bb was 151 & doc say is better for him to be under the light if hit 150 & above.I think I will feed him with my BM after 1 or 1.5 month later..nw my milk is about 90-110..max can express 110ml both side..hw abt u?

If we store our milk at freezer, how long can we keep? Is it 3 months?

If we store

I think different doctors have different standards. For polyclinics, their danger level is 300 then will recommend admit hospital. My bb at 7 days was 230 and the polyclinic doctor ask me to just monitor and feed bm often. Review in 2 days. After 2 days it dropped to 229. Doc say at least dropping so only need to go back review 1 week later.

Omg kris! I super miss bubble tea!! That's the first thing I gonna drink after my confinement ends ;) miss it Soo much!
Ya, I think gg out without Bb really clear the thoughts n mind. I step out of the house with Hubby last fri for follow up check up with gynae without baby, would say It feels like before. But my mind kept thinking about the baby -_-!!

Oh, hand express ah. Isn't that painful? Ouch.. Will try it later ;)

Ak, I missed those days before preg too. Sometimes when everything just seems so tough, I will wonder why I get into this mess. But i will quickly come into this forum and once I see so many of you are in same situation and working hard, I will feel motivated again.

>> wu py
so gd.. my mum refuse to let me wash my hair..
my hair stinks and the weather is making me sooo sweaty & uncomfy.. showering with herbal water also dont feel clean.. i am having quite a bit of heat rash.. & i dont like air con room so only have fan to keep me cool..

>> claire
hugz.. happy mummy = happy baby.. glad you are feeling better.. do whatever makes you release the stress

>> ak
yes i so miss the carefree days.. esp since mine is an accident bb..

Yingz: heard that we really have to avoid fan, that's y most of us are in air con room. The theory is kinda weird but that's y I heard. So try stayin in air con than having the fan.

Amy: my gal is also drinking 80ml per feed. I presume Shld be normal unless they cry after the feed?

Hi wu py n ak > according to my pd the rashes on bb's cheek is due to the heaty confinement food which we take. I apply advent miracle cream and I see improvement in his skin.

I shower everyday with boiled herbal water and I add hot tap water to make it a full pail. Wash my hair on alternate days. I bought the lemongrass shower cream from new mummy essentials it's quite refreshing. Will use this to wash both my body and hair then rinse with herbal water. After shower will blow dry my hair immediately.

Mummies how do u determine how much of fm to increase and when do you increase? Weekly? With my bb's weight of 3.24kg at birth he's suppose to drink 60-70ml per feed. I'm doing both bm n fm and both I feed 70ml now. Bm he gets hungry every 2 hrs and fm every 3 hrs. My bb boy is 13 days old today. Sometimes he cries and I feed 30ml more and he finishes but always has the habit to vomit 3 mouth of milk after feeds despite burping him. Not sure if it's because of his vomitting he doesn't feel full that's why he cry - no poo no urine.

Phyllis: thanks for sharing this piece of info! Hmm.. Apart from the avent cream that you have, any other remedy? I I thought it was my Mum's sweat, cause only one side quite jialat. Then after askin my mum to put on a towel when carrying her, it got better now.

Re: amount of milk
I also not sure regarding the amt. My pd just told me the milk shld last them 3 hrs, If cry less than 3 hrs, means have to increase. But I'm still sticking to the same 80ml cos sometimes she can finish all, wake up within 3 hrs for another feed or even she woke up within 3 hrs, she can't finish the full 80ml. That puzzles me alot! I think depend largely on them a well as their "activities" like awake n moving their hands n feet.

Priscilla, I buy my formula milk fr this shop in fernvale, they r quite popular w the parents here.. Much cheaper than most stores..

I miss the time when can do anything, anytime too.. Now everything has to b baby first, even celebrating anniversary may hv to bring baby along.. Haa .. But looking at baby, worth it lah! They r so cute..

Ak I try to clean my breasts before breastfeeding too but sometimes will miss especially the morning feeds where he gets very impatient.

Same here will play by ear to increase his milk intake. Started with 60ml only increased to 70ml these 2 days. He's 14 days old today so guess will increase to 80ml soon.

My bb 15 days old is already taking 100ml since last week. Looks like we might b increasing it soon to 110, then 120...
Maybe it's boy so drink more? He weighs 4kg as of thur...

Long time didn't check in here.seems like those first time mum experience about the same situation

Hm..... My bb drinking amt depends if he get enff sleep. If he does he drink more if not he fuss around and drink lesser.

Difficult to predict. But consistent on 100ml n he is 1 mth 9 days old.

Also bb cheek n chin have rashes. Can't seems to go away. Wonder any of yor bb haf tis? My bb skin not smooth leh. Do we need to apply any moisture cream on them?

can i join the facebook group too?

btw mummies how n when do our milk than will increase? nw currently i pump only 50ml or less 3hrly

>> ak
really? what i heard is to avoid both aircon and fan.. but the weather now is super hot that i cant help but to switch on fan.. if i on aircon it will be bad from me as i will suffer from sinus when i wake in the morning..

>> dolcevita
Hmm my bb also 15 day old.. but taking 75ml per feed.. sometimes he seem so hungry though.. keep refusing to slp and licking his fingers or opening his mouth searching for food.. am wondering if i should increase his feed in the day time.. nightime sometimes he only take in like 30ml.. as of mon he is also almost 4kg..

>> amy / juski
pm me your facebook email? i can add you to the new FB group..

>> juski
i think it depends on individual.. am just passed my second week.. SS still stuck at a miserable 30ml both side.. been trying to pump every 3 hrly too..

hmm do you all feed more when bb poo or urine? esp when pooing? heard that bb will feel more hungry after pooing.. so far my feeds have been consistence at 75ml.. but sometimes it seems like 75ml cant satisfy him.. so i wonder if i should give more after he poo-ed?

Yingz: ya. Heard that avoid direct fan. Cos aircon can cool the room, just ensure the fan doesn't blow directly at you. But it's hard to avoid all these. I also touched water etc, cos Bo bian have to wash n sterilize pumps.

I just hope the confinement wil be over soon and baby's sleeping n eating pattern can quickly settle down. Driving me nuts soon. Also, keep facing the four walls and doing same things repeatedly. Haiz...

Hi Amy,
My baby was admitted for 2days under the light. Yes, u have to feed with fm. Maybe u can try to increase the amt. In hosp, the nurse ask me to feed him more, if not the jaundice will not go down.. 80ml is too lillte perhaps. Try 100ml. He need slot of fluid.

Kitty,
My baby also have rashes. On his face and neck.. Like little pimples. I got the solution for washing and cream from pd to apply. Is mostly gone now. I guess is becos of the weather, too hot, they getting heat rashes.

Priscilla,

U find yr bb yellowish so u went for check up? Hw is yr bb j level? Which hospital is yr bb in? Hope our bb level will come dwn soon and gone forever..

I seems to be having breast infections (mastitis) on one of my breast. Yest evening started to have this painful lump which I thought was engorgement but tried to pump and breast still feels tender and nothing much came out. Then I thought it's the bra but after changing, still pain.. Even now just touch gently also pain...

Read somewhere that antibiotics can help, the pain was so unbearable till I had to eat panadol to get some sleep

Anyone so far encounter this before?

ying, just pm u

zp, ya try to massage n pump.. i hv the lump for afews days too that cant b remove, aft massage pump n also the help of bb to latch helps alot too

Had my baby full month celebration last night. Also went to try Xin Yi Pin catering after seeing that a mummy here gave it good reviews. But for me, the food wasn't fantastic. The bee hoon wasn't even cooked properly. some parts were uncooked. Think I prefer Neo garden although it's more expensive.

Kris my bb full month I order from Neo garden..my hubby always use Neo garden..I wanted to try others

Phyllis, ur bb rashes better? Ur bb Only cheek area? My bb has it on forehead & eyebrow a bit.. Not ezema huh?

How long do u all latch on bb? During feeding does your bb doze off? My baby always doze off. I limit to each side 15mins, but after finish feeding, I press my breast, still got milk.. What about u gals? Do u still express out?

>> ak
i try not to blow the fan directly at me.. but sometimes its so hard to resist walking pass the fan.. for my pump.. i rely on mum and hubby to wash.. unless they not around then i use glove n warm water to wash.. haha i so wanna go out and eat sashimi.. missed my social life!

>> zp1503
maybe you would also like to see a lactation consultant? they might be able to help you better.. or ask hubby massage for you? he can use bigger strength to clear the lump.. sometimes i think we dont dare to exert too much strength n its easier for others to help to clear..

>> wu py
my bb will also doze off while latching.. have to wake him a bit by tickling his cheeks.. sometimes i wonder if 15 min also enough or not.. just now i manage to latch bb for 20 min one side.. then he refuse the other side and was crying his eyes out.. so had to give bottle.. gave his usual feed of 75ml and he can finish all.. so i wonder how much has he truly drank..

>> juski
cant seem to add u.. can you check your email and add me instead?

>> freedom
ebm in fridge can last 2 days.. after reheat best to consume within the hour.. usually i clear mine within the day cos one pump supply cant satisfy bb for one feed.. i need 3 pumps..

info from the fb group on colic
The real definition of colic is uncontrollable crying usually at a fixed time everyday. However, many docs nowadays do use the term "colic" loosely, refering to wind in the stomach.

ying, i just add u on FB

jialut.. im getting paranoid... keep wondering if my bb get enough milk coz im latching him thru out...

he did poo and pee alot too.. so does it mean he had enough?

Yingzz,
My bb can latch for long if I don pull out..but they suck so long mouth not ache meh..haha..
Can't imagine if my mouth keep moving for an hour.
Btw u using nursing pad? What brand & how much?
I'm using tolly joy now..cheaper compared pigeon..but of cos I prefer pigeon

Those who express milk when CL around, like me..
Would advise you try latching.. Else no time express when CL leaves.. But maybe you express shorter time..I need an hour to express.. Cos any moment I fear bb will wake up..nobody helping me to carry bb..

Think my bb developed preference for bottles already. Hard to latch him and If he's willing, for a short while and he will fall asleep. After tt, got to top up FM. Now, if i pump, he can finish the BM bottle and go to sleep. Aiyo.. In a catch 22 situation..

>> juski
i think ur bb shld be having enough since he is pooping and peeing
and since you still have milk after latching.. ur SS should be more than enough for BB if not he would be crying for more milk?

>> wu py
haha i used to incorrectly latch for like an hour? until my nipple very pain.. but tt was before i bottle feed him..
i am using nursing pad.. pigeon.. one box $13.50..
i use around 1 hr to express too.. 10 min cycle with massage in between.. ever tried before my bb crying when i pump.. i just try to soothe him by patting him and talking to him..

>> CK
just try to latch him.. tt's what i am doing too.. my bb also prefer bottles now..

Wu py > my bb boy only has rashes on his cheeks. Almost gone now, left side residing now right side still have a bit. You can try the advent Miracle cream and also when you latch clean your breast. It helps!

I started with 15 mins latching on each side then slowly progressed to 30mins on each side as his demand is more now. Total 1 hr. As for ebm I'm using dual pump, 15 mins only but supply still low. Managed to get 40-60 for both sides. It hasn't increased. I masssage and drink warm water. Bb is 15 days old today. Fm today progress to 80ml.

Breast pad I'm using advent - forgot the price.

Ying, ya I hoPe so tat he hv enuff milk... I afraid he didn't latch well tat y I pump still got alittle milk?
If I pump 3 hrly I only get 50ml n nw he drinking 80ml