(2012/05) May 2012

Congrats babyL!!!!

Hi Everyone!

I have been a silent reader so far and really appreciate everyone who had shared their experience/knowledge as I'm a first-time mum. My EDD is 26 May.

Please add me in both old/new facebook too, thanks you! [email protected]

Congrats babyL! You are number 2 to deliver! So happy for u! But what are the after effects of epi?

I'm starting to freak out and thinking of gg natural with epi instead of natural alone.. Still comtemplating..
Rest of the mummies, when would you be gg for Brazilian wax?

HelloJazzy & Korynn: fb friend request sent!

ak: I alrdy went for my brazillion wax coz I see mummies start popping and abit paranoid... Haha!! But I'm also thinking if I pop on EDD which is 1 more month... The hair starts coming out liao... Haix...

Congrats BabyL!

Thanks Chocbaby will check FB.

Brazilian waxing: bikini waxing can? Ha. Skin like so sensitive now, can't imagine doing B wax.

yea keiko I m worried of those hair growing out n awfully pokey if deliver about 3 weeks later.

For those going for waxing, Honeypotz is providing a 10% to our May Mommies. U can PM me your name and hp, and they will call u to make an appt. =)

It's my first time doing Brazilian wax, kinda scare.. Used to shave myself.. Haha.. Is it really that painful?

Thanks yip for providing this info! I have called up spahaven, and they told me, now is $50. But I'm not sure If Its nett price. Gonna goggle honeypotz. May I know how much they are charging?

BTW, have any of you started looking for a place for baby's full month? I dun intend to do it at home cos the cleaning afterwards will be disaster! Am looking more into a good restuarant buffet, any ideas?

Congrats babyL!! Thanks for sharing your experience. Your delivery is pretty quick and smooth! That's really good! Did you experience pain when u took epi? U wanted natural with epi all along or wanted fully natural but cannot tahan pain so chose epi in the end? I'm still contemplating whether to take epi or not.. Not sure if I can tahan the pain if I dun take epi. Anyway, rest well and continue to update us when u can ya! Take care!

Chocolateteddy: oohh... Yeah.. I was planning to do as near as possible too... But scare... :/

Hellojazzy: but bikini wax don't do the very near vagina part right? I think it's there and the more back that's impt coz doc gg to stitch if we do natural... Yeah.. Will be pocky... But if my baby don't pop and I go back 3 weeks later again, it's silly right? :/

Thanks everyone! Am feeling better today... I am staying at TMC, if u all have any query on the TMC stuffs can let me know. Btw, TMC provides Huggies nb diapers and Johnson wet wipes for baby. There are 2 goodie bags by motherhood and babycare too.

bb_2012, my dosage for epi is low so i can still feel the contractions n the feeling is like poo poo when push. My #1 dosage for epi higher and i totally no feel when pushing, just aga must know i have to push rightly, not poo push but vaginal push. Haha!

Suzana, it depends on individual. Some prefer to shave or wax before delivering. If u wax, dun do too late coz might induce labour. TMC shaved for me down under but left the top portion.

Ak, diff ppl have diff threshold of pain. U may opt to try laughing gas 1st coz some of my friends can get away with it if u know how to breathe properly. This round i had elective epi, jab when i asked for it. But point to note that the doc may be outside n may not arrive quickly if u scream for it. I screamed for it during last preg n lucky doc was just next door,
Phew! This round i attempted not to jab so soon again but the lower back pain was killing me so give in to epi again but request for lowest dosage, at least i can still feel.

Just finished a vry quick visit to doc. Bb now abt 2.7kg. From now it's visit every week! Doc say usually will b early so mite b end apr or early may. Feel so nervous now!!!

Hellojazzy, that is depends on the hair growing rate.
Bikini waxing only the bikini line bah. Brazillian ( all off) is better.
Keikowoo maybe check again like 3 wks later if grow long enough can go 1 more time before delivery.

I heard epi jab can adjust the level, does it mean we can try lower dosage then if halfway buey tahan can change to higher dosage? opt straight away hv to decide at the start?

When they administer the epi, will apply numbing cream followed by LA, then the jab dun feel pain... is that the standard procedure?

BabyL >> Isit a must to put the urine bag ? When will it be removed ? Btw can u help me check with TMC can we still get those glass bottles for storing breast milk from them ?

Rabbitz, U can start with low dosage then increase if u cant tahan the pain. When u are pushed to delivery ward, the nurse will pass u the epi consent form to read thru the side effects and sign. If u want, then u sign n pass them, they will arrange the doc for u.
I cant see the jabbing but know i was asked to curl up then the doc will apply something cooling (alcohol?) then jab into u which creates a numbing sensation on left thigh (i lie on the left) and its quite fast. Then they stick something along the spine n thats it. After that dosage can be adjusted. Ur whole thighs will be numb also after the epi.
Fyi, my after effect was shivering and vomitting once pushed to ward. Some ppl may have different side effects.

Mrs Ho, If u administer epi got to put urine bag or perhaps b4 deliver got to put. According to nurse, once u epi u cant feel and not able to urine which may affect the delivery. It will somehow hinders the uterus. Thats why got to have urine bag. It will be taken out when gynae is ready to deliver u.
Regarding the glass bottles i know last time we can request FM for bb and Similac is in glass. Now that they dun gve FM, not sure if they do have. I will check later for u n update.

Hi babyL, thks for sharing. Glad that you are better now, how's your baby ;)
btw, can share ur bill size for tmc? U staying in single bedded?

Oh, so epi can request for lower dosage so that I still can feel the contraction.. But it greatly reduce the pain level right?

BabyL,
So was the epi jab painful? I had mixed responses from frens. Some say only felt a light prick while some say despite the numbing and LA, the pain will cause eyes to tear while inserting.

Any feedback on the midwives at TMC? Did she tell you how to breathe (which technique to use) and when to push? I heard when baby head is crowning, have to stop pushing and allow baby slowly, gradually come out. This is to prevent tearing. Did the gynea or midwife guide you along?

BabyL >> so nice of u .. live update from TMC hehe .. mths back, my fren manage to get empty glass bottles from the nurses .. so i'm not sure if they still giv it nw ..

JJ_JJ & Keiko: the funny thingy was, when i saw my Gynae 2 weeks ago and asked her, she said not necessary to wax or shave off for natural delivery. But its just for my personal prefernce i guess. Weird.. cos i hear usually when birth, they shave ..

AK: when are u planning to try out Spa Haven? Read their website, seems like not bad.

i think

Hellojazzy, I went spahaven. Quite okay. Pain bearable ( depends on individual threshold) . Tell them that you are pregnant & first timer so they can arrange more experience therapist.
They charge $50 if u take their package is cheaper.
I thought every hospital nurse will shave us upon reporting there.

hellojazzy: i am thinking of gg on my week 36, scare hair grow out.. the therapist just called me to book my appt.. havent return her call cos im still comtemplating if i shld go spahaven.
which week are you now? You wanna go spahaven also?

jj_jj: so is $50 nett? must take up package to enjoy the $50?

AK, no prob.... Baby is good. Suckle well but pain. Haha! I will share on the bill once i am discharged and settled at home. We requested for single bedded but not avail so upgraded to premiere single, hubby gets to have his own bed instead of couch.
Yup, can request for lower dosage. Can feel contractions and not so painful. I m not sure if it applies to different ppl. In case if u cant tolerate the pain or contraction, just ask nurse to increase the dosage.

Rabbitz, if u feel the contraction pain, the jab is nothing coz u juz want to get it done quickly, like my #1 preg. I dun remember feeling pain. But yesterday i jab before i feel the strong contraction and still conscious so i can feel it completely. Its a quick jab pain and the split sec numb is quite strong till can buay tahan. Doc will warn u 1st to be prepared before he jab. Actually i heard different doc will give different "pain". So far both epi docs i had are ok....
Dun worry, the midwives are pretty helpful. If u need anything or query, can ask. When u are ready n dilate, they will ask u to push when u hve contractions (ctg report can tell) so u can push at right time. Hubby will be helping also to count from 1-10 and push u from behind to squeeze ur tummy. Once crowning down n can see head, they will stop to wait for gynae to come and complete the rest of delivery.

Mrs Ho, i asked abt the glass bottles. The nurse said they hardly give glass bottles now coz demand for plastic is higher these days. If they have stocks, they can give it to u. Alternatively can request for FM when u discharged as standby when ur milk is not in yet. FM in glass bottles include Friso, Nan, Mamil and S26. Enfa and Similac in plastics.

BabyL, jia you for breastfeed!

Oh, so the upgrade to premier single is free since single bedded is not available?No hurry, Take ur time to post once you discharged ;)

what is the gynae's role after crowning? Is it tough to hold
back the push if baby's head is there?

Ak: am hitting week 37 tomorrow, thinking to try Spahaven.
If i go, will be next week Thursday 19th, say before noon time i guess.
Havent called them yet.

Is there a gathering going on next Thur for tea?

Ak. nope its not free upgrade but delivery cost shd be based on single bed charge. Got to confirm tomorrow. Gynae's role is to position the baby nicely n deliver out, do episotomy if need be, then deliver placenta, remove the blood clots and stitching. My #1 i hold the crowning for quite awhile before gynae came so still ok. So long u dun push. Coz push unnessary can cause distress to baby or tear to ur vagina. This one coz i can feel the contraction so the moment the kick comes, will have urge to push but still can tahan. Anyway, lucky gynae just next door so he came quite quickly to pop me.

Breastfeeding Cover

Which brand or type r u using? I think I wanna buy one. Wanted to make one initially, but I have no time & can't walk ard shopping now to look for nice, opaque shawl.

Epidural

For me, I had enough dosage to feel no pain. Could rest, sleep etc till it was time to push. When the time came, they turned down the dosage so I could feel the contractions. When the gynae was cleaning me, I kept complaining it was painful, so they turned it up again so I could be painless during the cleaning & stitching.

Guess diff ways of adminsitering it. Just choose on personal preference & pain threshold bah?

Hellojazzy: oh, oki. Share your experience after ur BW with spahaven oki. I have alr booked the Appt. But I'm only 32 weeks, so will go later.

BabyL: I see, so delivery charges is based on single bedded.thks for sharing and paiseh to ask so many questions.

Ak. Yes I remember so $50 is nett. I actually bought their after care $86. (optional) My therapist is Lorraine.

Congrats babyL!! You have been a brave mother! Really happy to know both you and bb are doing well..

I am also going to deliver at TMC, really excited as a first-time mother! But I have chosen not to have epi..hope can tahan..

Have everyone pack your bags? The teacher at prenatal class told us no need to pack anything for bb at all, but I have packed him a baby hat and his mittens, tot should let him wear something his parents have bought for him!

I am also going for checkup every week now, did the swab and will knw e results next wk, next wk got haemoglobin test..Strangely I lost 1.2kg this checkup!

Everyone, jia you!

BabyL, thanks for sharing... I'm gg without epi too..l really hope I can tahan... My frens told me the pain will b gone once bb is out.. Like when u see the bb, the pain will just b gone... So don't know if the stitching will activate the pain again annot....

I am also going without epi first, will try to tahan until cannot take it then I will ask for it. Can save money jiu save lor haha..

My checkup is still 2 weeks leh. next checkup is 36 weeks.

Breastfeeding cover -
Jul, I made mine from fabric I bgt from spotlight. I had fun making n manage to choose a cute owls print. If u can make one, it'll save some money. The ones sold quite ex ya. Same for bb sling, I made cos when I wanted to buy, realised it's so ex. Anyway I enjoy DIY n had time so I decided to make. Hope u can do so too n hv fun!

Epi -
Ya I oso same as u girls. 1st child for me so try see can tahan anot. But I'm so nervous lor... Doc told me today maybe end of this month or early may cos usually bit early. Today 36 weeks liao! OMG!!!

me too! i will try to tahan without epi~

looking forward to my checkup next mon.. will also be signing the consent to donate blood cord too

>> littledotty
i havent pack my bags yet.. tot will have to prepare swaddle cloth to bring bb back home from hospital? KK gace this list to pack for BB.. 2 baby vests, 2 pairs of baby mittens and booties, 2 wrapping blanket.. think it differs hospital to hospital? (what i find weird about KK list is that they ask for us not to bring contact lenses..)

>> jul
i am getting the cover from newmummy
http://www.facebook.com/pages/NewMummy-Essentials/243245472375346.. she has a few designs..

>> HelloJazzy
Yup there is a hi-tea session next thurs.. are u in any of our FB group? i can add u to the new one.. but if u want to join the old grp u need ayana to add u~

Hellojazzy: oh! I thought they will confirm shave the part where doc is gg to cut and sew? But anyway I prefer it to be hairless... Less bacteria too... ;)

Littledotty: I've packed my bag and all ready to go... Overpack a bit coz I'm abit paranoid type... Rather bring my whole house than needing something which is not around... lol! I did pack a set for baby coz I want baby to go home with new clothes... But swaddle, mittens and booties are not new coz too many hand me downs... ;)

By the way I just realised I bought the wrong Kotex loop! I bought the 2 packs (40 pads) regular ones and not the maternity ones!!
bought 3 packs of adhesive maternity ones which is correct.. Sob! Do you think I should go and buy the loop maternity ones? I plan to put the loop on normal wings pad actually and change Everytime it's soiled...

Keiko: Actually my blood flow is not very heavy, even while I'm in hospital. So not sure you u really need to stack the loop pad on top of regular one. But my friend say that bcoz mine is c-section, so flow is lighter as gynae has helped to clear away most of the blood. Not sure how true is that.

I only bought one packet of the maternity pads as advised by the auntie of the store. Think the flow differs among individual? Hope it's enough to last me. 9 months no menses, suddenly preparing for menses seems ironic. Haha..

babysean

Yup I think it's true. Many of my friends told me they didn't have much blood. It was after I delivered, then I realised that those who told me that all went thru Csec!

Keiko

Haha I'm also like u - the overpack sort. I gotta bring cabin trolley lol

Nvm lah, just use the regular loop. If really so heavy, use 3 pcs?

yingzz

The link doesn't work

chocolatetedyy

I was thinking to go get an opaque shawl from somewhere then just sew up the neckline or add some button. The purpose-made shawls also look the same but are much more expensive!

Only thing is, dunno where to find nice, opaque shawls. Now not convenient to shop ard also.

Hosp Bag

I haven't packed. Just took out my small containers & washed them. Waiting for them to dry before transfering my toiletries in.

chocolatteteddy,
so good that you can actually sew and DIY the cover yourself. I also think some of these nursing stuff are overpriced. Next time maybe you can make baby's toys yourself. I have friends who did this before e.g. box shape with buttons sewn on it for practicing their motor skills.

jul,
for nursing cover mine is the poncho type. actually i realised i have this one at home (bought when expecting #1) but never used as i hardly bring bb out last time. :p

May i ask whether gynea will check yr cervix during late pregnancy? from how many weeks may i ask? I heard this procedure its VERY painful, true?