(2012/05) May 2012

>> momobaby
I tot kk is 2 nights? Have u booked your bed? Hmm think extra night they will just follow the charges.. Mite be more exp though.. Cant realli rem wat the lady said..

Keikowoo, hospital package usually covers 2D1N for normal and 3D2N for c- section.
Extra night had to pay extra, I think.

Yah my friend who gave birth last yr in kkh told me natural birth is 1N nia. But my friend gave birth In TMC is 3D2N. So duno how they count oso.. I would wanna stay 2N cos can rest.

oohh... for me is i don't want to stay many nights... i'm scare... thou hubby staying with me... i want to go home asap... :/

i tot is 3D2N.. then csec is 4D3N?
My collaegue stayed extra night in TMC coz her baby cant leave and her doc just asked her and she was like, why not? haha

But i think for us, they might just kick us asap.. coz they not enuff beds.

I stayed 3D2N when I delivered naturally at TMC.
I requested to leave earlier but the nurse was telling me not worth cos package is cheaper and its 2N inclusive.

Yah I read that natural is 3d2n and c sect 4d3n too..isn't 1n too short? This includes the time for delivery or post delivery ie just in the ward recuperating?

Mummies, anybody had experienced with confinement catering and TMC Confinement nanny service?

Chocolateteddy: I think you just wear the hospital robe/gown provided during delivery and depending on the hospital, you can probably change into your own clothes after.

For normal delivery, it is usually 3D2N so that they can also run all the necessary tests and do the jabs on baby etc. And 4D3N for C-Sect. Of course, if you request to stay another night, the hospital will not decline since you will be paying anyways :p

A friend passed on her DD's crib rocker which is good for 0-3 mos. Our soon to be baby is going to be a boy. Actually we already bought a Graco playpen but she said this is useful in rocking the baby to sleep. The problem is, the rocker is covered all over in pink! If you were in my place, would you let your firstborn son use a pink stuff? Would appreciate your thoughts on this. Thanks mommies!

chocolateteddy: ya i'm a May mummy my edd is 28th

i have a question , should i buy a breastpump to standby?

sardonyx: actually its your preference, for myself i'm having a girl but all (except 1) my hand me downs are blue and from boys... haha! to me, color has no gender.. but i know someone who minds, and tho her MIL unintentionally bought a blue bed sheet (coz no pink and the white is very dirty), and she's carrying a girl, she got very emo thinking that her MIL is expecting a boy and must be very disappointed...

snowy: i bought a breast pump when i was abt 4 months pregnant and my sis got hers when she was planning for a baby coz we were determined to breastfeed.. were you? ;)

Snowy - Breastpump:
I was hesitant too whether I shld hv bgt cos dunno how the situation wld be when bb is born. But in the end I just bgt the simplest electric one after researching ard cos of a good price. I'm a SAHM and plan to breastfeed but I'm afraid of engorgement so expressing may help. I also may try to express for nite feeds so i can rest well during confinement. If u r going back to work n plan to continue breastfeeding, then maybe u will need to invest in a good one. Research more, find out which is most likely ur situation n which fits in better. Of cos u may choose to buy later but I think many of us (1st timers) here kan cheong n buy during all those recent baby fairs. Hahaha!

Chocolateteddy: hmm so what brand did u buy? Medela ? Most of my friends recommend me medela pump in style but I was still considering because one of my close friend she has been breastfeeding her baby for almost2years shes using Pigeon breastpump and commented it works well . And I told her I'm thibking of getting medela and she told me no need to spend so much on breastpump ???
Any one of you standby infant formula ?

Snowy -
I bgt medela just cos hv been hearing so much recomendations abt it. If u can afford it then y not invest in it? There r many different opinions, someone even told me just buy manual cos cheaper n in some way, pumps better than an electric. But i imagine my hand will ache so...
Hv u been on the medela website? They help u evaluate which u shld get.
I'm not standing by any formula as yet. I dunno which brand to buy. Too much research already and m getting lazy to find out. Hahaha!!!

>> snowy
i got a breastpump too because i am determined to breastfeed.. mine is medela freestyle which i got from online spree (cheaper but only US warranty).. my sis recommend freestyle cos it will be easier to bring along after i go back to work..

>> sardonyx
since it is useful for 0-3 mths.. i would say take it and save some money.. i think rocker will be quite useful to get BB to sleep.. maybe just cover with a cloth or something if you mind the pink? i also borrowed a rocker from my colleague.. but its in green la..

Snowy, I also want to bf so I got medela freestyle but locally cos I had sponsorship which brings the cost down closer to the us import set..

I got far more recommendations for medela and 1 for ameda which is like half the cost..pump in style is not bad just not as portable as freestyle..but I'm FTWM so I need something portable..similarly I also heard using manual pumps might be as good..it really depends on person to person and their lifestyle, budget..

Yah I prefer to get pump earlier instead of resorting to last minute as I have friends who did that after bb cried for a night with no milk and expressing does seem to help her establish milk supply faster..

Sardonyx: I don't really mind the colour but my hubby does..yah can use another cloth or pillows to cover..or a Blue stroller pad on the bouncer?

Sardonyx: With the rocker, it's really a matter of personal preference and how strongly you feel about it. Personally, I don't recommend the rocker or anything that rocks/moves baby to sleep. I prefer to lay them in their cot to let them fall asleep by themselves. Because once they get used to the rocking motion, it becomes a habit

Snowy: Welcome on board and we share the same EDD. I plan on TBF (total breastfeeding) but will still get the Medela Mini Electric pump. As per what Chocolateteddy said, it would help with engorgement esp if baby does not feed well in the beginning. If you do plan to work after, then would definitely recommend to invest in a a good one. Am not standing by on formula at all but if the situation calls for it, then probably will purchase NAN.

Sardonyx, I would use the pink color rocker for my boy. Babies dun know and they wouldn't mind. Most impt is whether do you mind or not. Who knows the next baby you might have a girl. hehe..

In fact, I bought the jcole light pink baby head and shoulder support for the stroller becos I like it.

Went to pay for my delivery package at KKH this morning and was surprised that they told me that KKH will send ll my prenatal checkups bill to CPF and they will refund certain amount via cheque from your CPF. Just wondering if this is a new thing? And only applicable to KKH?

>> zp1503
are you with the private suite or under govt? mine is private suite and i didnt hear of such a thing..

ZP, you paid the full amount or just like a deposit?

For mine, I gave Mt E our credit card details (but not charged to our card), then pay $1k to gynae for deposit.

Then, those medisave claim will be used to offset the hospital bills and we will pay the remaining cash direct to gynae.

Thanks mommies for all your inputs. But I really don't feel comfortable using pink stuff on my DS. It's the other way around for us though, hubby doesn't mind using it for our DS.

Anyway, I'm letting go of this Precious Crib rocker for 0-3 months, in very good condition.

6866973.jpg

Colleciton place: Commonwealth
Best price: $50

Based on statistics of average past admissions across the hospitals for delivery, KKH has the record of shortest stays whereas Gleneagles/Mt E has the longest (read the table from somewhere).

My first delivery was at KKH too, when Dr Tham was still there(!), had scheduled c-sect and stayed in one bedder with hb overnite. I stayed for 2 nights only and requested for the next earliest checkout at 11.30 (the other timing is at 5pm). Also would like a quick in, quick out stay this time round if possible.

Remember to pack your tummy binder and compression socks along, cos these were the 2 things that Dr Tham specifically asked if I had since they were used on me after surgery. Possibly csect then need to use, but anyways the nurses got the compression socks from the pharmacy and will be added to your bill.

Chocolateteddy,

I am not able to edit the spreadsheet.
When I try to click edit, my column become yellow and nothing is shown except "submit" and "cancel".

Zp1503, yingzz, Mrs Ho
Mt.A also can claim $450. My gynae clinic nurse clipped together with my card and blood test to be bring on delivery date.

Sorry to interrupt….I have some brand new BUMWEAR prefolds for sale. Never used before.

5 white prefolds (premium)
5 unbleached prefold (newborn)
2 Snappies

Willing to sell them in a bundle at $30 (exclude postage charges).

Individual item purchase is welcome as well.

Please pm or email me at [email protected] if you are keen to purchase them.

How much red packet should we give to confinement lady for arrival/departure? If she takes taxi from woodlands custom to our place, is she supposed to claim the taxi fare from us or considered her own expense?

I'm with the Private Suite in KKH and paid a deposit first.

So I guess it's not a new thing is during my son (4 years ago) didn't have this CPF refund thing.

I have delivered on 1st April! EDD 1st May. BB is 36 wks, 2.495kg & 47cm. Staying in Mt A now. Nurses very helpful & friendly. C-section with Epi, not as scary as i imagine. First nite wear hospital gown. 2nd day change to own nitegown. Goody bag comes with bb clothes & towel, can used when discharged. Due to Reno, parking limited.

ChocTeddy :
I contacted the Mdm Ida that I used in 2009 who lives at Bt Batok. Her rates now $50 for 60mins instead of last time 90mins. I find her ok except a little too chatty when I prefer to enjoy my massage.

I ended up booking with my friend's massage lady, Jamaliah. $60 for 90mins for 5 sessions , 6th session onwards $50 per session. My friend say if like hard massage then she ok. She will even bring plastic to cover the mattress.

BabySean ! COngrats !

U must be the 1st to deliver among May mummies . Can u share your birth story with us?

Baby decides to see the world early?

congrats babysean! so happy for u!
just curious: bb before 37 wks is considered premature rite? under what circumstances did your doctor decide to c-sect you at 36 weeks? free to share?

massage
my fren recommeded Mdm Eja to me. I did see that she has slimmed down after her confinement. Anw i oso "signed up" with her. She do jamu massage. Her rates are $400 for 7 sessions or $550 for 10 sessions. Duration 1.5hrs/session.

Nightgown
Has been wondering the nitegown which you all mentioned here is what type? eg: pants or dress? where to get it?

Congrats baby Sean! Nice day to give birth wahaha!!
First kid? How did it end up c section with epi? Hope to hear your birth story soon!

Omg this is so exciting!! Congrats babysean and rest well!!!

>> $450
Is the $450 deductable from cpf for the in-patient stay / neonatal per day? Thats not for the prenatal checkups right? I am a bit confused.. Prenatal means the current checkups we go for before delivery right?

Wow so fast the may mummies start popping liao.. My edd is 1 may too. Does it mean that I will pop soon?? Omg. Still many things haven do leh.

*anxious*

37 weeks and beyond considered full term Liao. Anything before is premmie but 35/36 weeks oso considered safe Liao.

Babysean do share ur story. I guess the rest are keen too!

Re : Confinement Lady Ang Bao
During my #1, I gave $20 to CL as blessing for "start work". I didnt reimbursed her for transport as the $2k we paid her is already a lot after converting to Ringgit. Moreover she says she is familar with SG and she took a train to my place.

I think we gave her $80 red packet when she left.