(2012/05) May 2012

newbie : thanks for reminding, nightgown!! i haven got any nightgown too.. i think those button kind will be better as we can just unbutton n breastfeed.

i have 2 pcs with are dresses and with buttons in front. not all the way buttons. 1 is from Aussino and the other is from Marks & Spencer. but bought > 7 yrs ago. so i'm not sure if current stock got this design or not.

anyone delivering at mt A? can we wear their hospital clothes? or better to buy our own? not sure what kind of hospital clothes they will provide at mt A..

mummy_baby2008: haha.. u also haven't bought.. im contemplating whether to buy dress kind or pants? not sure about the "catch wind" if wear dress.. but dress more convenient i feel

babysean: thanks! i saw some at marks and spencer recently but they are quite expensive.. and i plan to wear the night gowns during hospital stay only.. oh maybe i go check out Aussino! thanks!

hmm my mother say prepare one set dress, one set pants.. she say if got guest comes, wear pants will be better.. not so unglam.. & if you tend to flip here and there while sleeping plus share room with others.. may be good to prepare one set of pants too.. for me i got the nursing nightgown with a zipper so easier to breastfeed (from gmarket).. havent get the pants set yet.. but I saw one in the BP thread selling..

yingzz: good idea! get 1 each! okie will do that.. then no need to "fan" over dress or pants kekeke..

enjoy your lunch mummies! and take care <3

i saw some PJs (pants and button top) at hougang mall but my hubby says very auntish so ask me dont buy.

i oso looking for those button down dresses but duno where to get. if buy online duno will be too late anot.

last nite i oso had major baby kicks from 7 to 9pm. just sat there and never move but it was so painful and uncomfy...

r u all going to bring ur breast pump to the hospital? i am delivering at KKH.. intend to bring a cabin sized luggage.

Ive got a button down night dress but its sleeveless so I will just bring a cardigan along. I wore that when i deliver my #1 too.
The long top n pants will wear at home cos very ugly/unglam type.

Newbie2012- I m planning to deliver at MT alvernia. Gone for the hospital tour, they told us better to bring our own nightgown so to be comfy. But if u didn't bring they shld provide u one set of hospital gown.

I only pack the hospital bag half way haahaa still packing :p

Is it necessary to bring any pad to hospital?

jazzlyne: i havent gone for the hospital tour.. must book in advance? i think i will buy the nightgown..

when i was at taka fair buying the maternity pad, the stall lady told me when just deliver baby in hospital don't wear panty one.. hospital will provide the special pad (i think with some string/loop at the sides) and we wear that only... i think i may bring a few pad just in case.. i dunno.. havent started packing.. cos havent bght some stuff yet..

i just buy those night gown from central kind. 1 pc only $10. very ugly so i only wear at night.. i intend to buy nursing tank so can wear jacket over when pple visit. I also thinking of wearing track pants / shorts if i can fit. pple visit cannot be too ugly. Dont forget.. pple will take picture and tag u on facebook! hehe.. i confirm plus chop put makeup. hahaha.. i very hiao.

For sterilizer, my sis managed to grab one for me frmo Istean Park way lastn ight! =) $155 for 3in1, but 4 bottles only. 2 big, 2 small and also 1 cleaning brush i think. Only collect from her this Sunday. can try there for those who dont want to wait

newbie, you mean the pad with the string is supposed to tie around our hip area? like bikini? looks like sumo wrestler!

ayana: i think so.. i was asking the lady selling the maternity pad at the taka baby fair which one to buy, she said buy the normal maternity pad.. cos the other one the hospital will provide..

The hospital tour no need to book coz tat day when I go I call in the morning to check the timing of the tour n pop by on Saturday afternoon. But the website put must book lah but I dun tink they will reject ppl from joining. Tat day we onli manage to view a few type of room, labour ward was full so cannot go in to view. Most of time c picture for the rooms oso coz it's occupy. Go take a walk around, At least you know where n which level to go when it happened.

I have 2 set of cute pj n both is pants type. Not intend to buy any juz use them.

For the hospital stay, when they mention 2 days. Is it 2 day 1 nite or 2 nites abit confuse here.

this is what happen for c-section (prev in Mt E). i rem for the first 1 or 2 days, i'm not allowed to get out of bed. so i was in their hospital gown. as for panty, i think really nvr wear any panty. the nurse will come in regulary to help you change pad. i juz lie there with drip on my hand, cannot move at all. i think it's aft i'm off the drip, then change into personal nite gown.

jazzlyne: thanks! i gg for my appt this sat so maybe i check out the timing of the hospital tour.. for hospital stay, i think normally is 3 days 2 nights.. but that was what i heard from a friend who did c-sect.. not sure abt natural birth..

I just received sms from Philips. The sterilizer is ready for purchase but while stock last. U can start buying after Friday 2pm. If u need my slot, can PM me. I have managed to get mine =)

Jazzlyne, for my case (Mt E) need to book the hospital tour.. Cos when I wanted to go for a particular date, they told me the tour is full already and I have to choose another date.

So, not sure about other hospital but Mt E best to call and book.. -)

Oops the hospital I refer to is MT alvernia :p haahaa sorry for the confusion.

I also receive SMS on the Philip bundle set tat I got till sunday to collect
will pop by tis weekend to collect.

Just wondering, pple say labour painful. Is it bcos of contraction pain that's why giving birth is a painful process? Or vaginal pain? How does contraction feel like? I mean which part will be painful when there's contraction? Is it vaginal area or lower abdomen or some sharp pain on 1 side of the tummy? Just want to understand what kind of pain we will experience during delivery. Sorry first time mummy so dunno what is contraction pain (like how painful it can be)....

Newbie2012 >> my friend say its 100x more painful than menses cramp. Have u experienced braxton hicks? I guess its something liddat mah. I oso first time mum. Haha.. My colls say dont think too much so u wun have any expectations.. Heh heh..

Anyone delivering at kkh?

Btw is there any FB page for may mummies?

newbie2012, that's also my worst fear.

Mommies, have you experienced tightening of the tummy, i don't know if it's braxton hicks or baby's movements, with your cervix feeling like it's opening up too?

Jazzlyne: I delivered at MtA 2 years ago, I brought both the adhesive and loop type of pads over. Cos I heard the loop type will be more comfortable after child birth. But when I ask the nurse who's helping me to change, she told me why use the loop? hehe.. anyway, I got quite a few pack of heavy flow pads, will just use them instead.
Same as BabySean, C-sec, so first day was bedbound and wearing the operating theatre clothes... those tie at the back kind.

newbie2012: yeah, I called MtA and book the tour.

hmmm... during my hypnobirth class, we have to think that there's NO PAIN...and dun listen when people tell you how painful it is. Because if we anticipate pain, we'll tense up and it's even harder to relax and give birth. We also learnt that giving birth does not necessary must be done lying down, u can be squatting, sitting or in whatever position you like. Anyway, that's all the theory, my Bishop score was very low and baby overdue, so in the end I chose to do c-sec at 41 weeks+, on the day itself still no dilation. Good that one of the last lesson is to understand that sometimes things might not happen the way we want, and we need to consider what's best for baby. Doesn't mean that because I want a natural birth then die die must be natural birth, also need to consider baby will be under stress if I insist to be natural even when there's very low chance of success.

Candymix: JIA YOU! just endure for about 40 days or so... ;)

Jazzlyne: yeah... don't walk too much... later walk till labour... but then many ppl tell me walking (exercising) is good... faster delivery.... By the way do bring the maternity pad just in case... coz my friend told me she bought outside its only $1 plus (i went to giant and it was sold out, i bought mine at $3 plus) Thomson medical sells you for $5 plus if what they provide is not enough PLUS GST.... so just bring everything.... haha!!

BabySean: oh i have no special cravings too.. just my usual cravings.. hah.. but the funny thing is my husband had morning sickness during my 1st trimester.. LOL!!

DolceVita: yes, no worries... some baby turn at a later stage... some in the correct position now, but end up later turn up again... -_- hah...

newbie: yes, don't think too much and scare yourself... when its time, we will just face it bravely! :D but the sad truth is, i kept thinking and asking ppl about it... :/ and keep telling myself i must brace through it with no epidual.. haha!!

dolly: thanks for your sharing... coz i really don't wana go for C-section...
really want natural badly... the thought of operating theater is horrifying for me...

Yip: For nursing tank, i scare our tummy haven't slim back.. then won't the tank become too tight at the tummy?

I bought my dress PJ at tiong baruh market... $10 not those fanciful kind, but nice and comfy materials... button down all the way, easier for BF... i saw those at OG etc. all are so ex... :/
I think maybe bring dress thats button all the way down or at least top is half way button... not necessary must be PJ... i think dresses is more comfy....

But i was thinking of bringing my breast pump along, hopefully the nice nurses will educate me abit on the methods if i can't pump out milk....

Hi ladies, seems that many of u r starting to pack the hospital bag. Sounds really exciting but I'm so lazy...still waiting for my maid to return to do stocktake for me. Prob is 2nd child, abit Bo chup. Any mummies feeling the same?

Maternity pads: I vaguely rem I bought those super thick types fr mothercare. It was super uncomfy! Subsequently, I just used the normal ones with wings.

Pyjamas: I used the pants kind. I'm more of a pants person. Thought its quite comfy. Do rem to bring a jacket to keep u warm at night.

Ward type: just wanna ask how comfy u r with another patient in the same ward? I was in a single ward for my prev pregnancy but my hubby didn't stay with me. I was so bored and cried often when I couldn't bf my girl. But then again, I don't think it will be convenient to share rm as there may be many visitors. Like that how to bf??

Yip: I will also bring along my makeup in the hosp bag. Lol. Very vain also....

Fb: also wondering if there's a fb page??!! Else mummies u can just add me at [email protected]. After my first child, I felt that's it's impt to network and share tips with mummies...my prev maternity leave was always pack with fun outings with the mummies. ;)

>>FB page.. There is a private one that May mummies set up quite some time ago (was a silent reader then).. But i am not sure if the mummies still come here or not.. Or they just use the FB page to communicate..

Heeeheeees me too add me in fb.
My email addy : [email protected]

Hm.... Wondering how it would b like if we bring our baby out for outing heeehee Baby networking themselve N mummy chatting away haahaa

Anyway for those experience mummy I got qns to ask. Is it necessary to buy a pram? Heard some friends say they bought but baby doesn't sit n waste $$$. So I am thinking not to buy. Any comment on tis?

As for child birth, better not to hear too much. Go with the flow. The more horror story you hear the more you will b afraid. Tat y I dun ask ppl the process haaahaA let nature take it's coz

Jazzlyne: I bought an expensive pram for my #1. in the end, didn't use much. Think a good baby carrier is better and more convenient if u r taking bb out alone. Moreover, a good pram is usually heavy and steady, so very heavy to lug out also...but I bought a light stroller which is more useful when my #1 started walking...so she could rest when she's tired of walking and not having us to carry her. Just my 2 cents worth. ;)

I also experience BH with pain, i guess its contraction? It happens while i am sleeping and i awaken by the pain for few times. Not sure is it BB kicking too hard cos at the same time i feel strong BB movement, but i am sure i experience cramp feeling at around the lower ab.

Pad: at taka fair, the kotex string type was selling $1+ per pack. However my frens say can use normal night use long wing pads which are more comfortable. The Kotex maternity pads do not have wings. I am getting Sofy comfort night long with side gathers for extra protection. Whisper pads are untra thin, seems not suitable for our extra heavy flow leh.

Pram: i am not buying, will use a BB sling or carrier. I got second hand strollers for standby. I saw this Japanese BB sling, not sure if its useful, but very cheap $12.
6826574.jpg

CarSeat: Infant car seat for use till 12mth then upgrade to toddler car seat 9mth-3yrs. So i am going to KIV and wait till 9mth then buy the toddler one. During interim period carry BB in arms should be ok right?

fr my experience, maternity pad is not necessary. just buy those night pad will do. i personally dun like maternity pad as it's really thick.

Brand new 400g similac stage 1 letting go at $12. Good for standby for 1st few days after bb born where BM supply not in yet. Expiry on 21 Sep 2012.

Collection at Sembawang MRT at evening time only. Or at my blk at Admiralty Link.

PM me if interested.

Rabbitz: some frds used the carrier u showed. I think it doesn't really support the baby well and gives the mummy backaches, ESP for 1st time mummies who are still not used to carrying a baby yet...;) I think it's better to buy a good bb carrier with support

Mrs ho and jazzlyne, have added u both in fb. ;)

And I agree, no need maternity pads..the normal ones with wings will suffice...;)

Ya, I also not buying maternity pads. Normal pads will do, just need to change them more frequently that's all... I also cannot stand those thick pads. But some pp says thicker pads can cushion the stitiches so I guess up to individual.. haha.. will see how when the time comes ...

Btw, saw one lobang on papers... If u buy $120 worth of huggies diapers, u can get a toy kitchen set free. On mobile now so can't upload pics.

I didnt buy any prams for #1, all hand me downs..
Used pram when we travel by car or more intensive shopping.
I like to use carrier or sling when i go out alone with my gal, both hands free and very ez to go around.

I still think having baby in car seat is the safest. So i choose those that can seat from newborn to 18kg( which is ard 4 yrs? ) after which can switch to booster ?

Yeah, i also prefer those normal night type pads with wings. More secure and prevent leaks and stains. Just buy more to stand by and change more frequently. Feel fresher/cleaner with more changing too..heehee

Long time never post...

rabbitz,
I think those japanese type doesn't provide a good support. If you intend to use bb carrier often then get one with good back support. It is more expensive but if you use it often then quite worth it. For me I got the MIM sling which I find v useful particularly when baby is still small and to put them to sleep when they are bigger but the down side is that you only have one hand free. I also have a babybjorn air, but I find very straining on the back even when the bb have not reach max weight. I could only tahan using it for at most 1 hr. Now thinking if i should get an ergo or beco carrier.

jazzlyne,
I got a combi pram with reversible handle for my #1 last time and found it useful when bb is sleeping and to bring them out for a walk but I use it more often after the bb becomes heavier. Unless you are planning to walk around with bb a lot, may want to wait and see first as strollers that can be reclined fully is typically more ex than those for bigger babies (>6mth). Also some babies don't really like to be put in prams. One thing is for sure, I always prefer lighter prams as opposed to those heavy weights ones. When my #1 got bigger - I got a buggy from Maclaren which he really loves. We use it for 2.5 years - longer than the pram. Usage of prams would depend on your lifestyle and your mode of transport I would say.

re:maternity pad,
Last time I bought maternity pads from kotex because first time mummy. But I agree wtih some other mummies, difference is prob mat pads is v thick so can accomodate a very very heavy flow. This time around, planning to get normal night pads with cotton base. I think better get the cotton base one rather than the net type because it is softer.

re:nightgown,
My mom custom make for me (not from SG) and there's a zipper running from the neckline to bottom so v comfortable for nursing. I find wearing pjs troublesome after a while because i keep fumbling trying to unbutton with baby crying. In the end I only wear my night gown for night time and day time I'll wear normal tshirt that I just lift up for nursing. Last time I heck care about look and just wear my night gown during 1st day coz not comfortable yet to wear pants. Only 2nd day then I start wearing pants. This time might buy a decent night gown for hospital stay :p

re:nursing cover,
I never got a nursing cover for my #1 and in the end we hardly go out or keep trying to find a nursing room which I find troublesome. This time I think nursing cover is more common to use - anyone here has experience with nursing cover? Wondering if it would be better to get a poncho type or the one with bone to give a bit of space and would allow you to take a peek of the baby ?

M_int,
I was in a single ward for my #1 since hb stayed with me. This time around, he's not stayin with me but I think I'll still go for single ward because it would be more comfortable when my #1 or family come to visit.

hey mummies >> should we open up another private facebook group?

>> prams / carrier
i also dont intend to buy prams because I feel carrier will be easier when going out alone.. haha but pram can be good to put shopping goods! btw any good baby carrier brand to recommend??

>> childbirth pain
one of my colleague describe it as the worst menses cramp she ever have but i find it quite hard to believe.. another friend said its unimaginable pain and she dont want to go through it again (she only use laughing gas) but now she is all ready for another one.. so i believe we will all survive.. jia you!! :D less than 2 months to go!

>> dolcevita.. ooh i just realise our edd is same after looking at the google doc link :D

I saw the promo too via email. Very cute but a bit small if your baby is tall.

Huggies Pull Ups ok for my #1 but the open tape diapers cant make it for her as it always leaks. Maybe her thighs not so fat.... the cutting like a bit "SUMO" design. wahaha

Any mummmies here under Dr Ben Tham knows if he is willing to give MC/ hospital leave so that we can start to rest earlier ? This round i find it really tiring and got pain to walk. He say cos the birth canal already stretch during #1, so naturally will feel lower.

Then my office pple still asking me to go around collect cheques and etc. Haiz.... so hope to rest earlier to prepare mentally and physically for the arrival of #2.

tute, I am also looking at ergo carrier cos baby is in sitting position and we got back support too. =)

yingzz, at first I also dun intend to buy prams, then my colleague says when the baby older then you will feel the strain. If you go out eating or shopping, a pram is good for storage of items or put baby down while you are eating etc..

Only one more week to April. OMG.... the day is approaching!