(2012/05) May 2012

hey Candymix.. hugz.. hope that the pricking is just for this two days.. just follow the diet your doc say and avoid sweet food.. everything will be alright.. hang in there!

sasha.. wow water birth? i saw it on youtube before.. didnt know we can opt for water birth here as well..

I think only NUHS has water birth right? Sounds interesting... I went to bio the taka fair today. Officially open tml.. Lots a prams, car seats, cots and play pens.. got a fisher price and medela section. saw a cart selling anaku stuff too... can't wait to go when it's officially open!

Candymix: don't be sad..just bear with it for these 2 days and hopefully everything will be alright! Hugs!! Btw I also went to the mothercare fair. Started queuing even at ard 11.15am...the selection wasn't tht fantastic. Wanted to get the $1 bottles but all oos! In the end bought a hi-end baby bjorn carrier..hopefully can serve its purpose. Haiya...regretted not having a look at the maternity wear as yday just rec my loots fr asos...

Sasha, how many kiddos u have already? U r so blessed to have smooth deliveries for all ur pregnancies. U r one brave mummy. I heard water birth is au natural...I think I will nt be able to tahan the pain...

Candymix >> dont b upset .. I'm also under tis diet plan & 7pokes for 2 days ... R u under dr benjamin tham alsO ?? It seems tat when i did the test wif another 2 ladies, 3 of us didnt Pass as well .. So dunno isit thr machine or the drink they gav us .. Still in self denial .. Hehe .. Let's jiayou together ..

Hey mrs Ho, yes I am..did u go yesterday too?? Which lady are u? The lady in pink or in green? Hahaha wat a coincidence!

Yes yes, was in denial yest..telling my hubby it must be the drink, where got people drink so sweet 1??

I'm ok today already, thinking through..I have been quite naughty, keep drinking lychee water during lunch these few wks..the day before thinking that I couldn't eat from 12 midnight to 8am; was stuffing myself silly with carbo..n breakfast had roti prata with sugar but of cos I'm really hungry too, like a growth spurt so I guess it contributed
Somehow..

Yes yes I'm gg to resume my old normal eating habits (ironically hardly any sugar) n hopefully just need to poke 2 days only n I'm cleared..

Hey mummies, I also wanna ask any of u bought those round/ square activity play gyms before? Any feedback which is gd? Am comparing tiny love, Lamaze space, bright starts but everything seems gd..it's like dependent on the babies

Oh on mothercare fair: I felt that the avent sterilizer bundle deal was better than the John little one..there are more bottles, via cups(breast milk storage) n even the thermal bag in that bundle..John little had pillows n bolster..that's y it's cheaper..so I abit regretted getting at John little..

But u can never get the best best best deal right..they always change the bundles n charge differently..now got taka fair, I wonder wat the bundle is..

Do u all know how often the mothercare n taka baby fair are held?

Another thing: should get those nipple shields or breast shells earlier? Got fear of cracked nipples leh..but dunno how to know your own size..

Candymix >> nope my appt was 1 wk earlier than u .. I was also taking lychee drink, birthday cake b4 the fast .. Today is my 2nd day of poking .. I've already pass tat 1 wk of cOntrolled diet .. When's ur next appt ? And ur EDD ?

how did your gynae determine you have gestational diabetes?I didn't go for any blood test to test for this. But upon knowing some of you are diagnoise with this. I'm kinda paranoid now, and kept reading about this, and I'm getting kinda thirsty easily which I usually don't. I suspect myself
with gestional diabetes, how should I go about it? Inform my gynae and go for the test? I'm approaching 28 weeks next week.

Ak >> for me bcuz i've family history for diabetic, therefore my gynae sent me for the test .. Tink u can let ur gynae noe tat u wana test for it.. And they will arrange it for u

Oh.. I see. Mrs Ho, thanks for clarifying my doubts. So is blood pressure one of the sympthoms? My gynae told me my blood pressure is normal.

M_int: This is my 4th pregnancy BUT 5th baby. This would also be my first delivery out of Singapore. So am a bit nervous about it, besides the fact that I am trying for a water birth and will only be assisted by a midwife (although a gynae will be present). Plan to have hubby in the tub to catch the baby cause I'm scared I might not get a proper grip on her.

In any case, yes, water birth is only available in NUHS in Singapore. Don't know of any mommies who have done water birth there and what the demand is like.

Candymix: The playgyms, there are all good but I prefer the ones from Tiny Love and Lamaze.

As for nipple shields/breast shells, I never needed them with my previous pregnancies.

Hello ak,
Yes me also cos of family history..I think blood pressure they will monitor each time, if it's normal then ok lor..

Mrs Ho, my next appt is end of the month, edd 27 may...how was the poking result for u yesterday? Did u really just cut the lychee drink or all sweet stuff? I'm abit paranoid now with sweet things..

Yesterday there were 3 other ladies under dr ben than who also failed the test..

sasha, I also like the ones by tinylove.. Where in sg sells tinylove stuff?

AK, how about your urine test for every gynae visit, how's the test like? Normal?

candymix >> yes juz control ur sugar intake.. Drink lots of water during test day .. My results so far within the acceptable results .. When u tested urs 1 wk later, update me k ..

Hi Ayana: my urine test for every visit is normal also

does that means I'm too paranoid? Haha..

So did you all go for taka Bb fair? I bought a simple no frill playpen at $129

AK, I asked my gynae about the GD test, he says dun need to take cos the urine test for every visit is normal... unless family got history of diabetes then need to take leh..

I went but nothing much to buy, wanted to buy a mobile, but hubby dun like it..zzzz if I convince him, mabbe will go back again to buy ahahah

Oh.. Oki. So I'm just afraid of nothing ;) mayb I wil just monitor myself more.. Is it due to high intake of sweet stuff?

The fair is super croweded, and I think quite alot of gd buys. Too bad I bought some alr, if not, wil get them here.
What mobile are you referring to? Is it the mobile thingy by philips avent?

I also have a family history of diabetes. So although my urine tests are normal, gynae asked me to take the OGTT. It's within the normal range, but in the upper limit, so she asked me to cut down on sweets. Borderline was i think 7.8 and mine was 7.2.

Got some great buys from Taka. We took advantage of the free delivery. Too bad we already bought the Graco playpen from last week's baby fair @ the Expo. Taka has more choices although we got ours at 30% off.

CandyMix :
Were u at Doc Ben's clinic yesterday ? I was there abt 10-11am. Wonder which is you.... I am the one in green cardi with white tube top and busy with my gal. I also saw a pink top lady with another little gal.

Usually i go for check ups on Sat but yesterday wanna bring my gal to see her mei mei. My EDD is 3 May, so Doc Ben will see me 3 weeks later.

Ya saw few of them all fail. Like index over 10 or 11. Mine is 8.2 after the glucose test. So Doc Ben say must try to follow his diet as close as possible. Else bb too big. Hiaz.... i only put on 900g from last appt. But baby put on 500g .... so he says i must watch diet....

anyway baby now at 32 weeks' is 1712g. If this round is same as last, means will pop by 38 weeks' which is 6 weeks' time ! OMG ! Too fast le !

Steriliser & Milk Warmer:

I always prefer Pigeon to Avent as if u notice, Pigeon can contain more bottles at one go. There is no fix postion to how u shd place the bottles so easy to place the way we like regardless of bottle size.

As for milk warmer, Avent does not have a off switch. means must only off the main supply. Pigeon warmer heating indication level is by Degree Celcius. Better in mu opionion then Avent level 1 & 2 which i dont even know how hot.

Btw any one knows if the trade in promotion at Taka for Pigeon Wide Neck bottle is for BPA or Non BPA ?

Ak - were u at the class at amk hub? Next lesson on coming Thursday rite?

Diabetes
I'm nervous abt my test for diabetes in 2 weeks time too... Nurse say cos family history n age I need to take test, sigh... I dun eat alot but I like sweeter foods too. Abt 2 weeks ago I keep eating mini mars bars! Stop when they say I must take test. So paranoid tt I keep checking online to see wat the symptoms may be but apparently no obvious symtoms. So far my urine test, blood pressure n weight has been normal. So scared now...

Milk warmer
Is this a necessity?

Milk Warmer is good for heating up breast milk as can maintain at a constant low temp so that the nutrients are not destroy.

Also if some babies is slow drinker who cant finish the breast milk at one go, can put back to the warmer for the next feed which is 1.5hrs - 2hrs.

Of course also can use traditional method of warming using a glass of hot water. But I am the lazy type..... prefer to use warmer.... esp in the midnight. just too lazy to walk to the kitchen to chg the water for warming the breast milk.

rabbitz: my condition needs to spit constantly. like once i close my mouth, it's full.

m_int/sasha: no lah, i din 'suffer' that long. opt for epidural once my waterbag broke. the laughing gas totally no effect. so i dun feel anything while i was waiting. i guess it's the side effect of the epidural. used up 2 packets! when decide to opt for c-section, told gynae let me be knock out. haha. i'm juz too tired.

candymix: dun be sad, as long as u watch ur diet now, should be able to control it.

kayla: i'm also popping on 38th wk since mine will be c-section. yah, very fast hor. haven't buy a lot of things yet and pack the bag. getting nervous.

any ladies experiencing pain btw the legs? like legs cannot close and walk properly. i think i must have look very funny when i walk.

Baby Sean: I only need to spit like every 15min during end 1st to second tri then gradually improving over time. My bikini line very pain when walking, i suppose its due to stretching?

Any mums with back problem? i had prior to preggy and now its getting worse, but my sinseh says cannot do anything now, except rub medicated oilment. Hip super pain when sleeping

rabbitz: yah, bikini line there very pain too. but mine pain since 1st trimester! last time 1st kid is only til 3rd trimester then still to feel pain. old already. haha.

aft delivery 1st kid, i have back pain aft washing bottles at the basin for 5 mins. not sure if it's side effect of epidural. i also din rest well during 1st kid confinement. sigh, now must toss left & right for a while til find gd position then can get to sleep.

Experienced mummies, bath tub for bb, shld put on a higher height like a changing table anot? I thot it'll be easier to bathe bb at a comfortable standing height. Cos I'm thinking if I shld buy a changing table which can double up as a bathing station...

Chocolateddy, yes, I was at mrs wong class last Tuesday, not sure if it's coming thurs. Is it? Planning to call up later to check.

Chocolateteddy, I'm not experienced mummy, but I gg to put the bathtub on a small table, not those changing table though, just a small multipurpose folding table. Cos it will be easier to bath and dun need to bend over to bath them =)

Ak - huh? U in thurs or tues class at amk? I'm in thurs class tt started 1st mar. I called earlier... My class is this Thursday. My fren attending thot is on Tuesday. So confusing rite??

Ayana - tts wat I thot too, easier when higher. I guess I'll be hunting for something suitable for bath tub then.

I borrowing those u those small prayer table from my mum, you know those beige top kind, foldable de.. den mabbe put some anti slip thing there. the height is just nice lor.. heehe..

anybody went to taka baby fair yest??
can u share how much is the avent 125ml bottle??

i'm in my 32weeks now... getting excited as another 8 more weeks i'll b able to see my bb girl.. have u all washed and prepared all the baby clothings??

i also intend to find a table for my mum to use, coz she can't squat. for myself, i guess i may stick to ground level still. maybe ikea will have something suitable, haven't check it out yet.

bb clothings, prepared but not washed yet. i also haven't dig out my sleepwear during hosptial stay.

Hi mummies! I am currently 27 wks and am experiencing those fungal spots on both side of my tummy, it gets really itchy sometimes and i can scratch till it turns very red and patchy. Asked doc if that is stretch marks but he said its not. Very concern about the patch cos i dun wish them to appear during my Bloom photoshoot...

Baby clothes:
My mum has already helped to washed all the baby clothes, car seat, and mattress too. So basically for me, all things are ready except for sterilizer and breast pump.

mummy_baby2008: i also dunno but the doc did gave me cream that is meant for fungus disease lor. Its only on both sides of the tummy, just imagine something like when you have cold rash on your cheeks. Just praying hard it will go away when i take the shoot...

hello mummies..

hee the discussions seemed fast and furious these days!

went to the taka fair yest.. the Q was so long in the afternoon.. but shortened down quite a bit by evening time~

===
>> Kayla, the trade in is for BPA-free bottle.. got 160ml / 240ml bottles.. trade in bottles can be any brand but must make sure they are complete with screw cap, teat and hood..

Avent can store 6 wide neck bottles while Pigeon can store 8.. just wondering will we really use up so many bottles? Was thinking to get the Avent bundle because it seems better than the Pigeon one.. Heard from my sis too that the Avent warmer is better than the Pigeon one..

Avent: Sterilizer, Bottle & Food Warmer, 2 x 125ml bottle, 3 x 260ml bottle, Silicone soothers, hooded blanket, baby wipes @ 188 (U.P: 322.60)

Pigeon: Sterilizer, Bottle and Food Warmer, Sponge Brush, Silicon Pacifier, 2 Nipple cleansing brush, 200ml liquid cleanser, 240ml wide neck bottle, 2 x 160ml wide neck bottle, baby wipes @ $188 (U.P 283.80)

Hmm I also havent gotten my breast pump yet.. My sis ask me to join spree but wonder if it will be in time.. The medela freestyle bundle at taka fair is $799 with thermostat, nipple cream and 3 x 150ml bottles..

===

Bought some baby clothes and stuff.. but all not washed yet.. need to start packing and washing soon!!

No mood to work :X!

Shall we gather a "to-buy" list for mummies -- during confinement and BF? I can think of the following (which i havent prepare!) experienced mummies, pls add on to the list:

- Nipple Cream (any good brand to recommend?)
- Maternity Pads
- Nursing bras
- Pyjamas with front buttons
- Bedroom Slippers / socks
- Tummy massage cream/oil
- Breast pads / shields
- BF Pumps
- Cotton sheets to lay the bed (mensus leak)
- Dry shampoo powder
- Hot/Cold gel pack to soothe engorged breast

nipple cream - i'm using medela, i have already started using now as i have itchy nipples.

maternity pads- Love moon Anion pads(the night pads are long enough and it's very absorbant)

Have been to busy to log in & chat.

Anyone been to the Taka Fair yet?

Philips Steamer & Blender

Anyone has this? I wonder if it's really useful. I just steamed & used a Braun handheld blender to make purees for #1. But feel so lazy, & thinking of ways to cut down work with high-tech gadgets. But I dun wanna buy if it's useless.

ak

If you're asking abt the Pigeon bottles trade-in, it's trade in any old bottles, but must be full set with teat, cover, etc. Pay half price for the non-BPA bottles - the range is PPSU. $9.45 for 240ml & $8.45 for 160ml.

Personally I just use polycarbonate bottles, so I didn't bother to trade in.

Hello mummies !

I am another one of those silent reader mummies so not sure if any of you remember me :p

Taka fair -

Just went today to get a baby rocker/bouncer and car seat. I think they have a pretty good deal for car seats (did not check out the strollers) and lucky i went on a weekday so the promoters were able to spend time and explain to me in detail re how to fix/features. There is no additional discount for taka card holder, but if you spend >$600, you're eligible for a free gift (rocker to walker fisher price, RP $39.90).

Wish i had read about the bottles ! I have a few bottles that I can trade in... will probably go back to do that. Hesitant to go during weekends because i am pretty sure it will be crowded.

Jul, i have the Philips blender. I find it good and convenient. Just steam, turn n blend... The price is $199 but the bundle now comes with other products, can consider.. =)

hello kayla, nope didnt see u! yes i was in the morning batch with the lady in pink and a little girl..there was another lady in green with black cardi too. basically its like so many ladies failed the test lar..i was the lady in black dress..

chocolateteddy: i think u should stop the sweet stuff for at least a week before u see the gynae for glucose test...lest end up the same as us..

i bought the changing station cum bathing high table during the expo baby fair..it was on sale for around 120, down from 189-149. i think only 2 places have it- mothercare which is 300-400, and baby kingdom or baby studio at around 189-149..so at the expo baby fair, it was more discounted..bought it cos my mother requested as old people can't bend to bathe baby..cos im gg to do confinement @ my mum's place instead. maybe u can take a look at baby kingdom/baby studio for a cheaper deal.

zp: how do u wash car seat with the cushioning? and baby toys- do u all use febreeze?

btw anybody use moomookow cloth diapers? wanna ask if ok to use any powder detergent with enzymes (but no softener) to wash..

i got most of my things already, even maternity pads..saw got offer @ giant supermarket..cheaper than the tmc pharmacy..at least for those that i need in my mother's place..

im mainly left with breastpump, nursing pillow, detergent, baby pillow.

anyway those who want ti get PISA, i thought the TMC shop was having not too bad a deal at 599