(2012/05) May 2012

Candy>> kkh fair was bat two months back when I attended a seminar. So far cheapest is $699.. Last I saw at kiddy palace is $699, no further discount.

Havent posted for a while though i am still reading on and off. Have been too tired even now in final trimester (should not be the case right ?) Suddenly i feel like I dont have even time and going to pop in about 8 weeks time( I am now in 3o weeks') .... Nursing bra havent buy, Massage lady havent book, havent pack a space for the maid to sleep in my petite house, new born clothes hqvent dig out too.... so many things .....

Feel sad when i read abt Vanilla. Hope things will get better for her soon. Time heals.

Re : Baby Fair at Expo
Any mummies went ? many things for first time mums but I think the best deal is actually at Watsons fair at Hall 6. The Pampers Active was really good deal. Selling at $9 for 2 packs of 20 for M44 pcs. Many pple bought a lot of cartons. I also stock up 4 cartons as I think very fast will upgrade to M size diaper.

Other things i din get as many things can pass down from #1.

Re: Abbott's First Mum & Dad Congress
Anyone went ? I signed up even I am already second time mum. haha.... because the goodie bag have a full size tin of Similac Step 2 which i can keep for #2. i think its worth even i have to pay for entrance of $15 each. Also have other things in the bag too. Din attend the talk though as my gal was cranky and wanted to Zzzz.

Thread is quite quiet.... any meetups before we pop ?

Kaylin: I was at the cOngress... The goodie bag is good... But the talk rather boring... My hub was sleeping all the way... Too much talking.... Haha.... Personally I felt last week seminar was much more interesting....

Attended TMC prenatal class with Mdm Wong BB. She said no need to buy pump now cos you duno how is the flow. She advise to get after milk flow comes in when we can assess whether its fast or now. She says if blessed with good flow, then manual pump will do, no need buy exp ones.

Momo baby: thanks for the directions! Very easy to find the place... I went on sat... Really good buy! Plus the sales girl very helpful... She make sure that I have everything needed....

Rabbitz,

Breast pumps :
Manual pumps works for some people but it's tiring and takes double the time. For my #1 , I have a set of Ameda in office and Medela PISA at home as the haversack is too bulky to carry out for me.
But the suction power works for me. I only go for dual pumps as I am lazy to put milk collection shells. Because when u pump one side, the other side usually leaks. So precious the BM so will only go for dual.

This round my fren will loan me her FreeStyle which I heard its very handy. Small and works on rechargeable batt. If mummies who worry about their milk flow or supply , maybe want to consider 2nd hand but change all the parts ? The savings is quite substantial . Better to standby the pump, else during our confinement have to send poor hubby to go buy breast pump and end up buy wrongly or more exp....

There's is a spree going on at Overseas spree.

Whats the difference between FS with Medela Swing and PIS? FS is quite exp and i'm wondering if Swing/PIS is useful for pumping at office?

The cheapest FS i found is USA set at SGD500.

ya rabbitz, I was about to say that too. Mrs Wongs says better to try out the pumps cos you do not know which one suits you the most. Can try it out in the hospital..

Hi ladies, the Taka Baby Fair is from 4 Mar to 25 Mar..

Can do some last min shopping!

Hello ladies, I haven't posted in here for a while now, hope everybody's doing ok!

It's week 30 for me now! Back pain is starting to bother me. I went shopping over the weekend and kept having to sit down to rest because of my aching back. And just yesterday night I just couldn't get into a comfortable sleeping position and got so frustrated I burst into tears. The husband was really shocked! LOL. But I think also because pregnancy hormones going haywire.

I also went to the Babyfair, didn't think it was that impressive, but still managed to buy Babysafe cot mattress for $145 and the Avent baby bath/shampoo, bottom balm and magic cream for a small discount. Didn't get anything else. Like Rabbitz, I think I will heed Mrs Wong's advice and buy breastpump after delivery. She said can try out the different breastpumps at TMC to see which one suitable before buying.

When are you ladies planning on taking maternity leave? I told my boss I will take off from week 39, but already now got no mood to work! How to last till week 39?!

hi Kulogy (kulogy)

no problem lah.. good deals must share share mah.. i agree that the sales girl is very friendly and not hard sell and the things are affordable.. what items did u buy in the end?

i haven really start packing the baby stuff.. bought alot and all the stuff are all over the place... my new toyogo drawer is sitting in the storeroom collecting dust..

what body bath are u all going to buy for your baby? i haven decided yet..

olivia >> i oso plan to take from week 39 onwards. duno if will pop early cos first pregnancy.. oso no mood to work.

so anyone any updates on the CDA and baby bonus thingy?

Hello mummies, I was both at the first mums n dads congress n baby fair! Agreed that the goodie bag was gd at the congress despite $15 bucks per person entrance fee..I managed to get gd deals for maternal milk n mamy poko diapers..

Oh dotty! Thanks for the taka fair dates!
Olivia, I also got the babysafe mattress..

Now just left a couple more things to buy including my pump..

Anyway do u think we should get more things now during these fairs for items we need 3-6 mths down the road? Are there gg to be any baby fairs during mid year or Q3?

Thinking of getting the avert steam n flip purée blender but it's like too early to buy..

Also thinking of getting a drying rack for tears n bottles
- useful? When do u all plan to start using bottles ? Read that it's better after 6 wks when bf is established

Hi olivia,

i'm oso planning to take ML from week 39 onwards for 6 weeks den back to work.. haiz.. sad to say same like u!! i'm totally in a holiday mood now.. lol!!

Candymix: I may leave the items needed for when baby is 3 - 6 months to buy later on. Then got reason to go shopping during maternity leave! =p

mummy_baby: you only taking ML for 6 weeks? How come so short? you intend to spread out the rest and work part time?

ladies: any recommendations for car seats? preferably those isofix type.

candymix: i also thot of buying a drying rack but Mdm Wong advise not to use cos expose to air dry will kena contamination. She says after sterilize, jus assemble and cover the bottle.

momo's baby, for bath, I bought California's Baby...

For ML, I intend to take at 37 weeks, cos now already no mood to work liao.. Anyone same as me? Will be stepping into 30 weeks next week!

Ayana >> Me same as u .. stepping into wk 30 this week .. dun tink i'm takin ML so soon .. shall wait for dr to giv advise when he checks .. which gynae u seeing ?

Hi Olivia,

i'm planning to save up the maternity leave for school holidays where i can accompany my kids..

Ayana,

i'm stepping into 31 weeks tomorrow
my gynae actually says we can work till due so that we wun be wasting ouR ML

Momo's baby >> For the CDA, my understanding was a top up for the existing account holders .. dun tink it'll affect our baby bonus rite ..

oh okok..hopefully CDA and baby bonus remains.. else really flip and bang table liao.. disappointing that this year's budget no big ang pao to encourage people to have kids.. or even to extend maternity leave till 20 weeks!! *dreaming*

i am also stepping into Week 31 on Thursday. time flies.. wat abt the rest? going to work till give birth?

ayana >> california baby is expensive right? i was thinking if really needed..

mummybaby, ya but I quite sian to go work already, so I prefer to rest and relax at home, and nua haha.. Also, you see it will be the last few weeks of 'me time' that we'll have until our precious arrives, so my logic is to enjoy myself at this period la.. like go high tea la, shopping, or simply curl up and read books, watch TV/movies etc =) Cos after that, will have very little time for ourselves.

Momo, I bought it online. I think its like $3X.. anyway, can use a long time la.. Mrs Wong says, just use a drop each time can liao! No need to follow the instructions.

Mrs Ho, =) I'm seeing Dr TB Lim at Mt E.. You? Will be going for my check up this Sat. Can't wait! My gynae has not said anything regaridng delivery or ML yet.

wow...seems like a lot of you gonna take ML in adv.

for my 1st kid, i started my ML from 39 wks, coz i was pretty worry i will deliver while on my way to work. end up, 40 wks also no news.

for my 2nd kid, i have chosen c-section so likely will deliver on wk 38.

ayana, i used to see TB Lim too. so where will u be delivering? i deliver my 1st kid in Mt E coz he gets btr rate there as compared to Mt A.

BabySean, ya, I will be delivering in Mt E too, as the nurse also advise Mt E as nearer to him and his clinic =)

Why did you not continue with him? Because of his age ma?

I'm so sad and affected after reading about vanilla. But i guess she's a strong mummy. It reminds me not to take things for granted!

Kayla: I second your idea of having a meetup before we pop! ;) Life is gonna be soooo much different after the arrival of the newborn...must pamper ourselves...hehe

babyfairs: so many of you went to the baby fairs and bought so much stuff! envious....I was too lazy though i live near the expo...I guess will wait for the taka bb fair..;)

momobaby: sama sama...very nua...old maid's room was turned into a "storeroom" liao...now that my ex-maid is returning after 9 nine months in 2 weeks time...i dunno how to pack that room to make it "livable"..haha..then my hubby will be travelling again! Leaving all the packing and cleaning up by myself...

Early ML leave: Wow! So many mummies taking ML in advance? I'm only turning 28 weeks this Fri..Still a long way for me man...But I am the very gan chiong and kiasi type. My #1 was induced. So I get to prepare myself and "checked-in" at the hospital. This time round could not decide whether to induce or go natural...any suggestions?

btw, any teacher mummies here? I remembered there are some in this thread..we can meet up for hi-tea during the coming march hols...can't wait man...hehe

ayana: i got myself the breastfriend nursing pillow during my #1. Are you a first time mummy? I guess it's useful for a 1st time mummy as it helps the mummy to support the newborn better. I remembered my arms were always aching when nursing my #1.

But i guess for 2nd time mummies won't be necessary as we should be "used" to the weight of the baby...

ayana, i mc during my 2nd pregnancy. then when i finally got preggy again, he's not willing to grant me hosptialisation leave when i have bleeding throughout my 1st trimester.

i had another friend who see him and mc twice. his advise to her was try again, that's all. in the end, my friend switched to Dr Fong Yang and he monitor her very closely and ensure she carry her bb gal til delivery.

i'm not young and dun have the time to try again if something bad happen. he's a very gd gynae if your pregnancy is smooth. but for us high risk group, i dun want to take any risk.

Babysean, Oh I see, actually he is recommended to me by Dr Charles Lim, who does not do delivery anymore. Dr C Lim is a very careful gynae and says his partner TBLim is good and caring etc.. So I trust his recommendation.

Anyway, good that you let me know so that I can be more kiasi and ask more detailed info on my next visit. =)

my 1st kid was very big size, 3.78kg at birth. according to Dr Fong, he say base on my size, he's not surprised i end up in emergency c-section. maybe he's more kiasi. this 2nd kid, he mention the head like quite big and that if > 3.2kg, he will not advise me to try natural. anyway, i have decided to opt for c-section, so i guess bb size is of no concern. :p

I'm a feb mum

WTS: 10 packet of eu yan sang herbal bath, in a box. selling $16 nett. BNIB

pick up bt panj or town

pm if keen.

Good morning all mtb~ It's been a while since I posted.. Am into my week 30, time really flies. Am feeling a bit down, easily irritated n reluctant to go to work. I feel irritated when my boss or colleagues ask me qns. N when there's a lot of work, I get extra irritated. Just don't feel like talking to anyone n be at my own corner... Is this a phase tat hv to go through? ...

Hi A-min,

good morning! i'm same like u... my colleague told me dat after i'm pregnant i'm like a lady tiger... Lol... trying to control myself but just gets agitated easily..

Hello mummy_baby, I'm being quite impatient with my colleagues esp when they ask qns cos they r too lazy to recall e ans themselves... I realized I talked less too.. Everyday just wanna get pass e day n quickly go home.
My boss is on MC today (wat a relief not to see her face).. But she'll keep blasting emails from her phone to remotely control us w more things. Gosh.. I hope to get over this phase quickly!

seems like a lot are using medela freestyle. just to share i got my Medela Freestyle - USA from My Beauty Loft ([email protected])

Hers is the USA spree, selling at $460 now. I got mine in Dec 2011 at around that price. consider cheap as other spree are selling at $500 and above.

happy breastfeeding!!!

M_iNt, ok thanks, I will go check out mybreastfriend pillow.. yah 1st time mummy.. actually I was thinking to use normal pillow will do, but not sure issit ok a not..

A-min, hahah remote control you guys.. so funny... For me, my temper did not raise at all so far. In fact, I think I am more easy going, calm and controlled then before! Maybe my baby is a Zen baby? hahaha..

Sorry to intrude.. Hv some emergency to look for wong boi boi.. Anyone has her direct contact number? Not the parentcraft centre.. Thk u..

I am wondering how to clean the hand me down soft toys or fabric crib toys. In using BB wipes to clean off surface dust but thinking shld I spray Febreeze but worried its toxic? Any tips?

Hey Ladies, wana ask someting bout confinement nanny .. those who hav engage CL for ur previous confinement ..

1) Do baby sleep with CL ?
2) Do you allow them to close the door & sleep ?
3) Do you allow them to use the aircon ?

Pls advise me as i'm first timer to engage CL...

yah i oso got questions for CL..

do we need to buy toiletries / prepare bath towels / tooth brush / toothpaste for them? i dont feel comfy sharing my towels..

oso we cant estimate when we give birth. how do we know when shld we start to buy the groceries? or wait till CL come then the next morning then buy? meanwhile eat wat?

It's my first time hiring CL, I intend to let CL sleep in the baby's room with baby in cot.

CL should sleep with door opened, as baby is inside.

As for toiletries all these, I think they will bring their own, cos I did ask my CL, what to prepare for her, but she didn't mention anything about toiletries at all.

For groceries, since my house is near supermarket I think CL or hubby can help buy something back ba. At most first day reach home tabao lor hahah..

Mummies, not sure u all have this problem. Whenever i try to get up from a seat or try to sit down, i always feel that my tummy is being squashed. its painful and uncomfortable. I wonder if our bbs will be affected.

Also feeling very breathlesa at times. Doctor say normal. U all have these problems?

Also find it getting harder to find a comfy position to sleep at night liao. Oh no. Third trimester blues.