(2012/05) May 2012

Hello! Just came back from gynae appt.. Finally got an edd from dr tham..had quite a bit of pressure when trying to do tummy scan leh..he says bb well protected by me..does he mean alot of stomach fats hiding bb? Hehehehe!

Got to hear bb heartbeat n even see the heart leh..phew..

Now got to take lots of supplements n wait till nov for next appt n Oscar test..

Zara: ms supposed to peak in wk 9-10..

Chicken essence can drink but not those that mix with lots of other ingredients like American ginseng, dang shen etc

My MIL asks me to drink 3x a week lor..but I usually take 1 only leh..feel less tired after that..

hello everyone.. how's your sat?
super nuah today... eat and sleep and eat and sleep.. #1 hving nap... so now hv time to log in.. hehehe!

Can take chicken essence? Is it too early to take? I've got a box of birdnest.. don dare to drink donno if it's too early to take.. :p

Having high tea at Marriott hehe then later go for midnight show

Can take normal chicken essence without additional herb one

3 times a week? Will be too heaty or not?

Micteo: bird nest cannot..later in 2nd tri n 3rd..but not too much because bb will have a lot of phlegm..

Actually I thought 3x a week ok, but maybe it's me lar cos I get tired n pale easily ESP during work days..but I'm too lazy hahaha..

Urgh, Zara i'm 11 wks and still leaving MS... couldn't finish my fillet O fish today.. feeling so terrible..

Yes can drink those bottled essence of chicken. i usually take it 2-3x a wk cos i m too tired.. it really does improve my appetite man.. the only 2 days that i ate well were the 2 days i took essence of chicken.. hehe.. i need them cos i feel so weak and lightheaded all the time cos I m both anaemic and have low bp.

Candymix, gd to hear that all is well!

Re: baby bump,
for #1 i didn't show until abt 26 wks.. there was a bump lah but if i wear tees, nobody noticed.. in fact one of my accquaintances that walked past me everyday on the corridor didn't know i was pregnant till i was 33 wks!! sad to say i m sporting a huge bump now.. same size as when i was 18-20 wks preg with #1. sadness...

Kayla, i agree abt putting on weight aft stopping bf-ing! i lost all the weight gained for preg #1 very quickly and was back into my old clothes in 3 wks. but once i stopped bf-ing i gained 2kg! can't shrug that 2kg off.. was telling my frens if every pregnancy i gain 2kg, i will be huge when i m done giving birth!

Sunflower, buffet spread are not bad and I have been having gd appetite and eat alot leh oops!

Piggy, u poor thing always eat so little. You can hide Yr bump so well till week 26 amazing lor envy envy

Babypom, i envy ur appetite..
i tell myself things will get better lor. sigh.. strangely i m craving for crabs.. want to eat salted egg crabs and black pepper crabs.. yums... but hor i think when it finally faces me, i won't have the appetite. :p

I don't think I have it as bad as those mommies that are throwing up numerous of times a day.. i m just all stuck inside..
and it soooo umcomfy.. not losing any weight though, not like for my #1 where i lost 5kg in first trimester.. i think my metabolism also slower liao.. and i find myself needing to have something in my mouth all the time. :S

Candy: it peaks 9-10 wks!! No wonder...have to tahan few more weeks like sunflower said.. Luckily I still have the appetite to eat.. But in small meals..

Jus nw went to orchard central N ate lobster porridge.. Actually crave for the porridge, not that I like lobster.. Haha. The hot porridge is jus so shoik!!!

Piggy: I also find myself needing to have something to bite all the time lei.. U r not alone.. The worse is my gynae is a health freak n he says I need to lose weight despite being pretty. The weight shd remain constant... Meaning my loss in weight shd be gained by bb... Every time I go see him it's like taking a test.. Weight test.. Haha.. I need to be more hardworking n go gym to walk... :p

Piggy: u only gained 2 kg but i gained 8kg...faint... dunno how to manage this round.
Hope i can hide my tummy like u as I just joined my current company. Still dunno how to break the news to my new boss and my confirmation is 6 mths lor.....

Babypom, Wah.. Song Eh!! High tea.. Haa..

Piggy, I oso wanna eat salted egg crabs!!! Yummy!!! But they say later e bb will hand more more leg more more leh.. Haa

Re:ms
I dun have it.. I tot u gals said e peak is 7-9 weeks? Now become 9-10 weeks? Lol.. Haa.. Anyway, sometimes it will made me worried if beanie I growing well cuz I really dun feel pregnant at all.. Haiz...

Den I always touch my tummy n tell beanie to grow a little bit each day..

At least u gals had ms u wun feel good abt puking but at least u noe beanie is growing well.. For those who dun have ms like me and chloie we oso dun feel good., Haa.. Cuz we r worried each day dunno if beanie is growing well..

Kayla, I thk my tummy looks like those 6 months pregnant de lo.. So u noe how big my tummy is.. Haiz.. Hope I can shed off e weight aft giving birth.. Haiz..

Vanilla, I only got ms for few days only and practically no ms thereafter, also have the same concern as u, hope we are the lucky ones and baby growing well everyday.

ak, ya.. cant help but to worried, u noe.. haiz.. I mean even tho no MS oso doesn't mean bb doesnt grow well la.. Cuz MS only happen to 20-30% of e pregnant woman.. But those who have MS definately a sign of bb is growing well.. haa..

We are e more fortunate ones to be e 70-80% who dun have it.. and yet worried abt it.. lol.. =P

Vanilla> dun need to feel worried that u do not have ms. I also din had any fir my #1. but now, disaster. Dun feel
Like eating. Feel like eating something. But the moment its in front of me, I feel sick

need some advice here. I've been experiencing some minor skin peeling on my breasts and tummy, not sure if its any cause for concern. Does that mean I'm dehydrated? I've been trying to drink as much as I can, but the bloatedness I have been feeling means its quite difficult for me to eat or drink. Usually I take some bread or biscuits and I wouldn't be able to stomach anything else.

Not sure if I have MS, I do feel like throwing up at times, but there is just a general discomfort that doesn't go away.

piggy: i didnt ask yet? this fri will see my previous gynea Prof Ng than i will ask about it also will complain about the indian gynea too..

Fieda: i still not sure want switch to RH anot. As my first choice is LC Foong (same clinic with indian gynea) i dont know there can let me transfer my case to him anot. If can't than my second choice will be RH.this fri will be confirm which hospital.
Any mummies choose RH? any comment with RH?
That day i visit the RH gynea, she very nice & friendly, she tell me twin maybe/will be delivery early, & the cost will not cheaper so she suggest me go to KKH.. but if i choose the KKH private suite, the charge also no cheap right?

Vanilla, i had my salted egg crabs just now! made my mom cook seaweed and tofu soup. I had literally 2 spoons of rice and soup + crabs. now feeling so nauseated.. eating some grapes to get rid of the taste in my mouth now.. urgh... I thought 50% of women have MS? just 20-30% meh?

Yummii, doesn't sound like u are dehydrated.. u are drinking abt the same as before u were preg? dehydrated mommies tend to be those that cannot even stomach water. try diff fluids, like ribena and whatever that suits ur taste buds.. we do need more water than usual now and I find myself perpetually thirsty. I take abt 2.5-3L of water a day. perhaps u can try moisturising ur skin?

Mei, hope u can change to Dr Foong.. super nice fella.. i hardly see Prof Ng at the clinic though he does most of the IVF procedures..

michelle, but cant help to worried leh.. maybe 1st time mummy ba.. haa.. =D

piggy, i oso wanna eat salted egg crab la.. haa... but now ar.. cuz my mil den we gotta eat home de food dun thk she can eat seafood.. So crab definately out of e picture.. haiz..

I so miss the salted egg crab and butter crabs!! haa.. =D

Morning mommies!

Food:
I also miss crabs!! Cos i am constantly eating, yday i took duck porridge, the night before i took frog leg porridge. hehe.at least i dont feel so guilty! Craving for chocolate fudge cake and when i went to visit mommy yday, wa! open fridge i see chocolate fudge cake. Happie!

Gonna see my xiao ba wang this Friday! Countdown!

Vanilla, lol. Ya usually first time mummy more kan cheong. Last time I will be excited about everything. Now just Bo hiu. Maybe cos previously no ms. Now ms until sian

I've the following to let go:

- 3 tins of Similac Mum (exp Oct'13), $12 each
- Lamaze Spin & Explore Garden Gym @ $15
- Lamaze Gardenbug Foot Finder & Wrist Rattle Set @ $10

Kindly PM me if keen, thanks!

Morning mummies.

Re: Hospital packages
Natural is always cheaper than C-sec due to the shorter stay. The most expensive is emergency C-sec (i.e. you try natural, but due to complications/baby in distress, you have to go for emergency c-sec) as the hospital/gynae can charge you natural fees+c-sec fees. The amount of medisave that can be used is counted like this: $450 (for pre-delivery consultations) + $450 (for delivery) + $450 per day of stay. You can visit the link below for some bill size stats.

http://www.moh.gov.sg/mohcorp/billsizeDetails.aspx?cId=10

Re: Essence of chicken, Birds Nest, Tonics, Herbs
Advisable to start from 4th month/2nd trimester onwards. Reason being is that the first trimester is very crucial for feotal development. Some herbs have unknown/negative effects on the babies development. If you really need to take, try to take only plain essence of chicken with no herbs.

For first trimester, the crucial vitamin is folic acid. However, do note that excessive folic acid is negative to feotal also so stick to prescribed doses.

For 2nd trimester, usually obimin (multi-vitamin), fish oil is prescribed.

Re: EDD
EDD calculated by GP is usually based on last menstral date. May not be accurate if you do not have exactly 28 days regular cycle. For example, I do not have regular menses. So my EDD based on last menstral date is always very far from my EDD through scan (as much as 3 weeks for me). EDD through scan in first trimester (usually abt 10 weeks or so) is the most accurate as growth of baby in the first trimester is the most standard - i.e. baby to baby is almost the same (if measured the same way).

yumii:
You may have dry skin. How about using some hydrating creams on the area.

mei80:
KKH works like this. There are patients who see at the clinics on subsidized rates. Cost is very cheap but each time a different doctor sees you and most are medical officers. I do not recommend unless you need to choose this option due to cost. If you choose your gynae, you have to pay private rates - you can see at clinic or at private suite. In clinics, scans are not by your gynae and they usually don't scan during 2nd trimester much. Hence, private suite is recommended.

Come delivery time, private patients have choice of 2 type of packages - the standard private package where the team on duty looks after you but your gynae comes in for the delivery or the premier private package where your gynae is responsible for you the moment you are warded in delivery suite. Premier is I think $500+ more than standard for normal delivery. Classes of wards for private patients is class B1 (4 bedder) or Class A (single bed).

Actually the main consideration for premature delivery - why some gynaes are you to consider delivering in KK is coz KK is the most equipped for neonatal complications. Most private hospitals have to transfer the babies to KK if they have serious neonatal complications and this transfer is on an availability basis (priority is of coz given to KK babies). And of coz transfer has expensive transfer fees. Transfered in babies will be charged private rates (may not be the same as kk's private patients - this one I'm not sure).

morning mommies
wa tdy human traffic so clear, mus b cos PSLE marking days,
i feel nauseated on/off
now reaching wk 11 adey still like that, will just magically disappear after wk 12 meh???
ARGHHH

Esther, u are not the only one. I m munching on seaweed to curb my nausea. Mouth needs to have something to keep it occupied!! Trying to snack healthily like eating fruits, dried fruits and seaweed. Hehehehe.

So quiet today? Issit PSLE marking day? Saw an accident on the road though so there was no change in travel time for me.

piggywigyy:yeha i eat seaweed oso, n dried apricots but try to get those dried fruits without nitrates or preservatives apparently.
trains n human traffic a bit clearer,but doesn't mean i got a seat on train!!!mayb they should give out badges to mommies-to-be so that we get seats !ha!
cos sometimes i feel real sick on trains

you know, I keep replaying the video of the scan and rewatching... at 9 weeks, can really see the form n shape of the baby and one of the arms moving.. really so amazing right...

The head like same size as the body, really like what the preggie apps describled!

morning mummies. It's Monday again! Sad sad! Long week for me, cos boss in town! Sob sob. I should be at my 11w3d today.. .but still having ms leh! Sob sob. If I'm home the whole day, I can usually control and not vomit at all. Once I'm out (even for just a few hours), I'll be vomiting at least once or twice a day. Wah!! Just weigh myself yesterday, sigh... still not gaining weight!!
It seems so hard for me, whereas for others, it's so easy.

Looking forward to OSCAR scan this Friday, and I should be able to announce to the whole world! haha.. Couple of days back, my mil asked how come u suddenly lost so much weight and asked my hubby if I had some illness! hahaha. Then yesterday, my friend commented about my forehead pimples!! and I just said.. heehee.. cos I'm still young ah.. qing chun tuo ah! :p
Looking forward to this weekend, and next... 26th is a public holiday and I'm on leave 31st for couple of days cos hubby is on reservist! So my turn to look after my son!

Re: Oscar Scan,

It is jus a scan and blood test rite? It doesn't involved any poking elsewhere rite?

How is the process like?

Any 2nd time mummis can enlighted me? =)

hullo everyone *yawn*
re:crabs..
yum yum.. no holds bound for me.. there is this resturant, Fortune Seafood.. they serve most wonderful steamed and salted egg crab!! i told Miser.. i wanna go.. he can't stop me :p

my app tells me today is the 1st day of my 12th weeks...but i am still tired, bloated etc..the hormones.. praying that after OSCAR ..gynae wld tell me no more need for hormones!!!!
and i dun want to hear anything on gender yet.. SO THAT it has a higher chance of a girl.. self-denial what not.. :S
last time in week 12 when i saw my gynae in week 12 coz i had stomach flu.. my gynae asked 'wanna know the gender?'.. i felt my stomach sank.. i replied 'boy right?' she said' yup.. you already knew?'... to which i said..'if not u wun ask me if i want to know the gender so early'....*crows fly past*

kayla: hey hey hey.. no worries.. the age range of my boys is wide enuff to accomodate girl/ladies of all agees.. :p
aunties love them.. and so would ur girl :p
young one too young nvm.. dun forget.. i have an elder one turning 5 years old! and he is also one aunty killer :p

meL: congrats on having twins!

vanilla: i dun have MS too. but the usual tiredness and bloatedness do affect me too.. all these can be considered as preg signs... i think it runs in the family .. MS. i read before...

piggy/esther:eek:h.. dried seaweed.. hey. dun u all find them salty ah?
this miser of all things buy TONS of dried seaweed back from Korea..-.-" and i get headaches if i eat too much seaweed. i always remove the seaweed from sushi one! and never ate a single handroll in my entire life.. i dunno how to 'handle' such a big piece of seaweed without prodding headaches.. :S

i just lugged half a dozen pears.. a packet of dried rasins and figs to office. now no appetite for lunch. i eating fruits salad.. those one pack got cut slices of watermelon, melon and papaya kind... wah.. SO healthy... LOL

Vanilla: no poking elsewhere :p
the process ah.. hmm.. it depends.. most of the times.. draw blood first.. ops.. scary.. hahah. for my gynae's style, i see her first.. then go scan.. report goes to her.. then after that, the enxt follow-up she wld share with me the OSCAR report..

then they asked u to go scan.. most of the time they advise you to scan on a almost full bladder.. so that the scan can come out clearer. they would be measuring the nuchal thickness.. the fluid behind the neck of the bb.. impt for the sonagrapher to be precise.. if bb is cooperative.. within 1 hour plus so ok ok liao. if not go walk around and scan again :p
the detailed scan in 4th/5th month is longer than the oscar scan.. sometime.. if the sonagrapher is kpo enough. they might tell u the gender:p

astro, wah... my oscar scan is on 3rd nov.. Then 10am, i go see my gynae and then 12pm to go TMC for oscar scan le leh.. haa.. Like tat i gotta keep my bladder for very long leh... lol...

U mena if bb cooperate e scan oso need an hr? They really scan e whole bb ar? haa.. Do we get to see e scan like wat we see during normal gynae visits?

Detail scan, not scare ba.. haa.. good leh.. can see more bb ma.. haa. little hands and legs.. keke.. so excited... cant wait for my oscar scan and details scan to come... =D

Have you all already started thinking about names? Waaa headache man.. Hmm to occupy my time for now, I will pick out a few male & female names I like.. hahaha...

ayana, haa. dunno even bb is boy or girl very difficult leh.. anyway even noe e gender oso can thk english name... chinese most ptobably need to wait till give birth den go calculate etc den choose e name.. haa.. =D

ya Chinese name cannot think now.. I mean English names lor.. Nevermind ma, just think of both gender first lor hahah

Hi Geraldine

Have you recover? I am recovering, I have alot of phelgmn too and keep coughing out and even vomit out my phelgmn. hope you gets better. take care!

Hi KRC

I will be doing my oscar this wednesday, will be on my 12w 1 day. so you will be doing exactly on your 12 weeks?

If i remember correctly your EDD is few days later than me? mine is on 2 May 12..

I also still sick of garlic smell and certain cooking smell.. at night I usually don't have much appetite.. haha my mil also mentioned that I am losing weight recently. which is truth.. I have not put on any weight yet..

Hi Mummies! Was supposed to go for my appt last fri right but as I was on the way to the clinic, the nurse call me and say my gyne needs to go for an emergency c-sec. No choice bt to change the appt to another day. But called back to arrange to go on last sat. Waited really long cos it was a Saturday I guess. Finally got to see bb after an hr of waiting! Bb was jumping ard!!!! So happy to see him/her! All worth the long wait.
Confirmed with my gyne that I wont be doing oscar test. Straight do amnio during week 16. Looking forward to it!!!

ayana: haha, so fast ah? but i also tot of the possible names liao..

Chloie: how many weeks are you into? so gd, can c ur baby jumpin ard also.. envy!

ladies, what are the diff tests for? can advise?

hello ladies. it's the start of my 11th week today. i will be doing oscar test this saturday, time seems to be crawling. totally cannot concentrate at work.

i also havent gained any weight yet, not that i'm complaining. i put on like 5 kg after my wedding last year, very scary... so hoping to only gain around 10-12kg for pregnancy, dunno whether possible or not! but hor, i'm not really exercising, so must get my butt moving soon.

was just talking to my 7 months preggie fren, she say she swim/ brisk walk/ yoga/ pilates every single day! no wonder got that pregnancy glow and looks damn fine. inspiring!

wow olivia your fren so hard working.. but i think so many exercises in a day liao. haha..

I also cant concentrate at work and feeling very sleepy now.. I am totally restless...

Olivia, your fren is she sporty kind before preggie..

I remember seeing a news about a preggie woman who went for marathon! @-@ and then gave birth straightaway after reaching the finishing line..

Hi ladies, today is my 11w1day... seems like quite a few have reached wk 12! end of 1st tri soon!!
same here.. still have ms.. but recently taken to drinking MUG rootbeer cos no caffeine- esp after dinner.. helps me feel less sick!

Re weight gain - thought it's a gd thing not to gain weight.. I've been weighing myself and don't think i've really gained much.. maybe a kg or so, but i thought i read that in the 1st trimester 1-2 kg is the recommended weight gain, more or less depending on whether you were over/under weight before being preggie... so more if you were underweight n vice versa...

moment - i'm going for the oscar scan this wed too! not sure if they'll let us see the scan??

haiz... i went for my 'last' 'normal' back massage on sat... so sad.. the guy asked me at the end of the massage why i kept telling them not to massage below upper back.. so i told him i am preggie, then he said, like that i can't do any more massages in future liaoz.. i'm the kind that's used to regular massages.. have a really stiff neck n shoulders... REALLY sore... so... haiz.. a bit sad that i may not be able to continue to indulge in my fav treat... unless go for those prenatal massages... which is like double the price.. haiz...
oh well, the inconveniences we have to bear with our little beanies

hello mummies!!
so many updates here!
firstly mei congrats on your twins! so amazing! first twins here?
i just seen my gynae today and beanie is 31.5mm at 10w, flailing the arms around and making reflex jerks w the body. I cried when i heard the heartbeat, cannot believe it! Hubby had a very bemused look when he saw the ultrasound hehe :D

work has been crazy and i havent had time to keep up w the thread, hope everyone is fine and happy and less MS more food down ur bellies.
Btw i was shopping at my regular shop and the SA asked if i am pregnant. i was ???? i asked if i look fat and she say got bump. i spent the whole night looknig at the mirror, and i figure its 1. fats 2. gas 3. baby is prob too small to be seen la!
Also, i ordered and tried gendermaker for fun. hehe, its pink and showing girl. so lets see if its accurate. very excited!

p.s piggywiggy, im back here!

ak> I was at week 9 & 6 days during last sat's scan. Even hb was so surprised to see bb moving. Your turn will come soon!
I have to wait another 3 weeks to see bb again lei. Super long wait!

Hi Rose..

Oh you will be doing this wed too? tot it shd be done on the 12w?

I also din gain any weight so far, also have abit of MS. I also hope that I can do prenatal massage. Dunno when I can start doing... any lobang for prenatal massage?

btw mommies, anyone doing OSCARS? mine is scheduled 9th Nov, i dont know if i should. My mum says since i am still young i should be fine but theres a nagging feeling in me to do. then again its not conclusive and even knowing i wont end the pregnancy if anything goes wrong so..

i guess the purpose of doing the OSCARS, partially is to get you prepared as well should there be any future complications