(2012/05) May 2012

Good Morning!! Raining morning.. so sianz...

Wow all mummies toking abt their weight so anvy mummies that is so skinny to start with... I m 65Kg now.. ahhaha sianz rite!! Imagine another 10Kg i think my HB will faint lor..

Another Bz day in office!!

morning all mummies! how was the weekend? I was sleeping away my days as usual, am wondering into my week 10 soon, will the MS ease itself soon...I really really can't endure the strange taste in my mouth and the nauseous feeling at the food..

Bread is my 'fav' food on the dinner list now..couldn't stomach anything else..

i'm off folic acid already, now on multi-vit Obimin and calcium pills.. pray everything goes well and bb is growing well for everyone!

morning everyone! congrats to those gg into 10 weeks! Tomorrow will be 9 weeks for me!

Something new from gynae last week.. Dr gave me the Neurogain S pills, says its DHA for brain development..

Nov faster come! I'm so counting down to Nov!

micteo ~ it was good, can see baby's hb though its very small. but will need to see a dietian bcos i dun take veggies.... this time round doc is very careful as there might be a chance of preterm birth too. but i must say Dr Wee really makes me feel at home. My hubby likes him too.

Ladies, i put on 20kg during my first pregnancy ah! I forced myself to eat as baby wasn't growing well that time but that 20kg still did not go to baby. However I mananged to shed off 17kg after birth. So dun worry, can shed off one.

littledotty ~ thought folic is to be taken throughout the pregnancy?

Morning everyone

i had more cramps after being put on duphaston.. SO.. went back to gynae the next day and given a jab and put on utrogestan thrice daily!
haiz. was told utrogestan is stronger than duphaston.. sian.. now gotta complete this and then another week of duphaston till week 12.. *sian 1/2*

littledotty: i was told Obimin might worsen MS!

Hi Jas: were u given duphaston to help relax the womb to avoid the cramps? feeling better now?

re probabilty of getting 4 boys in a row
this one.. i seriously was thinking thru this scenario.. and i figured that the chances would not be the same as having 4 kids leh.. each time is 50 - 50 (but actually easier ot have boys than girls).. but overall probabilty needs to be computed using Bayes Theorem of conditional probability (my Doctorate friend said so.. so let's just believe him :p i remembered drawing this probability tree before also.. didn't know then that was Bayes Theorem).. anyway.. a quick summay guide to see the overall proability.. yeah yeah yeah.. the power of the web! :p

http://www.in-gender.com/XYU/Odds/Gender_Odds.aspx

for a deeper read till u get confused, read this. probabilty of tossing a coin.
http://gwydir.demon.co.uk/jo/probability/info.htm

Icez: ya. i really never buy 4D/toto one.. LOL

Chloie: amnio has 0.03 chance of miscarriage

http://www.webmd.com/baby/guide/amniocentesis?page=2

Candymix: amniocentesis has 99% chance of accuracy of determining the gender

read this?

<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

How does amniocentesis detect baby gender?
The amniotic fluid extracted is analysed during a number of different tests including an examination of your baby’s chromosomes under a microscope. The chromosome analysis will clearly identify whether your baby is a boy or a girl as the 23rd chromosome pairing will either be XY or XX. An XY pair denotes a boy, whereas an XX pair is for a girl. The amniotic fluid is used because it contains cells that are shed from the baby’s skin, the amnion sac and also from the baby’s urinary tracts. All these cells will contain chromosomes that can be studied.

Other tests are conducted including a measurement of the quantity of a protein called alphafetoprotein. High quantities of this protein may indicate the presence of neural tube defects. This test of the quantity of alphafetoprotein will probably be conducted even if the test was taken to check chromosome health and confirm baby gender. Other tests can also be made that analyse DNA and enzyme presence to diagnose other possible genetic defects.

Results should be available within two weeks and possibly much sooner depending on the number of tests. All results will be sent directly to your doctor for their assessment before they schedule an appointment with you to discuss the findings.

<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
http://www.baby-gender-predictor.net/baby-gender-predictor/baby-gender-predictor-amniocentesis

re: weight
with each preg.. 10 kg stays on me.. though i put on average 11kg nia .. haiz.

so...

Zp1503: u gotta teach me how to lose that much weight.. hmm.. 15 kg would be good.. LOL
breastfeeding hur? i knwo and did that.. but still.. haiz..
now i am overweight.. haiz

folic acid is esp important during fri tri to avoid spina bifida (a neural defect).. babies with spina bifida would not surivive.. once first tri passed.. and bb scanned to be okay.. folic acid becomes juzt another vitamin which can be taken in our daily diet
so dun really need to keep taking that..

Zp1503: do u take eggs or beans? these are high in folic acid.

Morning ladies... it's a wet morning again... hw i wished i can just stay at home and slp the day away... haha

Vanilla: i hear you man... me also put on alot during my #1 &amp; yet to finish shedding off then nw preg with #2 again... chiam.. trying to keep my fingers crossed to not put on so much this time round.. haiz... nvm lahz.. now most imptly is the well-being and growth of the little one inside us... wait till we give birth liaoz then we all jia you to diet!!! hehehee..

Hi Fifi.. that very good.. I so hope that I can get a gal too. My elder boy keep saying is a didi but when probe him more he want to have a mei mei he said he want.. but the first ans will keep saying is didi..

Heard le already 50% lost confident le haha.. I also heard that when you have bb gal your tummy will tends to be rounder and fuller if you have boy your placenta will be quite low and the tummy will be sharp. For my both boys my is quite low and is sharp.

I keep looking at my tummy though is not obvious but I start to keep aiming on it hahah..

moment: technically.. it is easier to get boys than girls! boys 51%, girls 49%.

but fear not.. let's remain positive.. we still have 47.7% of having a girl after two boys!.. though less than half :p (and i dunno why the link says after each boy the probability of getting a girl will decrease slightly)..

and oh.. for 4 kids with all boys .. overall probability is 6.3% (close to my 0.0623 :p) but in reality.. 9.1% of families have 4 boys! *gasp*

for 4 girls , probability is again 6.3 but reality is 5.5% :p

astro_pro ~ I ony breastfeed for 2 months bcos that time, my baby sleeps in the day &amp; wakes up at night, i didnt have enough sleep thus supply went down... How i lost that 15kg? I worked it out, 4 times a week Mon-Thur &amp; everytime for 2 hrs.

Oh yes, i do take eggs but not beans. Is there any different between folate &amp; folic?

Hi astro...

Think we dont think too much.. just hope bb to be fine and healthy. Gender we just leave it to fate.. if really can't get it then also no choice le.

My hubby still tease me and said if this time can't get again then try for the 4th time..

With this morning sickness I don dare to think further.. plus my 2 boys sometimes was wondering I dunno how am I going to handle during my confinement itself.. really don dare to think of it..

zp1503, I see... hmmm will it help if you take suppliments to replace veggies? And ya i agree tat's its very impt to go to a gyane tat you and hubby both feel comfy with.

I'm with Dr Benjamin Tham from TMC... like him very much.. cos he always makes me feel very clam &amp; relax.. haha!

Hello all MTBs!

Been a long time!
Wasnt feeling up to on computer the last 3 days. Last nigth was madness. Couldnt sleep =(

I could feel the vomit up to my throat but refuses to come down. And my tummy aches so much but yet cant shit..

I m on week 7 and i see that u girls had worst on week 9-10. OMG =(

I am counting down Nov too!

Morning ladies!!!!
Wow! How come some of you so slim one huh? I only managed to shed off about 6kg before I test bfp thru vegetarian diet [ordered by a medium to do so]. Now about 64kg &amp; I'm slowly gain the weight back. Have been trying to maintain my food intake but sometimes really cannot stand the hunger pangs lei! Now Im so swollen. Hate to look into the mirror now.

Hi Yip..

Yes, I sometimes still will feel like vomitting when I happened to take small amt of garlic or the food that my bb don like although I am already 10 weeks.. haiz.. also dunno how long it will last..

i DUN WANT to share my weight here.. let's just say.. i might just hit 100kg.. if i put on too much weight! GOSH.. alamak..
ok. but i am tall.. (have always used that as a life saver :p)

Moment: yeap.. healthy is more impt.. and yes. me will try for #4.. if still cannot get it.. like i say. i will go set up stall and give out toto numbers liao..

Zp1503: wow! ok.. i must be like u.. then i can be supermodel..(height nia).. :p
folate and folic acid are the same. the last i know

u take milk? also high in folic acid too..

zp1503: ur bb that time has confused day and night. very common amongst newborns.. so must right that cycle from day 1!.. ha.. sleepy fellows..

but still some time before we embarked on that phase.. and i am sure with the experience we have here.. it wun happen to you again

Chloie,

Swollen is the word lor! I also very pek chek every morning trying to fit in the clothes... all cannot wear sia! sian sian sian... somemore at this point of time.. the tummy not here not there... not big enuff to show tat "I'm Pregnant" not small enuff to fit my any of my pants! arhhhg!

yes yes, i take milk. 2 times a day with Similac Mum. My office will be moving soon &amp; i've heard that the new place have got a gym in the same building which makes me easier to work out after i return from maternity

Yes, i know baby will get confused but he was in the NICU for 1 month &amp; there are windows there thus we thought that he would have known what is day &amp; night, that time was really tiring... Can you imagine my hubby was carrying him &amp; fell alseep with the baby almost falling down the chair!! Luckily i woke up to check on them and caught my baby. Have got a pic &amp; that was so funny!

micteo~Like that way you put it: the tummy not here not there... not big enuff to show tat "I'm Pregnant" not small enuff to fit my any of my pants!

Folic Acid> I thk take till about 20 weeks can stop liao. Cos by then the spin is formed aldy.

micteo> YA! I look more of fat than preg! When I wear a tighter bottom, the whole tummy will muffin out and I just practically look FAT! When I wear a loosen bottom, still can cover the tummmy.

Ladies, I hva a questions with regards to milk.. is it better to take those powder form milk or fresh milk? I think i can still take in fresh milk.. powder form milk like abit bleh... :p

i had never had the privilege of being a pregnant woman bcos i also look more fat than preggy. Despite 24wks, no one in the mrt gave up their seat for me... Only once when i touched my tummy. And that time, i was so fat till i can't really recognise myself in the mirror.

From what I know, maternal milk are very fattening. I putted on alot of weight from it. I start clear from it now. Fresh milk, ppl say need to drink lots of it to achieve the recommended intake requirement. So I drink fresh milk about every other day and take my daily supplement with calcium. So it's still up to individual.
If you find the powder form milk too blend, add in a bit of milo powder. It will taste good!

Hi astro.. Y need to set up toto stall hahah..

btw, if you are trying for the 4th one then this one u wil not have any stress.. so don stress too much now..

Gd morning.

Yup yup. I'm 10 wks 2 days and still feeling nauseated. Last night hb went to paint my son's table. End up the whole house got the paint smell. Really feel like puking!!!

I'm spotting again. Sigh. Light brown again. I seem to be only spotting on Sats. Urgh!! Plus my tummyache is back.

Effie, same same. My tummy hurts plus I m spotting. Seems to be tummy discomfort but not cramps (I hope). Take prunes to go to the loo. It helped me.

Ayana, how much did u pay for ur neurogain? Urs is the blue or the pink bottle? I paid $34 for the blue bottle. 3 yrs back was $27!!!

piggy, Not sure how much my Dr charge me leh, will get the receipt next time I visit him, will share when I get it.

What's the diff between the blue and pink bottle? Mine is the pink one.

I think I will go get the milk powder since it can help me put on weight... zzz

Ayana, the pink bottle is $43 if I dun rem wrongly. DHA amt is more compared to the blue bottle. My gynae hasn't started me on fish oil but I took neurogain from 6 wks onwards for my first so I thought I will do it by myself first.

Actually there is a diff btw calcium in pill form and in food form. Calcium in food form are more readily absorbed compared to those in pill form. Do if u dun wanna take maternal milk, can try those high calcium soya milk(market type don't count), tofu (2 boxes a day meets the requirement), tao gua, yoghurt or cheese.
. I nv had an issue with calcium or need pills cos I take a lot of milk (I drink children powder milk) and tofu daily.
and get sunshine! Haha!!

haiz.. yeap. i got bacterial infectio and hence the cramping and discharge/slight bleeding. am told to go back to get antibiotics.. haiz more pills to take. oh well..

piggywiggy: keep spoting and cramps..hey. go see gynae do a check. mine turns out to be an bacterial infection which is treatable with antibiotics prescrbed by the gynae.

moment: coz. having 4 boys straight is a 0.0623 chance and if i can hit that.. i shd be good enough to give out toto numbers liao!

ayana: sorry can't laughing laughing. the majorit of ladies here dun wan tto put on weight.. u have the more fortunate problem of wanting put on more weight.. can i transfer some of my fats to you? :p
just joking lah. ur figure is what i DREAMED off man...

littledotty: you're with Dr Liauw right? So fast off folic acid already? I think you and i around same time, i'm also starting 10 weeks today. Doc say stop folic acid from week 12 lei. i also started on calcium and obimin today.

re calcium
and do remember to space out your calcium and iron intake.. iron reduce calcium intake by 50%. you will hear ur nurses telling u to space them out.. 2 hours before or after is fine..

i dun drink milk.. hmm.. is there low fat strawberrymilk? LOL

morning all mummies! how was the weekend? I was sleeping away my days as usual, am wondering into my week 10 soon, will the MS ease itself soon...I really really can't endure the strange taste in my mouth and the nauseous feeling at the food..

Bread is my 'fav' food on the dinner list now..couldn't stomach anything else..

i'm off folic acid already, now on multi-vit Obimin and calcium pills.. pray everything goes well and bb is growing well for everyone!

Astro, unlikely that im having an infection. I'm on aspirin so will be prone to bleeds. Plus I'm not itchy or having smelly discharge. I notice that I tend to have tummyaches when I move my bowels! Strange but true. Anyway doc scanned me and told me I got old blood inside me so expect it to come out when I saw him 2 wks ago. If not red blood, don't have to see him.

zp1503: wah.. sleep while holding the bb!
that is the biggest worry i had last time.. haha. the next is tripping and falling while holding onto BB!

piggy: i see.. i dun have smelly discharge nor itch yet was tested positive for infection. but ya.. the gynae is concerned if blood... i had once. slight when i wiped. .. now all scanty brown discrhage.. i also have tummy aches when move bowels.. ha..

Olivia: Yes yes gal, she put me off folic acid, said finish then take the obimin and calcium pills..so I nodded my head lo, tho I also thought folic must be eaten throughout preggy..and somemore only 30 pills which means eaten for a month only..

Astro: ARE you sure???? obimin worsens MS?? OMG, I hope it is not true gal, I tot by today I finish the duphaston, my MS will gradually ease..if obimin worsens MS, then tough times ahead..100 pills somemore..*bang head...

re: milk
really must drink those for pregnant mothers? I only drink magnolia low fat milk everyday...coz i heard the milk meant for mummies is really fattening..

Folic Acid..
I also tot had to take it throughout preggy too.. did tat for my #1 lei... only start to take the fish oil after 1st tri... think start now too early?

Milk..
like Piggywiggy's adviced.. maybe I will take alternative food like soya milk and tofu cos fats and Kgs are the least i need now... haha!

ya envy Anana... can hv the excuse to eat more and out on weight... so nice lor...

Btw my gyane say can eat sashimi lei... but small amount.. wah i so happy! haha!

Hi Mummies, congrats on ur pregnancy

I have BNIB milk bottles let go because i stocked up too much.

AVENT 125ml x 2 bottles (1 Set)
AVENT 260ml x 2 bottles (1 Set)
Comes with Size 1 teats.
Get both sets for $35.

NUK classic bottles 110ml x 2 - $18 for 2
Comes with Size 1 M latex teats
NUK quality bottle 250ml x 1 - $8
Comes with Size 1 M silicone teat

Brand new Avent pacifier 0-3mths - $10.

Pls PM me to deal.

Sorry to interrupt.
I've got Clarins anti stretch mark oil to sell at $60 include normal postage. I think retail price is $0 plus. Let me know if anyone keen

Re:Weight,
haa.. 爱而丝他若, i'm on ur side.. no to worry.. haa.. i target 10kg only.. haa.. hopefully not over 10kg lo..

Re:Milk,
those mummy milk are fattening? huh... i dun like fresh milk.. anyway, is it a must? Jus taking e supplement not enough? I'm taking e blackmores pregnancy and breastfeeding de pills...

Vanilla, I'm taking it too! haha! tat day went Mustafa and we were browsing at their endless shelves of suppliments... it's cheaper over there... heheh! but.. donno safe to buy from them or not lei..

I was telling my HB tat he like to sabo me.. buy me such big pills for me to swallow...