(2012/05) May 2012

i dunno shld i wish to get vomit or just feel nausea. lol.

Welcome bunnybaby! hehe.. wow! at least u are more than half of first trimester!

Thanks esther! haha! Hubby says he knows why now we have Mother's Day cos we go thru all these shit. So i asked him why then Father's Day.. he said, look at me now (then he was cradling me cos i feel so miserable). Me miss laogong! hahahahahaha.

Hi mummy to be

Was told by gene cannot eat raw food...so salad, veg NOT cook , is it call raw

Tomaotes...not cook can eat?

Did u gals start tar king fish oil, iron and calcium already?

gelin,
u flying to US this dec? so shiok! can do lotsa of baby stuff shopping at those factory outlets! and by then we will be in 2nd tri, good time to travel cos tummy not so big yet, pregnancy more stable and all those uncomfortable preggy symptom should be over. i went taipei during my 2nd tri when i was preggy with my #1. totally enjoy myself!

yip,
ya... i m counting down everyday to week 12. seems like forever maybe becos my stupid MS started really early, tink ard week 5.
ur hubby so sweet lor...

miko,
fruits and veg can eat w/o cooking de. dun worry.

miko: i'll give salads a miss actually , especially those sit at salad bar v long adey

yip: yeah talking abt nausea,i feel bad now oso

oeiii,mother's day oso cos we go though all the birth pains, bfeeding pains,heehe...list goes on!

ya i think i can turn vegetarian and a camel. I am actually quite bad. i am in vietnam, and the drinks here are horrible! so i am not thirsty, and not drinking much. need to top up my water tank when i head back this week le.

Avoid ham, sausages etc, fish smell i puke, only left chicken and somemore is chicken breast. =(

Thanks qinyi! =)
I also starting to count down. eh mine i think is week 3. abit weird right? cos i feel nausea (but no headache), then was overseas. came back gynae said week 4 day 0. now is around week 5 day 4 still liddat. 6 week 2 days...

cant wait!!! hehehe.

Wah why u all so hot? All no mood to work? I'm counting down till 4 so I can go and see gynae!

Vanilla, feeling better today? Fetal pole is the length of ur fetus, before u can see definite body shape.

Re: MS and feeling emo/ moody
Cheer up mommies!! How u feel will affect ur baby!! Try and stay cheerful and relax and tell urself MS will pass soon. Hang in there, abt 2 hrs 45 mins before we can all go home!

Haven't seen Littledotty today. Hope she is ok!!

Urgh I had fish soup for lunch. Couldn't finish and keep on burping the fish smell out. So gross!

esther - me too. feel so sick... hope the day will end soon...

yip - drink those bottled mineral water. Its better than not drinking water.

talking about food. My hubby says i eat like a bird now. I only manage to finsh 1/3 of my lunch just now. If i try to stuff more food, i will get more sick. =(

yip,
u r in hanoi or hcm? play safe okay, drink mineral water there and dun take the ice cube there. ur ms also started so early? sigh... cos usually people start their MS ard week 6. i wonder if people like us who started MS early, would it end early too?? lolx!

yip: thanks!u shud drink only bottled water,careful k!i realise that the more dehydrated i feel, the more sick i feel, so sips of warm water is good

piggywiggy: i like come work show face,so sleepy, on/off sick feeling the whole day...

Piggy, ya I'm feeling ok now.. Sorethroat I getting better jus hope tat it dun worsen At night.. Dunno y sick always at night wanna find trouble de leh.. Day time ok de but at night felt more sick.. Haa..

U oso going to see ur beanie today.. Haa.. I thk ak oso going tdy.. Lol.. Update us on ur beanie wor.. =D

Re: cold,
I do feel cold at night and day time still alright..

Hi piggywiggy and zara, how are your scans? Oh, vanilla too! Hope all of your scans are fine!

I felt so paiseh the last time I went to the gynae, I trembled from the moment I stepped into the clinic to the doc's rm! Think got too worried about the outcome and heartbeat.. :p
The next time will be next Tues, week 9 already..

Hopefully the whole day sickness (bunnybaby you are right!) will go off us soon, I dont want think too much about it too but sometimes it can get quite bad..just tahan tahan and tahan!

Re: cold
I do feel cold all the time too, esp at night, I have to wear my jacket after my bath and home slippers...

wah piggywiggy! got hands and legs already?! how many weeks are you now? but your gynae machine is the super 4D one right? so i guess not all of us will be so lucky to see hands and legs so early on.

Congrats! and 185bpm sounds like a terrific heartrate. although as the pregnancy progresses, the hb should decrease somewhat to around 120-150bpm? i read if heartrate below 140bpm maybe boy! higher than 140bpm maybe girl. becos boys typically have lower heartrate. food for thought =)

Piggy: Tats so cute!!

Dotty: I'm still waiting for my turn at the clinic. Appt got delayed since 3.45pm... So tired I fell asleep in the car jus now... Still gotto wait another 45min... According to Missy... Heheheh... Luckily I brought a bun with me.. Hungry le...

Littledotty, mine is tml.. Haa.. Keeping my finger cross.. Hope everything is fine..

Piggy, Wah.. Tats so cool la.. I oso hope can see leh... Hands n legs.. How many weeks r u in already?? Can't wait for mine tml.. Haa.. =D

yeah! finally going to knock off soon.

one day down.. lucky this afternoon i got appetite.. really hope that the chinese medicine did help me..

Piggywiggy, so cool. I'm sure it's a very touching moment. (;

Zara and vanilla,, do keep us posted when you're done with your appt. I'm so excited for all of you.

I can't wait for mine, which is next monday. Gotta wait for a bout a week more The clock better tick faster.

I saw my baby alr! So tiny, 0.75cm. My gynae says I'm only 5 weeks and 1 day.. So diff from calculation at 7 weeks and 5 days. Haha. But I haven't go hear the hb, she says go back 3 weeks later.

Raine, Haa.. I really hope Everything is ok.. Ya.. E waiting is killing la!!! Haiz.. But urs will come de.. =D

I always tell DH 好的东西是值得等待的, good stuffs are worth e wait. I waited for 22 yrs for YOU(DH) to appear leh.. Haa.. Cuz DH is my 1st love.. One and only.. Lol.. =D

So I'm proud to always said tat.. Best stuffs are always worth e wait!! =D

Ak, so excited and amazing la.. Tho I haven seeine yet.. But I noe it's sure to be excited la.. I thk they nv calculate from ur LMP they calculated from ur ovulated period tats y is 2 weeks lesser.. Haa.. When is ur EDD? I'm so excited for mine.. Can't wait!!! Haa.. =D

Quick one...

Just reached danang.... One hr flight from hcmc... Vomitted on flight and once step hotel room vomit again. Dunno is it too acidic, ,y throat feels burning now from the stuffs...

congrats piggywiggy and ak!
Both are great news!

Ak, I was prescribed duphaston as well, that was because I was spotting a little..it is to stabilize the bb and increase the hormones.. good for bb, not to worry..

piggywiggy! that is so cool! I pray I will see mine too when I go next week! If according to bb growing 1 mm per day, it will measured about 2 cm too!

wow the posts r moving real fast!... great to hear all gd news from mummies who went for their scan!

ak: yes my gynae told me the same thing... was said to 'an tai'...

waiting for my scan on this sat... hopefully can c much of the little one soon!!

Thanks ladies! booked my Nuchal translucency test too.. so fast hor.. but the bad news is there is still old blood in the womb so i m to expect spotting.. bleah.

Olivia, no leh, gynae used normal ultrasound.. baby is too small to do 4D and i won't pay for it lor.. to me its a waste of money! cos u still cannot see the face properly. Yes can see hands and legs.. gynae saw baby moving his/ her hands but i missed it.. haha.. oh the heart rate more than 140bpm is not true.. for my son, his heart rate also 172-180 bpm came out boy.. doc said to expect heart rate to be abt 180bpm at 8 wks.

Vanilla, i'm 8 wks 3 days today.
yes can see arms and legs! update us aft ur scan tmr!
http://www.babycenter.com/6_your-pregnancy-8-weeks_1097.bc?intcmp=timeline

AK, hrmm how come the dates are so off? u have varied cycle length?

Littledotty, yeah its amazing!! i did tummy scan today so i thought won't be as accurate but no lor.. can see the hands and legs! i hope u see ur beanie's ones next wk too!

Zara, how's ur scan?

Wow - so fast, the posts!

Yip - you don't like beef? I love the beef pho in vietnam... all the soupy stuff, yum! they also have bbq meat with rice? bun cha or something i think, it's called?

Update: saw the bb's heartbeat today, thank God! Sort of teared when the doc let me hear it, hubby says it's v strong, but i think it's just a normal hb! heh.
Doc measured the CRL to be 20.2mm, and dated it 8w2d today, which is about right (my estimation from LMP was 8w4d)

Very relieved to finally hear the hb, this being my third consultation!

Now i have three pics... want to put together a preg journal of some sort... i remember spring maternity used to sell some kinda preg journal for MTBs to write stuff in... any idea if it's still available? Or where else do they sell such stuff?

Hey piggywiggy, ya. The dates are so off right? I used to have irregular menses so probably that's y my gynae took my ovulated date (but I think she also agar agar one) I still believe that I'm at least 7 weeks. Haha.

Re massage: I just asked my gynae today about shoulder/head massage and aromatherapy (essential oils etc) and he said it's okay! Also had a friend who went ahead with the massages when she was preggie and she's fine... i think as long as we tell them to stick with the upper body and not move down, should be fine?

Heh... i can't wait for my facial tmw, shall ask my masseuse to go full steam with the shoulder massage.. plus the head massage! my head's been hurting for the past few days, like non stop headaches!

Congrats Rosegal! its an amazing feeling right? have fun at the massage..

AK, if u have varied cycle length then prob can't pin down the day u ovulated. u asked abt Dusphaston? i m on it too... 3 pills a day. it is actually synthetic progesterone, the hormone that holds ur lining tog. i m also on biweekly progesterone jabs! Thank god i stopped my progesterone inserts. looking at it really makes me feel like pukey..

I think i will book my CL liao.. haha.. heard that next yr is pretty hot so wanna do it early..

Piggy, Raine, and everyone else... My scan was great!!! I saw baby heart beat pumping very hard n could hear it too!!!! Loud n clear!!! So cute! Hubby also very amazed to c our beanie.. I'm nw 6wks 6 days le.. I even teared abit...

Gynae say all is good n I can go hk.. But he did prescribed duphaston for me jus in case... Yay! Nxt appt is one mth later!

Btw, sorry for being late.. Appt was super delayed n I had to fill my crying stomach with food before I post.... hee..

I'm about 5 wks now just tested positive few days back.

Like to check if anyone experience some light brown stain during ur 5wks pregnancy?

Worried that its abnormal as seeing gynae only 2wks later.

Hi Clara, welcome!

I sometimes do have little brownish stains.. Pinky stains.. But I asked my gynae n he said is ok.. Unless it's a lot of bleeding with painful abdominal cramps... It's usually ok.. But if u r worried, maybe u she go see ur gynae earlier?

piggy: Yup, she prescribed me dusphaston for 2 pills a day. glad that its good for us..

CL is confinement lady right? Not sure what she does but is it to prepare the food and helpin us to take care of bb? I decided that my mother wil be my CL!

Zara: great! can hear bb hb is so nice, i will only get to hear in 3 weeks time as im scare of doing transvaginal scan..

Hi Clara,
probably u monitor for a day or two, try to rest more and minimise walking or carrying heavy stuff. Any cramps that came along with the stain? COuld be old blood from your previous menses.

Hi Zara, thx! That's really help. Now I'm more assured.

Wow looks like u gals r really active in this thread. Hope to c my beanie
2 wks late w strong heart beat too!!

Zara, yay! happy to pay to see ur baby right?

Clara, light brown spotting is usually nothing to be worried abt.. i m 8.5 wks and still spotting occasionally. like what the other mommies said, as long no cramps, or if bleeding doesn't turn red and heavy, then shd be ok. u can go and see ur gynae and he can prescribe u some progesterone support if u are worried.

AK, i hope u and ur mom get along well! one thing gd abt getting hired help is that u can scold them or even fire them. getting relatives to help is tougher cos u can't just let it rip at them. My CL is very gd.. i had wonderful, wonderful meals.. like wanton mee, ee mee, etc for BREAKFAST!! how's that?! she makes very gd pig trotters too.. aft 2 wks she boiled me some DOM thingy with herbs but it made me dizzy.. the bad thing abt her was that she wasn't pro-bf-ing and it was aft i told her off before she relented. otherwise was an ok experience for me. would prob get her back to do my confinement if she is free.

CL does not only feed u, mine washes baby's clothes and help to put my clothes into the wash and hang it up. she also takes care of baby at night. i would prepare bottles of EBM which she would heat up to feed my son when he was crying. sometimes gotta admire her cos she hardly slpt at night and she is up cooking for me by 7am.

wow piggy, sounds so gd! can recommend? Haha, but since our EDD so near, dont think can hire her

by the way,what are the charges for CL?
but if scold these ppl, dont knw what they will put inside ur food or treat the bb? Thats the downside. But ur CL really sounds awesome!

I suppose to be 6 weeks preggie but got not much systopms only swollen breast and very hot temper do I need to worry I do not have systpoms . Seeing doc only nwxt week

hahhah AK, how to recommend? if she takes me, she def cannot take u. :p when i had my son she charged $2000. now i dunno the rates.. may be increase a bit?

The thing is having a gd CL that ur fren recommended might not work out the same for u. it really boils down to personality. I recommended my CL to a couple of my frens. most of them love her and her cooking but one of my fren hate her to the core. said my CL didn't wake her up to bf the baby but instead fed the baby formula milk. and that the CL dunno how to massage her breasts when she had block ducts and ended up causing her to have mastitis. to me, if i hear my baby cry, i will wake up to check. or i will prep the milk properly so that CL feeds. i do not expect them to think like a mom cos they are not the baby's mom. really lor, u gotta open one eye, close one eye.

Nah i m not too worried abt what they can put in my food. cos what i eat she also eat. and if i sick i won't recommend her to others.. but of cos i didn't scream at her lah. just told her teary (really tearing) that i won't feed my baby formula lor because of medical condition... (i'm hyper allergenic and my son inherited it). she understood and aft that kept boiling soups for me. to me u can be firm yet nice if u know what i mean.

Babiesmeme, welcome.. Littledotty has the link to the Google spreadsheet where u can update ur details!

piggywiggy, zara - yep, it's fantastic to finally be able to hear ze heartbeat! So cool! :D

re CL: yep,I also read cos next year's a bz yr we'd better start soon!

Also, the antenatal classes... supposed to register for those and start attending when we're week 20. I looked at tmc's site and they only have either end Nov (too early) or late Jan (i should be wk 23 by then so maybe a bit too late?) But for those of you who are 5 weeks now, this date might be gd? Perhaps no need to register so early, but just kiv? But Madam Wong Boi bo?'s classes at TMC are v popular, so need to book in advance too... just to share.

Zara, Haa.. Tml is also suppose to be my 6 weeks 6 days.. Haa.. According to e iPhone app.. =D

Thk we have quite a few new comers tdy.. Welcome!! =D

Re: CL,
I doubt I'll be able to get 1 without my relatives saying.. Why get. Why spent extra money?? Etc etc.. In my family no one ever engage CL.. Cuz mostly my Aunty noe what foo to cook and many have DIL or daughter given birth and do confinement Liao.. So they consider as Lao jiao already.. Haa.. Before birth my mom should be able to learn from em like cook wat for me, if I'm lucky some of my relatives still will cook for me if time permits.. Tats wat I thk la.. Haa..

Rose, wat is anenatal class?

Re: bb hb,
So excited la.. Jus finish my yoga den bath.. Haa.. Tired now.. Woke up 8am in e morning.. Now wanna zzz Liao.. Sleep Liao tml wake up can see my beanie Liao lo.. Haa =D

Wow! It's such an exciting day! So many of you managed to your beanies' hb. Aww! Make me more anxious to see mine nxt week.

Piggywiggy, ur CLReally sounds good. I agree that we have to close one eye at times. The same goes for domestic helpers. Before I got married, i always can't stand my mum's domestic helper, like how she pack my room will get me on my nerves.

Re CL
I think most CL are going to increase their price. Heard from my friend, hers is charging her $2200 for last month. So I reckoned it should be around there or more. I don't know if I should get a CL or a domestic helper to help with chores and get confinement food catering.

Re antenatal classes
Rosegal, when are we able to start booking? Lols! The thought of the dragon year baby boom makes me kiasu. :/

Hello mummies!! Have been reading all your posts but not able to post in office.

Re: CL
I've booked my previous CL. She was already booked up to mar. She told me that current rate is $2.2k when I only paid her $1.8k 2 yrs ago!! Btw, these exclude e 1st and last day ang bao which is compulsory.
For 1st time mummies, u may wanna ask around for recommendation.

Re: bb hb
Looking forward to my gynae's appt on thur. Hopefully can hear bb's hb too!!

Vanilla, have lei. Those tingkat ones. You google then will see a few caterers. Saw a few, their food looks quite yummy. Haha! Have double boiled soups kind. But it's not very cheap, also works out to be about $1k plus for 28 days.

Welcome all new mummies! Jas, wow, ur previous CL is so popular.... Up to Mar. Seems like we have to act early and be kiasu soon. :)

Hahaha maybe we can all collate the names and submit for the prenatal classes! That way if it is full, she cant reject us... Heehee.. Bulk purchase for her.

Re cl... I be getting mil who is a nanny. She probably can't cook as well but I can get mommy cook for me. Mil can help take care baby! Haha save my $2200 for milk powder. Wa! Now wat catering also have. They really know how to earn.

Updates: after puking I feel better though I still feel nausea etc but at least is controlled. The flight was so bumpy that it made me puke. changed my flight and I am coming home tmr! Yayness!!!