(2012/05) May 2012

Phyllis u may try to keep offering the breast to your boy. Maybe the stimulation will help increase supply. On Dolly's advice I drank a lot of water and managed to increase more. I usually pump only twice per day and get abt 100-120ml but today I got 160ml (5hrs interval).

Phyllis, last time my recurring block is at low right of my right breast. And it's due to I din notice n it slowly grow bigger. I've less block duct as compared to #1 cos I'm on alert everytime I pump or latch and press whatever hard lump towards my nipple. If u still hv block duct after pump ard the nipple, hand squeeze one by one like squeeze pimple to clear them away.

CK: it's perfectly fine to pump inside the room! Maybe that e mother suspect u were resting inside? Cos I really encounter people do that before!

FAAA: yeah! High 5! Congrats on the increased supply!

FAAA: weird i replied to your email.. i cant add you due to your privacy setting.. so need you to add me instead..

CK: yes can pump inside nursing room in malls.. i also did it before.. and i know some ppl also like u.. ofc no nursing room so go malls & pump..

Ck: where is your office? Like yingzz said, nursing can be done outside also mah. Sometimes when I find nursing room too stuffy or too squeezy, I just go to departmental store n pump. Like the M&S shoe dept, or those seats at taka escalator. And u can't pump in public!
Rabbitz: so ur baby drink even more after the dream feeding n this new teat? Ytd my nanny pass me leftover milk n my gal drink them all ( 80ml in 2 separate feeding though). I'm happy about that

FAAA: kena virtue cycle, now drink more, pump more, get more thirsty and drink more again! Haha

Faaa I tried for the past few days to let him latch but he refused to take the breast. Guess too long didn't latch and got used to bottle feeding already. I'll keep trying this wkend. See how it goes now my ebm is only enough for 2 bottle feeds so he's drinking more fm 3-4 times a day 110ml
I drink 2 litres of water during the 2 times pumping session in office and also more water during the day. Sigh... SS still so pathetic

Phyllis: I drank up 4 litres in office to see the increase. Hehe so got to drink more throughout.
Try to "starve" ur baby and only offer him ur breast. He will hv to drink when hungry
sound a bit cruel but u do offer him the breast. I did that to my gal, on the third day she's better ( but mine us the othe way round, bottle instead of breast) need to start doing that cos I might need to work weekend and hubby will need to feed her then.
Yingzz: wow sharp eye. Haha yeah, I dun bring pump outside. My gal is my savior on weekends

Phyllis: I went back to basics again, I started eating oatmeal and drink a lot of water again. This is on top of my fenugreek. Hopefully, I can get back my ss again. Btw, I know of someone who does breast massage. My friend recommended her to me and I went to a few times to clear my blockage. You can pm me if u need her help.

mummies who are using medela freestyle, does the skin ard the nipple tear if the shield doesnt fit? So weird, the skin ard my left nipple tear once i start using freestyle to pump in office. Any remedy for such tear? I have started to apply the nipple cream again, but it starts to tear once i use the pump. i have change the shield alr. but kinda hurt cos it produces the yellowish tingy and stick to the breast pad L(

My office at clementi area... The mall has ONI 1 nursing room which is really inconvenient... But still grateful tt there is this alernative for me.. If nOt, I seriously wun be able to cont BF I think..

Mummies, where do u buy your Lecithin from? I was at GNC today and the salesperson told me their lecithin not recommended for lactating mothers?

Ak: u just reminded me abt the yellow thingy which stuck my nipple w the breast pad! Painful, must slowly peel it away. But that happen when I first started bf my #2, not due to pump.
Are u using the soft shield or the hard shield? U might wanna try the hard shield cos i find that my breast get stuck w the shield more w the soft shield. Also, do ur nipple move freely in n out of the funnel? I could see mine moving in n out so it won't be touching anywhere
FAAA; does GNC explain why theirs not suitable for lactating mum ? I just bought any brand from unity
How's your supply today?
CK: no worries, at least u find somewhere to pump

Dolly: the lady just said its not recommended. Probably she doesn't want to be responsible? Anyway I will try pharmacies tmr.

Today I pump at 1pm and 7pm got 180ml and 170ml. But 6 hrs interval. :S

FAAA: great, now ur supply same as me
I got ard 300 to 400ml when I pump twice a day in office.

Went baby fair ytd, but was too late n stores are closing. But there's more things there. And NTUC got one section on the left behind selling all kinds of diapers. Heard got to queue for an hour to pay

Got one store selling wooden piano and another one selling mothers garden wooden toys

Liangz thanks I'll pm u when I need it.

Mummies good news I managed to clear ALL my block ducts yesterday in both breasts and my SS is 110ml. There were some wastage as it's my first time using the pump. Felt so happy! I bought a prelove avent single electric pump from my friend and tried using it. Surprisingly it pumps really well, I did about 35 mins on each side. Planning to send my Pisa to the service centre.

My boy is feverish this morning around 5+ gave him med using the syringe but he doesn't like it. Should take 1.5ml but he took much lesser. Used the fever strip as well. Fever has gone down already. Suppose to attend a close friend's church wedding guess now cannot bring him there. Not sure if there's a need to visit pd??

Just went to steal a pump after latching my gal to sleep! haha.. got to build some supply again.

Today and Tomorrow TAKA 10% off day for Taka card holder! Planning to bring my gal down later

Phyllis: That's good news! So maybe the pump really got problem! But are you pumping too long? 35min on each breast?

Any other symptom? Is it low grade fever like 38 or high one like 38.5 and above? Is he teething?

My friend went to the baby fair around 11 and she said many items were sold out already. The diapers are cheap, she bought 4 packs but had to queue 1.5 hrs to pay. She spoke with the manager and they will replenish the stock last night so if you plan to go you must go early today. Huggies ultra is selling at $18.95, $2 savings.

Had a bad day yesterday. I was down with flu and my avent electric pump also not working well.
Now, have to use manual which is very tough on the hand as already suffering from wrist pain

Anyone has avent electric pump to let go.

Can add me to the facebook group too? Foo Hui Yuin.

35min on each side is really too long! Will overheat the pump even if the breasts are not sore.

I use the single pump in the office combined with the manual hand pump, so that can cut down expressing time. Pumping both breasts at the same time also stimulates the breasts and result in faster amd more milk flow.

Dolly yes I'm so glad the block ducts are out. Breasts feels so comfortable now soft and bouncy. Heh... Had to pump so long in order to get them out. I plan to stick to 20mins pump session but this morning when I pump there's still some milk flowing out after 20mins so I continued for another 5mins. Am I working my breasts too hard? Thought suppose to empty breast then will have more milk.

My boy's has subsided. Gave him 2 dosage of paracetamol now his temperature is 36.8 phew! What a relief. Not sure about teething will need to check his gums later when I clean his mouth. Thanks for the reminder.

Dolly: I will only know for sure if my supply increased on Monday. Hope it maintains. Now I don't pump on weekends.

Phyllis: There are times I do pump for 30mins but using dual pump cos save a lot of time.

Btw my gal turned for the first time today! A milestone for her

Dolly do u get much milk if u pump after your gal latch? I tried a couple of times but not worth the time cos only get 30-50ml

Updates from taka nursing room!
Huggies m 40 $12.95 and got extra 10% off w taka card

FAAA: I still one pump after latching in the morning cos I find that she dun drink much in morning. But since I pump regularly ard that time. I decide to steal a pump. Pump just 9 min n get 120 ml in total.

Hui Yuin: Do you have a korean character beside your name?

FAAA: [email protected]

Hmm for me i pump 30 min.. pump 15, rest, pump 15.. using freestyle m size funnel.. have to make sure nipple doesnt touch side of funnel..

Huggies M 40 @ cold storage - 2 for 23.55.. plus spend $150 and get little tikes 2-in-1 wheelbarrow and cart!

I pump only about 15min each time. (Either using dual or single combined with manual.) Get around 160-170ml each time, every 3-4h. Morning 1st pump slightly longer maybe 20min, get about 300-320ml coz it's about 6-7h after the previous pump.

Yingzz: yes, I have korean characters next to my name on my FB acct.

Dolly: your supply is good and pretty constant. My girl is pretty good at draining the breasts now. Quite soft after she latch but now I can feel some small lumps on my right breast (she prefers left). She latch longer if on left side and my left normally produce more

Dolly: I think my skin tear is due to medela pump
cos I didn't encounter this when im using avent at home. The skin ard y nipple is pinkish red, not the black colour liao. I think I may have overpump, cos my nipple hurts abit. I have changed.to L size for medela. But still doesn't help. Help!! Who can I ask for help? I applied the nipple cream, alleviate Abit but since im always pumping, I doubt will heal soon.

FAAA: Yup.. your FB name is??

To those who asked to be added to FB group.. pls accept my friend request..

ak: same here the skin around nipple is pinkish red.. but for me its not really painful..

Yesterday I Went out at 11am and reached home at 10pm! An was alone w my baby till hubby n son come at 4pm
My gal poo 4 times outside some more, so tiring!
My gal very funny, when I need to go out, she slept till 10am+ but like today when I'm home, she wakes at 8am+ latch and dun sleep back. Luckily managed to steal 1 pump just before that.

ak: not sure if its the same, when my nipple is cut, I applied breastmilk n let it air dry, continued to tahan the shooting pain n it will heal in ard 2 weeks time?

FAAA: think so long as our nipple can move freely, then it's the right size.

Last time, hard shield comes w PISA and soft shield comes with freestyle.
I found that my breast stick to the soft shield more n the suction could be better. But might stick too hard n for those w delicate nipple, take it out gently!

Dolly, I bought Blackmore lecithin today from Unity. This helps to remove blocked ducts then the milk will flow easier?

The last time I was at Medela service centre they said they stop selling soft shields. I have a pair of hard shields which I bought 3 years ago but the funnel is so long.

FAAA: I got the improved version of the soft shield from spree just few months ago. And it took 2 months to reach! So far I've tried the old soft shield, the hard shield and this improved version.
The improved version of soft shield is not so sticky, but it's kinda opague so you can't really see the nipple inside. The old soft shield kinda become "oily" on the outside and it's the pair that cracked! There must be some reason why the old soft shield were pull out!

The length of funnel doesn't matter cos the nipple won't travel so far mah

That was what I tot. Why did they make the funnel so long. Doesn't make sense. Dunno whether to buy new shields cos not sure whether will be pumping beyond 6 months. :S

Thks dolly! Will try out ur method. Sometimes simply no time to wait till its dry

Is sophie the giraffe expensive at $29? Thought can be cheaper?

Ak: I can air dry cos direct latch at night, do just sleep there w "open top" for a while. Hopefully it works for u, or u only do that at night.

I got my friend to get Sophie 3 years ago from
US, it's almost $40! Haha, exchange rate plays a part. My son dun like it though n the color can worn off one. Anyway, still trying to dig it out for my gal cos she likes to put things into mouth

I am better now, but my boy got the flu virus from me. Hope he will get better soon.

I managed to get Medela pump from a friend.

Thanks mummies for yr concerns

Ruhee: so which pump better? Agent or medela? I only tried medela so dunno abt other brands

Continue to latch ur son, our breast can sense and provide the right nutrients. Anyway since u just gotten sick ur milk shld hv antibodies too

FAAA: how's supply today? A bit tough to drink so much water! Only manages to drink ard 3L

Wonder if our breast will sag more due to the constant pressing to rid the block ducts!

Dolly: pump at 12 and 5:30 got 120ml and 160ml. Output not a lot but got improvement already. Used to pump 20mins rest 5-10mins then pump another 10mins to get 120ml. Now I just pump for 20mins straight.

I think my breasts did sag a little due to pumping and latching. Wat abt u?

FAAA: Not a bad start! I pumped in morning, not a lot, so I drank more water and really get more! hahaha

was just thinking of our breast as I was pressing and pushing the milk while pumping... haha

Sometimes I don't drink enough water. But luckily u reminded me have to drink more water. My helper told me a funny thing today. She said if BM, my gal will take long time to drink. Sometimes have to rest and gotta feed 2-3 times to finish one bottle but if FM she can drink one shot. I don't understand

My boy is already 5 months old. For the first time, I tried feeding my boy some baby cereal today but he din like it and rejected it with his tongue. I guess he is not ready yet.

liang2: It takes time for them to get used to the taste/texture. Continue to intro him. Eventually they will get used to it.