(2012/05) May 2012

Kayla, yah me and micteo under dr tham too but haven't seen her for some time. I'm still early, coming 32 wks only..edd is end may..meeting dr this sat!

I think can ask for mc bah, dr tham nurse always ask if I want mc leh hehehe

Re: thermometer
I heard that most accurate is the traditional stick in mouth or
armpit type but babies won't be so patient to let u hold it in their mouths or armpit for that long.

I heard of a colleague who used to stick in the baby ass lol..

Thermometer:
Got the CADI one which is a forehead kind, but find that it's not that accurate unless running high fever.
Got the Braun one this year which the overseas spree usually help to sell, it's pretty good, but dunno if baby ear too small or not.

Candymix,
I didn't de-scale the sterilizer b4 use. Just use lemon with some water and turn on sterilizer . Natural way to cleanse .

Last round I din bring the pump to hospital as was using Medela PiS advanced haversack so bulky.
Maybe I will bring this round as using FreeStyle.very compact.

Candymix: I just start using the sterilizer after some basic cleaning

Won't be bringing pump to hospital, not much milk in the first place, and I like to latch direct. Hopefully this time round supply will be better.

Oh I see, ok. Then we need to sterilize pump before using right? How do u transport the pump after u sterilize? Is it ok to put in a dry bag then pack to hospital or once reach hospital must sterilize? Aiyo so ma fan..sorry first time mum, am super clueless..

Cos I read the steam sterilizer can keep sterile for 24 hours with unopened lid but one mummy said it's ok to open lid, connect all the bottles and put back into sterilizer- still considered sterile. So for pump leh?

wow the forum here is getting so fast and furious! ^^ i can barely keep up!!

>> cord blood..
For those mummies interested to donate cord blood.. can find out more from http://www.scbb.com.sg..

>> elffie
Yup a nurse actually shared with me the benefits of donating cord blood.. but i just wanted to get some views before i sign the form :p now i have decided to donate! good karma for BB too and who knows it might really help to save someone!

>> dolly2009
i see.. thanks! mummies need to be jugglers! must be ableto multitask with just two hands lol~

>> Brazilian wax
I have never done it before and I dont dare to do it.. just feel very weird doing it.. will just let the nurse do what she needs to do ~

>> Hi tea..
Sounds good but when do you gals want to have it? Think we gonna meet soon because some mummies will start popping soon :p shld we org on FB so that it is easier to track as an event?

>> thermometer
my sis say its ok to buy the traditional type.. just put under armpit hold his/her arms tight and wait for beeping sound.. the ear one will of course be faster.. but more expensive..

Hello ladies!

Nursing bras:
I bought 2 from Springleaf, quite comfy and size fits juz nice n hope not much change after delivery

Disposable cotton panties:
I bought 3 packs during my #1 on Felancy brand, can get from dept store. I can re-wash n re-use and end up only use 1.5 packs during confinement. Comfy n worth the money to me. The balance 1.5 pack will be using for coming confinement.

Confinement shower gel:
I just bought a new bottle from Newmummy n received it together with the binder.... I used the shower gel before, its super cooling after u showered till u dunno u kena wind or it helps to rid wind... Haha!

Dry shampoo:
My colleague gave me hers as she cant finished. I think got dunno what oat ingredients... I tried twice lately when i didnt wash my hair, cant see diff but guess not so oily. But confinement i guess sure wont work well since we sure wont wash so often like now....

Thermometer:
I bought the infrared thermometer in BP but heard not as accurate compared to ear but i prefer easy n convenience reasons. So depends on individuals...

Take care mummies.... Soon we will be popping one by one! Exciting! I cant wait! Hahaha!

Mrs Ho: highly possible that we will pop around the same time... just pray not the exact same time.. haha!! same day is fine... LOL!

Dolcevita / Yip: Thanks! Ill check them out for the thermometer..

Momo's Baby: I think ear is easier for babies.. armpit takes quite some time to beep right?

Candymix: Usually after the wax will abit red but wun persist for too long... like after a few hours shld be fine... you'll feel naked and very clean if its your 1st time... haha... that was how i felt... :D anyway the Dr Tham confirm give MC if we see him that day... but the following days I'm not sure after he reject me that time...

Kayla: its my 1st baby girl... she's already head down... ;) I don't mind fixing on the 16th April but my next appt is 5th... will he need us to go back so soon? I think no worries coz usually baby will turn around 36 weeks right? and yeah, initially i wana start maternity immediately like 1 month before EDD, Dr Tham himself ask me count properly don't lugi... so i hope he just give MC lah.. :/ but if he gives me the follow 2 weeks I'm also ok... hah! or just take 1 week, then after that take the last week of april again...

Yingzz: yep, i think organize high tea on FB is easier...
but only can high tea if we not working... if not, how to high tea... haha!!

GBS swap test:
Was wondering how does the GBS swap test is carried out? Is it similar to pap smear? And is done in the gynae clinic by our gynae and what is the cost? Have checked with my gynae, dr adrain but forgot to ask for details like cost and how is it like.

Brazilian wax:
Heard from my peers that brazilian wax would be painful for those who shave themselves, i usually do it myself hence it would be my first time, so kinda scare if its really painful. care to share your experience? thanks in advance!

>> Keiko
ok let me try to organise on FB..

for those mummies not in FB yet.. can add me at [email protected]
pls drop me a PM / identify yourself here.. i got a few requests that i have not added because i am not sure who you are..

>> maternity leave
when are you all planning to take maternity leave? i am not intending to take any before giving birth.. cos i want to take the full stretch after giving birth :p

>> babyL
i think the shampoo your colleague gave you is the same one as the one my sis gave me.. also got oats .. i didnt try it but i hope it will work! i feel like buying the ginger cream from newmummy.. it sounds so good~

i lardy submitted my AL from 30th april... coz may got 2 days PH so i very kiasu... i took 8 days AL and start my ML on 14th May thou EDD is 6th May... Dr Tham says don't lugi mah... :X

Hey what is the oats shampoo for confinement? Where to get it?

Yes the ginger cream from newmummy is gd, my mum used up 2 tubes! We can use it after massage together with binder to help slim down tummy! Am getting additional ginger cream.

Anyone of u getting confinement wipes? Cos I heard actually best no shower or bathe for first 7 days.

yingzz: hahah!! yeah... Labor Day and Vesak Day... LOL! and i also wana spend as much time as i can with baby... so stretch it all the way out..

Candymix: I only prepare the herbs for bathing... the rest i think ill use normal stuffs, but I'm thinking of getting shampoo that can help on hair fall coz i heard after we deliver our hair will drop more for long hair?

Candymix: wats the ginger cream for? Can share the link? Think some of the new mummies here know more than me, a second time mum. Hehe

If say I have herbs fr the package of my CL, what other stuff do I need to add on of I decide to shower and wash hair daily?

Yinggzz,
Yes May have 2 PH s , when I had #1, I was trying to stretch and tell baby not to come out till at least after Labour Day as my EDD was 8 May during then. End up she came 10 days early and end up an April baby. Lugi 2 PHs. Wahaha. She too eager to see the world .

This #2 I think I will also pop b4 the 2 PHs... Cos EDD is 5days earlier 3 may. But now baby head still haven't turn down. Haiz....

Gathering :
Think if we meet for Hi-tea, gonna be mid or 3rd week Apr as some mummies pop early @38 weeks.

Ask u mummies , can ML starts later than the child's birth ? I recall ML can only start earlier but not later .... Can anyone confirm ?

Kayla & Keiko >> I doubt i can hav my appt on 16th, cuz my appt will be on 9th, if i book 16th, it's juz 1 week apart .. too soon already

can take annual leave before maternity leave? not sure whether my company will allow.. i know if take maternity leave, all PHs during our ML will be forfeited..

btw, i plan to use normal shampoo/conditioner/shower foam during confinement.. only the water will be the one with herbs.. ok right?

Kayla, you should ask your HR about it. But why do you want to start later?

I also hope to pop @38 weeks.

M_iNt, I also bought the ginger cream. My hubby's shoulders are aching so I apply for him. After applying the skin will feel refreshed and cooling..

AS for thermometer, I also got it from spree here. The ear thermometer from Braun.

hi mummies here..

My edd on 28 May and have been a silent reader here. So excited for all of us as our due date is drawing closer everyday.

Can anyone add me in FB as well? - Thanks.

Im seeing Dr WOng Mun Tat. Anyone seeing him too?Haven heard of the GBS swap yet.. is it compulsory to do it?

oh ya i did the swap @ 34 weeks.. bascially my gynae used a cotton bud and took a sample from my varginal and send for test.. results will be out during my next appt.. v fast one.

Kayla: my EDD is 4 May.. our EDD v close!

oh ya just to update, not sure if u recall i was sharing about my gynae saying my bb is on the small side during my previous posts? the blood tests results are out. I am low in Protein-S. So my gynae referred me to a blood specialist and now i have to take self-injection on a daily basis boohoo!!!
until i deliver.. and another 2 more weeks after delivery..

my bb is 1.8kg @ 34 weeks.. actually, i thought the bb weight is still alright @ 34 weeks.. pray that bb will grow grow grow in the next few weeks!

kayla and newbie >> yah shld ask from HR.. but i guess shld be ok mah.. after all its our AL.. its the treatment of Sick Leave that is sticky.. like my company dont allow SL before ML.. will consider as ML started if after 36 weeks..so i am taking AL from 19 April onwards. my EDD is on 1 May. Hope to have at least a week's rest before i pop on Week 39.. my ML will commence the day i pop.. thats my company policy.

Thermometer >> think I use those normal electrical thermometer first bah.. spent too much $ on bb stuff liao..

Shower Gel >> i never buy any special soap for shower leh.. i thought after 12 days can shower liao.. intend to buy the dry shampoo from Unity Pharmacy.. any reccommendations what brand is good? i thought shower using the Da Feng Cao can liao?

First time mummy.. alot of things duno..

Nursing Bra >> i bot 2 in KL when i was there for baby moon.. din noe cannot get those underwire one..end up bot 2 pcs.. now going to john little to buy those without wires one.. any idea how many shld we buy?

newbie >> eat more durians.. my BB was 1.8kg during week 31 check..i tot its a little small cos ave is 1.9kg.. then i started drinking sweet drinks like ribena.. my bb grew to 2.8kg during week 34 check. i heard eating durians will help cos its very high in calories... spend $20 buy good quality ones.. one day eat abt 2 to 3 seeds... see how..

keep the rest of the mummies updated ok?

momo's baby: wah your EDD is 1 May! so most likely you may be the first to pop in our thread! i'm not too far from you.. my EDD 4 May!

momo's baby: okie, will eat more durians! i like! when i went to check out the durians recently, they only have the sweet ones.. but they said come back 2 weeks later for the bitter ones.. i prefer bitter durians! anyway, i am staying positive and believe that everything will be ok :)

Question about sterilizers, I'm using the Avent 4in1, just opened it to test ... When it says it can keep sterile for 24hours, can I turn off the power or do I have to keep it running to maintain it sterile?

my edd is 13 May 12 and i had been silent reader here. This is my #3.

Breastpump

Normally the hosp will not u use ur own one as they have e pump there and they r afraid that it is not clean properly so can dun bring.

>> Kayla
Ooh your children bdays are gonna be close to each other.. haha can celebrate together :p

>> Big Dee
Your email is? Have you added me?

>> Dry shampoo
My sis say she use the Klorane Extra Gentle Dry w oat extract shampoo from Guardian.. around $15.. i think newmummy also got sell ginger dry shampoo..

>> Dolcevita
newmummy has a few threads in BP.. she also got a facebook page
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/6838595.html?1332306692
http://www.facebook.com/messages/663717300#!/pages/NewMummy-Essentials/243245472375346

>> Candymix
is the binder you mention the bye bye belly wrap from newmummy? is it good? you use before? I am thinking to buy that too.. :p

>> hi tea
btw for those not on FB.. we were suggesting it to be on the 2nd week of Apr~ but still deciding weekend or weekday?

newbie: yes eat durians but also in moderation cos baby supposed to have growth/wt spurt in weight. eat those maoshan wang or D24 better quality like once a week at least bah. i can't eat anymore of such heaty stuff le as bb is growing fast and furious..so always kena nag by dr tham..

re: coconut water
please dont take too much. my sister in law drank too much and her kid now gets sick easily cos they become "cooling" body in nature. i read in apr forum is to start from 36 weeks around 1-2 times per week only.

yumi: the person told me no need to keep power running. once after finish sterilising, just leave it and its 24H.

Re; lemongrass showergel
newmummy is a seller. she also sells the same nursing bras as springleaf. here is the link: http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/6764113.html?1332907474

rabbitz: infra red thermometer
the one selling in BP thread is an OEM one, no brand or cannot reveal i dunno. this is the link: http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/5706574.html?1332853278

the one from medela is called beaba. i can let go either one, its worth about the same price originally.

momo: unity pharmacy got sell dry shampoo? hmm..will go take a look..

kayla: ML kicks in immediately once child is born, must take consecutive min 8 weeks at 1 go regardless of PH etc. AL/ HL/SL can use before you pop..i also ask around so i can max out ML once bb is out..but i guess AL/HL/SL is subject to each co's policy

mummies who are popping, please share your birth stories! hehehe

yingzz, thanks for the shampoo brand. i will go and take a look. think only big Guardian outlets have right?

yah i got the binder from newmummy too, there is another type selling from another person in BP thread:

nope first time mum nv use before, just try lor...even after jamu massage right which is usually 7 or 10 days, my colleague said its best to keep binding tummy for rest of the month..then will slim down faster..so i intend to use ginger cream and the binder instead of a corset which my colleague used..

Binder question - Actually what does the binder do? Anyone did not use it? Because, I do not like the feeling of binded.. hahah...

>>yingzz: haven added u.. my email is [email protected], pls add me.. thanks!

just a qn: for the binder, do they have binder for the big thighs also? i think my thighs are getting fattier!! when do post-natal massage, will the massage lady actually bind ur thighs as well?

ayana: if im not wrong, the binder will have an effect to tightening the "extra and loose meat" on ur tummy (which is due to the uterus expansion) so that u will gradually get back in shape after a few sessions.

Just called up SCBB - Cord Blood, arrange to meet them at my Gynae's clinic, save some time. One more thing settled.

Now need to pack Hospital Bag, wash NB clothes, book massage lady, order confinement food as I am not having CL.....

Massage Lady :
There are 2 Mdm Ida in the forum. Anyone can advise which is better ? We need min how many sessions? 5 or 7 sessions?

Kayla:
Hv been using Ida for prenatal n planning to use her for post. I'm not sure if she's good n thot of asking ard other mummies who used her b4. Mine's Ida 9151 4757
Anyone engaged her postnatal b4??

chocteddy :

The 2 Idas HP number all diff from the one u used. Wonder which is which ?

One from Hougang Mdm IDA hp :94361463
Another Mdm IDA hp : 94249829 (I used her for #1, not bad but a bit talkative)