(2012/04) Apr 2012

fantasy
i bought mine from small small world. like blue turtle, it's like permanent fixture at home unless i am doing some shifting of furnitures to cater for kids' need, etc. else, i won't move it around 'cos it's quite heavy. I have another one at my in-laws' place and it serves as a sleeping corner for my kids.

SG
my tummy will harden, too when bb moves around. very uncomfortable.

here's the brochure for the promotion of upcoming mothercare fair.
http://www.mothercare.com.sg/pdf/babyfairflyer.pdf

Sunny, u too? I tink tummy getting bigger Liao... No space to move so it just harden as n when. Aiyo few days back I can feel bb hiccups near my groin.. Tot head down Liao, today hiccups on top again. Gua gua... Hopefully he can move down soon wor.

Blue_turtle, I sent u request to b added in the fb

Qiqi: how you know the taka fair is starting on 4th march? Cos so far no information found on their website yet.. just wanna be sure!

I cant wait for the taka baby fair. haha!

I bought Goo.n Diapers Newborn and S size at around 2pm on Sat afternoon, still got stocks.. hehe! But babysafe is really kua zhang, their nice designs were all gone..

Does babysafe and mustela go on offer during taka baby fair? I understand that they are selling at Taka Baby department.. Dunno will they have discount also?

hi sunny/blue turtle,
TQ! noted down. will source for it again after bb is delivered =)

now my feet are swollen like pig trotters. =(
googling how to relieve it online.. seem like can only raise feet up and sleep on left which i'm already doing.

oya maybe is abit early to ask abt bb shower. but i'm started looking ard. haha first time mummy abit kiasu..
anyone have any good recommendation on food catering and those cute cake/eggs/ang ku package as gift?

SG
Nap time: I suppose I will try to all sleep together in same room for nap time (and save money on aircon! Haha). But I doubt I will be able to take full naps becos newborn’s naps are shorter, but more frequent. But I also think it’s cos I’m so tired these days that I can take the full 1.5-2hour nap with her! Shiok :D

My #1, regardless of nap or no nap, bedtime and wake up time is still about the same. Only when without nap, the bedtime routine is super rushed and end up everybody get frustrated!

Fantasy
Haha about your husband buying diapers to compensate parking!!

Same like blue turtle, I hardly move my playmate cos it’s so heavy. Now more relaxed also la. Last time, baby time I cleaned it every other day hehe. Mine is the parklon one and yup there are different thickness levels and sizes. I remember buying from a seller on SMH called small small world. Also, if you don’t mind, I think there will be sellers who will want to sell off pre-loved ones

Hey bb shower is before baby is born. One month party is one month after baby’s birth. You’re talking about 2 diff things, right?

Hey ladies
Don’t worry about Braxton hicks. It’s just your womb practicing

Heard something very interesting over the weekend: immediately after delivering the placenta, the womb will contract very quickly to be the size of a hard round tennis ball!! Imagine, after 30+ weeks of being stretched, it can slim down so fast?!

Dear mummies, silent reader mummies, daddy to bes etc.
I have been receiving quite a few requests to be added to the FB group.
Do note that I will not add any silent readers or seemingly dubious looking people or male participants to our facebook group due to privacy concerns from some of the regular mummies in the FB group. We also want to keep the FB group to real people who wants to share information, experiences with each other. No spammers allowed.
In general, I will try to respond to your add requests within the week whenever possible, as I need some time to decide who are the real mummies and who are spammers trying to gain entry.

mummies, aniway to lessen pervic bone pain..?? feels terrible wen i stand up n walk n oso nite time slpin wen turnin left n right..

Blue_turtle: I sent u a PM too! Would like to join the FB group. Hehe..

Btw, isetan also having 20% sales now for brands like pigeon, avent etc..

SG, how many months r you now? you getting contraction liao? I think mine is those they call 'braxton hicks'..like what pink bunny said.. is jus our womb practicing :p Anyway, i will let my gynae knows about it.

trx: I also getting pelvic bone pain! esp when you sit down for a while and the moment you want to stand up.. arggg,,,!!! is like bone going to crack right!? i think last stage is like this.. still have about 5 weeks to go for me.. endure endure...

fantasy
i heard that for water retention, can drink winter melon soup; or barley/red bean soup without sugar.
there's another saying. when we have water retention for 3 times i.e. water retention --> subsided; water retention --> subsided... that indicates that we are going to deliver soon.
I didn't keep track so, don't know if it's right or not.

my kids are having fun playing with my water retention feet. keep pressing and wait for the feet surface to get flat as normal.

Good morning mummies.

How many milk bottles do we need per stage? Cos initally I will b using avent bottles. Their teats need to change 1mth later as there r 0mth n 1mth.

Do we have to sterilize the milk bottle after each usage?

yea, my parklon mat weighs almost 10kg. i hope it doesn't turn sticky like qiqi's! i'm planning to clean it using pigeon's liquid cleanser.

sunny, water retention for 3 times means about to deliver? hmm but mine comes in the afternoon and goes away in the morning. does that count? then it would have been more than 3 times le. hehehe...

hi pinkbunny,

yea parking was abt $6 so if he only buy 1 pack net off ma. so he bought few more packs! haha..
and u r right! i'm referring to bb full month! LOL
i'm looking at buffet and those gift set to give away. seem very limited leh. buffet only saw one - xinyipin which come with red eggs & cupcake.
gift set only saw choz and sweetest moments who are nice and reasonable priced.
anyone have tried these few before?

Hi sunny,
i din keep track too but seem like never really subsides for mine. just get more and more swollen. haha. aniwae tink is still early for me ba. i only in my week 32.
and ur kids are really cute!

Silvery_Gal: u dun have to follow the age guide for changing of bottle teats. If you are latching and bottle feeding at the same time, it is advised to stick to the slowest flow teat for as long as you can. Else baby can become fussy and refuse to latch. Same for subsequent changes, change when baby starts fussing at bottle due to slow flow. But must remember to change the teats and/or bottles when they start to discolour or get scratched or about every 6 months or more frequently if you only have 1 or 2 bottles. For me, I have like 6 set of bottles, so the wear and tear is quite minimal can afford to change less frequently.
Yes, for babies below 6 months, it is recommended that the bottles are sterilized before use. Since I have like 6 or more bottles of each size, i will wash them after each use, and once the sterilizer is filled up, i will sterilize, let it cool, screw tight and put in Lock n Lock box for later use. This way, the bottles get sterilized about once a day.

tangerinz
those that go away on the next day doesn't count. only those which didn't subside for few days.
wow, your bumper mat is so heavy? mine is heavy, but not as heavy like 10kg kind.

lotusmum
ya loh. when they were giggling when they played. hahaha...

fantasy
i got choz for the past 2 times. their stuff are quite fresh.
my sis got sweetest moments. The cupcakes are cute, but i prefer choz. :D

I've used the LG play mat from small small world, I've used for 4+ years and just kept it away last year. It's too heavy for me to manage it, HB and helper will help with the regular washing. I got the biggest size which I've used with 6-panels play yard.

Those looking for Goon diaper, please check Starrie's post in FB in the Jan or so, many of us managed to get the jumbo pack (92pc) at very reasonable price.

We've discussion on post natal massage too in our private FB group.

Ms tan : yes n it's terrible.. I hav to stand for awhile b4 I can start walkin.. Even toss n turn wen I'm slpin oso can feel the pain.. Arghhh.....zzzzzz.. I stil hav 8 more weeks to go, I'm onli in 32 weeks nw..

First time mummies, do note that the definition of full term pregnancy is from 37weeks onwards. The EDD that gynae gives is at 40weeks. So while we all start counting down, you might want to start packing as soon as possible, cos not everyone will deliver at 40 weeks. Most will be earlier!

trx
^5. me too! when i stand up, i got to get used to the pain 1st before i start walking. and the tummy is heavier after i drink a glass of water/finish a meal. sleep also hard to turn... 7 more weeks to go...

blue turtle
ya, i also count backwards from 37wks. my 1st one popped in 37+, 2nd one 38+. my hb said, maybe this one, at 39+.
already dump the necessary things in the hospital bag le. just have to tidy it a bit.

sunny : my 1st pregnancy dint feel tis at all.. zzzz..

aniwae mummies, wen we feel contraction starts we hav to rush to hospital..?? or do we time the contraction first n shower to get prepared..?
My #1 was induced natural.. SO i'm kinda worried if i feel contraction at home alone wit my #1 if my husb is workin..

ya me too.. i am also worrying over the arrangement for my #1 if labour starts suddenly. if daytime labour, still ok, cos i think can drop my #1 at my parent's place which is on the way to TMC. but if middle of the night when #1 is already asleep, then how ah? cos family only has me, hub and #1. if hub drives me to TMC, then #1 alone at home? or i take cab alone to TMC?

what's worse is my labour hours for #1 is relatively short. she came out in about 4 hours (i dunno consider 4 hours anot cos i started drip at 9am, bb out at 1pm but the night b4 that, my gynae say i am already contracting, so i was asked to admit). so if going by what others say, which is labour for subsequent births is half of the previous one, then my #2 will come out in 2 hours??? where got time to settle my #1 first leh? aiyo...

Trx: you are 32 weeks.. Maybe not 8 weeks more to go ley.. Because like some say..baby will come at 38 weeks or 39weeks.. Just get our stuff (preparation..hospital bag) ready early

hi blue_turtle,
can i be added to FB? send u a PM too. =)

hi trx,
according to the pre-natal class & my gyne.
2 things to lookout before we dash to hospital
1) water bag burst
2) frequent contraction every 20-30 min in the last hour
(faster bath and get ready to hospital)

my gyne told me dun wait till contraction every 5-10 min den dash to hospital haha especially pass midnight cos she dun wan appear with her sexy nightdress! hahaha...

Oh no.. I'm at week 32 and have not packed nor wash majority baby clothes. Cot only arriving on 7th April (37.5 weeks).

Am taking a vote.. any mommies not deliverying at TMC and intend to bring their breast pump to the hospital so that you can stimulate flow immediately even though there will be minimal milk in the first few days?

Fantasy: yup I booked already, $60 each session.. 2 friends have used her before so should be not bad!

I'm so scared of labour too! I will be on maternity frm
37 weeks onwards.. Which is in 2 weeks time (mid march). Can't wait!!

Lilcatus: My plan for night delivery... Call my mother, ask her take a cab down to look after #1. Meanwhile, I will try my best to shower and get ready to leave the house to go TMC. Should be out of house by 30mins. Haha... FIngers crossed I don't pop on my way to TMC lar!

My gynae already warn me that #2 will have tendency to come faster than #1 in times of contractions to delivery. So cannot take my own sweet time to go eat breakfast liao.
My #1 was induced natural birth, but the entire process was quite fast. Less than 6 hours from induce to delivery.

ms tan : yup i hav yet to wash baby's clothes, baby cot hav yet arrive too.. need to start packing soon for incase.. seems so mani tings yet to b done.

lilcatctus : mi too onli hav the 3 of us.. so if day time i wil drop my #1 at my mum's place or bring her to hospital n ask my mum to pick her up. if its nite den i wil hav to bomb her fone n drop her there.. haha..! but i'm more worried if labour starts in the evenin.. coz i'm stayin at jurong area n always mad jam at evenin time.. *pray hard*

fantasy : thks for the info.. hopefully i wun get too clumsy wen the times comes..

blue_turtle, at first i tot to call my mom up too. but if she sleeping soundly, i feel so bad to wake her up, somemore must ask her take cab! that's why at first i tot to take cab myself to TMC while hubby stay home with #1. rather i myself xin ku.

i dont think i will shower anymore if i see any obvious sign, esp if its midnite. just rush to hosp first! i remember i had pains when i admit to hosp that night and it was so painful i couldn't stand. i wonder how some mummies still can shower leh?

trx, which hosp r u going to? from jurong really got a dist to TMC/Mt A. unless u really go down hosp at the slightest indication.

Mummies can I know which moisturiser u all recommend for bb? I know gentle range are seba med and cetaphil.. But they are quite ex so wonder if u all know brands tt r gd n also affordable? Thanks

lilcactus : i'm goin to TMC.. yea, wil head down once i felt sumtin.. due to my #1 sch else i would hav stay at my mum's place which is tpy for the last few weeks.. no choice

hi LittleDd,

i'm having same qns as you! haha.
my neighbor advised me to bring my freestyle pump to hospital to stimulate! that's wat she did!

Hi Cayden's Mummy,
can share who you had book? through PM if you preferred. i had book one too but dunno whether she good. only saw her review from one person. LOL

i was also surprised when i heard we shld bath first. haha thinking at that point of time, who still can slowly bath and relax haha.
think we shall just see the situation den and decide for ourselves =)

littledd: i will be bringing my own pump. at first i was worried about how to sterilize the pump but was told that you can just ask the nurse to sterilize the pump for you.

otherwise i think there is a pump room in most hospital and you can use their pumps? but i'm thinking might as well start to get used to our own pump right from the beginning.

tangerinez, the nurse can sterilise for you? Which hosp? TMC? If so, it'd be great. I intend to bring my manual Avent pump along, just to stimulate milk supply.

lilcactus: i'm with NUH. yep, my friend who gave birth there told me just ring the bell and the nurse will sterilize for you.

not sure abt TMC. i guess should be the same? maybe have to ask TMC..

I think NUH ok to sterilize for mummies their pumps n bottles as my son was hospitalized 2 times and they always help to sterilize his milk bottles.

LittleDd: u can brg ur own pump if u dun feel comfortable using d hospital but I know hospitals do provide pumps for mummies to use.

Lilcactus:
Actually I have 2 sets of plan.
Plan 1: My mother to start staying over from middle/end march.
Plan 2: Call her on demand when required.

Need to discuss with her which she prefers. My mum is like at my place every evening to help me with #1, and she goes home after putting #1 to bed. So most likely won't have the peak period problem. If it happens in the middle of the night, I would think that she will be more than willing to rush down to help.
Dragging #1 to hospital is really my last option. Cos I don't think my hubby will be very good at trying to handle a pregnant woman and screaming toddler. How old is your #1. Mine will be around 23 months old in April.

Pump:
I won't be bringing pump. Will just latch to simulate supply. Latching is the best way to get supply coming. At the same time, learn how to latch also lar. Think I forgot all already. Want to keep my hospital bag as trim as possible.

Bath: For 1st time mummies, yes. In general most ppl will have time to take a QUICK SHOWER! not soak in the bath tub lar. Just quickly soap and rinse like 5 to 10 minutes kind. Not brush under your nails, condition your hair kind. While you bath, someone to get the car or call cab or ambulance, etc. Cos you will still need to wait for the vehicle anyway.

2nd or more times mummies: Just go hospital. Forget about the bathing.

Hi fantasy, my massage lady called Su.. Its $60 per session with head to toe massage with breast massage if engorged.. Think got bb massage also. Will PM u her number tonight. U not due April 5th right! Later we fight for her service! Wahaha
Jk jk...

Gingerbreadger: yes it's my first! So nervous.. Is it your first too? When is ur EDD? I'm going for my gynae visit tml, need to do the bacteria swab test.. Hope it won't be painful..

Monica: I haven used yet but mustela is a good brand, no paraben and harmful chemicals, made in France.. Now I always look at the ingredient list before buying anything. Hada labo also got paraben!! Argh!

Does anyone have recommendation for daily nappy rash prevention cream? No zinc oxide one. I'm gonna get desitin for serious rash and get another mild one for prevention only..

Looks like there were good buys at the baby care fair. I didn't end up going. Hoping to catch the mother care fair. Does anyone know if there are extra discounts at the preview sale?

I used LG Mat for No. 1. I like it because it's easy to clean but I don't think I used it enough to justify the cost!

I am with Nuh too. I was there with No. 1 too. Actually the nurses asked me if I had a pump and if I wanted to sterlise. I didn't so I borrowed the hospital grade one.

Looks like there were good buys at the baby care fair. I didn't end up going. Hoping to catch the mother care fair. Does anyone know if there are extra discounts at the preview sale?

I used LG Mat for No. 1. I like it because it's easy to clean but I don't think I used it enough to justify the cost!

I am with Nuh too. I was there with No. 1 too. Actually the nurses asked me if I had a pump and if I wanted to sterlise. I didn't so I borrowed the hospital grade one.

blue_turtle: ya, my mom did tell me she will come over to stay overnight after i'm full term. so hopefully bb wont be any earlier!

Oh I cannot latch immediately after I gave birth, cos i'm hep B carrier. My bb needs to be given jab first. and I think next day after blood test to make sure he got the antibodies (or something like that), then i dare to let him latch and drink my milk.

Oh, do you know that my sister who was in labour for her 3rd kid, actually still stubbornly went to shower first, and end up, the bb has crowned (is this the right word) when she step into TMC. so bad that she needs to be wheeled in, and the moment reach delivery ward, the bb is out.

Cayden's mummy: ya, i will be getting a mild cream for everyday use (most likely be getting drapolene, cos i more easy with the ingredients) and desitin for bad rash.

Cayden's Mummy: Good prevention cream with no zinc oxide is Avent Bottom Balm. Recommended by Mrs Wong from TMC. I was and am still using this for #1. Just stocked up more for #2 over the weekend. So far, no serious bout of nappy rash, except when she started solid foods, and there's a change in her output. But was able to keep everything under control after a while. During those rash period, i use drapolene cos it's milder than desitin. Always start with the mildest treatment.

Lilcactus: Yes. Crowned means baby's head is actually outside already! Can see hair at least.