(2012/04) Apr 2012

Haru, I've learnt that from a fellow BF mum as I saw her BM very neatly packed. Save on bands and no more bombs the the freezer, nicely labelled and tape. I'll have a small tape dispenser in my pump bag, straight away, tape, go home, just freeze.

Tokkie, that is a steal. My boss going Sydney next week! I've friend's friend in AU too!

FISH oil
I'm taking Neurogain, $36 per bottle, 1 month supply from gynae. Since I'll be taking for long, I'll call the distributor to check they offer bulk purchase price.

milk tray
Give me some time to goggle for the best price. I saw in eBay US15.99, direct shipping is around US100 for 10 sets.

spree
When nearer EDD, we'll need to stock up on supplements for BF. Last time, I used Goat Rue, organized local BP. This time, I'll stock up from iherb, calcium, iron.

Old navy clothing! I'm a sucker for their sales!

MeiNme
I love old navy sales too!!! But each time after finish clicking everything, must run thru to see what I can declick to save money haha

Oh I've never heard of Goat's Rue! Is it a tablet or powder? Got funny smell or not?

Wow $36 for neurogain is an excellent price!!

Oh wanna ask u about taping the milk bags. It's just normal sticky tape? And it is secure and won't destick upon freezing?

Milk trays, what an excellent idea! A very kind friend has lent me some and I can't wait to try!

Tokkie
You mentioned Boxing Day sale for breast pump and sterilier (I think). Don't forget to hit Target to load up on baby clothes too!

Has anyone flown long distances while 6 months preggie? With #1 I did short trips while 5 months preggie and it was ok. This time I'll be 6 months going and (gasp) 7 months coming back, and still got an energic preschooler to entertain. Yikes. Any tips to make the journey more comfy? It's going to be a l-o-n-g plane ride :S

Haru: hihi ;) where will you be delivering? If at parkway east, we might be partners lol.

Breastpump and storage
Im trying to look for a preloved hygeia breastpump although i have a medela swing.. Cos heard from other mummies its better than medela. Didnt want a new set cos after this bb, im gonna close shop permanently.. Still in a dilemma..

I encourage new mummies to latch and pump frequently to build up your store especially if you are going to bf long term and yr workplace is not conducive to pumping ;) just be determine and dont give up ;)

Tokkie, my nex appoint (next month) also will b detailed scan.. I heard it takes about 1hour..wow..i didnt know detail scan is such a long scan. The clinic nurse told me they will check the organs n face n lips n all that..even count the fingers n toes of our bb..imptly hope can tell the gender by then.. Hav u all start thinking about the names yet ? :p

Ms Tan - my detailed scan will be on 1 Dec. Many weeks of waiting without seeing my lil one, can't wait for the time to move a bit faster!

havent think of names yet although we did scanned for some. hope we will get to see if its a pink or a blue team on this 1st Dec.

earlier on, i think someone mentioned woman with bigger nipples not really suitable for avent breast pump? cos is standard size...

have already thought of chinese name. having trouble with english names because me n hubby havent found a name where both of us like!

Haru: awww.. Nvm.. Both of us can jiayou one another via the thread haha.. But i wun need jiayouing so much cos mine confirm GA caesarean.. Just worried bout bfing my #2, hopefully will be a better expce

Andreanie, how come u wait so long till nex appointment? Thought suppose to see gynea once a month ya? my next appoint which is the detail scan..will follow by see gynea. They say Detail scan result gonna wait for an hr after tat doc can explain to us.

Andreanie : No worries! if you see any good lobang back in sgp can give a shot.. hahhaa coz family coming to visit during CNY.. can ask them to help me get and bring over! muahahahah!!!

Pinkbunny : No lar... I was saying Im likely to wait till boxing day sale likely to get bb stuff if its on sale.. not sure if there's gg to be sale for the pumps and steriliser... heehee... yah target!!! muaahhah and likely will go to pumpkin patch factory outlets....

Where u heading for holis? The last time we (the family) we brought our niece to perth when she was 6 mths old.. no problem for the flight... except for her neighbour on our departure flight... cried all the way till we land... none of us gotta rest... but she was ok.. coz we got her to sleep before we board the plane..

Miss Tan : yeap! I just booked my detailed scan... on the 16 Nov and will see my doc on 22nd.. not sure how long the scan gonna take.. but instruction was to take 2 glasses of water 1hr before the scan... hb cant wait to know bb gender so tt we can shop! heehee.... but Im hoping tt they after the check they can show us in the 4d scan... exciting!!!! Names not yet... likely to wait till we know the gender first..

Any1 told to control weight gain already? Sigh... yesterday during my checkup.. my dr says he target my weight gain to be 5-10 kg and nothing more... 16 weeks already 2 kg... hope I will be able to do it.. though he did say is manageable.. even ask if he shld send me to the dieticitian... to ensure tt I keep to the target... he says its easier to control now then to gain and try to shed off after delivering with the bb...

Ms Tan - my last appt is during 14 weeks then next appt is 20 weeks which is the detailed scan. Yah so long for mine, even my gynae said also. But that's what the Fetal Care Centre set the date for me, it will be during my 20 weeks 6 days. After that appt with gynae.

Tokkie - im still wondering if i should get the trays or just use normal milk bag and use the milk within 24hrs. More fresh isn't it? Plus my workplc have a nursing room so I can pump while at work and then bring back home. Still thinking...

Regarding weight - I'm still not gaining any weight yet but my tummy getting bigger by the week. Now 16 weeks and just now check still the same weight.

Silvery_Gal: Avent pumps come with only 1 std size cups. There's a soft fit massager fitted. So you can actually remove the massager to make the cup slightly bigger. But that's abt it.

Weight gain
Not sure if I'm putting on weight but my tummy sure is getting bigger!! At last appt I asked about weight and gynae seemed to be totally chill re that. I think it's cos I'm still throwing up so much so not weight gain yet.

Naturelover
Just curious how come you opted for GA caesar?

Welcome dwie

Tokkie
We're going to canada o_O. But no choice cos hubby's family is there and if we don't go now, it'll be a long time till our next. We did the same trip when my #1 was 6 months and 15 months. Much easier at 6 cos just BF and sleep. At 15 was harder but this coming trip, she will be 3.5 and she's energetic so I really don't know how much entertainmenti have to bring on board for her! Colouring books, story books, puzzles (anyone knows where they sell magnetic puzzles??), little toys, snacks... Jialat. We're breaking the flight in 2 by spending a night midway, to make it more managable. Or else 27 hours in enclosed area with a preschooler... And being 6 months preg... Argh!!!

for me have gained 4 kg so far at 16 weeks. Gynae hasn't said anything abt the weight gain.

Tokkie - normally gynaes do advise 10-12 kg max, but also depends on whether you were over/underweight to begin with. The last time my gynae asked me to control was with my #1, gained 17 kg in total! She said baby was getting too big, stomach very round!

Pink Bunny:
1) for #1, gynae already prewarn i am not able to give birth naturally due to the shape of my womb, the opening is very narrow kind but i still went ahead for induced labor at 40 weeks for 12hours with no success, i only open 3cm throughout the entire time resulting in emergency caesarean via GA
2) i have back problems so GA is the most suitable option, dont want to aggravate my lower back.

Now you know why

I MIA!!!

Was super constipated till I got blood in my stools. I freaked out and went to the 24hrs clinic in KKH to check. PILES!!! That happened on Tues.

And yesterday, I got diarrhoea!!! Intestines all cleared but I'm super dehydrated.

I feel so frustrated and at the same time worrying for my BB. Haiii.....

Me too! Having constipation! Haiz.. Have to start eating prunes
And drink prunes juice. If not very uncomfortable ... Always have to sit in toilet for sometime and worst is sometime
Can't even get anything out -_-!

Dragon Mummy
Don't worry, all will be fine.

A friend recommended her massage lady. Say very good. Charges $120/hr. Expensive??

tokkie n andreanie: yah huh.. The nurse didnt tell me to drink water b4 the scan .. Thanks for reminding. Ask u all ah..not sure u all same as me..sometimes b4 consultant I will go wee wee first then forget I suppose to wee wee on the white stick every time see gynea . Haiz.. then hav to start drinking water again to get the stick tested..forgetful me :p

Today I having abit running nose..oh no I better get well..do not wan to fall sick ley.

Andreanie: Bags are good if bb can finish all the milk. U will only need to freeze if bb cannot finish the milk. Or what some mummies do is to pump more while on ML n freeze. Cos after going back to work, lesser pump time, supply might drop.

Constipation
Mummies with constipation, try to drink more water, more liquid. Walk more also. Walking and exercise helps to loosen things up. To prevent piles, try not to stay in the toilet for too long. If nothing is coming out, just come out and walk. Sitting/Squatting for extended time will just cause piles or make it worse.
Tell your gynae about it too! If you are planning for natural birth, you need to treat it totally before birth. Else can be quite very messy.

I finally went for Pedicure on Tuesday! So SHIOK! hahahahaha

Hi moms, 
I hv a few items for sale. Please sms me at 91558725 if you are interested. Collection at sengkang, buangkok, hougang, toa payoh and ang mo kio MRTstations only.
1) medela swing breast pump bought 14/8/2011 (warranty till aug 2012), Used barely a mth as i hv not enough milk supply.Will throw in 1/2 bottle of greenlife fenugreek capsules(increase milk supply) and 14 pieces of medela pump and save breastmilk bags. $180   
2) medela washable breast pads, very new and good condition $8
3) 4 pieces of nursing bras size roughly 36B (hv different hook sizes to adjust) selling at $15 for all.
4) 2 pieces of cotton nursing pajamas from Spring at NEX, worn less than 10 times, very good condition. Selling both at $15
5) medela breast shields with carrying case for occassional sore nipples from BF. $10
6) quinny zapp xtra baby stroller (blue), suitable from newborn to 4 yrs old. Used less only a month in excellent condition but decided to sell as hubby bought a jogging stroller from US while on business trip. $420.

Ytd there was this BHG close door sales.. Alot of things less 30% . . But hubby n me haven get anything yet.. Haiz don knw wat to buy first.. Also , sis are giving me her stuff so I haven really start shopping for bb stuffs yet.

Gina - Usually its after they've cleaned the baby and wrapped him/her up all nice and snuggly. Which should only take about 5 mins.

This happens while you are still in the labour ward and is even before they transfer you to the mobile bed to wheel you up to your room. Usually they will wait if not give them a nazi mum stare. But generally baby doesn't really know what he/she is doing - but just the action reaffirms their natural instinct to suckle and nurse and latch on.

For me i am a real NAZI mum and my baby roomed with me all the time and i didn't dare let him out of my sight. I was so afraid that the nurses in the nursery would give him a pacifier, or supplement formula, or glucose water or anything except my breast!!! I even created this special sign for them to put on the cot to say total breastfeeding - no pacifiers, no supplements, no formula, no water.

And one time when they took my baby to shower and the sign fell on the floor in the corridor and i saw it - i screamed and sent my hubby immediately to the nursery to check that my baby was not being given anything and bring him back immediately!! Keekekekekekekek very nazi mum here.

Me and my hubby always think back about this and laugh to ourselves.

Oh yeah, and when you're still in the hospital, take advantage of the lactation specialists and keep on insisting that they visit you in your room and teach you and show you the right latch, the right hold etc. They usually go on daily rounds but don't hesitate to ask them to come help you at other times too. Since you're still in the hospital it should be free cos after you leave, and you make appt to see them its chargeable.

This tip came from my cousin and for my first child, i always ask the lactation specialist to come to my room and help me like 2 or 3 times a day. Kakakakak. Usually they are more than happy to help. Most hospitals should have a lactation specialist or if not a mid wife or something like that.

Naturelover
Ah I see. Well at least you already know your delivery date so can prepare!

Dragon mummy
Yikes! Do take care!

Ms tan
Actually I think diff gynaes use diff machines thus the drinking/no drinking thing. My current gynae's nurses always remind me to drink, but previous gynae never said anything.

Hehe hi cheekyduckie and pretty toes!

Mel
Lol at your nazi-ness! For me the nurses asked if I'd like her to be fed with water or milk cos I didn't have any BM. I totally caved thinking "what if my baby is hungry and I'm depriving her of food!!". Mummies always have tough decisions to make!

Since yesterday, I didn't feel well after eating fishball noodle! Kept wanting to throw but never throw, just lied in bed! Finally this morning throw but nothing, empty stomach. I envy those who already passed your 14weeks, I'll be 14weeks this sat. This pregnancy is so different from the last!

I also GA cesarean for no.1 cause she was big, gynae not confident to try naturally. This time, I've changed gynae, hope can go VBAC, if not, I'll opt for Epi cesarean then I can latch on immediately.

Weight gain, if you are heavier, you are expected to gain only a little as compared to those who are under weight. This time, gynae allows me 14-16kg, I put on 18kg the last round! Lucky that I managed to shed all off and went 1-2kg lighter.

Just placed order with ON and Oriental Trading, my missy at home required for more craft kits! I just ordered everything for X'mas and her B'day.

Eliz: $120 per hour is super exoensive! The range is $50-80.. Cheaper rate if recommendation is made. Im starting my massage with my Kak who is also very good (but the term is subjective) when Im 5 months and is at $50.. Do ask around before you engage one okies ;)

Pinkbunny: yah.. Just know the date n get ready ;)

For mummies with constipation: try eating lots of vegetables, bananas, kiwi and drink some prune juice before you try your luck at the bathroom. It works! I was very very badly constipated, and every trip to the bathroom is akin to fighting a war! Till I found the formula
Jia you mummies!;)

MEl: U are funny! I delivered #1 at TMC. I was given the baby once the cord was cut! Definitely not cleaned. Cos still slimey. =S After i get to cuddle the baby a little, they took her away to clean and weigh etc...

Constipation: If your food intake isn't alot, then you can't possibly have a lot of output. So don't worry excessively. Too much fibre and not enuff water can actually make things worse. Cos too rough, a lot of friction.

Ms Tan - I also same! I will pee first at home before I go for my gynae appt then remembered haiyah must pee on white stick when I get there. But I think now I have no problem with that. Cos at 16 weeks, I can pee every hour. This lil bean keep on pressing on to my bladder!

John Little having 20% sale till 30 Oct 2011. I saw Avent sterilizer is $109, food warmer is $76. Is there different model for sterilizer? Last time, I used TollyJoy.

At Philips sale, do check out the baby monitor, mine spoilt cause HB kept without taking out the battery then leaked.

MEinME: I think Avent has a few models of sterilizer. The one i have is the most basic one. Load, pour water, press button. There's another model, IQ something, which will auto sterilize every x hours or something liddat.
Food warmer i think also have.
I use Pigeon food warmer. No prbs fitting my Fat Avent bottles.

Hi mummies, I was MIA for sometime, I hv just attended the downsyndrome counselling at KK. now I am undecided whether to proceed with the test.. Initially decided not to do as my first one I also didn't do....i heard also some had the high risk result but baby turn normal upon delivery...but after the counseling, feel uneasy and not sure to proceed or not.. Any mummies also nv do the test? Need mummies advise!

i was at JL too! saw the food-to-go thermos flask at 20% and very gian... but thought aiyah sure got another sale so never buy

mei, were you at the marina sq one yesterday, at fitting room? i saw a preggy lady but didn't go up to say hi hehe. i'm at 15 weeks and still MS here and there, on and off. sigh. sama sama la.

so sleepy.... now my new sleep pattern is to wake at about 5, then toss till about 7, and fall asleep 5 mins before my daughter wakes up o_O

baby monitor
i wonder if it's due to diff models. i stopped using mine within weeks. if put the volume too low, cannot hear anything (cos they're so small and their noises are quite soft, unless crying right?). so tune it up and then i could hear her, but i could also hear all the cars outside my daughter's room :S gave up after that! but there are some that have visual feedback right? so can actually watch your baby without sound? that would be better i think

andreanie
how was the bellyband your hubby made for you?

pebblestones
lol at your comment of "before you try your luck at the bathroom". maciam like "trying your luck at the casino" hehe

naturelover
can you gai siao your massage lady? $50 is very reasonable. she goes to your house? my previous one used to charge $48 and it was sooo shiok. but she stopped liao cos injured her elbow

pinky, not me. I work at Suntec, just now went there to get some clothing for my girl.

massage $50 is a good deal. I did mine at $475 for 5 sessions (5years ago)!!! supposed to wrap for 4 days but I got allergy, only wrapped 2 hours, the rest of the days, just massage.

Thermal flask, go Isetan sale, get the Tiger brand which can cook porridge on the go.

Mummies who have constipation can give a try on prune juice. I drank a bottle at 1pm and at 3pm I have go toilet twice to flush out everything . Very shiok

i just did my first prenatal massage today at home. recommended by my friend, who did post natal massage with her. She charges $70 for 75mins. Very relaxing. i even napped during the massage and after that took a nap! All my tense tense muscles are all relaxed now!

Ni: can I have her contact too? Just feeling so sore all over, thanks so much!

Cheekyduckie: thanks for the additional info on constipation! Thankful for your word of caution

Pebblestones: no worries. Cos my hb was unlucky to get it last time. And the more he tried to sit in the toilet for longer period, it just made things worse. End up need procedure to remove.
My yoga instructor also tells us the same thing. Don't over do it in the toilet. If nothing comes out, just relax and drink more water. Else get lubricant.
If already having piles, try to avoid squatting for long periods, e.g. scrub floor. The squatting action, just like sitting on toilet bowl, will add pressure and force the piles outwards or make it worse.

pinkbunny - i love the belly band and also my maternity skirt that he made me! hehe.. so comfy. I posted the pic in my FB. Not sure if I added you in my personal account. You can see it there

He so eager to make them for me, he slept at 5am just to finish up the skirt hehehe...

Sian, I'm still having nausea everyday! I cant stand it anymore. I'm going to be 14 weeks and still have to feed on medicine to curb it everyday and still feels nausea after med. So fed up with myself. Sigh... Just Need to rant here.

Mossie
Try sea sickness wrist band? Sayang

Andreanie
So sweet!

Naturelover
I got it, thanks! Cannot wait!!!

Constipation
Seems like more and more mummies getting it!
Marigold prune yoghurt also helps!

Aiyaiyai
My back is also starting to ache liao. Guardian sells a heat pack called beyond bodiheat. You just stick it on your clothes and the heat will slowly radiate out. About $1 per pack. I usually stick at bedtime then lie on it. So shiok.