(2012/04) Apr 2012

I just got back from my gynae. Saw my beanie who's doing well. Very tiny but can see hb!! Fickering. Very cool. Next visit next mth

Edd 12 April.

Humm I think by the time i go for my 1st visit, everyone would have gone for their 3rd...

miss seeing baby..

Jan since this is your 3rd pregnancy, does your stomach start showing earlier than before?

I feel so much fatter now.. but come to think of it baby is hardly 1cm... my body is starting to store a lot of food for baby.. :p

Mayuki,

You have to list the pros and cons of pte and govt hospital than u decide from there bah..

no one can tell u exactly where you should deliver..

Running out of ideas what to eat and feel less pukey..
maybe i should keep a very light lunch.. so that i dun feel so pukey at work..

now the feeling is like the fodd stuck at the throat...

sunsweet, i don think u're alone. hehe. when's ur first visit? i'll b going for my first 2 weeks from now.. by then i will be 8 weeks already!

My Appointment is 6 sept..

By then i should be 9 week bah..

but also fine , as long by then can hear heartbeat..
Galloping heart beat..

Right now I just take my folic acid, multi vit , calcium and fish oil..

Hi all, i survived my nasi lemak lunch - had to avoid the uncooked yolk though. =)
I usually can eat more for lunch, but very hard to stomach dinner.

I din wait for my gynea visit this time and buy all my pregnancy supplements from Watsons first.
Im taking Obimin, Folic acid and Neurogain DHA now. Will check with gynae again when i meet her.
=) TGIF, ladies.
Hv a good weekend ahead

sunsweet: did ur gynae say u can take fish oil now? when I was having my 1st boy, i rem my doc say dont take fish oil in the first tri. might harm bb. i forgotten to ask him again during my last visit.

does anyone of you feel like sleeping all the time? even though I had a good night sleep last night, I am so sleepy now. haix.

Eliza: I might have same edd as you, going for my 2nd appt next wed. hopefully can hear the hb. 1st appt was only 3.51mm , by v scan. hopefully this time can be seen thru tummy scan and slightly bigger.

I'm new to the thread. Just went for check up and I'm due on 2 Apr... 7+ weeks now. this is my 3rd pregnancy. Which other mummies are also having their 3rd bb?
Even thou it's less than 2 mths, I can hardly fit into all my bottoms already =( When i had my #2, i can still fit until 3 mths...

So far so good, managed to see bb's hb at the check up. Next check up wld be for the Oscar test. Anyone doing that as well?

Ying
V scan. Can hear but gynae showed me the flickering light which is the HB

Mayuki
I'm seeing Dr Adrian Tan @ TMC (ACJ woman clinic)

Lemon
Good luck.. sure can see HB

Happy wkend ladies.. i'm so gona catch up on my sleep!

great to hear all the good news sharing in this thread.

My LMP was 13/7, and my menses still not come, think delay for 9 days liao...

Not sure if i conceived..think hv to wait for another few days to confirm.

My first is a boy and now is 30 months, will it be too late to have #2 now?

lemon >> really? I was prescribe to take dha since 3 weeks after conception bcuz doc says that's when bb brain starts to develop so its good... its harmful ah? I'm also on calcium gummies, penaforte supplements which has iron inside as well as folic

hi kimmy, my doc also said that same thing as lemon's - don't take dha in first tri. My hubby went to states to buy back 2 bottles of dha, cheap cheap. Who knows now they have to sit in the fridge and look pretty for a few months.

so excited hearing abt all ur visits to the gynaes. I can't wait for Monday to come n it's my turn!

sunsweet: My stomach is damn big lor... look like 4-5 mths preggy. Super sianz... u leh?

Hiaz.. tested NEGATIVE.. Dont knw y my menses still nt here yet. Alrdy day 8.. Wat happen to me.. So sad.. Thought tis time strike liao.. My hubby so sad too.. Nw can only wait for another few days then test again.. Hope to see gd news..

kimmy: hmm, not too sure leh. cos i also read from elsewhere that too much fish oil in the first tri might cos harm. but well, since it is prescribe by doc, I suppose it should be ok.

Lim, stay positive. U might have ovulated late, that's why HCG level still not very high yet. Test again in another 3 days. Hope to hear gd news!

Joanne n odiey, welcome to the thread.

Joanne: it's never too late to have no. 2 coz kids r a blessing. Think the age gap is gd coz no. 1 will be able to help u out when baby arrives. =)

Odiey: there's a few of us having no. 3 as well. How old r ur elder kids? Really very fast can see tummy this time rite?

I have a medela mini elect plus ( Double Pump ) to let go.
Used only twice in May as I was too lazy.

- Parts n components are all stil in tact
- Bought it in Feb 11 and its still under warranty.
- Pack in the orginal packaging
- Comes with the cooler bags and storage bottle (x4). This is brand new. D

I have breast pads to let go too =)

PM me if interested.

Thanks !

OB did a tummy scan 2 days ago and we saw a very slow heartbeat, which got her very concerned. Also, she put me at 6w based on fetal size even though my LMP calculation puts me at 7w.

Went for a vaginal u/s at a specialised fetal assessment unit today, can't find heartbeat. OB said it's a missed m/c and advised D&C, or triggered m/c. DH and I asked for her to do the scan again in her room. We thought we saw a tiny heartbeat, but OB said it could be be caused by my own heartbeat.

We are at a loss. Is it too early to end it?

Anxiously, I'm really sorry to hear abt it. I feel u should get a 2nd opinion b4 deciding. After all, there's no harm in double checking. Take care n will be praying for u...

Anxiously> you can chose to wait another wk and see how as 6 wks scan is usually too early. If really M/C actually you should have blood discharge. Another thing you can do is find another dr to assess before doing any D&C.

all mummies> My advise is not to do scan at 6 wks as it really too early and bring panick to yourself. Just sharing from my personal experience.

Jan, saw from the spreadsheet that you are also having bb #3 as well. Is yours planned for? Mine wasn't and took me a while to accept that I was really pregnant. My #1 is 3.5 yrs and #2 is 21 mths now. Quite difficult to handle #1 & #2 when #2 was born coz the age gap was quite close. Luckily my mum was a great help. Can't imagine having to go thru this all over again. Plus I'm not entirely very young already. Dun have as much energy =) How old are both your kids now? Who's looking after them? I'm already thinking abt the care arrangements after maternity ends. Coz dun think my parents can handle 3 kids. What's your plan?

And yes, tummy is really expanding much faster. At 2 mths, I already have a colleague asking me if i'm pregnant and someone even offer me a seat on the train! That's how obvious it is! Arghh.....

Btw, how do i upload the spreadsheet after i update? Not familiar with this.

Anxiously

I think you shld wait another week or 2 and scan again before making a decision. My gynae doesn't do scan at 6 weeks as he finds that it's too early to detect hb. Hope this is just a false alarm. Take care!

Agree with leo_baby n odiey, coz I went thru the same thing for no. 2. Instead of seeing a heartbeat, the only thing my gynae could see was a big cyst. He even asked if i was sure I was pregnant. In the end, I had to go thru unnecessary blood tests n stress. I went back to the clinic 4 nites in a row juz to confirm the pregnancy n then once a week to do ultrasound scanning. Finally was able to see the heartbeat at 7 wks plus. But the big cyst was abt 5.5cm n the gynae said that if doesn't go away by 12 wks, I hafta do a D&C coz it's dangerous. Luckily, everything turned out well in the end. Anxiously, I really can understand how u feel. Do get a 2nd opinion n whatever religion u r, it doesn't harm to pray. Have faith!

Odiey, ur kids r around the same age as mine. My elder girl is 4 yrs n my 2nd boy is 19 months. It wasn't planned for so imagine my surprise when I found out. Think the person who got the biggest shock is my hubby. He couldn't talk for an entire day. Heh... My mum takes care of my kids when I'm at work n I've got a maid to help her, if n she'll go nuts. My kids r super active, esp my son. Actually, I planned to take no pay leave from Jan next yr to stay at home with my kids for 2 yrs. But with no. 3 on the way, there's a change of plan. Will continue to work n then go on maternity leave. No pt wasting the 4 mths pay rite? Then will see if finances can manage b4 taking NPL. Really wanna stay home with the kids but I really dunno if I'm up to it coz being a SAHM can be really stifling at times.

My stomach is really, really big. There were lots of people asking me if I'm pregnant b4 I even knew abt it. I looked 4-5 months pregnant now n I'm not of a big frame. Juz the big tummy. Haiz...

There's a submit button at the bottom of the spreadsheet. Try looking for it. =)

Thanks odiey, Jan. My next scan is 5 Sep. But we are looking for another gynae now, preferably from KKH. Anyone has recommendations?

We wanna change not because we think the current one could be wrong. But we just don't understand how she can be so quick in giving up. Just makes us wonder if it's because they are too profit-driven.

Jan,
Same here... both my kids are also super active. My elder boy will be in N2 next yr and girl will be N1. Still considering whether to send them to CC. But my boy din like it when i put him there when #2 was born. Cry and cry. So I took him out. Yeah, shld just make use of the ML first since it's paid for. =)

I tried to update the spreadsheet. But not sure if it works. Let me know if you manage to see my updates? Tks!

Odiey, u same like me, 1 boy 1 girl but I'm the other way round. U hoping for boy or girl this time? My elder girl goes to 4 hr playgroup but she loves school. Next yr, switching her to another sch n the sch hours r only 3 hrs. If i cant handle, might consider putting her in CC too. Will send my boy to playgroup once he turns 30 months next June. Can see ur update oredi. =)

By the way, u r seeing Paul Tseng rite? Any reviews on him? Ur previous 2 delivered by him? Coz I'm looking for a gynae that supports VBAC. If my gynae dun support, I'm considering switching gynae. Paul Tseng dun do episiotomy rite? Will the wound be harder to heal then?

Anxiously,
I totally understand wat u going thro now. I went thro the same thing as you also.
When I see my gynae for first appt he said my bb has no heartbeat and ask me to come back another week. Then I was 5.5weeks pregnant. The one week seems like eternity to me. Its so unbearable. Every nite I cannot sleep. When the day finally came, I went to check. He stil said there is no heart beat. He wanted second opinion and asked me to go TMC for the Fetal Viability Test two days later as it was public holiday the next day.
Anxious me dun wanna suffer another sleepless nite insisted on going to scan on that day itself. The wait there was terrible. I was all alone.
The nurse scan for a while for heartbeat but keep quiet. After a few rounds of trying, she finally saw it.
So wat I Wanna tell you is, dun despair ok. :)

Jan,
wat is VBAC?

Mummies to be,
btw, i haf a pregnancy kit unused. I was too anxious to test it before my hubby came back from overseas. I dinno he was as anxious as me that he bot it after he landed in Singapore Changi Airport. LOL. So whoever needs it let me know. tnx.

Lee, VBAC stands for vaginal birth after Caesarian. I had no. 1 thru natural birth n no. 2 thru c-section. Watever it is, vaginal birth is still better n recovery is so much faster. I dunno why anyone would want to opt for a c-section. It's bloody painful! So I'm hoping Dr Ang will be willing to do a VBAC for me. But I think it's quite unlikely coz he seems like the simple n no-frills type of gynae n dun like to take risks. Will hafta search for another gynae if he's not for it. I'm seeing him tom. When is ur appt?

Jan
I'm hoping for another girl this time round coz based on my experience, my girl has been so much easier to care for. Haha... Also my girl has so much pretty dresses that I'm hoping to re-use. Make my money worth =) how abt u?

Re Paul Tseng, I switched to him for my #2 coz I also wanted to try vbac. Leebabytwo, it's virginal birth after caeserean. My first gynae more conservative. Friend recommended Paul Tseng to me. He's pro-natural one. so I managed to have a natural birth for #2. Are both your 1st 2 via c-sect or just #2? what's the reason for it? He will usually use that to determine whether the chances for natural are high. I like Paul Tseng. Very friendly n patient guy. I'm not sure if he's agst episotomy but he din do it for my case. Partly also coz my bb was small at 2.8kg. So I only tear slightly. It took me 2 weeks to heal.

Odiey, hi-five! I also hoping for a girl this time, coz really, boys r in a different league of their own when it comes to level of energy n activeness. N girls r so much easier to shop for, with all the pretty dresses n hair accessories. I went thru natural for no. 1 n c-section for no. 2. My son was in a breech position n refused to turn. N he was 3.5kg when he came out. Wat do u think the chances of me going thru VBAC is? I dun wanna do c-section again. Can still remember the pain n the recovery period. *shudders*

Leebabytwo: Many thanks for your words of encouragement. I also went to the TMC 1st trimester fetal viability test. Unfortunately, they couldn't detect heartbeat

I'm slowly coming to terms with it now. Had dinner with my parents earlier but couldn't bear to tell them. Think I'll tell them only after my 5 Sep appointment when everything is confirmed.

Jan,
High five! Great minds think alike! Hope we both get girls again... Since u manage to go thru natural for #1, am sure u can have vbac for #3 as long as bb is in the right position. However he will still inform u abt the risk involved for vbac so that u r aware. And he prefers bb to b of a smaller size to reduce the risk as well. I had emergency c sect as my #1 has umbilical cord coiled around his neck. Hence he said it's possible for me to try. But I was still quite scared that the worst will happen. Luckily everything turned out well. Some ppl are not for vbac as they find the risk too high chance to take. So really up to u... I will still go for natural this time if he permits!

Tested.. Still negative.. 10 days late.. Think i not pregnant bah.. Just menses late.. Congrate to u all mtb.. Me & hubby will try harder..;)