(2012/03) Mar 2012

Bibi,

Wanted to pm you about the genetic scan but you dun accept pm. I heard about this service offered by dr ananda at camden medical and am thinking of doing it as well. If you dun mind me asking, what is your Oscar score? Do you know when is the best time to do it? Also, does it replace the usual 20 week detailed scan? Does your gynae recommend it and will he look at the scan report as reference?
Sorry to bombard you with so many qns. My hubby thinks too expensive for a scan and also concerned scan too many times. Just did nuchal scan, then next week see gynae scan again and then the following week do the genetic scan for over an hour. Quite good that can take back a cd with scan images for keepsake. Are the images clear? So far never get any ultrasound pics at all. I kept some for my previous two kids but I heard the pics will fade after a few years. So this time round, even toying with idea of doing 4D scan in later stage to capture some live images.

Hi cheers3344,

So sorry, I just joined this forum and didn't know I cant accept PM
Will try to deactivate this later. No problem, I was also worried and always trawling forums for answers too! What I know are as follows:

-my OSCAR score is 1:29,000 if my hubby didn't hear wrongly (The nurse called him to inform him of the score, but we have yet to pick up the actual report. The nurse said we can just pick it up at our next appointment)
-Best time for the genetic scan should be between 14-16 weeks. For me, (Im 14w3d) it may be a tad too early because Dr Ananda couldn't pick up 2 aspects clearly – whether the baby has cleft palette and whether there may be little holes in the heart. But he has ruled out cleft lip and major heart complications so Im satisfied
Oh, and appointments are always scheduled in the mornings, before 1.30pm, something about the baby being more active then.
-Yes Dr Ananda also cautioned against having too many scans. He mentioned that soundwaves are used in scans, which generates a lot of heat, and that if we are having fever at 38degC it could be 40degC in the womb! So Im pushing back my usual 1-month appointment with my gynae though Im due to see him next week – since Im assured baby is ok today, also don't want to keep scanning

-Eh I havent seen the scanned images yet cos Im still in the office and don't want my colleagues to see :p but they should be the same as what was shown on the screen and it’s pretty ok– I can make out that the baby is sucking thumb and opening and closing her mouth for example. Does your gynae have a practice of giving you 1-2 scans per visit? I have 2 so far but yah, they look like they may fade.

Hope the above helps! My hubby also thinks it’s waste $ but for me, it’s really for peace of mind. Because if Im not wrong, OSCAR only detects DS but this scan helps to check for irregularities in the heart, lungs etc and assures you that everything is generally going well.

Oh, Im THINK (but not 100% sure) this can replace the usual 20 week scan, but I'll confirm with my gynae when I see him. Because my friend did the 20-week scan recommended by my gynae and she mentioned it wasnt as comprehensive and there isnt a report or CD of images. It's cheaper though at around S$160
Ultimately, if you arent too paranoid like me and dont need a detailed report or scanned images you can choose to wait for the 20-week scan ;)

zelda - no problem ! we can fix another date again to let the kids have fun =) may ur girl get well soon ! =)

leenleen - welcome and congrats !

Chomp_chomp: I hv bb plus. I don't think it helps to sooth bb as e drumming quite loud. Still contemplating whether to use or not as I scared my gal will b more attracted to it than bb. I scared she will fling it away from my tummy ;p Also I don't think it rili works as my gal not as smart as I want her to b ;p

Daisy: tks! Y'day she got slight fever n woke up several times asking for milk
So today zombie at work. Went to c GP this pm as her fever at 39.3. Now much better.

Thanks Bibi for your fast and detailed replies. will call to check if dr ananda can do the 20 week detailed scan. Coz if he does, I prob will go to him then as I'm pretty sure his scan is much more detailed and probably more assuring than the normal 20 week scan that my gynae sent me for my previous 2 pregnancies at NUH. Of course will be more than double the price but I'm that kind who worries a lot too and my Oscar score is not even as good as yours.
Tempted to go for scan now but worried that after doing it, will still be required to go for another detailed scan at 20 weeks. Please update me after you see your gynae. Will also ask my gynae on his views on going to dr ananda for scan when I next see him.
Thanks for your help and you have a nice weekend!

Hi had not drop in for quite some time, but usually before i went to bed i will read through using my i-phone but very difficult to post cause too small screen.

Saw afew SAHM alway post here so envy, cause whenever i on my PC my 18 months old son will press this press that and dun allow me to use but when he asleep i need to cook and do housework.
So not time to log in and chit chat..

But really hope that there will be more outing coming up so i can join in. But tmr not able to join in as my son will be having his Jab so let him stay at home in case fever.

Carice,

I have tried to change the setting in FB not sure did i change to the correct setting.

Please add me at [email protected]

Thank You

Zelda

Hope your girl get well soon.

Hi Mable Cherry,
How are you now? Hope you already managed to get some sleep.

I have the same problem as you. It started when I was 9+ weeks. I had to wake up about twice nightly to eat as I was awoken by my hunger. But i managed to fall asleep as soon as i was full. Slowly, at around 10+ weeks, I had problems going back to sleep after eating.. Always took 1-2 hrs after eating to get back to sleep. At about 11+ weeks, I started having insomnia.. Like you, my mind was very active though my body was very tired. I didnt sleep for 3 days 2 nights... I went to see a doc and he gave me a drowsy flu jab, but it didn't help. I still couldn't sleep. In the end, I was prescribed sleeping pills. The doc n gynae both say it's safe for pregnancy. I feel guilty taking it but got no choice, cos I really can't sleep if I don't take it. My mind is super alert. I asked the gynae and he said that's due to our hormones change.

Ling : OMG how u know mag de...... we same same... either i wait princess sleep then i cook.... if not i need to chase her all around when i was cooking... doing housework... i also wait for her sleep.... like that hard to have a rest when she sleep too.... pc... i using while princess is playing her spoil laptop.... so she cannot distrub me..... hee hee... if not i not able to come here to chat de.... but sometime she will want me to accompany her.... oh need to ask u... ur son will keep only u want to carry him or keep crying at night while sleep when u pregnant... cause my princess totally change when i pregnant....

303jun : wow i cannot go to see to get the sleeping pill like now i feel want to sleep but princess still super hyper active want to play.... so no choice wait till she tire then sleep ba.....

Michelle,

Ya i know her through forum as we are both March 2010 mummies.

Actually slightly before i knew i'm pregnant he supper sticky to me, alway want me to carry and even wake up in the middle of the night but after my morning sickness get very bad i went back to my mum place and stay for awhile, and did not really look after him and play with him then he get better. Now at week 14 my MS get better, i move back home he become supper gule to daddy. And everytime he wants me to carry him, i will just hug hug him and try to play with him instead of carrying him unless is outside then i will carry him.

Mic : don't know what wrong , I have problem add her to the group. U go see left corner add friend something like that. If not I do tomorrow cause using hp

Ling : ya now i think i believe old people say liao.... pregnant our kid know de... very sentitive lor......

OIC ya she is march de... she is my hubby ex colleagues hee hee... but i never tell any fb people that i pregnant yet... cause i week 13 right now......

so u went to TMC see gynea same with mag gynea ma....

Michelle : can you try to add hui ? i have no idea what wrong with fb either ... i try to search for them unavailable ... either their fb setting if not my fb setting ...

Good morning mummies...haven't log in the forum for quite some time. I seem to lose interest in alot of things...eg playing fb games or sitting in front of the pc, or simply don't feel like doing anything except relaxing...

hl_milk20, hw to add into the spreadsheet? Able to do it using mobile?

I got my first cramp last night... Leg cramp I meant..
Any1 had cramp?

carice: didnt received any fb group invite except from angelia.. is that u? lol

hui32, yup the link is wat daisy has provided. dunno y the link i paste is not a link.. hmm i dun have cramp yet, but having backache and lower abdominal pain everyday

<font color="000080">Oh, so it's common to have leg cramps? I was wondering why and thought I slept in the wrong position or something. I've only heard that we will have increased backaches because of the hormone relaxin that loosens up the muscles...</font>

Haven't been active for a while...

Bc, I also lost interest in everything. Cannot even bother to put on foundation bEfore going to work. Only want o relax n doze off in my sofa. Best of all, I taPao work home, and tapao back next day- untouched...

Mrs carice, I also have constipation problem. And yet cannot hear to down some prune juice. Once I was stuck in toilet for 30mins and the pain felt like cOntractions and I thought I wad going to have mc in the public toilet... Still, I'm not doing anything about it. Very bad huh??

Anyone starting to feel any fetal movement yet?

janjan : same ... yesterday i stuck in there ... it at the entrance just cant come out ... dare not squeeze to hard either .... panick ... go home wanna see doc ... take cab reach home downstair .. have feel faster rush up ... heng ah ... manage to resolve ... else v shy to see doc ...

it my horrible experience ...