(2012/03) Mar 2012

pamm,
not to worry about bb not getting enough nutrients. BBs are "made" very clever from start, they will absorb nutrients from the mummy's body. You probably will lose weight/nutrients instead of bb not gaining.

Lilxuan, I'm also still bf my boy. But my supply drop very low. I pump 3 times a day and only for his 1 feed. Already stop morning latch on cos he only suck air cos not enough.
I asked my gynea and she confirmed with me that its safe to continue bf. My no.1 is 11+ mths. Will cut to 2 pumps when he 1 yr old end of tis mth then will stop when I pump zero out. I'm worried of breast cancer so better pump till last drop. And no point continue cos supply low liao.
I read in internet too that if we continue to bf, we will produce a bit of colostrum when we are abt to deliver. Thats very good for no.1. But too bad, my supply drop so much.
To me, I'm like pregnant with a twin, meaning feeding 2 Bbs now, wif one inside tummy and one outside tummy liao.

Jo,
I felt the same during the national day break! Woke up, ate a mix berry bun and 2 slices of nice bread from barcook. Half an hour later, hungry again. I basically spent the entire day eating!

Now, I feel really hungry at 11.30am so my lunch hour has been shifted to accommodate my hunger pangs! hahahaha

It will get better when we hit 2nd trimester.

the thread is moving fast... last evening, went for my 2nd visit gynae - wk 10. So surprise to see bb is growing pretty fast n healthy, frm 1cm (wk 7) to 3.68cm (wk 10). I oso lost 1kg, but gynae said it is alright. When my gynae is doing the scanning, bb wave to us, so cute. And can see his body, head, legs + hands are being formed.

All mummies, jia you!

LuthAdel and jo, me too. I eat like a monster (my hubby descript me) for my no. 1 and I put on 30kg in total when I'm abt to deliver. I still have 10kg to go leh and I think now will add on more. Trying to control diet but cannot leh. I'm so hungry and I'm having hungry sickness. I will keep vomit air when I'm hungry. Praying hard I won't put on 30kg again and then in total 20kg (no. 1 + no. 2 after birth weight) to go.

Maplemummy, don worry abt the weight lost. So long Bb healthy and gaining weight will do. U will go back to before pregnant weight immediately after delivery. So envy!

morning all, i have the hungry pangs very often too.. i put so much food on my table until my colleague is laughing when she see me eat every 2hrs or less.

I went for my 2nd gynae visit too yesterday, still can't see bb hb so have to go back next week, hopefully by then can see bb hb. Gynae said at least there is growth which is a good sign but still hb must be detected. I am facing it positively but hubby is feeling scare, keep asking questions and ask me not to any how eat. Crossing my finger and keep telling baby to be strong so that I can see hb next week.

Jer,
How many wks are you now? If too early, usually cannot see/hear much

Hi mummies to be,

I am new to this thread. I started reading and it all seem so interesting. I am about 6 weeks and have not gone for scan yet. May be going sometime next week. This is my 2nd pregnancy and the ms seem to be worse than the first....

Winnie

Pamm-> Yes, B6 is vitamin, so should be alright. Gynae said it provides a low level of support and has been shown to help a little with nausea. My hubby is the opposite.. he said doc already said no harm on baby, so just take to make yourself feel better.

Good for mummies who can eat a lot! I still can't eat much, always pacing up and down the stalls hoping to find 'feel' for some food. But nothing seems to interest me much. I also lost a kg. Next week going Oscar, keep fingers crossed all is well!

anewmummy: i gained 0.9kg when i took my weight during last visit to gynae... my gynae say my weight abit too low. so ask me take more healthy food. this is coming tues my weight sure drop i have been vomitting for the past few days. cannot keep the food in at all.

GG LEE: Thanks for replying me earlier. I visited Gynae and he mentioned about the NT scan which is completely option. He shared the cost, I can't remember here. I think I'll go for that, though it's just for our information only. Regardless the results, I think it won't help much as if we already decided not go for amniocentesis, then the outcome of the NT tests won't help much. My gynae seems not encouraged us to test.

JuniorMe: You've to go onsite testing? Are you in IT line? I'm surround by machines, machines and machines.
Same same. And I love kimchi fried rice ..

Mrs Caire: I have morning sickness for this #2.
I remember #1 is so smooth sailing. I crave for noodle, pasta, bee hoon.. and fish - I don't have appetite for that. Always feel liked bloated, suffocated or vomit kind of feeling. Well, one word: not comfortable.

Jer,
6 weeks+ is still early like what the others mentioned. You should be able to see the hb at the next visit.

Jer-> Stay positive ya! Continue talking to your baby and get baby to stay strong and healthy! Sure things will turn out alright next week!

Thanks GG Lee & BB,

Ya, Im so glad to know that im not alone...

All the best for your OSCAR too! You will be fine =)

Thanks everyone. A bit worried cos for my first 2 pregnancy, hb can be seen in early 6 weeks. But will stay positive and wait for next week appt.

What kind of supplements did your gynae give you?

I was given some fish oil with DHA supplement, a prenatal multivitamin and calcium tablets.

Having OSCAR and blood test at next appt. Hope everything will be good.

Lilxuan , jascmy
I'm afraid of depriving the 2nd one of nutrients.. But it's like both breastfeeding and pregnancy are sucking up a lot from the mother's body..
Trying to reduce pump from three times to twice now.. then gradually stop else if stop right away, sure engorge..

Wintms
This is also my 2nd pregnancy, have yet to go for 1st gynae appt till next tue..From my own calculation, it seems like to be 7 weeks old..
For my no. 1, I had very very bad ms, literally anything went in will come out, so a bit worried that it will be the same for this one as I read from this thread that the peak will be around 8-10 weeks.. Fingers crossed..

hi just pop in to say hello....

today i am on MC from work... been resting after puke twice just nw... so tired...
was given 2 days MC so considering if to go back office tomorrow....
at home at least more relaxed... if tired just rest openly, no need to pretend to work like in office... sigh..

Jer>> i feel happy for you about ur second visit last evening... u can see ur BB waving?? so amazing... currently at wk 9, my next appointment next sat... hope can see BB waving to me too... 3.6xcm is quite big nw... the last time i saw mine at around 1.4cm at week 7, when at week 5, its around 4mm... BB is growing inside us every moment!!! hee... this at least cheer me up a little...

anewmummy>> i am not in IT field... I am an engineer in RF... sometimes need to test modules with those bench equipments... actually i thinking should i get a radiation shield and out it on my tummy when at work in time to come... i told my gynae before... he said its ook one... but still a bit worry...

lotusmum>> is there a fair now at taka?? but well... i think i will not shop for any BB stuffs yet after 1st trimester over... kind of no mood, hopefully when 2nd trimester, i will have more energy... i did a small shopping for myself on the maternity clothings at wk 5... still have not wear them yet...though many pants cant wear le...

Jasmine>> wat that OSCAR test about? does everyone needs to go got that test? so far have not get much details on this OSCAR test from gyane... only aware that at 20th week, going for the Ultrasound test...

Jo>> wow... ice cream my fav.... i havnet touch that for a month le... hee... been trying to control, eat yohurt instead... my fidge got the rum n rasin flvour one, think can only let my HB has it... gynae afraids i may have high sugar level later on, so warned me to control sugar in take le... so i dont dare take too sweet stuffs...

hugs juniorme... rest well lahhh don't go back so soon, since doc wants u to take it easy a bit

RF radiation: at nat'l RFID center, all e young fathers working there have girls only.. no boys... but they are healthy! but not sure abt effect on moms... ask doc ya

actually our hp, laptop (wifi) all this got radiation one lah... cant escape de

juniorme: rest at home since dr gave you mc... dun think about work. most impt now is bb and your health. nothing is more impt then that. hugs..

pamm: ya we are always exposed to radiation so unless we go to some countryside that doesnt have such hp, laptop etc otherwise cannot run away from it. my gf said her hubby keep her away from laptop when she is expecting.. now she feel like she is so outdated.

Jascmy, wow! I wish i can eat like u! My first one also can gobble 2 servings at one sitting. This round I feel hungry but eat already feel horrible so eating become a chore. But my hb say I v horrible, puke already shortly will find something else to stuff myself again. No choice right, can't go without food Ma, for sake of our little one!

Hey mummies, soya bean milk also cannot drink?? Someone told me is v cooling? Wahlau, like so many things cannot. Dat day I buy chestnut drink end up drink a bit throw away cos read Internet says no no for pregnant woman. Sianz leh..

if soya bean milk is taken in moderate , it should be ok , its not cooling just that soya beans contain compounds called phytoestrogens or isoflavones, that have been found to mimic the effects of the female sex hormone oestrogen.

it also may increase the risk of long-term developmental damage in their children

so if mummies who know that they are expecting boy , take less of it or you may bring up a boy with lots of female features ..

I think soya bean drink is alright. Drank quite a lot during my 1st pregnancy and everything turned out alright. My son very fair... and my mum drank a lot during her pregnancy and I very fair too... dunno if it's due to the soya bean drink... hehe..

GGLee>> u mean water chestnut drink?? i just brought one bottle from Fu Hua... oh no.... i am like keep taking the wrong food... BB, pardon me!!! indeed a lots food cannot take..i prohibited to eat mutton now... even roti prata.. cos my HB said the oil used on prata is mutton oil... wow... no prata for the 10 months? cos 9 months preggy plus 1 month confinement..
like to ask u another qtn...i dont remembered wrongly yesterday u mentioned u took C for the first right? did u took chicken or egg during ur confinement?

MrsLow>> welcome to the march mummies group!! hee...

pam & wen wen>> my boss will black list me from now on le... worked 2 days, MC 2 days this week... heee... not so good right?? actually i was just starting to look for jobs in May... but my pregnancy comes before my job hunt, which made me has to stay put my current job now... was thinking during the 4 months maternity, will start job hunt again... have to bear and endure the current one... :p

Hi everyone, new here. My EDD is 4th March too. Same as Mrs low! Currently experiencing bad morning sickness.. No cravings at all.. Always hungry though but baby only accepts plain food like Meiji crackers n bread.. Sigh..

Juniorme, oh oh I been eating a lot of prata wor! Find it settles in well. Yes cannot eat mutton but I din noe prata use mutton oil? Those frozen type shd b safe? I stock some from supermart too for snacks

Ya for C first week or so I din eat chicken or eggs. 2nd week onwards I eat kampong chicken, and must make sure buy female one. And CL cooks 2 eggs for me everyday.

GGLee>> heard those indian stall ones, they use the mutton oil to make it more fragnant from my HB... to be safe, i will not take it... buy from supermart ones r fine la... but dunno too much flour good or not?? but guess everything in moderate will not go wrong!

thats what i heard from my other gal which just gave birth after C... so i think really have to keep out egg and chicken for the 1st 2 week for C...

Janjan16>> i tried the eno once... think during week 5 /6 that time... feel indegestion so drank it... didnt work for me, cos shortly after, i throw out... so dont dare try again...

lotusmum>> thanks for information.

Sorry ah y can't take ghee (mutton oil)? Besides prata actually many cookies uses a little ghee too. Like sugee cookies.
Ya, hb not v happy I ate ice cream & huge serving. Dr advise me against intake of sugars. Sob sob. Everything taste so bitter. Dr say can eat a little 1/4 scoop think I ate 6 times of recommended.

Crave for ice water to soothe the bitter taste. Controlling myself. This can't indulge.