(2012/03) Mar 2012

Hey mummies, yes around week 9 ms is really terrible! I think it gets better from wk 11. Now I can stomach fish and dun puke. Keeps finger crossed gets better. Last night I ate 2 plates of wanton Kway teow.

As for flaring up, I also guilty. Screamed at my boy cos he made a mess playing water. Beat his hand also. He sulked for a long time after dat! Felt a bit guilty.

thanks darine_gal and BB for ur encourgements!!

i scared of the puking... those sounds i made trying to cough out those things inside... sometimes nothing, but the gastric like something wrong...

to prepare for lunch, i just took two suntacid for the gastric from the gynae... at least help me with the digestion...

i tried to be more cheery....
i know there are some gfs of mine... tried to concieve for some time and when she finally preggy, she feel so happy...
hmm... for me... i feel happy a new life coming into the family... but the MS, whether to natural birth or elective C... i am so scared...

I am a May brides last year... and some of the gals who wanted natural brith turns out to be C in the end...
i feel i might just go for C...
but when read books.... i saw the pics, i feel scared also... sigh

GC Lee>> can you share more about C? how is the recovery on C? will it affect subsequent pregnancy?

Personally actually I want to go for elective C straight.
Scared of the labour pain…my pain tolerance very low.
Heard some neagative feedbacks on the pelvic floor and the uterus after natural birth…

I told my Gynae I wanted C on my first visit and he don’t seem to encourage me.
But he mentioned if I don’t want natural, better opt for C, cos he don’t wish me half way cant push and then go for Emergency C…
My mum told me C the recovery will be slow, and painful…
But there are cases, I saw my gf recovered well after C…

So I think u opt for half body conscious for the C right?
Does it scary cos I also heard feedback, when u awake, u can feel the gynae pulling stuffs..

Sorry if I asking too much… I am so many doubts on my mind…

JuniorMe,
don't have to worry about c-sect or natural. Most probably can only decide when it's nearer to due date cos have to depend on position of bb, your blood pressure & maybe some other factors too.

But c-sect is not as scary as you think. I was like GG Lee, conscious throughout, could hear and know what they were doing. It wasn't scary, there was a nurse beside me, "chatting" with me.

As for recovery, depends on individual. I recovered pretty fast and well. I delivered on Fri night and my gynae discharged me on Sun afternoon. After that could still go back hospital to visit my bbs everyday.

So don't scare yourself now. This can wait till later stage then decide.

Hi Junior me, yes mine is half body conscious one. And yes, I can feel the doc pushing and tugging (u can feel the motion but no pain) as she and anesthetist tried to push my bb down to the part they cut. Mine was emerg C cos bag burst liao but no dilation. And it was like such a quick job when eventually decided to go C. Within a short time see bb liao.

Most gynae will encourage natural. Mine also ask me to try although she also pre empt me that my bb was big and head also big.

My recovery was ok, by next day I was walking to the toilet etc. 3rd day I discharge already and can carry bb and walk. My CL commented I recovered well quite fast. But I have heard of some who find their wound very painful.

I think each has pros and cons, I also heard of natural birth cases tearing very badly all the way to anus, or some docs stitching not good, some burst, end up have to do re-stitching of the V area.

But C section cannot have 2nd bb too early, most doc recommend getting pregnant 1 year later to be safe, in case wound tear.

The other good thing abt C is dun have to worry about V area being stretched lor....I think the men happiest..hahah!

GG Lee,
your comment about men happiest is so funny, haha!

Mine was emergency c-sect for the same reason as you too. I had wanted to try natural cos bbs were in the right positions but 人算不如天算. I didn't have dilation or contractions for 15hrs after waterbag burst.

Juniorme,
I'm so much older than you when I gave birth to my son in 2008. Adding on to that, I've really narrow pelvis so for most, they'll give up on natural birth.

I went ahead with natural birth but assisted by vaccum and epidural. I didn't feel a thing and could even joke with my gynae when my son was on his way out!

Epidural is a wonderful discovery and that really eases the pain. I'm going for natural again this time round.

Don't be afraid of the birthing process, each push gets you closer to seeing and holding your baby!

Hi ladies…

Thank you for sharing more about the labouring…

Hmm… I read books and saw pictures on the natural birth process too…
And the book stated that 75%, the gynae need to do a surgery cut from the V area to the anus…
Its either to the left or right cut.

I asked my mum and she said her gynae did the cut for the 3 of us, at the same location.
So far I heard is nowadays the stitching is quite good and will drop off naturally…
Unless in the past need to go back to take out the stiches.

If don’t let gynae and let it tear… it will be ugly, my mum said some women in the past scare the stitching and didn’t stitch…
And in the end the HB don’t want her… such a sad story.

I saw in the book, the C kind of bloody to me… so which frighten me a little a first sight.
But before I preggy, I l already thought to myself to go for elective C if has BB in future…

Reasons being…
1. scare of the labour pain, the contraction part
2. the cutting of my V area… don’t feel to change my private area…though I know with the epidural I will not feel any. I think I will feel depressed after that.
Cos after birth, my body shape will change, dunno breasts will change or not, dunno got stretch marks or not… and even my private part got a cut…
All my body lotions I invented on, my dieting all go to waste le….

And my HB everything the same…. I may feel inbalanced.

I think I will rest for 1 and 1 half year before trying for the 2nd one.
Well…that’s has to depend on how the first goes…
If the first frighten me lots… I may stop at one le…
I am not young too… in early thirties..

Tethysea-> I stay further down the road from TPJC. At block 450C.... think quite close to your place right?

I'm feeling the same as well. Super sensitive and the slightest smell of cooking/oil makes me want to puke.

junior... don't think so far.. one step at a time... like u... i'm also scared.. but at this point.. i choose not to worry myself over those things yet... for now... most important thing is to feel motivated and blissful... coz it's not easy for the baby in our tummy to come about...

don't allow the other stuff to over shadow the joy and yearning for this little one...

the other things will sort themselves out in time to come... honestly.. i have never known all this cutting, v area etc etc... so i feel u are more well informed than me... i should be the one who is more scared!

so smile!

luthadel>> walk around to talk to colleague for a while??

ask u all a qtn.... can i eat ham?? does it considered raw food?
i been having it the past 2 days with bread... oh no...

Darine & Junior-> Jiayou okie! Be positive ya....everything will be over soon...
infact, I think we will forget what we've gone through after that. I remembered I had MS during my 1st pregnancy but couldn't remember the details... feeling so bloated, nauseous, tired with that terrible taste in the mouth now, so I asked my hubby yesterday when I was feeling very down if I was like that with the 1st pregnancy and he said exactly the same... consolation is, research shows women with MS have lesser risk of miscarriage.

juniorme, i read that's deli-style meat and may contain listeria. It's advisable to bring it to high heat before consuming.

mei... so sweet of u! hahah... ya.. i was wondering if i dare to have a 2nd one after all this discomfort... but i rem i heard from experienced mummies that women tend to forget all about the pregnancies and labour pains and that's why they had their subsequent kids!

Juniorme
Best to avoid all processed meat including luncheon meat, ham, sausages etc as they contain sodium nitrate. Sodium nitrate should be avoided during pregnancy as it could cause deformities in the developing baby.

Darine,
sometimes it's good to be not so well-informed. You won't feel so afraid.
I didn't even know about epi c-sect till the day I went for it, haha!

I was telling my hb to remind me what I'm going thru now if I ever think of having a #4 some years down the road. :p

darine_gal
To be on the safe side, avoid eating until after 20 wks lah since thats when baby is fully form...after that you can eat whatever you want

Junior: yes nowadays the stitch will dissolve by itself. Once you see your baby, you will forget abt the pain. I had natural birth for my first two babies without epidural but with "laughing gas" and the moment i see my baby, pain is at the back of my mind. Dun worry too much, most important is baby is healthy.

Did everyone manage to hear bb hb? Tonight is my gynae appt, hopefully can hear or see bb hb.

Juniorme, u think so much!! Dun worry la, is not that bad. If take care, apply oil, dun overeat, won't grow out of shape get stretchmarks or sagging breasts one. Touch wood I think I am ok after one child. Hope can be the same after 2nd one!

Hi Hi ladies...

thanks so much for the updates on the food.
did put the ham with the cheese inside the mircowave this morning...
hmm... think i better dont eat them for nw...

last friday...i ate three susuages... one of my favourite... then meat ball can eat?? i went ikea to have their meat balls and chicken wings yesterday...

like many things cant eat, and those things can eat i dont like.... eg. fish... think i have not eaten much fish since july... just feel neasuea by looking at it... used to be my favourite..

nowadays... eating for me like a headache... dunno wat to eat...
my HB prohibit me to eat curry, lasksa, mee siam, seafood...

oh ya... i ate KIMCHI the other days... drank a lot of kimchi soup as well... kind of appreitising to me with the hot and sour taste...

the other day i also ate instant noodle... though i know may be too good...but no appetite to eat any...

an hour for me to knock off... and my indigestion kind of start again... mine is like "evening sickness"...

hi ladies, went for my first gynae appt on monday... gynae said too small to hear heartbeat, but i remembered i heard hb on my first visit during my first pregnancy... and that was only week 5... but not sure if cos i did v-scan the last pregnancy that's why can hear...

i also had natural without epi but with laughing gas, and believe me... u won't feel any stitching pain cos the most painful part would have been over... but like what jer said, you forget about all those pain once u see your healthy baby...

jia you everyone!

Hello mummies! Im at week 8 now. Which brand of prenatals are you girls taking at the moment? I was taking the gnc ones but realized it made me really nauseous after taking it. My Gynae only gave me folic acid and vit B12 at the moment and I feel rather unsafe for not taking prenatals.

BB, you had a set of twins! How many weeks did you carry them to?

phylee,
I'm taking folic acid from gynae. He didn't give me anything else. Think next visit, he'll give me Obimin like the last pregnancy.

I only managed to carry them to 34th wk when waterbag burst. Luckily my son came out more than 2kg.

Wah have not visited a few days, this thread grew so fast...

1st stage of preggy: eat & sleep like nobody biz
2nd stage: throw up all that I had eaten in stage 1

What I am about to write is a bit emo... skip if you wanna stay cheerful...

I know having baby is a wonderful thing and all. And I was enjoying it till MS sets in. Now I feel it's pure torture... like having seasick all the time @_@ and hubby (while being nicer and more attentive) is forcing me to eat when all I wanna do is throw up. I don't know why he just wouldn't understand how sickly I feel and keep forcing me to eat (then I throw up), again and again.
I mean I am scared that baby won't have enough nutrition as well. But it feels so physically terrible now a mere thought of solid food make me wanna puke my brain out >.<

Dovey>> i tihnk for ur last pregnancy, u most likely must have did the V scan...
cos for me, at 6weeks that time, gynae cant see any at the tummy scan...
then i went for another female gynae,and let her do the V scan... and can see the heart beat le...

but to share my final choice is a male gynae, second visit to him, tummy scan cant see any, and let him perform the V scan, and can see the heart beats too...

so not to worry if u cant see any at tummy scan now...
my next appointment is next sat, supposed to see my BB at tummy scan le... gynae last Visit says by right can see the formed legs and hands, etc le… I read that at week 9, the tail is gone… and its actually moving inside but we cant feel it now…

GG Lee>> ya... maybe i think too much... has been quite turned off about pregnancy... to me, Babies are like cute little monsters... cos they look adorable but once they cired... oh... can faint... i have a younger who is 11 old younger than me, and i used to take care of him when my mum is busy... so maybe probhia on taking care of bb...

phylee>> currently taking folic acid and Vit B from Gynae as supplement daily. On top of it, i get medicine for neasea and for gastric from my gynae also...

Pamm>> hugs for you... can understand the puking feeling...gynae suggests to have small but more meals... have some healthy snack?? i brought yohurt cos didnt want to take ice cream, then brought berries like strawberry or blueberries?? hmm... those organic apricot is good too... i didnt take nuts stuffs cos i scare pop nuts on my face!

books say chamoile tea helps, i brought also and tried one teabag last evening...
i drank ribbena as well... dont put too sweet...
have the glucose water as well... cos i sometimes no appetite, drink a bit to keep my sugar level right...

Pray hard... MS go go away.... nw to becoming a mother, i can truely know the harships of carrying a BB...

pamm,
Don't worry too much as your body will have enough reserves to feed the baby even though you can hardly eat. *pat pat

Just ignore your hubby's nagging since he won't really understand how you feel. Try liquid diet if normal food really sucks. However, since you're puking that much, try to ensure you have enough water intake to avoid dehydration.

LuthAdel>> thats what my gynae told me on my last visit too... he asked me to drink water... not to get dehydration as it will be very dangerous... and our body has more nutirients for the BB now...

Pamm....why not try asking gynae for some anti-nauseous medicine or something? It won't help with the weird taste in the mouth but at least it helped relieve a little of the bloatedness. I still feel nauseous and tired but *fingers crossed*, so far, I have managed to keep all the fppd in my tummy. I'm taking B6 in the morning and Maxolon before lunch...

Phylee=> Not to worry about not taking prenatals... gynae said it's okay not to take during 1st trimester as sometimes prenatals can make us more nauseous... I'm currently just taking folic acid (1 tab a day).

<font color="000080">JuniorMe >> I have read some conflicting info about Chamomile tea. On one hand it's supposed to soothe the nausea, but it is supposed to cause uterine contractions, not safe for 1st trim. As with everything, I suppose eat/drink in moderation.

BTW, I find sichuan veg soup really helps with the appetite!

pamm >> Don't worry, baby doesn't get nutrients from us until 2nd trimester. Heh. When you do your u/s, can ask the gynae to point out the yolk sac - that is bb's main source of nutrition in 1st trim.</font>

phylee: my gynae take now most important is folic acid. at least 5mg a day. on top of that she gave me hormones pills to support the pregnancy as i feel abit of cramp on n off. my gynae say vitamins and fish oil etc will come later at 2nd trimester. think you better check with your gynae and just that what they think is enuff for you n bb. Also gynae ask me to drink materna milk powder thus she gave me some brands to try out.

mummies, do you all feel like crying quite often? Cos this morning i was feeling very unwell and got scolded by manager and cried and vomit at the same time. now i feel like crying again... not sure if it's cos i'm feeling unwell.

wenwen,
think it's normal cos of hormones changes. Try to think of happier things. It's end of mid week, 2 more days to weekend again.

<font color="000080">wenwen >> *hugs* I think it's the hormones talking... I find I get very weepy easily too, esp when my spotting comes back it's like whole world come crashing down even though put in perspective it's really not that serious ^^; Then when my hubby has to OT or my sis writes insensitive sms, I'll get very extreme mood swings and feel very depressed. But I always tell myself must stay positive for bb!</font>

Wenwen, is normal ya. I once cried cos hubby dun let me eat potato chips! After dat I find myself v funny. It's our hormones.

Thank you so much everyone for your encouragement.
Hiaz... i am working tonight >.< nature of my job to have night shift once or twice a week and some wkends

Juniorme, hug hugs, hubby brought prunes which i just eat and throw up... basically, this is my routine nowadays

LuthAdel, thnx... hubby like to say porridge got no meat... yah I really can't take hubby nagging liao

Mei, thanks... but my "panicky" hubby is against medicine &amp; chemical unless absolutely necessary (like folic) he even ask me not to put make-up lor (i still do, hehehe). B6 is vitamin???

Tethysea, really arr... baby come w yolk one? So they already have reserve for the 1st trimester? Wow...

Wen Wen,
Talking about emo, me too..
My no.1 was crying in class as someone knocked her with a toy, seeing her teardrops makes me want to cry too..

Any mommies still breast feeding no.1? My gynae appt is next week so only going to ask about it then..

Wenwen: the ladies r right it's the hormone change. Was so tired on Sat &amp; had reflux, the moment my head touch the pillow tears flowed non stop till I felt asleep.
So busy today after PH colleague on leave work non stop...

Lotusmum, i am still bfeeding my no. 1. He latches on to sleep every night. Do not know how to break the cycle. He is only 9.5 mths old..
My gynae advises me to stop as he says bfeeding n prrg systems are 2 opposing ones... So may affect. But i read online saying its safe to bfeed. In a dilemma.
Think i will slowly stop bah...