(2012/03) Mar 2012

jac : when you next appt ? do highlight to your gynae ...

i remember before i find out i bfp .... i did see brownish colour when i clean it .... but aftert that i did not see anything already ...

luthadel: if not wrong tis is my 6week. but the problem is i dunno how to describe the colour & dunno isit spotting anot.

carice: tis sat i'm gg for my 1st appt.

i will monitor tis 2 days & will try to be positive as well.

Dovey >> Folic acid supposed to start 2-3 months before getting pregnant actually, so never too early to start! Don't take more than 1mg (1000mcg) dosage unless prescribed by your doc

jac >> Please go see gynae just in case! My fave gynae site says and I quote: "The bad news is, spotting in pregnancy is NOT normal. The good news is, it's usually caused by something harmless." So for peace of mind, better check with gynae!

jac : dont stress yourself ... if you dont feel good ... do see a doc immediately ...

i cant wait till tomorrow ... cause i will be see bb heartbeat

@ tethysea, so i can go buy from unity and start taking folic too. tks!

@ jac, yeah should go see doc if u don't feel comfortable or unsure of things...

jac
If it is yellowish, it could be your mucous discharge. The discharge can be clear, yellowish or light greenish in colour.

Tethysea
I've been taking folic acid that is 5mg for my previous and current pregnancy leh.

hi all, i'm expecting and due to see my gynae only on 2 Aug thus not sure how many weeks am i.

I'm having quite bad morning sickness and bloatedness that cause me wanting to puke the moment i don't eat something, can anyone advice what can be done? Cos it's affecting my work badly.

Wenwen : Congrats. i also very blur at calculate how many weeks. you might want to google search for calender base on your last menses date ... agar agar will know liao ...

congrats wenwen! me too have bad morning sickness. i'll always have something in my mouth so that i can forget about it. u can try "chen pi". works for me.

Welcome Wenwen.

I've been having bad MS for these 2 weeks too. I think it's different for all. Some feel nausea before food, some after and some can eat certain food but some can't. You got to try and find some comfort food to ease the tummy.

For me, those plain crackers help alot. And I just started to take chicken essence this week, it did help alot with my MS and fatigue too. Best is drink warm on an empty stomach in the morning.

Mrs Carice: i used this BabyBump app on iphone and it says i'm 6 weeks Day 1 base on date of last menstrual period.

marpreggy: my problem is only when i smell ppl smoking, or bbq smell, like Ya Kun Toast those toast smell i will feel like vomitting too. My colleague who is preggy say is due bloatedness.. Will go find 'chen pi' can give it a try.

BB: for me is i must have my stomach filled, the moment i feel a little hungry i will wan to vomit. So i have the tedency to eat all day. i like frozen yogurt thou.

my MS was so bad on monday that i woke up tearing, and i havent been able to sleep well this days.. even woke up this morning in hunger and grab a bread eat and get somemore sleep.

wenwen >> Sour plums and plain toast are my best friends :p Don't let yourself get too hungry, and don't eat too full. Eat small meals. Anyway strong morning sickness means hormones are strong, so your bb is doing well!

jac >> Yellowish might be mucous lar. Don't worry, Saturday coming soon! My first appt is on Saturday too

wenwen~ ur days is EXACTLY the same as mine! i'm 6 weeks 2 days (using baby bump app too!) haha.

if u wake up feeling hungry. prob u can eat something before u sleep. like what bb says. i read somewhere saying that crackers can absorb the stomach acid. so u won't feel so hungry in the morning.

Agree. I was pregnant with my first son and had extreme ms in my first trimester and lost 7kg in 3 months and have to be admitted to hospital for water drip. One day can vommit at least 10 times and my throat burnt. Meiji plain cracker is probably the only food I can take... all other food made me nausea or puke totally. Also very sleepy. I trust the best way is to rest plentiful and drink ribena water or ginger drink if you can't hold plain water.

My son just turned 1 year... I'm now pregnant again term 7 weeks. Visited the gynae at 5+ weeks. He did the ultrascan and saw an area of bleeding on the womb beside the gestation sac. Something my gynae found unusal. However, no blood discharged at all. My pregnancy was unstable and had to take the utrogestan pill twice a day. My first one was healthy, full term and 3.69kg! I guess for this pregnancy I was really stressed/busy at work, carry heavy stuffs and anyhow take flu/cough medication. Missed a menstrual cycle and take it for granted. Well, I visited the gynae a week later when I was 6+ weeks, at least we could hear the heartbeat. Phew! We are pregnant woman so we should be careful, be cheerful and delegate much of the chore to the guy and rest more. Eat more fruits like kiwi. Sweet potato and brocoli. Avoid or moderate intake of pork liver in case you think this food will give you iron. Too much of it has adverse effect.

thanks Cleo!
at which wk MS will come arr?
BB, thanks! $60+ is like half lehhhh... hmmmm i tot pink IC got subsidized de
big Dee, take care and rest more
i also didnt see anything... now scare to go fr another scan >.<

jac, you got MS yet? since our date similar :]
also wanna ask u abt gleneagle med center... which doc &amp; how do i set up an appointment?

pamm: MS hv abit, not tat serious. which i'm quite worry as ppl say MS not serious ur baby might nt be tat active. haiz... so far the spotting have stop. mayb spotting is common in preg ba...

i will be seeing Dr Ang Huai Yan is refer from both my sis. she is their gynae too. u juz need to col up for appt &amp; they will give u a date or u can request a date with them.

tethysea: i havent got a chance to buy sour plum as i don't have the energy to go out after work cos i will feel hungry n wanna eat... i canot eat too full or i will vomit, tried on the 1st day when i noe i was preggy, so now i eat small meals or when i am hungry, so i also end up eating all day.

marpreggy: i always do tat cos i will be hungry like 1 hr after my dinner den i will munch fruits and eat cracker before i sleep but i still have the same problem when i get up. i must say i have very strong stomach acid cos even b4 i was preggy if i eat my lunch too late i will feel like vomitting...

Jac,
Dr Ang is very good and her stitching is very good too. She performed key hole surgery for my 1st endormetrioisis cyst back in 2005 and now no one can tell that I had an op before.

She is not my gynae now cos I moved out of Raffles Place for a while but she is very nice. Just that her nurse is a little temperamental at times

luthadel: oh, thks for sharing the information with mi. so tat i can prepare the nurse temperamental on tis sat. hehee.. =D

Carice: I'm going to see my gynae later, v excited n don't kne Wat to expect as this my first bb.

Wen: welcome to the thread!

Jac: continue monitoring and to be on safe side better check with yr gynae.

Talkin abt folic acid, I'm currently eating 2 tablet bought fr unity a day, is that consider too much??

LuthAdel >> The daily upper limit is supposed to be 1mg, but folic acid is water soluble so supposed to be that extra will be washed out of system. However, not much research has been done and apparently guys cannot eat too much. Mine is also 1600mcg a day, which is a bit over the suggested intake.

Jia >> How much is in one tablet?

jia : heeee

Ladies : i got a shock just now because i see blood when i do big business ... i so panick thought i am bleeding ... after monitor ... lucky it too heaty then bleed de ... phew ....

Had seen my gynae this morning, currently is 7 week 5 day. Can see baby heartbeat. Next appt will be 1 month later which is week 12.Will be doing oscar at the same time.

I'm currently taking 4 tabs of 5MG Folic acid as per advise by gynae.Cause i have "di zhong hai ping xue zheng".

I cannot take pain water during the day as i will vomited out, gynae advise to drink honey water, Ribena and fruit juice. But lucky at night time okay to drink plain water but need to alway go pee in the middle of the night...

Sharon,
So nice to be able to see bh!

I'm still very anxious cos my 1st pregnancy was a blighted ovum before I had my son. So for both 2nd and current pregnancy, I was really nervous until I see the yolk sac + baby &amp; hb.

Can't wait for next wk's appt to scan again

Haha thks! Not sure if I can see the little one bb later, update u all later!

Clarice, think u have more high fibre food n fruits. Heard constipation is v common during pregnancy.

I also paranoid, yes n sometimes feel a bit wet scared that I'm on spotting. Lucky is nt.

Luth, don't worry too much! Yr bb will be fine de! Dear all mummies must have positive mindset k, is good for the growing foetus.

My folic acid 1 tablet is 5 mg. Im takin 2 tablets a day!

Yippee!! One more day to the weekend!!

i also wanna see my gynae soon. she scheduled me for 8 aug. i cant wait coz i just wanna confirm and see the heartbeat.

i also got slight spotting on monday. but since then like no more.

if i arrange to go next week maybe can see heartbeat? by next week i b around 6+ 7 weeks. shd i?

Hey mummies! Wah a lady gave up her seat to me, was so surprised. Looks like I am showing already.

Many of u taking v high dose of folic huh? My gynae told me 5mg that I took already high, normally they advise about 1 mg.

Hi mummies, jus finish my 1st checkup with Dr tee, did the vaginal scan as he said cannot see fr ultrasound. It won't affect my bb one right?

Dr tee say can see the heart beat but I need to go down in 2 weeks time to cfm if everything is fine.

Carice, I am also going to see gynae tomorrow :D hopefully by tmr can see baby's little arms and legs

Wow, u girls are still on folic acid? I dunno why... my gynae only prescribe me 2 weeks of folic acid. then for the last three weeks, i have been on Calcium and Iron Pills nia. yup, i also hate swallowing medicine these days. and i am beginning to hate plain water. oh no...

actually i usually stock up 5mg folic acid from guardian or unity or any of the pharmacies. cheap and gd enough. u get 1 big pkt for $5.

janjan >> Supposed to take folic acid throughout first trimester, because that's when bb's nervous system is developing. After that is up to you.

jia >> Congrats! Yar, v-scan is ok lar. That's what they usually use for the early weeks.

I'm taking multi vits for pregnancy, and 1 pill contain 250ug of folic acid, so my total intake is 500ug per day.
500ug is 0.5mg, like abit low hor? Since recommeded folic acid for pregnant mum is 800ug to 1mg a day.

I tried taking 1mg tablets of folic acid initially, I ended up with a slight allergy with little bumps all over my neck, chest and back. so no choice, I have to moderate the folic content...doctor also told me allergy to folic is so rare, and I have to be one of them.. sigh

Hi Jac,

I am also seeing Dr Ang. Which clinic do you visit her at? I went to the Raffles Clinic. She is very nice &amp; I feel comfortable with her.