(2012/02) Feb 2012

Hey mummies, my CL doesn't encourage me to pump and store in fridge cos it will cause bb to have 涨气(I suspect she means colicky). Do you girls have this problem?

For now, I will latch on in the day and only pump before I sleep. Nite feeding will be formula milk or EBM+ formula if EBM not enough. My flow now is abt 100ml on both sides (based on my pump at nite)

Hi xia
Recommended by fren. Her rate about $2.2-2.3k. But she is full till Aug already.

Meifen,
Reason is becos for ebm we need to bottle feed so the risk of colic is higher as bb may suck in more air. Direct latch bb dun suck in as much air. CL will have easier life too :p No need to feed or sterilize etc.

Hi xia
Recommended by fren. Her rate about $2.2-2.3k. But she is full till Aug already.

Meifen,
Reason is becos for ebm we need to bottle feed so the risk of colic is higher as bb may suck in more air. Direct latch bb dun suck in as much air. CL will have easier life too :p No need to feed or sterilize etc.

Hi dearies... Long time never log in already

I got questions and hopefully to hear some advise rather than me searching online for answers.
Well, my baby is 6weeks old and whenever I latch him, he can suckle for a good 20min each on both side and still go hungry 1hr later (or at most 1.5hr later). But when I feed him with formula (100ml), it could last him for 2.5hr. Am I low in supply? Tired fenugreek but had to stop due to rashes. Tried pumping after latching - nothing come out. Tried feeding formula in the night and 1st thing in the morning feed him - also 1+ hr need milk again. Am I normal?

Am going nuts about my breast soon. Hahaha

Hi dearies... Long time never log in already

I got questions and hopefully to hear some advise rather than me searching online for answers.
Well, my baby is 6weeks old and whenever I latch him, he can suckle for a good 20min each on both side and still go hungry 1hr later (or at most 1.5hr later). But when I feed him with formula (100ml), it could last him for 2.5hr. Am I low in supply? Tired fenugreek but had to stop due to rashes. Tried pumping after latching - nothing come out. Tried feeding formula in the night and 1st thing in the morning feed him - also 1+ hr need milk again. Am I normal?

Am going nuts about my breast soon. Hahaha

Baby mummy, me looking for tingkat too! Which 2 u shortlisted? Initially i wanted neo garden but they got use msg. Keep us posted of your reviews ya!

Nana, have u tried pumping out your milk (w/o) latch for a rough gauge of how much milk u have? If vol is enough and since after latch there is nothing when u pump, then bb shd b extracting well from u. Breastmilk is definitely more easily ingested so need more frequent feeds compared to fm.

Hi GG, for now, My only wish is for her to handle my bb with more love. I really wonder if I shld change her.. She is allowed to and do nap in the afternoon. I would expect her to comfort the bb if she were to wake up at night. However, she seems to take the easy way out by bringing the bb to me n saying that bb wants to latch cos she has fed bb n bb still dun want to sleep. Is this a norm ladies? Or am I too sensitive? Haiz..

GG; where got time to pump? He oreadi eating 1+ hour once. Unless u mean to pump 30min after feed. But I think I couldn't even get 1 oz from both side as my breast would never get a chance to be "full" or "engorge".

What about the rest? How long it takes for your breast to feel full or engorge?

GG; where got time to pump? He oreadi eating 1+ hour once. Unless u mean to pump 30min after feed. But I think I couldn't even get 1 oz from both side as my breast would never get a chance to be "full" or "engorge".

What about the rest? How long it takes for your breast to feel full or engorge?

Meiji, my CL is the direct opposite. She like always v worried if we take the bb away from cot. Sometimes it irritates my hub as she will knock to ask if bb is feeding. I only latch at most twice a day.

Nana, wat I meant is instead of latch, try to pump out by the next session for a feel of roughly how much milk u have. For me I find if I latch bb does not clear my breast well. When I pump I can get about 120m (w/o latch) and I conclude I have milk but bb is not extracting v effectively. So end up I put her dun a while only she wan milk again. So end up I pump out for CL bottle feed mostly now.

Meiji, my CL is the direct opposite. She like always v worried if we take the bb away from cot. Sometimes it irritates my hub as she will knock to ask if bb is feeding. I only latch at most twice a day.

Nana, wat I meant is instead of latch, try to pump out by the next session for a feel of roughly how much milk u have. For me I find if I latch bb does not clear my breast well. When I pump I can get about 120m (w/o latch) and I conclude I have milk but bb is not extracting v effectively. So end up I put her dun a while only she wan milk again. So end up I pump out for CL bottle feed mostly now.

Meiji, u can tell CL wat u wan her to do. For both my bbs, my CLs handle bb fully at night one. They dun disturb me and they will settle bb. Most times it's diaper change, need to burp, or need to feed. Wats the point of giving u to latch if she already feed, shd not use the breast as a pacifier lor. And it will send the wrong msg to bb, next time she will always need u to latch in order to sleep. Some mummies are fine with dat but if u r a working mum, may b challenging next time. Could become challenging for u or your future caregiver. Just my 2 cts worth.

Hi GG, thanks for ur advice. I will call my husband later to discuss. Instead of getting rest, I m now worrying abt both e CL n the bb. Going crazy if this continues.

Haven't logged in these few days as my confinement left on Saturday afternoon same as baby mummy. And had a baby shower on Saturday also. The whole family super tired that day and my #1 was so busy playing with the other kids that she skipped all her meals and bedtime.... At nite super cranky.
Baby was super wide awake also keep being carried around the house.din sleep for near to 7-8 hrs.

Meijifor my #1, my CL is like yours, every time the baby cries at nite, she will carry her to me and she herself goes to sleep. I ask her to nap in the afternoon, she says she cannot sleep and watch drama serial with my mil. So at nite, every time baby cry means hungry, when I ask hungry again. She will say breast feeding is like that or I dun have enough milk, made me super depress during confinement, then we ask her to leave after 1 week.My #2 confinement lady only brings baby to me when he is hungry and will come in and carry him to living room to coax him to sleep after feeding and ask me to go n sleep..

Haven't logged in these few days as my confinement left on Saturday afternoon same as baby mummy. And had a baby shower on Saturday also. The whole family super tired that day and my #1 was so busy playing with the other kids that she skipped all her meals and bedtime.... At nite super cranky.
Baby was super wide awake also keep being carried around the house.din sleep for near to 7-8 hrs.

Meijifor my #1, my CL is like yours, every time the baby cries at nite, she will carry her to me and she herself goes to sleep. I ask her to nap in the afternoon, she says she cannot sleep and watch drama serial with my mil. So at nite, every time baby cry means hungry, when I ask hungry again. She will say breast feeding is like that or I dun have enough milk, made me super depress during confinement, then we ask her to leave after 1 week.My #2 confinement lady only brings baby to me when he is hungry and will come in and carry him to living room to coax him to sleep after feeding and ask me to go n sleep..

Hi smiling merlion, ur number 2 latches on at night? I pump out my milk for bottle feeding as my bb is a "furious sucker". So it's like after CL bottle feed bb , n if bb can't sleep or is cranky, she will say bb wants to suck my nipple n pass the bb to me. But when I let bb suck, she doesn't seem to want to swallow. Can see milk dribbling out. Then she will push away from my breast then a few seconds later look for the nipple again. I am getting so exhausted. Like what GG advise, I also dun want bb to make it a habit to look for me to be a pacifier in order to sleep. I tried giving her the pacifier yesterday but she seems more awake when suckling that. Just now after feeding, she again said bb wants to suck. I fed up n told her to prepare another 30ml for bb. After the 30, bb falls asleep.

Baby mummy
I m looking for Tingkat also.
let me know yr reviews. I m trying to test out this week n see if I can bring baby out to buy food or cook something. If baby is difficult will cater Tingkat.

Baby mummy
I m looking for Tingkat also.
let me know yr reviews. I m trying to test out this week n see if I can bring baby out to buy food or cook something. If baby is difficult will cater Tingkat.

Meiji crackers: Your bb sounds like mine too! i was very confused with her hunger cues as her mouth is always open but when I offer the breast, she doesnt swallow. In the end, I gave in to the pacifier. Ya, at first she was more awake but slowly she got used to it. I think it's because it's something new to them. Don't feel upset..it's part n parcel of knowing the baby's patterns. Now mine is coming to 7 weeks and I kind of know her pattern already.

GG: 10min of pump gives 40ml on 1 side. So low in moral ... Actually by latching baby every hour or so should increase my supply but I duno y after 2/3 weeks still no improvement.

Dear mummies

Just to share, I got some breastfeeding related stuff like milk storage bags and breast pads from these links : Very good, reliable and affordable. Bookmark these links for future needs

http://bit.ly/nZqdjL

Hi nana, I feel that massaging breast before n half way into pumping helps in milk supply. Normally I pump for about 20 to 30 mins using electric dual pump.

Meiji, my CL will feed her more milk if she doesn't seem full and won't sleep. It's true once they are full they sleep. So wat u did just now is right. When I had no 1, I was worried abt the CL over feeding. Then slowly I realize it's true they need to b full to sleep. And when they r full they wont drink one so no worries.

My bb having v gassy stomach now. Dats the prob with ebm vs latch. Using avent. Bb suck everytime got sound like suck in air. Sigh!

Meiji, my CL will feed her more milk if she doesn't seem full and won't sleep. It's true once they are full they sleep. So wat u did just now is right. When I had no 1, I was worried abt the CL over feeding. Then slowly I realize it's true they need to b full to sleep. And when they r full they wont drink one so no worries.

My bb having v gassy stomach now. Dats the prob with ebm vs latch. Using avent. Bb suck everytime got sound like suck in air. Sigh!

Nana, how old ur bb? My supply today dunno y miserable also. Can vary a lot per pump. Wan to start my fenugreek but now I see my bb so gassy dunno will make it worse or not.

Hi GG, I just remembered the pd mentioned to just feed bb if she demands more milk n that bb will reject if she has enough. Hmm ok tonight I will try it out. I have been pumping out my milk for all her feeds.. Hope she won't have too much gas too. Do u still latch her for her feeds? They say latching helps to lose our weight. Pumping is the same too right?
Btw, how do u sterilize pacifiers? Ur in sterilizer or put in hot water will do? Do we sterilize every time after use? Why if we r outside? N after sterilizing, how do we cool it down quickly for bb? Sorry for asking so many questions. As u can see, I m
Quite lost...

Hi GG, I just remembered the pd mentioned to just feed bb if she demands more milk n that bb will reject if she has enough. Hmm ok tonight I will try it out. I have been pumping out my milk for all her feeds.. Hope she won't have too much gas too. Do u still latch her for her feeds? They say latching helps to lose our weight. Pumping is the same too right?
Btw, how do u sterilize pacifiers? Ur in sterilizer or put in hot water will do? Do we sterilize every time after use? Why if we r outside? N after sterilizing, how do we cool it down quickly for bb? Sorry for asking so many questions. As u can see, I m
Quite lost...

Meiji, I mainly pump as I feel more assured knowing how much she drinks. And now got CL to help me wash and sterilize etc. But after she goes I may latch more often. Only prob my bb can take v long to feed if latch so sometimes I get impatient will pump instead. I actually feels latch may help lose weight better than pump. Fir first week I latch more plus dunno y first week sweat the most so really lose weight. But now coming to end of confinement dun sweat much already and not losing weight anymore leh. Maybe after CL leave will lose weight. Lol!

I don't use pacifier yet though got standby in case she suck thumb. I would sterilize in sterilizer same as all feeding bottles ba. Can't really sterilize per use one la so maybe will just sterilize a couple times a day. If outside guess just make sure keep it covered or use hot water rinse if avail. Good shopping malls have bb changing rooms with hot water facility that you can use to do a quick rinse. Better than nothing. Actually after a while u may find yourself getting more lax:p I sometimes use the rinse approach though that is not considered 'sterilised'. Good to slowly build up bb immune system so they can accept a little bit of germs.

Meiji, I mainly pump as I feel more assured knowing how much she drinks. And now got CL to help me wash and sterilize etc. But after she goes I may latch more often. Only prob my bb can take v long to feed if latch so sometimes I get impatient will pump instead. I actually feels latch may help lose weight better than pump. Fir first week I latch more plus dunno y first week sweat the most so really lose weight. But now coming to end of confinement dun sweat much already and not losing weight anymore leh. Maybe after CL leave will lose weight. Lol!

I don't use pacifier yet though got standby in case she suck thumb. I would sterilize in sterilizer same as all feeding bottles ba. Can't really sterilize per use one la so maybe will just sterilize a couple times a day. If outside guess just make sure keep it covered or use hot water rinse if avail. Good shopping malls have bb changing rooms with hot water facility that you can use to do a quick rinse. Better than nothing. Actually after a while u may find yourself getting more lax:p I sometimes use the rinse approach though that is not considered 'sterilised'. Good to slowly build up bb immune system so they can accept a little bit of germs.

GG : my baby 6weeks old

Sometimes after BF, I didn't burb him as after burbing, he will be awake. But confirm after formula, I make sure he burb
One thing lucky for me is what my bb know how to fart. Kaox, he fart loudly and at times smelly too! So I guess this is also a way for him to clear the gases in his body. I took fenugreek for 2 days and got rashes on both hands. So I didn't dare to consume anymore.

Meiji - pumping for 20/30min? My nipple will get sore and big ... Or really is it my problem? Actually I got supply but just lazy to pump so long? But my bb fall asleep fast when sucking. Actually I'm "sick"... I prefer him sucking than expressing out. Kinda of bonding between the both of us ... Haha.

6 weeks old baby drink how much? I'm feeding him with 100ml now. What about u all?

GG : my baby 6weeks old

Sometimes after BF, I didn't burb him as after burbing, he will be awake. But confirm after formula, I make sure he burb
One thing lucky for me is what my bb know how to fart. Kaox, he fart loudly and at times smelly too! So I guess this is also a way for him to clear the gases in his body. I took fenugreek for 2 days and got rashes on both hands. So I didn't dare to consume anymore.

Meiji - pumping for 20/30min? My nipple will get sore and big ... Or really is it my problem? Actually I got supply but just lazy to pump so long? But my bb fall asleep fast when sucking. Actually I'm "sick"... I prefer him sucking than expressing out. Kinda of bonding between the both of us ... Haha.

6 weeks old baby drink how much? I'm feeding him with 100ml now. What about u all?

Baby mummy, I pm u regarding meet up to try the pump. Am mount A today for bb developmental checkup.

Baby mummy, GG, smiling Merlion- I took up confinement tinkat wif good rich n newbaby. Good rich no good, got MSG, food in Tupperware n came cold- took 1 week n cancelled. Now wif newbaby- very happy wif their service. Foood came hot in thermo container n soup is tasty!

Baby mummy, I pm u regarding meet up to try the pump. Am mount A today for bb developmental checkup.

Baby mummy, GG, smiling Merlion- I took up confinement tinkat wif good rich n newbaby. Good rich no good, got MSG, food in Tupperware n came cold- took 1 week n cancelled. Now wif newbaby- very happy wif their service. Foood came hot in thermo container n soup is tasty!

Nana, I usually pump for 1hr for both breasts. Usually pump for abt 10mins for one side, den change side. In between will rest a while lah. I have a problem differentiating whether my breasts are full or empty so I kinda 'time' myself so that I dun get sore nipples/breasts. Am using avent electronic pump.

As for latching, i will give max 20mins per side. But recently, my son seems to latch for only 5mins and fall asleep after tat. Got to wake him up to continue latching. Dunno if he is full or tired already. Usually i can get abt 90ml-120ml after 1hr of pumping.

Nana, I usually pump for 1hr for both breasts. Usually pump for abt 10mins for one side, den change side. In between will rest a while lah. I have a problem differentiating whether my breasts are full or empty so I kinda 'time' myself so that I dun get sore nipples/breasts. Am using avent electronic pump.

As for latching, i will give max 20mins per side. But recently, my son seems to latch for only 5mins and fall asleep after tat. Got to wake him up to continue latching. Dunno if he is full or tired already. Usually i can get abt 90ml-120ml after 1hr of pumping.

MF: steady leh .. 30min each on side .. I scare I don't have patient to feed him Liao then pump for 1hr. Maybe I should try once ...
After u latch bb, how long is his/her next feed?