(2012/02) Feb 2012

Xia, spouse meals not compulsory to take? I thought during hospital tour, was told compulsory.. At least for breakfast.?. Maybe I listen wrongly..

2 weeks ago i felt the bottom of my belly abit itchy, then hubby saw some 'scratches' which i tot were scratches too. then yesterday he scolded me why i scratched myself so much, then i realised there were many scratches! - i.e. stretch marks!
cos they were at the bottom of the tummy so i didnt realli go and notice. think these 2-3 weeks bb realli grow veri big and fast, that resulted in the stretchmarks. so sad now...

these few weeks abit lazy to put lotion, cream... now abit regret. argh. 3 more weeks to go!

Icy - I started using alcohol swabs. Den after too dry bb skin peel. When went for pd chk up, he gave me a bottle of powder to just pour over. Much better. So I just use cool boiled water to clean.

GG - ya! Tat time I was super against it! Summore she ask me to do it. I rejected her so many times. Budden in the end I gave up resisting. Cannot stand the nagging. Fed up. Kip say hiccup must give water to stop it. After a while she give herself. I just close my eyes to it and pretend Neva see. Just as long as she dun ask me to do it. But now I tink of it actually when she give water is not much la. I hope. Bb still drinks her milk so ok lo. Dun care. Dun wan go into depression cos of tis. Not worth.

Hazel - oh really? Dammit! We din try rejecting cos actually hubby was quite tired from the labor! Hahaa. So he lazy go out and decide to just stay in with me all the time. I rem hewring him kip complain abt the food. He was tinking of rejecting it tis time round. I tot can cos I rem seeing a separate charge in the bill. Mebbe cannot ba. Anyways will just try. If cannot den LL take ba. Heh

Beemummy - wat kind of advice u nid? did u get a CL? not sure abt wat c-sect can do and cannot do wo. Seems like got some stuff cannot eat. But rest is definitely v impt! Rest as much as u can! Try reading tis http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5220002.html?1306814942

I din really give bb any water till almost 6 mths even though he was on fm. Hiccups actually dun need water. These days fm v different from old times. Lucky I use CL and later take care myself so no issue with mil.

Confinement is a very sensitive period, need to manage all the different parties. Ya sometimes really have to close eyes!

Rocco, I have stretch marks at the same Plc as urs!, I knew all along coz I can see when I stand in front of the mirror... They are red bloody lines!!

GG - I also had CL and took care bb myself but I stay with mil and she like to play with bb. So bo bian when she play with her and bb get hiccups I start to get the water nagging from her. Sometimes jut nice bb feeding time i just bring her into rm latch on. Other times v hard to siam so just have to console myself tat bb not drinking much water. Haiiz. Haha.

Rocco and hazel - Omg my belly been itching! Is tat the sign of the arrival of stretch marks? Where do the stretch marks normally start? Belly button area? I feel my skin v tight too! Are stretch mark creams useful? My #1 I've been using normal moisturizer. #2 was abit lazy so applied lesser. I heard stretch marks are hereditary and if gonna appear cannot prevent but the creams make it less obvious. Is tat true? Cos my fren diligently apply cream a few times a day and still had them.

Umbilical cord
Yah, kkh did not give anything for my #1. I discharged on the 3rd day and kkh aldy bath my #1 b4 we left. My #1's umbilical cord drop during his 1st bath at home on the 4th day. So in the end no need to clean at all. Hahaa.... Hope my #2's umbilical cord also drop that fast.

xia: it wasnt realli itchy... also cant rem le... but mine is all at the bottom tummy there so not so 'obvious' think some pple has it on d upper abdomen too... i alternate between normal moistuiser n stretch mark cream but bcome abit lazy maybe thats why appear... haiz... just diligently put nw hopefully more wun appear.

My tummy also very itchy and its at my c-sect scar area. Somemore I encountered the pain at that area last week. So worried its going to burst leh.....

Stretch marks also starting to appear. Realised it last nite when I show my #1 his di di. Same as last pregnancy, all came out during the last stage. Mine is purple in colour. So ugly.

Rocco: apply or not actually not much use one so sun have to feel bad lah... But continue to apply anyway if you want your skin to recover back to its (almost) pre-preggie state cuz sure will not look as firm. Actually I got a shock looking at my tummy after birth haha cuz really v v ugly

Think all MILs like to give bb water haha... Mine also, but I tried to close one eye as long as not a lot. Confinement really stressful, dun wanna give myself more stress.

Opps: I also start to see a little stretchmark alr, but it's silvery leh... My tummy has always been itchy even around 6-7 months. Controlling myself really hard not to over-scratch.

My mil only commented y never give water but she won't dare give if we say no. But ya la sometimes think of the 1 mth confinement I v sian, more challenging with no2.

Keeping fingers crossed won't have stretchmark. My mum has but I escaped for no 1. No 2 won't can Siam still. Must apply diligently.

Only those who drink FM hav to feed a bit of water after feeding. For bf bb, no need water. Lucky my mum knws abt this so nvr nag me. I myself a bf bb. MIL don care at all.

Does everyone really not wash hair and not bathe/shower during confinement? When I had DD#1, it was winter time in HK but now in Singapore so so hot and sticky.

I will not have a CL but wondering if worth it to order the pig trotter/vinegar and the papaya fish soup from the Confinement Food delivery services?

my stretch marks grew angrier for this #2 pregnancy... a lot more... i diligently applied bio-oil, stretchmark cream when i had #1 but the marks still appear...

for this #2, my skin couldn't take any oil or cream at all. i tried so many and about 5 mins after applying them, i scratch and scratch. when i don't apply any, i dun scratch. this time the marks are a lot worse.. my body is so disfigured.. i think after giving birth i will feel quite depressed to see all those marks...

Opps, ya, Mrs Wong says for fm milk, if wan can give a bit of water but I didn't. Only feed water from 6mths when start solids.

haha maybe when my mil nt at hm i will secretly bathe! she says can wipe body lor n rinse hair with some special herbs. but rinse onli cannot like touch the scalp etc... argh. on my bb shower i wanna go hair salon n get a good good wash if nt hw to face the guests?

I bath and wash hair after first week :p No way I can than so dirty for one month, with leaking breasts, discharge down there, and we sweat like monsters!

Mummies, during confinement is it a must to use boiled water to brush teeth and wash ur face? Coz i heard from some ppl say cannot touch water at all. Then how to wash breast pumps etc..

Hey girls, Mrs Wong say bathing is impt. Especially washing the breasts. No need to use soap to clean the breasts also.. And she say bette not use cloth to wipe down breasts.

Plus mummy's can check if can go down make appointment with tmc parentcraft if your gynae is there or give birth at tmc.

This is my first post on this thread. Been a silent reader. My EDD is 12 Feb and I'm a first-time mum.

Pregnancy has been smooth-sailing so far (except for the terrible morning sickness and extreme fatigue in my first trimester) until last week ~35 weeks. Really need some advice from you here. I just moved overseas and chose to deliver here so that I will be with my husband.

During my last two check-ups all in last week, my blood pressure was found to be high (I have no other symptoms - no swelling, no proteins in urine, no headache etc) and doctor recommended that I deliver when my baby reaches full term at 37 weeks either via induced labour [she warns that blood pressure might even go up further during the process] or C-section. She hasn't prescribed any medicine to control the blood pressure, but scheduled an appt for me to meet a cardiologist (?!).

Actually in my previous check-ups, I would always have a slightly high first BP reading, subsequent ones would drop after more rest time. But these two recent check-ups the readings did not go down. I am not sure whether it's due to heightened anxiety. (I won't say I am one who is usually at ease when I go for check-ups in the first place).

1. Does SG hospitals charge higher for cases hypertension/pre-eclampsia or other pregnancy complications eg placenta previa for delivery? How much higher?

The overseas hospital that I go to offers delivery packages but I was told that I won't be eligible for the packages based on my current condition [the joke of the day was I could have signed up for the package earlier when everything was fine, though I am not sure if they would void it after discovering my new symptoms]. They gave me an estimated cost for charges at normal rates which was like 3 times the price of the delivery package. I wonder if the estimated cost is based on normal rates without complications (well within the scope of a standard delivery package) or with lots of buffers for complications. This, I would have to really scrutinise and get better clarity from them.

2. Any advice from mums have similar experience? Any comments on induced labour or C-section? I am not really keen on doing either of this in the first place. My earlier dilemma till last week was whether to get epidural for natural delivery, but it has changed so drastically.

Right now, I think I will try to get hold of a blood pressure monitor to check at home. Really can't help but feel very tensed sometimes. =(

Thanks for all the great advice so far - one question, what about hand washing? Are we supposed to keep a container of warm water next to the sink, since we are not allowed to wash our hands with tap water? Isn't water mostly room temp/coldish from the taps in Singapore unless we turn on the water heater each time? Or should we just have the water heater on to wash with warm tap water?

My tummy is really itchy. Much more than #1. Been really paranoid. I have something bluish and purplish at the belly button. Is tat considered stretch marks? Is tat the start? When u see stretch marks does it normally start small and expand or does once u see it it's v obvious?

@confinement baths
I bathed every day during confinement with the herbs. Just din get to wash hair. But bearable. I used dry shampoo whenever head itches but v ex. Abt $40 a bottle. M going to the place where hazel recommended after cny to grab the dry shampoo instead. =) I used normal tap water to wash face,brush teeth and wash hands. Din really care. had pain in finger joints(on and off even b4 was preggy so used to it already) which went away after a while. Applying moisturizer helps for me. Pumps I washed myself still but if really worried den ask other pple to help? Wash hands can replace with sanitizer I guess.

Yup, can get CL wash pumps utensils etc. Brush teeth no choice unless u use mouth wash instead then no need rinse mouth. Face can wash during bath I guess.

I din strictly follow cconfinement rules, but I think also depend on ur body conditions. I was fine bathing with hot water straight from the tap, although I did mix the water with rice wine. I washed hair every 3-4 days with hot water and blew dry. Brushed teeth with normal tap water. I felt fine but some mummies also mentioned they felt aches after using normal water. So I think really up to individual bah. But seriously I sun think I can ta han not washing for one month, esp for bf mummies. The smell of milk alone is quite overwhelming already!

I bath everyday with herbs and wash hair every alternate days with the herds too. Will put soap (both hair and body) and rinsed off with the herb water. Hav to bath fast and then dry the hair with hairdryer immediately.

I wash face and brush teeth with normal tap water. Also wash my pump equipments and wash my hands with soap after going to toilets or b4 handling bb or b4 pump with normal tap water. I won't allow myself to touch my bb or pump BM with a a dirty hand. Its impossible to use warm water everytime. Lucky I don hav wat the old ppl say, nump fingers or hands after that.

Don 4get, we will really sweat like monsters during confinement. Unless u stay in air-con whole day loh.

Another thing is, we have to brush our teeths. Cos after drinking the red dates drink for 1 week, my teeths turn black. Can imaging if we don brush our teeths. Once I see my teeths turn black, I start to rinse my mouth with a bit of warm water immediately after the drink. I don care ppl say we can't drink plain water cos I wan my white teeths back.

I hv BOILED cooled water in kitchen n toilets for me to wash hands, face, brush teeth, etc. no need to be warm water. So, is defintely possible not to touch tap water.

Most impt is boiled water, as long as not 生水, my finger joints wun ache...

Thanks all for sharing your views on the full mth package thingy ;) & also yr advise on so many issues.

Oops, i din know red dates tea would make teeth turn black. OmG!

I attended tmc's wong boh boi's antenatal class but alrdy forgotten some tips she shared then which r not in her txtbooks. Her class pace is pretty fast for me to catch what she said sometimes.

I have a question here.i'm planning to sterilise milk bottles by boiling method. On top of the milk bottles & pump bottles, we need to sterilise the tongs too, right? So does it mean that I sterilise my hands by washing before getting the tongs out to assemble the items? I rmbred mr wong did mention before but i forgot le.

It does not matter wats the temp of the water. As long as it does not reach boiling point of 100%, my finger joint will ache. Warm Water from the heater is not counted, no matter how hot it s, is nv reach 100%.

Forsythia, I hv pre-eclampsia too. Diagnose at 33+wks. My gynae put me on medication. I m not too worried as BP is not v high n when I m at home it is always below 140/90. I recorded down daily my BP which I checked 2-3x a day. All ok, going to show my gynae next visit in case I fail again when I m there. He didn't say I need to be induced or need a c section. Cost wise, it wun be charged more than other gals.

I dun use herbs water to shower. Dun like the sticky feeling. I use rice wine mixed with boiled water instead!
. I wash my hair every day too.. No issue with aching body also.

Hazel, so good. u can wash hair everyday.

My mum doing confinement for me & she's super sticky about not showering & washing hair. Haiz.. no choice, even though I don't believe in this practice, she said if i don't follow her, then she won't do confinement for me

Xia - watsons n guardian has dry shampoo. Less than $10 only and has good reviews online. the brand is batiste. there's another brand klorane, available in limited guardian/watsons, about $10+.

dumb question also, paiseh - How effective is the dry shampoo? Does it stop the itchness & sort of remove the 'sweaty smell'?

12 yrs ago, when my sis doing confinement, she used dry shampoo but she told me her scalp still itch like mad.

Jeank, actually the worst plc to shower n wash hair is in the hospital. I wun do that if I were u. Firstly, the water is not boiled and secondly, u get the chill n wind the moment u step out of shower coz the aircon in the room is on all the time!! Why do u want to harm your health in such a way?! Anyway, your choice.

Jeank, first thing before admission, most will do is quickly go shower n wash hair before going to hospital. Even if see red or water bag burst, still hv time for a 15 mins bath. Then "ren" until return home before we wash hair n shower. Can't u lock inside your room blow dry ur hair before u step out so tt ur mum will know u wash hair? Cut your hair short. Blow dry v fast n tie it up. She wun know.

Some of my gfs, dun like the sticky feel after showering With herbs water. Turn on the water heater n rinse thru! Only they know.. Some pour away the herbs water also coz CL is mummy or mil, cannot tell them they dun believe in showering in herbs water.

Hazel: bathe with herb water will be sticky ah? I was thinking of trying but then if sticky I dun want leh... Where u buy the rice wine from? My hubby insisted that this time i do a proper confinement cuz he said first time I did a half baked confinement then now maybe body weaker keep puking throughout pregnancy. But the tot of it really put me off lor. Really not looking fwd Esp I had pretty bad constipation last time after eating all te confinement food and drinking the red date tea all day long. Haiz...

Jean: ur mum staying with u thru confinement? My mil only helped during the day. So I took the chance to bathe and wash hair after she went home. Day time she surely knew one....

NC, women with weak health can nurse back to good health during confinement n vice versa. That is why old folks always say confinement is v impt. If u eat healthily, u wun get constipation.. Healthy food does not mean Heaty food. Even red date drink, u dun hv to cook until very concentrated. U can always make it light. My mum gets the rice wine from NTUC. She said the brand is three stars (三心牌). One bottle costs more ex than herbs. But my mum can use one bottle for 3-4 showers. One shower, I hv 2 big pails, including for washing hair. The main purpose is to get rid of wind. I will close all windows n doors before I bath. Blow dry hair n after that i will on the aircon! I cannot take fan.. My body will start aching.. But aircon is fine for me. l understand is coz aircon is coz dry air... I stay in aircon room whole day one.. If not v v hot! So far, I m ok, no body aches. Guess, everyone is different?

I asked my mum last time, she had no CL, how u avoided touching unboiled water? She told me not possible.. But to get rid of wind fr unboiled water, she took a lot of liquor. She told me, that helped alot n her finger/body dun ache as much.

@bathing with herbs
The herb water is buy sachet from Chinese medicinal hall. Boil in a pot for stipulated amt of time(like cook bah kut teh like tat) den mix with warm water from the shower in a pail. Normally the water not enough for me so i still shower normal. The herb i use to rinse off. I didn't feel sticky leh. Mebbe cos I dilute it quite abit? Felt ok wo. No ache no pain. Heh. Other than fingers which was an old prob.

@dry shampoo
I tot it was quite ok wo. First few days I try to tahan. Though towards the end I started to use it more frequently. =x I had a fren who shower and shampoo everyday with just water from shower. No issues at the moment also. Guess it depends on ur own body? And also how much it bothers u ba. =)

Anyway my fren came to visit me and confirmed the start of my stretch marks. Sobz! Hah

Planet - thanks will go chk it out too! =)

Hazel: I din have body aches but for the first 1 week plus everyday when I woke up my whole hands were numb dunno why... After that then ok... Last time confinement done by mil so I din have much say regarding food lor, the only veggies I was allowed to eat was kailan and long bean! And always a lot a lot of ginger. In the end constipated so jia Lat until hubby had to smuggle prune juice for me to drink haha... Now think abt it i still sweat!

Beemummy: bf better not take too much wine bah, might make jaundice worse.