(2012/02) Feb 2012

Mommies, some one told me if I wan to know if I can be back to slim days after delivery, look at my mum! Was told is all in the genes! Some pp lose weight v easily... Like my sil nv even bf. she is v v skinny still after 2 kids! Anyway, I look at my mum.... If that theory works, I can dream on to be back to slim days!.,

serene, mine appeared like about 1 month ago. Initially i tot is mosquito or insect bites, then it started to get more and more until it encircle my waist. sigh..my mummy gave birth to 5 of us, and she got none..sigh..so sad..

nvm..we are all in our last "lap" liao..jia you and good luck to all mummies. and lets strive hard to shed those extra weight!! JIA YOU!!

I lsot weight very fast esp when I'm back to work. I lost 20kg in 5mths. But then stop losing weight no matter how I cut my diet and bf. 10kg still stuck wif me. Don knw y. Haiz.
This time I hav to try my very best to lost 30kg. Hope with more stress of having 2 kids, I can lost more.

Hazel, not so true leh. Ppl also say the same abt stretch marks. Both my mum and sister hav zero stretch marks for all their pregnancies and went back in shape very fast. They are the short and small size type. I more to my dad's genes. My Aunties are all very tall and big size. Haiz, so I'm tall but skinny last time. After delivery, I become tall and fat like them. Initially I tot I won't have stretch marks jus like my sis and Mum. But they jus pop out during 35 weeks of pregnancy for my #1 and till now. Only lighten but nvr disappear at all.

Jen, I'm aldy a customer of london weight. But no time to go. I will be more hardworking and go 2 times a wk after I send my bb to ifc but I'm still on maternity leave. Hope to go back in shape when I go back to work.

Hazel, we have to pump every 3hrs whole day including nite time. So depends on what time u sleep and count 3hrs later wake up to pump. CL will do all the nite feeds for u and washing for u. But for my #1 I still do the washing myself. I think now I will get the CL to do it. I planned to latch on in the day time, pump out the balance after latch on and only pump at nite during my confinement. Once CL left, I will latch on at nite too cos faster then having to go to kitchen, wait for the milk to warm and listen to my bb cry at the same time. #1 can cry till wake up everyone in the whole block. So I can't wait for milk to warm up. Hope my #2 won't cry so loud.

Hazel, I got up at least 3 times each nite initially, cos I engorged veri fast initially. Its super tiring I have to say. I'm using dual pump, jus express 15mins will do. Not recommended to express more than 20mins wor. Yes, after that need to wash, have to faster do lor, no choice, unless you wear gloves. I was not using gloves, jus wash wth my barehands.. Some folks says that after tht wash your hands wth 'bai-min jiu' to get rid of the wind if you are very particular. Usually my CL will help me to wash in the morning when bb is slping, so I jus express and put in the sink for her to do the washings. I tahan the nite washing lor, cos I want the CL full focus on bb at nite, beside they need to rest and stdby to attend to bb anytime of the day.

Lets set up a jian fei club after our confinement. Hahaa... we can go exercise, gym or swim together. I shld be free when my bb goes to ifc in May 2012 while I'm still on maternity leave.

Jas, I also wana latch my #1 after CL left, but I found that bb rejects.. so ended up expressing all the way. Good thing is that I know roughly how much bb is drinking when I express though.. latch is really on demand and bb can get super comfy and fall aslp while latching and wake up to ask for more milk less than 1hr.. very tiring.

Gambatek all mummies, we encourage each other to slim dwn and perservence on BFg! jia you jia you!

Xia- welcome!! I'm also seeing doc wong! Love her to bits.

Shan- not advisable to fully feed bb on soy milk. There r research that shows too much soy in diet can lead to abnormal levels of estrogen. Which means if a girl baby will start puberty earlier, and boy baby will have too much female hormones that leads to various problems. U can try to google for more info.

Have faith that you will have enough breastmilk! As my prenatal teacher said, 99.9% of woman have enough milk for their babies. It's part of nature. U just have to persevere! Good luck!

Teoong, my #1 also refused to latch. So I only start nite latching when he 4mths old. Cos I went back to work, very tiring to waking up to pump and hav to attend to a crying bb at nite. So I latch. Lucky he want to latch when he 4mths old. As my #1 start to sleep thru when he 3 mths old, so I don care how much he drinks at nite. So long he go back to sleep I'm happy liao. Hahaa... Day time I pump thru out too.

U r rite, so I'm really worried abt my plan. Cos don knw how much he will be drinking, long latch time and soon after will ask for milk again. See how bah.

Jen, actualy my husband worry I too fat compare to him, another thing he say big bb very hard to come out. he stil hope i can go back to original shape...

jascmy, agree! after confinement we should have our loose weight club ha... have buddies together then we motivated to jian fei. last time i also gain 30kgs. very hard to loose weight, u must keep exercise in the 1st year. if not 2nd year the fat 脂肪硬了,瘦不了。

Feeling so sad now. There my hubby go tell those mad ppl my forum nickname and they read and interpreted all my posting the other way round. Now don wan help me look after my #1 liao.

I wan to change nickname now. Hope u all will be able to recognize me.

Al, so good that you are starting your leave so fast.. I still have to wait till Feb...
Jas, go n change n leave msg in FB, we will be able to recognise you.

Wow AL, you starting leave early for spring cleaning? I'm clearing a few days after CNY and then a week before my EDD.

Jas, important-don tell your HB your new nickname! My hb also keep asking me wat is my nickname in forum, refused to tell him, otherwise, he may start stalking me! :p

Jascmy, oh no, I understand what u mean....

For stretch marks, so far so good, keeping my fingers crossed. Nothing yet cos I've been splashing myself with clarins cream since the early months, twice a day. My mum dun have, so hopefully, I'm like her....

I take early 3 week to rest, in case he come out early like my #1 early 2 week but i apply leave 1 week before EDD.

Jas, u need to create new account. u also on FB? don't know which one le :p
don't bother them la.. your #1 can put at childcare, then u got more time with your new baby.

Teoong, I touched tap water during confinement, my finger joints will become stiff n will start to ache... Btw, do u sterilize after each wash also? One of my colleagues told me can wash & sterilise after 2 feeds. In b/w 1st feed n 2nd feed, throw instead the fridge... She told me unfrozen fresh breast milk can keep in fridge for 24 hrs. So, it works the same principle. U hear before? Thanks.

Hi Hazel,

usually I wash after every express wor.. cos BM still have some fats that will stick to the pump. I particular about hygiene, so will wash after every express. Yes, my finger joints will bcomes stiff and ache. One of my mummies friends tell me to use the 'bai min jiu' aka white rice wine to soak the hands so that the wind will not get into the hands and it kinda helps.
unfrozen fresh BM, can actually keep in fridge up to 48hrs. So long you put in all the way in the fridge, not near the door so that it is not exposed to warm air everytime u open the fridge.
Frozen BM can keep up to 3-6mths depending on your freezer. i think it's up to 6mths for deep freezer, normal freezer only 3mths.

I'm really going into depression now. They hav tried to destroy me when I'm pa tou with my hubby days. In the end I hav a lousy wedding in the end. And a very bad confinement. I don mind cos wat I wan is to be wif my hubby and bb. But now.....

If u are reading this, pls see what you and your sister have got for your wedding and what your sis got for her confinement. And what I got? I really don mind. I really don mind. I'm saying the truth. Cos I myself not from rich family.
My mum very heartpain to see me married this way and got my health destroy after my confinement. I got nothing and I'm keeping quiet. I'm happy that u all have finally accepted me and tats all I want. I don need gold or tonic. I jus wan u all to accept me tats all. But in the end u have change my trust and grateful to you to HATE again. My heart is totally dead. U all r mummy's precious. I'm my mummy's precious too. But u all have destroy me and my mum's heart. I will not face u all again. And pls treat me as invisible from now onwards and don come to bother my life anymore.

Pls note that no one knws me here. So I can post anything here without anyone knwing who I am and who u are.

I promise I will disappear from you and your parents life fm now on. Pls disappear from mine too. My boy will not call u "gan ma" anymore. Cos u have totally destroy the life of his mum so u are not worth him calling u that.

For the rest. sorry for the long post. But I'm really very down by all this stupid behavior of all tis mad ppl. Only think their r mummy's precious so mus get everything. But other ppl are nothing to them.

I'm really sorry. I will disappear from here immediately and this will be my last post.

All the best!

Mummy jascmy, please dont care about all those "unnecessary people" who make you feel miserable. Please cheer up babe. This people are just so redundant..

Hazel: u mean your fren used the bottle to feed bb then put back in the fridge? Dun think it's a good idea leh.... Frozen BM has not been exposed to bb's saliva yet hence can keep in the fridge for 24 hrs, but once bb used the bottle it's already full of bacteria, dun think it's good to keep like that.

I nv pumped at night after my first week cuz my bb latched on quite well, and latching is much faster compared to pumping. I was pumping all day and had no energy to pump some more at night. When went back to work already survived on 4-5 hrs of sleep everynight, can't imagine will be how bad with pumping.

Xia - Thank you! Feel more reassured after reading what u said. May i check with u... After u took the anti-biotics do they still need to test u 1 more time to see whether u r cleared of the bacteria or regardless whether u still ve it or not they will just put u on drip?

Stretchmarks
I'm coming 36wks.. so far so good too.. been alternating between clarins oil and bio oil.. but still pretty apprehensive as my mum told me hers only appeared suddenly on the last mth! I also heard frm some ppl tt its possible for stretch marks to appear only after birth.

Breastfeeding
Mummies may i check with u...I hope i am able to provide total breastfeeding but what if i don't have or supply only comes aft a wk or so. Do you supplement with FM? Coz i read tt one of the causes of jaundice is due to bb not drinking enought hence unable to pee out the bilirubin.

Jascmy - Pls don't disappear becoz of such ppl. They are not worth it! Stay positive for urself, ur bb and ur hubby. Surround urself with ppl tt r truly deserving of ur love & yes eliminate those 'toxic' ppl frm ur life

Thanks Jen and al! =)

Planet - ya i love her too! Keke. Tats y i stuck to her even though she dun have 3d machine like hazel's gynae. Just that the wait can sometimes b crazy. Tat day just saw a china woman screaming at the staff cos no appt and waited for 4 hrs. I can half understand y she so angry but screaming like tat damn unreasonable. Summore she not even preggy. Cannot imagine if she was... =.=". just happen I brought my number 1 tat day. So scared she absorb all the vulgarities from her.

Hazel - u not intending to latch? Cos if u r can alternate between pump and latch. Like mebbe 2am last pump. Den 5am or when bb wake den latch. Den 3 hrs after CL prob awake and can wash and sterilize for u b4 u wake again to pump. Initially I pump all at nite during confinement and wash plus sterilize all myself even with CL ard cos wan her concentrate on bb also. But actually if u time your pump properly they can wash for u every pump cos they gotta wash bottles after feed also. later on i got lazy plus mil kip nag say bb v ke lian drink expressed milk not fresh =.= so changed to latch on instead. Got alot more rest though cos I latch lying down. When she was older and can latch back herself sometimes at nite I dun even realise she wake to latch. =x

Jas - oh dear. Y he go tell them? So bad! Dun are abt what the others tink. Pls take care of urself! Not worth making ur life miserable like tis.

Happytomato - no probs. i dun rem them doin a 2nd test. They will just give the antibiotics at labour for just in case and if I dun rem wrongly my bb's pd was informed also so he also chk. Afte u deliver the pd will come and visit u in the ward. U just dbl chk with him and let him deal with it. =)

Xia, i intend to latch on but my threshold for pain is v low.. So if too painful I may not be able to latch on. My gf told me either I latch on or pump at 12am. Next feed at 3am, let CL feeds. Either FM or expressed BM during day. She shared with she rested fully in the night. Next feed is 6am where I either pump or latch on. She said if I wan, then I pump at 3am but she didn't.

Sorry mommies, i m not trying to boast, cos i m also paranoid about this... i gained only 3 kg so far, but one thing i was chubby to begin with. My dr never say anything wor since bb is growing...

Hazel: ur gf's supply good? It will be tough to maintain supply with 6 hrs straight of non pumping or latching. And there's no such hard and fast rule as to how frequent your bb needs to feed, esp during the early month. So when she reaches her growth spurt at 2-3 weeks, 6 weeks, 3 months, 6 months and might want to feed every single hour, how are you gonna stick to this schedule? Every baby is different, you'll only know it and have to adapt to your own bb's characteristics when she's born.

You'll experience a lot of pain initially, your nipples will crack and even bleed, so apply nipple cream and wear nipple shield if you can't take it. It will only be 1 or 2 weeks, but it'll be a lot easier for you in the future. Can do it one, unless ur bb refuse to latch on then no choice. That's why it's v important to request the nurses to let you latch your bb on immediately after birth, cuz left too long they will lose their suckling instinct and forget how to latch.

Rocco: that's good! Then you dun have to worry abt losing the weight after birth! I gained 19kg for my first one, took me a whole 6 months to lose them, and now I'm on the same track again! *bang head*

NC, my friend has enough to feed her twins & still got milk for storing. She has 2 elder children too. All her children, during confinement she really rested at night. Different pl have different practice & body. There r friends who pump round the clock but still not enough milk. I also read in a no of books that not all mommies have enough milk supply to feed bbs even they try v hard. So, I will just do my best.

Feed every hr at milk spurt? No lah, it shld not be the way if bbs are fed well n are full at every feed. So, Even BF bbs need to establish a rountine of 3-4 hrs every feed though pp always said feed on demand. Also, at 4 mths can start them in cereals, 6 mths porridge. So, is not milk all the day at all. BM is only good for first 6 mths before bb starts on semi solid food. Anyway, I only intend to breast feed for 4 mths fully if I hv enough. Once I return to work, it will be supplement with cereals/porridge. My mum is an experienced CL & I hv read a no of books too & many of my friends are mommies of a few kids. I m just a late starter.

Latching on immediately is only possible if is naturally delivery. If c section, it really depends... When I said pain, I meant c section pain or episdosomy pain.

Thanks for sharing though.

Hazel: you'll be surprised at how much they eat when they go thru growth spurt! Although it only lasts a few days at one go, it'll definitely happen.

In the end, no amount of reading, "experiences" from other ppl or even your own experience with your elder child can
fully prepare you for a new bb. Every bb comes with their own dispositions, eating and sleeping patterns, and even v diff
preferences. Remember they're humans, not machines and
should not be predicted in the ways machines are. Don't bank
too much on what ppl tell you. It's your motherly instinct that
should be your guide.

Some ppl are blessed with a textbook or angel bb, some not
so lucky and end up with a spirited or grumpy bb. So are you
gonna force a grumpy bb into a textbook bb? It might be the
first step into an overly controlling parental approach.

Just my two cents from my own experience ya...

Jas - sorry to hear abt your problems. Cheer up n don't be affected by people who r not worth it. Bb is more impt k. Hugs.

Xia - I've never waited for more than 10-15 mins for my appts with dr wong! I thot her nurses managed her slots quite well!

Hi mamas, just curious why people recommend bean sprout pillows for the newborns. Are there any benefits to using bean sprout pillows? I really don't know so would be grateful for the advice. Thanks.

beemummy: babies startle a lot when they sleep, so the bean sprout pillows are to help them sleep better. It's good to have but it's not a must, some do v well without them.

Beemummy - beansprout pillows good becos they don't trap heat and are lightweight so u can put on bb's tummy to give them a sense of security. like NC said, they r optional and not compulsory.

Evon - no leh. although it's supposed to be a natural thing, but I find it abit gross. heh.

Rocco, I have the same problem as you... Not putting enough weight... Think body is weak from the first pregnancy. Oh dear, anyone can recommend how to put on weight? Tried durains and been eating them till now sore throat, cough and heaty.

Evon, no. I also think it's quite gross,..

Beemummy, my first kid loves her beanspout pillow... (false) Sense of security bah

Hazel, so nice u got CL mum! =) the timing up to u as long as u comfy but tink initially try to pump every 3-4 hrs at least cos my fren ended up with mastitis(touch wood! But I must say she's the kind with alot excess milk so mebbe thats y). Although on a few nites I did drag like 6 hrs cos too tired. Hehz. In the end I feel feverish and engorged but as long as imm pump out den feel much better. But gd rest is definitely v impt for gd milk supply. I guess when the time comes u'll noe wat's the best combination for u. My pain threshold also v low but I neva been through c-sect so not sure but u jia you ya! Mine the epidural effect was still there so couldn't feel pain below and could just try latch immediately but my bb wasn't hungry so she refuse to latch. She super kpo and kip looking ard! But after she wash up and came bac she did latch on. nid pray get gd nurse cos some really bo chap(mebbe I suay or wat). My initial latch was damn painful cos tink neva latch on properly. The nurse like assume u noe everything one. The LC onli came 2nd day and pls b prepared for her to b damn rough(cos mine was). I asked her y like no colostrum and she kip try to squeeze my breast damn hard and pain like i some kinda meat in the market like tat. den in the end also nothing. Grrrr damn pissed off with her. onli 3rd latch got a nice auntie bring bb in and help me with latching. Dunno who's she but definitely more patient and gentle and better than LC.

To all 1st time mummies intending to breastfeed - just to share from my experience, pls rem to pack ur nipple cream into your hospital bag! I tink v impt to apply after every latch/pump though I had sore nipples at 1 point still but it wasn't cracked or bleeding. I tink it's the nipple cream tat helped. Also when it was sore I did not latch, purely pumped, applied lotsa cream and bottled fed till healed den tried latch again. Mebbe tats y. btw my milk is barely enough for bb kind, milk onli come in like 5th day cos of latching coupled with manual pumping. So I did supplement with formula milk but onli in the 1st month. I managed to TBF till abt 6 mths plus. den partial breastfeed till 10 mths when I was preggy again and nipple too sore and gynae advised to stop BF. So mummies dun b upset if u dun see milk initially. Persevere on! =)

Rocco - dun worry, as long as bb growing and gynae say ok can liao. I even heard from the clinic assistant b4 tat there was tis ger(but she was abit on the bigger side to begin with) who onli gained 1kg for her whole pregnancy. Bb 3kg! So in fact giving birth help her lose 2kg of her original weight! Keke.

NC - which book u read? Happiest bb/toddler on the block or bb whisperer? V gd books I tink. I've a spirited bb! Haha. U? V tough but quite fun at times. But dun tink I can handle 2 though! Praying for a textbook or angel bb tis round! Like gambling like tat. 50/50 =.="

Planet - wat time u normally put ur appt? So gd! The onli time I waited 10-15mins was when my appt was the v first appt in the morn. Normally is min 30-45 mins wait. Worst was a 2 hr plus wait. Parking always abt $5+ min. Haha.

Beemummy - my bb hates the beansprout Pillow so I guess it's up to ur bb's preference. =)

Evon - I m on planet's side. Though I watched alot taiwanese variety shows which says it's v gd for skin and health but the tot of it is quite gross still. =x

Mummy(zeal) - do u take beef? U mite wanna try tat. My gynae said I wasn't gaining enough weight so abt 2-3 times a wk I went to tis Korean restaurant for their BBQ beef! Fantastic and Neva got sick of it. Within tat month alone I put on 3kgs! and u mite wanna try maternal milk for preggies. My first pregnancy when I was hardworking enough to drink it every alternate day(cos I put on too much weight If I drank it everyday even though gynae said was ok), I could gain 3kgs every month too! I took enfamama choc flavor. Initially I drank 1 even more powerful one but I cannot rem the brand le. Onli small tin ones. If u interested u lemme know next time i go ntuc see for u den let u know. Stopped tat cos it onli had vanilla flavor and I really hated it. =p

I am a second time mom to be, but am a bit worried about breastfeeding as well. I BF my first for a long time, but always struggled with supply and tried Fenugreek, Motillium, soups, etc. This time was thinking to start off with teas and Malunggay, but not sure if those are the best choices. Any mummies have any comments on the Sacred Tea, or any other supplements that have a greater chance of working?

I was even considering the placenta encapsulation just to help promote BF.

Morning Xia! Wow, u were posting so early, can't get to sleep like me? I was woken by hb at 3am n now could not get back to sleep anymore, tossing and turning for 6hrs now totally zombie!

Xia, u were one of those lucky mums who can total BF for 6 months or more! Can I ask u- did u try any of those milk promotion tea supplement like sacred tea, or organic mother milk tea? Jas mentioned before that she did not try but was blessed wif good milk supple. How abt u?

beemummy: I heard lots of ppl say 2nd time will have more milk bah. Maybe u observe first?

Xia: yep I read the baby whisperer. V good book right? Mine also a spirited bb, made me sweat haha so I'm praying hard for an angel or textbook bb this time round too haha... Wah ur hospital experience make me scared haha must pray pray this time. Cuz last time when I gave birth maybe that night not many patients so the nurses and LC were v v attentive. Immediately after birth they taught me how to latch already. To which I was v grateful cuz my son was a milk monster lor, after 2 days my nipples started to crack, was super painful lor.

Me also pumped like mad during the first week. The first few days only got like 20ml each pump. one time clumsy me spilt the milk away then I started sobbing for a long time haha... Hubby tot I was going into depression lol. But no regrets lah, it had been an amazing time bonding with my bb... In fact I was reluctant to wean him off when I got preggie with #2 lol, but gynae discouraged it.

mummy: i dun eat durians de, as in i dun like. but i scared all these extra nutients will go bb n bb end up being big. so long bb is growing its gd ba. for one thing i m chubby to begin with
n this whole pregnancy veri discipline dun have alot of farnee cravings also.

what is d bb whisperer book abt?

yup yup my sil preempt me to bring nipple cream too. so bring that along mummies!

Hey mummies cold storage having new born pampers sales usual is 9.10 now 2 for 8.80... So u may want to get some. They outgrow fast so maybe 4 packets may be ok. 24 per pack.

Lynn, I bought pampers brand, small size yesterday. 2 packs bundle for $14+. My bb is already 2.4 kg at 33w. Better for me to buy S size for 3-8kg instead of 3-5kg for new born. I already hv 1 pack for NB at home.