(2012/02) Feb 2012

Hazel, can buy additional coverage for BB under income? Under which one? I'm interested to know.
Good to know TMC finished reno already!

GG-The 6th floor at TMC is the newer resort spa décor one which most people like
Have you gone for the hospital tour? You can see the different room decor and make notes which range of room you like.

Hazel, tks! Yes I have enhanced as charge with income for pte hospital. Never realize it covers for those complications u mentioned:p

Jen, tks! I never go hospital tour b4, was wondering y pple request 6th floor. I book the single bed.

Jen, the addition, insurance is from Great Eastern Life. The hospital asked me if I wan to buy for high risk pregnancy, ie pre matured bbs.. Cost a few hundred dollars. I just buy n sign the form... If bb is born full term n stay in normal wards. Cannot claim hor...

I went for hospital tour but that day has no room available to view!!! I only view the labour room.... N nothing else...

I just get some one to look at the tong shu just now to pick 2 auspicious days for me in Feb taking into account hub & my zodiac animals. Now, must talk to bb, hope she cooperates! Keke...

Mummies, anyone gng to Fengshui master to name baby based on DOB? How to go if we r on confinement? :/ I don't trust hubby to ask the right questions ley. Haha.

Planet, I m going to Yu long zhi. After bb is born, call n inform master the date n timing n provide all other info he needs. The names will be ready in abt 3 days time. Just get hubs to go pick up the booklet & pay money. It will contain abt 8-10 names, with the best name highlighted for your choice. I understand that will be page on some things bb needs to avoid. Cost abt $120.

If birth registration is within 1 wk of bb's birth, can do at hospital. After that, need to go Singapore immigration at lavender to do birth cert,

GG Lee, u also book the room already? Wow! So far. No need deposit right? I was given the form during hospital tour, but yet to complete.

During the hospital tour, was told the sofa bed in normal single bed room is a bit small if hubs is tall or of a bigger build... My hubs is American size XL!! So, we most likely will take the premier single room instead..

Hi Hazel, is it too late for me to buy from Great eastern? AXA has cap at 32 weeks and they have so many questionaire and declaration to complete which I find troublesome. Do great eastern have these restriction as well?

Planet, there's one shop opp TMC for names as well but not sure abt price. We are going to name bb's chinese name based on DOB too.

Jen, too late. I bought before pregnancy! No questions asked. I just pay the hospital the premium n the next is I receive a letter from GE that policy is effective. That's it.

Jen: Sorry to hear you what you had to go through previously. Yes, mummy costs not that big an issue, it's the NICU charges that can average 1000 onwards that is scary, not all shield plans will cover baby NICU also and even if upgraded plan might not cover everything. It's scary because Neonatel care can go up tens of thousands.

Hazel, my clinic supposedly booked for me. I ask for 1 bedder, not sure is normal or premier. Will ask at next visit.

Soul Daddy, #1 was delivered at Mt A.
Son's NICU for 15 days was about 15k in all - it was slightly more expensive in the first few days when he needed CPAP and the oxygen box.
Subsequently, when he stepped down to a normal bassinet with monitoring equipment, the daily charges were lower.
We asked for interim bills every 3-4 days, so we could keep aside the budget and fret less with the visibility.

Also, it helped that our PD didn't charge us exorbitant rates. Our gynae had arranged for one of the more affordable PDs to look after our son when we knew we were delivering him early.

My DD has past the stages for these items thus I am letting go at very cheap prices. Do check it out:

AVENT teats/pacifier/Magic Cup $3- $8 each. Selling to clear
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/6520898.html?1325290083

NUK Latex/Silicone Teats $2- $4 each. Selling to clear
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/6517727.html?1325289417

Medela Quick Clean Micro-Steam Bags (5ea/box), S$10.00
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/6520919.html?1325290185

problem with milk flow? Earth Mama is the best solution, all natural. $10. Earth Mama Angel Baby Organic Milkmaid Tea, Tea Bags (16ea)
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/6520924.html?1325290320

Do PM me or email me at [email protected]

i'm going to end up being a Jan mummy... going for caesarian before cny.

I had my gynae visit yesterday. My placenta is still low and covering cervix. It didn't move up a bit since the last gynae visit 3 weeks ago so gynae is not so confident it will move up in time. Besides that, my lil beanie turned... he is now in a breech position.

Due on 6th Feb. Gynae says for caesar have to do it estimately ard 2 weeks before, which falls on cny. But she says that a lot of ppl are requesting for cny. If I'm not pantang abt dates, she can do it before cny. Heh.. i think she also prefers before cny so she concentrate on others...

Mummies who did caesarian before, how long was your recovery period?

Cranky, dun worry, c section is not dat bad. Me opting for c sections both my bbs. 2nd day I walk already, it helps u recover faster but of course dun strain urself. Dun eat chicken 1st 2 wks after birth.

Sorry to interupt.

Looking to sell a almost brand new Aprica Cookie DX - Lilac Purple colour. Colour only available in Japan and Europe (http://www.thinkbaby.co.uk/product-news/aprica-cookie-pushchair/2115.html). Bought in Japan and used less than 5 times. Condition 9/10.

Will throw in free gift for use with the stroller. Looking to sell at $525 (Cost $700+).

Please refer to the following site for some reviews (http://www.babypushchairsonline.co.uk/en/aprica-cookie-dx-26.html).

PM me if interested.

Cranky, im like you, my little one also in breech position Like yours. Gynae also ask me to consider c-sec if bb don turn by next visit.

Cranky, if baby turns then do u still have to go for c-sect?

Have u gals (cranky n jen) tried any of the natural methods to turn the baby? Some time back I read about some exercises to encourage bb to turn if they r breeched. Dunno if they work but I guess worth a try?

My gf baby was breech till quite late. Alr discussed with doc and arranged c sect date. Her baby managed to turn around 37 weeks. In the end she delivered naturally at 40+ weeks. I think she mostly talked to baby
also heard about going on 4s

Hazel: The GE plan you are talking about is it the shield plan? but it only covers me right, only can cover for bb when bb is born, right?

I will calculate the name, but still thinking want to go Yu Long Zi or not, heard from forums that they use recycled list for names wor, not sure if it is true...

Rocco, ya I also heard that the names r very common and repeated. It's probably the names that work for your bb's bazi but also 100 others!

Hazel, what if we don't like the 8-10 names given? Must pay more money for other options? Or can I give a name n he give me the wording options?

Planet, yah gynae thought me exercises to make baby turn but very breathless after I did it. One was to put a pillow under my waist And I lie like an inverted U for 10mins, another one was kneel on all 4s like Wat Hazel mentioned. Real heavy n breathless to hold for 15mins. Hopefully, my bb will turn soon, she probably lost her direction.

Planet, heard some fengshui master will ask if u have any name in mind n work on your suggestion. If cannot, they will give u other names suggestions.

I'm a Feb 2012 mummy due in early Feb, and have been a silent reader of this thread.

I have previously booked a confinement lady by the name of Mei Lian who came highly recommended to me by a friend. However, due to a change in family circumstances, I will no longer need her services in Feb.

Due to my last minute cancellation, I'm helping her ask around if anyone in this thread due in early Feb who will need a confinement lady urgently.

Please PM me if you're keen to engage her services. I do not earn a commission for this, nor am I related to her in any way. I just feel bad that I can't get her to do my confinement this last minute. Thanks!

Planet n Hazel:
Even if my baby turn, I may still have to have a Caesarian cos of my low lying placenta... My #1 had the same condition but it moved up in time... My #2's placenta hasn't moved an inch since the last visit. Gynae not confident it will move up. Also she mentioned that massaging the area for the placenta to move is not a good idea as it can cause placenta detachment.

Cranky, c section no chicken related food in first few wks. Chicken supposed to hinder recovery ESP ladies with sensitive skin or poor recovery (like me!!). A colleague of mine took accidentally n the wound ended up got pus!

Planet, ER.... If u dun like the names then better dun go fengshui master... Coz they r supposed to give u the best names.. One of my relatves went to another fengshui master n ended up dun like any if the name... So nv use any.. Eventually use the name he named himself for his son...

Rocco, the separate insurance i bought under GE is not shield plan. Is for high risk pregnancy n only covers if bb is warded in NICU or SCU.

The enhanced hospitalisation shield plan that we were talking abt is under Income. Yes, the insured is ourselves n cover pregnancy complications But also covers new Borns on congential issues since sept 2008. GE has similar shield plans, but I m not sure of its coverage. u hv to check it out yourself if urs is under GE.

Hi mummies, I'm dec11 mummy.. Just to share and kpo here I had high BP since 5th.. Edd was 24 dec but Bb came out on 6 dec much earlier.. Supposed to induce ard week 37 same week as 6 dec but I guess I walked too much during week 36. Almost everyday went out shopping contractions started ard 430am and reached hospital ard 630am and was already 7cm dilated, within 1 hr in labour ward Bb out.. So encourage mummies to exercise
oh ya.. If u are with Kkh and happen to have high Bp and on medication.. In order to take epidural, u need to take blood test which results will only come out 2-3 hrs later before they give u the jab.. Didn't managed to take epidural because of this.. Results came out at 1030am.. Only given laughing gas.. Hope u all have a smooth and Fast delivery.. Cheers!!

Walk too much will deliver early?! Oh dear.... Then better don't exercise...

Shan, after epi u are numbed.. Totally or almost totally can't feel the needle, so can just lie down.

Happy new year to all mummies here!!

Happy 2012, everyone!

Shan, u want baby to come out early? Then just do shopping everyday like mummy Lyn, heehee. I'm opp, will not do exercise instead cause hoping baby will stay longer inside till my edd of 14Feb.

Cranky, yes like wat Hazel says, for all surgery dun eat chicken till wound has healed. My sis in law avoided chicken even though natural too, for 1st 10 days while waiting for stitches to heal. Avoid liver too, for same reason, some pple will kena pus and infection. My CL also dun cook these for 1st 12 days.

Mummies who wans fast delivery can do squats, and yes loads of shopping! My waterbag burst when doing squats for no 1. This round I am not going to do any exercise, wan to deliver after Valentine's day :p

GG Lee, yes, I m avoiding chicken for 10 days too for natural delivery as there is still a wound... My skin is lousy n dun heal well, I better listen to my mummy!

Babyjng,

Thanks. That's excluding your own charges right? I guess the cash component to be quite substantial?

Coz it's impossible to estimate baby's NICU stay.. Luckily condition now stable. So just take one day as it goes.

Soul, your wife not staying at KKH? In KKH, at pt of admission, the couple will be told of the estimated cost, including NICU cost. That is how the couple decide which ward mummy wants to be admitted. So far, KKH has been quite accurate.

No mummy Jen, i want to wait for 1.2.2012. Dun really want him to come out too early
, even though i cant wait to see him my precious little one.

Hazel, nope. Got turned away from KKH due to lack of NICU beds. Frankly, lack of attention from them also.

However, our private hospital gynae and admissions officer also advised to go restructured hospital. It's been 6 days already and counting.

Soul, yes, KKH will turn folks away if they r full, prority is still KKH patients.. patients under emergency will go KKH as first choice as it has the best NICU & SCU care here.. When the case is complicated, pte hospitals cannot support at all, cost factor aside.

Some pte gynaes if know of likelihood of complications happening or mummies with multiples, will ask their patients to register n keep an active record in KKH at early stage... In case of pre mature labour, they can go to KKH..

Like me, I m a KKH patient but follow my gynae to pte. He keeps my file in KKH active/open. So anytime I want to go KKH to deliver, I can n wun be turn away...

Anyhow, your wife most likely has to stay in hospital till she gives birth...