(2012/02) Feb 2012

Al- ya my Gynae said that its very common. wife also start to have it. Gynae recommend to drink prune juice to help.

Another thing maybe u can try to drink to have appetite is to drink the pokka lime and calamasi drink.

Al: Quite true, that's what I had in mind before my oscar test. But i think it is hard not to noe, as we will undergo a few scans throughout our pregnancy, so we will still know the results eventually kinda of thing..

Hello mummies.. haven't checked in for awhile. MS got worse and I felt super tired over the weekend. Took a couple days off to rest. Now feeling much much much better. Not so tired but appetite still poor. I miss being able to enjoy food.

Today starting my 11th week. So near the end of the first tri. Can't wait! Btw, does 2nd tri start in week 12 or 13 or 14? Mayo clinic says 12th week but whattoexpect says 14th? I do hope it's not 14..

Hello all New mummies, pls pm me your details if you wish to be updated on our Feb mummies chart.

https://spreadsheets2.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0ApMhws9jhemydGV4SEtaYzJwUnlXUmVlNFlmb2NXdFE&hl=en_US#gid=0

Hi planet- Just asked my gynae on the question of 2nd tri yesterday. He says it depends, some say, wk 12, other say 13 to 14. but he said things will start to turn for the better from wk 12.

Maxiblur, err.. think once a week is a bit too frequent? Stingray are high in mercury level which can affect fetal brain development. I love it too but totally avoided it now & during my 1st pregnancy. Maybe you can choose other kind of fish cooked in the same BBQ way?

FTWM> How you cope with MS + working? very tired.. but I can see most FTWM in this thread should quite free during working hours
not sure just ask only.

Maxiblur: yah, I agree w pinkz, dun take stingray.. Tat's wat my hb's granny told me when I'm preggy w #1.. not sure why but I think it's e same logic as not taking tuna -> deep sea creatures all high in mercury, no good for bb..

Al: actually I've been having loose stools since I got preggy (even though im not a chilli fan) rather than constipation while my another preggy colleague has to rely on medication to go poo almost everyday.. I read in e book wat to expect, it mentioned tat some preggy women actually experienced e opp.. So it depends on individual bodies..

K3, suet & babytum, thanx for your advices! Feel more assured now. After a lousy struggling day at work yesterday, dr. advise me to be on mc today. So rest at home today.
Taka sale till 14-aug? That's long enough to looklook and compare prices.

claramimi> loose stools better then never out right. all the toxin in our body no good. maybe too much chille cause constipation ha. but no choice i like chilli.

Al, agreed wif serene, we FTWM too excited abt pregnancy n for me, work gets really slow after lunch. I can basically fall asleep so forum chatting is good way to keep me awake. :p

Al: yah lah.. But hor, not sure if it's e calcium & vitamins tat I've been taking.. My stools are black.. Not brown like last time.. Hee.. Disgusting hor.. :p

Some fish and shellfish contain potentially dangerous levels of mercury. Too much mercury may damage your baby's developing nervous system. Larger and older fish may contain more mercury. Pregnant women should avoid:

Swordfish
Shark
King Mackerel
Tilefish
Marlin
Orange Roughy
Ahi Tuna
Sushi and Sashimi
Avoid raw fish and shellfish
Avoid smoked seafood these often are labeled as lox, nova style, kippered, or jerky should be avoided because it could be contaminated with Listeria
So what's safe?

Some types of seafood contain little mercury. Pregnant women can safely eat up to 12 oz. a week or two 6 oz. sized portions of:

Anchovies
Butterfish
Calamari (squid)
Caviar (farmed)
Crab (king)
Pollock
Catfish
Whitefish
Perch (ocean)
Scallops
Flounder
Haddock
Hake
Herring
Cod
Lobster (spiny/rock)
Shad
Salmon
Sole
Crawfish/crayfish
Salmon
Shrimp
Clams(cooked)
Tilapia
Oysters(cooked)
Sardines
Sturgeon (farmed)
Trout (freshwater)
Canned light tuna generally has a lower amount of mercury than other tuna, but still should only be eaten in moderation (limit albacore tuna and tuna steak to no more than 6 ounces a week)
It is important to be aware of local fish advisories if you eat fish from local waters
Always cook seafood properly. Fish is done when flakes and appears opaque throughout.  Always cook shrimp, lobster and scallops until they're milky white. Clams and oysters are cooked when their shells open.

Any mummies gaining weight? This morning I weighed myself and realised that I've gained.. gasp! 3kg!
And I haven't even been eating alot.. so depressing.

planet, don worry doc say should gain bout 700gm every 2 wks.....i din ate much but still gaining weight too....now duno how many kg....

mummies, tell u all, one of my fren gain 35kg during pregnancy! gosh..........

Thanks HappyMom. If really 700gm every 2 wks then I'm still within limit..

I read somewhere that first trimester we shld gain about 2kg.. hopefully that's for the angmohs? Heh. But sheesh, no appetite also can gain 3kg, if appetite comes back in second trimester then siao liao lor.

wah, 35kg huh your friend.. did she managed to lose all that weight?

enxuan>I went to TPS for my #1. Think delivery cost is dependent on what class you choose rather than whether u saw gynae in TPS or clinic A/B

pinkz>I don't wear bra at home. v uncomfortable.

maxiblur>I think stingray better don't take too much. got high mercury level. maybe eat once every few months ok

Al>I took more chilli/curry than usual for #1. No probs leh

I'm lucky cos don't have MS. Just occasional nausea. I do feel v tired though but no choice. Have to work. When v sleepy, I'll just go for a walk if I can to the pantry/toilet. Then normally will sleep when my boy sleeps so v little personal time to do other stuff.

claramimi>how's the TB situation at your work place?

Happymumtobe
1st trimester shld gain 2kg? omg.. i lost 2kg!
hope i will be gaining some weight when i see gynae 2wks later.

Hi Planet,

I din gain weight though i look 4 mths pregnant. Been puking 3 times a day. so my input = output. really dunno where my new preggy look came from..

Just share during planning my #2, I changed few job to looks for more relax working place. From shipping & logistics line change to Admin job. My experience in my #1 told me during pregnancy better hv a relax job, I like shipping but too stress not good during pregnancy. Now working here coming to 1 year, really don't know what to do...so everyday surf net hehe

claramimi> u eated some toxin food har…. Black mean a lot toxin.

Soul108> thank you, you really caring for pregnance women ha…know a lot what fish to eat. Thank you. How about Sardin?

Planet> me from 1month till now 13week never gain any weight le. Maybe low appetite… my #1 almost gain 30kgs really fat.

LSnTYL> my #1 I eat a lot curry…my fav.

Al>> The general rule of thumb is the smaller the fish.. the safer.. so sardines, archoives (ikan bilis) are ok.. Cos the toxic is higher in big fish and the reason behind it is cos they are predator fish.. They prey on other fish so the toxic accumulates and passes on from fish to fish as they prey on each other.. Know what I mean?

planet, nope she only shed 15kg apparently n the 20kg stay wif her till now, her kid already 7 yrs old...

joyjoy, don worry whether lose or gain during 1st trimester is OK...

mummies, overall gynae told me ideal for whole pregnancy is 12-15kg...i heard from a lot experience mummies said to me too, 12kg, whatever over 12kg will remain as yr fats in your bodies n cant b shed off...

AI, you gain 30kg managed to shed it off?

babytum> yes i know what u mean. thank u.

Happymomtobe> I took about 9 months to slim down, but left 5kgs forever in my tummy fat. I think swimming is good for slim down, after birth cannot go jogging.

wow AI, salute u can gain 30kg n stil shed it OFF left 5kg....i hor pregnant 6mths bb miscarriage gain 12kg never shed a single kg at all till now 2 yrs liao....haha!

i am so sleepy after lunch, din have much, nowadays slowly eat little but a lot meals....
n i hav a lot fruits in office n home....does any1 know wat fruits to avoid ??i only know watermelon.....i like honeydew, papaya n chestnut....yst nite hav avocado drink, not bad!!

My Doctor last time shown in Channel 8 News time, he mention gainning weight during pregnancy is good for baby. if baby malnutrition in our tummy will cos alot problem. I rather gain weight for baby during pregnancy, not when bb pop out then feeding then fat fat. is total diffrence absord liao.

Happymomtobe> u dunno how stressed im when handling my #1, she 1 year old still wake up night time, cry for milk + play + disturb me. almost 1 year i never have good sleep. so slim down easy. But now got maid, my fat come back again... i also dun care cos that time planning for #2.

al- my gynae told me anything also can, but no smoking, chinese medicine(zhong yao) and alcohol. He added pineapple to avoid also.

Went taka fair ssll le... So many things... Blur....

Can check with experienced mummies... Wat stroller, car seat u using?? See so many type till blur big time... I want to buy one and use for long one leh... I see a fren keep buying stroller.. Like hobby lor... But she rich ok la.... I still haven tell fren so will have to do some research here first....

I saw graco, hauck like not bad.. Price quite reasonable too... But never really heard the brand so not sure if it's good... I only heard of maclaren, quinny...

Taka fair much cheaper than those baby shops?? where is the best place to check out for all these stuffs?

maxi> why chinese medicine cannot le? most chinese take, sometime I have cough & flu I see Yu Yan Seng. Its good and recover soon.

AI, its ok past is past n i am now blessed with another pregnancy n i reali cherish it even tot very xin ku wif all MS....

maxi, har chinese med cant? my gynae say OK n i am stil taking chinese med (bu one) to bu my heart and energy....n a lot of my fren took chinese med their bb out hor so much hair n reali much more healthy than others....

My stroller a bit old use for my #1, but she very rude粗鲁, spoiled the safety belt. now my #2 will be last one (close down production) if buy new one a bit wasted, only use for 1 year plus. anyway to replace the safety belt??

al- i guess my gynae want to be on the safe side. Bcos he dont know the ingredients in the Chinese medicine. I guess if you tell the TCM doctor that u got BB, then the TCM should be safe.

pinkz>I don't use a stroller and don't have a car so no car seat. I use a baby carrier for my son. Some of my friends got combi and peg perego for stroller. Think they are quite happy with it.

Al>wah, you v free wor.

Happymomtobe>condolences on your previous loss. Glad you have another bb
For me, I eat all fruits except pineapple. But try to eat them in moderation

maxiblur>I know some moms who continue going for TCM during pregnancy. I guess as long as you are comfortable and have informed the TCM doctor, should b ok bah

Al>can check with the manufacturer?

Oh I oso saw this fisher price 4in1 bundle baby system... Anyone use tat?? Very cool leh... It consist of infant seat/toddler seat/swing/high chair....

Happymomtobe> Do u know any chinese medicine can help baby more hair? my #1 bottack untill 1 year old (everyone tot she is boy

Lsntyl> yes hehee...but boring. this week my whole department got Thailand for seminar, me can escape cos pregnancy
yeah!

Al: me too.. Cover blanket feel hot. Dun cover feel cold... Dun knw what to do...

Pinkz: the bloated stomach makes me wake up 3-4times every nite
yes... Eat oso bloated.. Dun eat oso bloated.. Faintz.

See some mummies into 12wks already soooooo envy... When will mine 12wks arrives
weeks to go...

You mummies can take chilli stuff ar... So good. I'm a chilli fan. But now I cannot eat becos when I vomit... My throat is very painful... Everyday vomit like nobody business... Haiz... Been About 2wks plus didn't go work already... Gynae give me mc and hl. Think only go back to work when ms is over.