(2012/01) Jan 2012

Silsilly: if your baby is colicky, maybe you can try let him have rid wind. Most likely could be due to stomach wind that makes him uncomfortable. And apply ru yi oil?

I'm feeding 4 wks old 120ml every 3 hrs leh. When i bring him for follow-up few days after discharge, he is drinking 100ml but PD said ok, as long as not 100ml every 2 hrs.

Catherine: my bb also does that at times. Drink til very pek chey. If not he will do that after feed, also vomit milk.

How long does ur bb takes to finish his milk?
My bb takes more than 20mins. Tried changing the teats but seems too fast for him. Any mummies using avent teats? Have u change to teat 2?

Jkids: my cl told me she wants to go back tonite instead of tmrw. -.-

Moscato: my son takes abt 15mim to 20min if he use pigeon nursing bottle (1mth+ teat). When he use Philip avent bottle(1mth+ teat) he took 10-15min to finish his milk. Super fast. But need to stop him from drinking all at one time. Will Burp him every 40-60ml. Philip avent teat 1 is too slow, my son drink until super frustrated. Cos need to suck v long.

Catherine, my baby too, likes to poo and move around when drinking milk.

Read that we have to try to burp baby after feed. This will help get rid of the air in the stomach, esp if u are bottle feeding. Then less likely to vomit milk.

No one using nuk teats? My son seems quite ok with the no 1 small teat.

Hi Catherine,my girl will fart and poo while drinking her milk. And because she is uncomfortable, she will start crying. So we got to change her before she would even continue to drink. And her feeding time will take up to 45 mins to 1 hr!

And for my girl, we need to burp her (sometimes burping takes up to 15 mins) else she will not be able to sleep soundly or she will end up having hiccups and will not sleep again

Btw, anyone order frm Nonya manis catering for baby shower? Wonder how their portion is like?

Jkids>>> I won't say bn sleep alot nor fuss n she has no fixed schedule on waking up. Can slp long long can slp short short so depends but like morn when she starts to slp I will try to do laundry plus prepare e ingredients for lunch n dinner... Sometimes when she needs me I cn get really bz sudd... So just try to slot in time to do other stuff whenever bb starts sleeping lor.. No choice la. I m alone so by hook or by crook gotta find ways to do it.

Dekora>>> I also cannot stay hm type so this time being trap at hm like that is a big torture to me. Last time my #1 I got maid so ask maid look after one hour at times while I go out run errands n take a breather but this time no maid so no choice. The only thing I do is to bring baby for short walks at sky garden at my hse... A least get out of the house... It's like jail... But a happy jail la

I disappear for a few days n now everyone is talking abt full month parties n leaving of CL.. Haha.. Time really flies! Not long ago we were sharing on birth stories...

Btw My PD advise me to bring bb for her first jab in her 2nd
month. Just wondering if this is norm now? Coz my first one was not like this..

Dekora & Catherine - I also have finger joints aching problem
though I oredi minimize touching water or used boiled water to brushing teeth, washing face, cleaning body. No confinement lady or maid only mom n hubby helping. When I had #1, my right hand was numb
Where do u go for acupuncture? Do af confinement, right?

Babyturn - agreed. Af confinement over, will b back on my own fetching #1 to n fro school, cook n hsework, apart fr caring #2 bb! Managed our time n we can all do it as 妈妈都是伟大的
everyone jia u

Dekora & Catherine - I also have finger joints aching problem
though I oredi minimize touching water or used boiled water to brushing teeth, washing face, cleaning body. No confinement lady or maid only mom n hubby helping. When I had #1, my right hand was numb
Where do u go for acupuncture? Do af confinement, right?

Babyturn - agreed. Af confinement over, will b back on my own fetching #1 to n fro school, cook n hsework, apart fr caring #2 bb! Managed our time n we can all do it as 妈妈都是伟大的
everyone jia u

Counting down 20days to go till e end of confinement, how I wish I can go out with my little precious, but not confident on handling yet :p

I'm bored 2 death other than e enjoyment of watching him of course, my CL is very good with housework n taking care of him but can b over-talkative n bored me with her repeated n repeated tales... I need peace n quiet, I need personal space...

In fact yesterday evening, so stress out by CL insisting on latching n seeing my bb struggling with loud cries trying 2 suck cos me 2 sob so hard too fm nipple pain n heartache, I know CL meant well but I'm xtremely drain n pressurized thank God my hb is present 2 help me, he also stress n scare I got post-depression :p made me wonder, am I?

Looking forward 2 go church tis sun for a breather :p

I have the above rash cream to exchange or sell.

Exchange as below:

1.Huggies/Pamper size M diaper/pull-up pant(12pcs)

2.Nan Pro 2 or Similac 2 - 400g tin.

3. Pigeon baby antibactic wipe - 2 packs.

Pls PM or email me for picture at [email protected]

i think soon when my cl leaves...i have little time to come here liao... my elder kids also need me, think i have neglected them also. haiz...work wise, find it hard to follow thro. i mean, though i am on ML, i still check emails for updates and print out to read and note...

for me, its ok to stay at home wifout going out...i m happy if hv time to surf net...but its the food i need to settle that i hate max! n i am lazy to go down everyday to buy...

anyone will continue to drink red dates after 28 days? can we start drinking plain water, tea, cold drinks after 28 days?

moscato:
past 2 days could sleep well at nite according to cl, but yday, cl told me she let her sleep on her chest and herself fell asleep till morning...
how come u only pay your cl $2.7? u used her b4?
am still using teat 1.

delphina:
i duno if i am wrong but i did do a search in her luggage and found some longan and black beans. i duno if those belong to me or? well...
i paid $3.2k. wat abt u?

jac:
yes now i confirm to get dinner tingkat fr ...but lunch i am considering...duno will get sick or not. maybe settle with bread, instant noodle, doubt i have time to cook lunch leh. last time i tried lunch and dinner from diff co...but turned out they shared the same kitchen! so cooking style is the same...

jojo:
dependinh on the package u choose. some package start 2nd mth where the 1st mth's jab is included in the 2nd mth jab, in polyclinic, it starts at 1st mth n i have book appt next week foor 1st mth jab.

Bianz: i understand how u felt when u say ur cl is talkative. Mine too. told me how popular she is, her previous clients buy this buy that for her. Haa..

Jkids: my original cl only charged me $2.7k. Nearly use her for #1 but in the end my mum did my confinement.
My cl also let bb sleep on her chest at times or sleep with her on bed on her arms or below her armpits. -.-

I had my 1st cup of warm plain water last nite. My cl asked me to minimise cos will get bloated. Drink also must drink warm ones.

Jojo: I'm taking 6 in 1 jab. So only take during 2nd,4th,6th mth. I'm bringing my son for jab nxt Friday

Moscato: hehe... For pigeon one, I change my teat to 1mth plus teat when he was 2 week old. Cos for pigeon nursing bottle, 1mth+ teat also v small flow. for Philip avert teat 2, i only let him use at 6 weeks

Hoods: I drink red date tea till 40 days leh.. Hehe...

HK baby: for accpunture, I went to the free tcm clinic opp my hse. Save transport cost. Can donate any amount. So far quite gd. Since im still expressing out my milk, Nv take any Chinese medicine cos contain alcohol..

Jkids>>> can can drink plain n cold water... I did since day 1... Gynae says icy drinks no impact... Ice blended ok too... I did for #1... No side effects in last 2 yrs...

Yes I do agree that 妈妈是伟大!for our kids- no matter how tired we will still persevere on! Especially when we see our babies smiling at us. That feeling is indescribable
let's support each other k

Heh on a side note, the weather is Soo hot these few days! Thank goodness, our confinement sld be ending soon

moscato, I'll be sending my boy to MFS @ 183 punggol starting 1st apr. my boy only 3mths then. abit heartache. but don't feel safe leaving my boy alone with maid after I start work so no choice. will be getting rid of my maid. u called MFS HQ liao? how?

I hv been drinkin sips of warm water since 1st day of confinement. :p the only rule that I dont believe much in is the drinkin of water, how can drinking water cause water retention n drinking drinks made from water not. I cannot reconcile leh.. And the food already so heaty, drinkin only red date will make the body super heaty rite. And most of us bf, dont think we want bb to b so heaty also... Durin our mothers' times, they dont really bf. And during ancient china, bf is done by nannies, so it will not impact the babies. Or maybe im jus stubborn heee...

Im also v bored at home.. Dont dare to bring bb out too often n bf makes it more imconvenient.. Sien leh..

For those of you using bottles to feed your baby, do they still latch on to your breasts after u use bottles to feed them? I'm afraid I have to exclusively pump out my milk to feed after introducing the bottle.

You can try out the pigeon nursing bottle.. My boy started using bottle when he was 1 week old. I nv latch him for quite a while. A few days ago, when I try to latch him, he still know how to do it leh...

Jac: i havent call. Still in a dilemma whether to let my mum bring hm to take care. If dont, she still need to come to my plc to help me. Cos i still need to take care of #1.
My plan is to start on 1 apr if gg ifc. How is the environment? How many bbs n teachers there?

Jkids: my bb kept crying on n off for 3 hrs after my cl left! Finally fell asleep at 8pm. Whole day barely sleep.

Anyone's bb don't like to be swaddled? My girl is 2 weeks old but like to have her hands unrestrained. I don't know if it's because her hands are unrestrained, she hasn't been sleeping well lately. She made noises and/or fidgets around while sleeping and wakes up not long after. Now it's not easy to get her swaddle properly... :/

moscato, the environment is not too bad. quite clean & fully aircon. space area also quite ok. got 4 teachers on shift. max 10 bbs (MFS ratio is 1 teacher to 3 infants). currently got 7 bbs but 2 transiting to playgroup middle of the yr. mabbe u can go check out the place to see whether u like it anot then decide whether to put him at IFC or yr mum ba.

blucryst, my boy is the same. i'm still trying to figure this out as well. currently I reswaddle him quite a few times every night. I don't usually swaddle him during the day coz weather too hot unless in aircon room.

Im down with flu today.. likely got it from no.1. Very sianz coz' I cant go near baby unless BF time. Also, dun dare to tell my CL coz' I went out movies with hubby yesterday. She sure think it's because i went out. trying to contain the flu.

Bianz: Soon, you will be out soon! My CL also very talkative so when I need personal space, I just go into my room and lock the door.

Blucyrst: it's quite normal for some bb not to be swaddled after 2 weeks.. esp you find them more alert now. They are trying to "find" control of their limbs. Actually I find it very amusing to see my bb trying to "swat flies". hahaha..
as for sleeping well, bb generally are active sleepers because their REM is faster than ours- every 30 min so they make noise, turn and even open their eyes. BEst is to ignore them unless they really cry. Don't worry.. it's normal!

grace: I BF and give bottle at times. I do this for no.1 too and he's ok. But I know some bb who dun wan the breast once they have the bottle and vice versa. If u intend to latch on exclusively, then I think you should hold out the bottle first.

Water: I've being drinking it too.. room temperature water. I also think must drink water coz' the food is really heaty! So far so good for me..

I wonder if you gals are interested to come out for lunch when the bb are about 2 - 3 months old.. I start the ball rolling, ok? We can find out which area we are staying then find a nice restaurant nearby..

H Bianz and Catherine,

I stay in Bedok reservoir but Sengkang is ok for me.. Compasspoint Swensons is a good place.. haha.. from my experience from no.1

Silsilly

When i brought my bb to see my gp for tummy prb, he also commented 90ml is too much for 2-hrly feed. If 3 hrs still ok. So i reduce to 70ml. But i hv tried to do direct bm since a week ago, i really cant tell hw much she is drinking now.

Hi Jojo,
Do count me in meeting up
I'm staying in simei so anywhere in the east or central. Would be nice to meet up with the other mummies here!

Hi valteen,
If my baby is sleeping after bf, I won't burp her cos she seems to resist my effort but else I will burp her if she is awake (sometimes up to 15 mins)

Hi Valteen, I try to burp baby after feeds but sometimes I don't too as its already so hard to get him to sleep. If he wakes up after burping, the cycle starts all over again.

Hi Jojo, I'm quite near you, I'm at Simei but Sengkang is fine with me too.

Sigh, my baby every day has different schedule. Sometimes sleep right after feeds, sometimes takes 2 hrs! The moment I take him off my breast he starts fussing and making noise, on the breast he starts falling asleep, I think he's doing it more for comfort.

And MIL comes every other day to 'see' him, as in literally see. Doesn't carry him or do anything helpful, just oversee me breast feed, read newspaper, eat my CNY goodies and nag. For eg. Cant wash hand etc. but she doesnt help me with any washing. Really unnecessary.

y are bb sleeping little? thought they have sleep 18 hrs? today my bb didn sleep for 6 hrs, made me very busy coz my cl also need to do other things...

i found longgan and black beans in my cl's luggage. argh! cant be she brought all the way from malaysia rite? this also want to take...

moscato:
yah yah same same..they hint hint rite. my previous cl told me she received gold jewellery. my impresion of the cl i engaged so far- greed and likes to take out things back for sovenier. do u think bb "noe" cl is missing? my bb also behave weird when 1st cl left. did u say your cl wanted to leave at nite instead of next day after lunch? did u agree with her?

Grace, my mil behaves the same way as yours, come n juz 'see' baby, didnt do anything helpful. I juz gave her a photo album of my bb, now she stops coming, maybe stay at home n 'see' his photos instead. Haiz. Partly coz my boy tends to fuss til face v red n she doesnt want to handle him.,

Dekora & Grace

Thanks. Exactly, when they slp i dun feel like waking them up else i will need anthr dunno hw long to get them bk to slp again.

Hmmm taking care of bb is really tiring but i hv no desire to go back to work. Hahaha....

Nowadadys bb keeps wanting ppl to carry and even walk! So bo pian hv to walk pat her to slp before putting her dwn.

Dekora n grace: sure sure.. Now we have 5 mummies! Anyone else ok to meet for lunch?

Jkids: wah! Your CL very cheapskate lehz.. Did you confront her? What if she steals more valuable stuff?

ritzc: haha.. I like yr idea.. Mb I shod do likewise.. My Mil also like to pop by very often n she keeps complaining y I nv do this n that for confinement.. Makes me stressed!

tips to get rid of colic, some mention rid wind, is it a solution? Where can I get it? Any other methods?

Jkids: my bb always sleep less than half an hr or even less then wake up or when i try to put him down. I cant rest too.
I think they can sense cl is leaving? Cant find their 'smell'. Today my boy started fussing at 4 plus til 7 plus again! Cry, sleep then suddenly cry again. Very fierce type somemore.

U chk ur cl's luggage or u accidentally saw? Makes me wonder if she really use up all my herbs. But dont think mine took any cos her next client came to pick up her luggage while she went back to msia.

She actually told my mum the day before. My mum told me that nite but i pretended i dont know. Then she asked me that very day morning. I agreed lor. Actually knew she was ready to go cos she removed her bedsheet for washing in the morning. Initially said go back ard 6,7pm. During lunch, said 3,4pm. Told her to wait for me to come back 1st cos i already made appt for haircut. When i reached hm, she was all ready to go. But she called last nite and this morning to chk how things are.

Jac, JoJo: thank you for the advice. Seems that we will be getting busier as time goes by. Already so tired by this dunno how to handle in future.

Hi mummies who gone thru natural birth,
Do u experience a heaviness your uterus (not sure which part) when u pass motion or urine? I only experience it these days which is arnd 9 days pass my delivery. Hence very uncomfortable if needed to sit on toilet bowl for too long, wonder is it normal :p

Grace and RitzC, ur MILs very funny, only come to "see" babies.
RitzC, the photo album is quite an effective trick!

My MIL likes to wake baby up when baby is sleeping, so that she can play with her. Then she'll pass back to me immediately after she made the baby cries, claiming that baby is hungry, when actual fact, I just fed baby a while ago. Other times, she like to stand and stare while I'm breastfeeding baby. Once, she even walked into my room when I was expressing milk and she just stood there and watched. Don't know is it because she never breastfed her sons before. But I quite irritated, cos intrusion of my privacy. So now I'll lock the door when I'm bf or expressing.

bianz:
i hv been putting rid wind in the milk. bb farts alot and my cl commented its becoz if the rid wind we put in the milk. fart more is good. u can buy from unity or phamacy, the one i bought was light blue.

jojo:
i din...i wun recommend anyone to her loh, hehe. if i confront i would send her home str liao. then no one can look after bb for me.

mosato:
i went to check her luggage whenshe went to bath. oh i thought all cl should finish their assngment on the last day after lunch...

Yi Chin
That sounds irritating. I was frus this afternn too. I hv been trying to preventing my gal to suck her fingers but mil put bb's fist into her mouth when bb was nagging for food. She thought hearing bb suck the fist loudly was fun and she was amused. My face changed colour!!!!!