(2012/01) Jan 2012

how much more ex can 1 pkt of diapers get.. tsk tsk..

jingles, try halia @ botanic gardens?.. ambience looks quite nice & relaxing.. I walked past nia, haven't got chance to try yet..

jingles: rose veranda at shangri-la always my fave cos of the ambience and they serve TWG tea..but food variety not a lot, so depends on which kind of high-tea u looking for
but a nice place to chit-chat cos not as noisy as some other places

hahaha the hospitals are also so 'xian shi', you get what u are paying for ah..

jac/medory
now i am really into Gryphon tea..though TWG used to be my fav...but once again i am afraid of drinking too much lei..not sure if it will whack the calcium pills i am eating nightly...so i try to restrict myself from drinking twice a week.

I have heard many many good reviews on halia and rose verandah! May be trying the latter as halia may be crowded as circle line just open...anyone tried the knolls or the regent?

any mummies feel that your shoes are getting tighter or
feet getting bigger? any comfy shoes to recommend? too bad can't wear fit flops to office..

jingles: halia is nice..went there for dinner once..price not cheap though

(X): i will still stick to TMC..cos Mt A is still further away...

zhuzhu
ok i will try...but duno at night will have more flying friends joining in for the dinner or not..i am afraid of flying ants or creatures will get into my meal :p

i also no prob...still wearing my pazzion flats also

Hi mummies to be,

I have bought extra brand-new Elancyl stretch mark prevention cream (150ml) at $47. Will be delivering soon so will like to sell it at $30. Expiry is 01/2015. Pls PM me if you are keen.

jac
yup my feet have also started swelling. it's cos of water retention. I bought a pair of flats from Tangs Studio, 100% leather, very comfortable. think it is selling for $89.90.

jingles
i had the high tea buffet at Hyatt and the food was very nice! Plus they serve you the food in a tiered tray - very English style. I like! hehe

echo
i like my high tea in a 3 tier also :p
hmm duno why when i think of 3 tier, i will think of Peninsular Hotel in HK where i miss not having high tea there due to the super long Q

should we wear night dresses or t-shirt/shorts during our confinement hur? i was thinking of we wear night dresses duno if our maternity pads will get misalign or not...hmmm

Dear mummies & mummies to be, sorry to interrupt your thread.

My mum makes red rice wine at home for confinement cooking. I have tasted her recent batch and it is indeed fragrant and sweet. Pls pm or email me at [email protected] if you are keen. She will need 1.5 month to ready the wine. Thanks.

jingles: during confinement I will wear those button front night dresses..easier to bf lar..tees still have to lift up to bf..if u scare ur pad will misalign..wear a short inside lor..or else get those disposible padding from Guardian or Unity..to prevent stain..

jingles
during confinement, I try to follow the 'rules' to cover like bak zhang. so i wear night dress for easy bf, and long pants underneath. but when the bleeding is heavy in the first few days, you must be prepared for leaking and staining. wear panties with good fit (the TMC ones are good) and put bed pad on your mattress.

echo
cover like bak zhang....kekekee..i think i will also do that. Cos I really wan to do a good confinement which I believe the benefits will run a long long way.

Zhuzhu
thanks for the advise

same as echo, i also wear long pants underneath my button-front pyjamas. In fact i wear long pants the whole day long throughout the confinement. I also put bed pad in case of staining.

hmm..what is the purpose of cover like bak zhong??? i normally wear a super old t-shirt/singlet + fbi shorts to sleep...cannot imagine covering myself up like bak zhong..

you have to keep your body warm, cannot catch a cold. so imagine with the red dates longan tea, ginger, you will be perspiring whole day long.

hello mommies!

think very impt to do good confinement, cos I've a friend who suffers from arthritis cos she touched water very early in her confinement.. now really suffering..here pain there pain..aiyo...

PJ: i bought those nursing PJs..long sleeve + long pants.. going to be like bak zhang..hehe..but i really dunno how to tahan without washing hair leh! feel so itchy thinking about it :p

jingles: i also like nonya chang..haa..

vanessa: ya, my friend doesn't wear slippers during confinement also complain that her soles pain. I wear bedroom slippers during the day, when i sleep, i wear socks but of cos the socks will be missing in the middle of the night..took them off unknowingly..LOL

Vanessa: What type of water did your friend touch during her confinement? I heard we can only touch water that is being boiled before and not tap water.

hi mummies, i am selling my pre-loved baby cot with 3 adjustable levels & can be converted to toddler bed.

It's in natural colour and in very good condition: 8/10

please PM/email me for more details if keen.
Collection at Yishun

6151062.jpg

about touching water - do u bath at hospital? surely no herbal water for us to wash hand/face in hospital stay... and that's the initial days...

lebebe: i bathe in the hospital cos i did not bathe b4 I check in...n guess wat..my 2 feets suddenly swell up alot..not sure is it becos of the bathing or wat..but it took a few days to go away..

so this time round..i am going to bathe b4 checking in to the hospital..if I had the time lar..

jingles: tahnks for the tips! think i would not dare to comb hair..see the hair that drop i will faint..haha..even now i am using those comb and dont dare to use brush.. so my hair always messy messy..haha

i love nonya chang! hehe..toking about that..feel like eating lo!!

moscato: haha..think i will also take off unknowingly if too hot lo..how to tahan singapore weather and we are all dressed like bak chang..hahaa..

Adeline: she touch tap water lor..go and wash the bottles for baby.. better to adhere to the confinement rules..suffer for 1 month for better health...

yahor..in hospital how ah? cannot bathe right..oh no..

vanessa
errmmm the hair will normally not fall out immediately..norm it will start dropping off at 3rd month after birth. But of course, it doesnt occur in all woman...some dont have la....but its v important to brush ur hair lei...it helps to circulate blood circulation at scalp area.

hmm i also not sure lei..but my friends did advise me - not to touch water at all..wan wash face just use damp towel..but i wonder also..wat about after gg to toilet? then after natural delivery...can bath or not?
hmmm i also not sure..see if any experience mummy can advise bo..

i still bathed my body in hospital except for the hair. very hard not to wash hands leh...

this happens in my co... one colleague was a secretary, and after she came back fr ML, she was transferred to another dept and it was not her wish.
i scare it will happen to me...make me wonder if i should shorten my ML or not... are we not protected by mom for this situation? anyone knows

just spoken to one mummy who has a 2 yr old kid...she was lamenting how light sleeper her son was...and she has not have a good night sleep for 2 years...told me to cherish the amount of sleep i can garner now -.-

jkids
u are a secretary too?
ermmm i doubt we are protected by mom for this lei..we cannot be retrenched, but job rotation or reshuffle goes into the loopholes.
Ermmm...dont worry so much bah...no point worrying also....mayb nothing will happen after your leave lei :p

jingles: my hair very thin and prone to fall out..so very worried...my cuz' hair near the forehead got hole from dropping to much hair..see liao very scared.. but after that it's back to normal...
I'm so used to 7`8 hours sleep a day..i'm sooo going to miss my sleep!

jkids: MOM only protects us from being sacked, but not job rotation and stuff.. don't worry bah..,it may not happen to you... if you have people taking care of baby then maybe you can consider going back earlier, at least save some of the ML for later use also not a bad idea

zhuzhu: my feet also swell up after giving birth. Don't know why. I didn't shower in hospital leh. Gynae said it's ok, will go off. I think maybe i didnt drink enough fluid.

vanessa: i used to be able to sleep 9 hrs on wkends. now no more "sleep til wake up naturally"..haha..

errr...wat does sleep till wake up naturally means hur :p

haiz...its gg to be the weekend soon! I miss eating my Yakun half boiled eggs during the sundays man!!!

Helo mummies, hope all of you had a good lunch! I just got back to work from my 3 day coz! Time pass fast....weekend is near once again...our all so precious weekends! Let's make full use to rest!

My pelvic and sacrum area hurt like mad these 2 days....really have difficulty walking and even sleeping! No solution to the problem...can only tahan! Haiz....

Saw a mummy post OG selling a long pillow, is that useful? Will it be more comfy to hug or maybe support the tummy or back?

Saw alot of discussion going on....saw some mummies comments on confinement...really have to wrap like ba zhang ahh? Then imagine we persipire and get all sweaty and still gota wrap up..that means we have to keep changing clothes rite? Or else will catch cold too! I think it is impossible not to touch water at all. Go toilet dun wash hands??? Cannot be rite? The we gota keep our wounds clean, so everytime after toilet must clean also rite...all these need to touch water one leh!

Oh like to ask is there any BP links to buy cheap california baby products? Which range is good? I saw they got so many to choose from? Any good recommendations? Much cheaper to buy online, i went Suntec to see...one small bottle so ex! How come baby stuff all so small and all so ex?

jingles: it means sleep til you open your eyes automatically. With kids, have to wake up when they wake up...want to continue sleeping also cannot. :p

mrs gui: You can check out the BP sections. Not sure how many sellers is there currently. One of them is Agape Babies. She is the one selling bb carriers too. Those selling in retail shops ex! Parents willing to spend on bb...just tell them organic..gd for bb...they are willing to pay..:p
i used Calendula before cos my #1 got cradle cap. It said to help but doesn't. The most effective way of removing cradle cap is still olive oil. Now using Calming bodywash for her but going to switch to Kodomo once she finish. Save $$.

re: washing hand
I guessw washing hand can't be help..it can..use lukewarm water lor..last time i just use tap water to wash the bb bottles..then when washing the wounds..i try to use lukewarm water..

Mrs Gui: I only bot the calendula cream from california bb..bot their bubble bath b4..not bad...but the key item is still the calendula cream lar..

sorry to interrupt,
may I ask what you think of babylins and violet feedback? does it look kind of suspicious?

Saw these 2 threads too.
a mother got cheated by Ikare
I too engaged Ikare for my 1st baby but CL not good, not hygenic with my baby.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/5453919/6138529.html?1318246461

another thread, look as if Ikare hitting mothers who shared bad feedback on the agency.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4315089.html?1317819670

not sure whether Ikare being posting and promoting around?
My 2nd baby is coming and my freelance nanny fly kite on me. haiz..
any other confinement agency to recommend?

Thanks Zhuzhu and Moscato! I will go thru the BP again. Ya i know Agape Babies, I tot of getting the baby carrier from her too. But i guess I will wait till baby come out then buy cos at least can let her try see if she is comfortable in it!

What are the mummies buying during the baby fair next week? Can share?

Hi all, am a silent reader here. Gain a lot of experiences n tips fm u girls, tks a lot. Below r my info:-

EDD: 1/2/2012
Gynae: Dr Benjamin Tham
Hospital: Mt. Alvernia

Hi Vanessa, can PM me ur PT cleaner contact, am staying in Sengkang. Thanks a lot.

6152041.jpg

mrs gui
hello
welcome back *hugs*
i also wan buy the pillow lei..if this weekend u happen to go OG to recce can let me know...cos i feel like buying it too when hub is back from overseas

bb products are like their users mar - small but priceless...i will most prob buy them in the organic shop in KK itself closer to my delivery date.
they say to avoid touching water lei...so if u need to wash hands or wat....use damp cloth?? hmm i also not sure :p

summer
agghhhh while i was updating the table then i saw!! U've engaged my favourite gynae!! Believe he is still as caring, gentle and nice as usual
He delivers in Mt A too?

moscato: yah lor so now my hubby and i enjoying our sleep.. when baby is born will have to adjust our sleeping time le..

washing hands: maybe we can use wipes instead of water? does it help?

Mrs Gui: i came across this BP selling calendular cream and desitin..maybe you can check it out

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/5444742.html?1317721173

I really havent shopped for baby's necessities yet so will buy most from baby fair..things like cot, bathtub, mittens, booties, detergent & washing liquid for washing baby's stuff, prob baby's shampoo and body wash.. see what other goodies there are to grab there lo...

jkids: oh dear..then i guess u'd have to take 4 months maternity straight... dun worry so much about job rotation..it may not happen to you and even if it does, it may be to some dept better than your current one?
so try to think positive bah..dunt worry

baby carriers: I went to baby slings & carriers at Square 2 on Monday and I must say that the lady is very helpful in helpng me understand teh various kinds of baby slings, what is recommended and what is not.. I would suggest that mommies can drop by and take a look at their selection.they don't carry Ergo or Beco brand, but they ahve other brands which are really good. I think the brand is Manduca from Germany...
I'll be getting the baby sling/carrier from her when baby is born so that she can be there to show me how to put baby into the carrier

vanessa, u make me v envy...right now i am not really sleeping v well either...cos i need to wake up to pee, drink water, sometimes by bb movement..10001 reasons...seems like the days of fitful sleep till daylight is gone -.-

mrs gui
sacrum area isit back or front area?

Jingles- sacrum pain is the area around the butt..the tailbone there and I have pain at the pelvic area too! So hard to turn at nite when i sleep and also haf difficulty in walking...now walk super slow, sit and stand also most be in slow motion...cannot too fast or else it will hurt! Ok i will check out the pillow if i pass by OG but not this week cos I'm gng for my pre-natal massage after my aqua aerobics class.

Vanessa- thanks for the link! Will check it out ;) But hor abit too early to buy the toiletries hor?

Jac: I use mustela for bb skin, cos bb skin was very dry when born..california calendula cream is solely for the diaper area.

Mrs Gui: U might wan to standby 1-2 tub of the cream first lor..usually the expiry date will be around 2-3 yrs for now..

zhuzhu, mustela has a barrier cream (use for diaper area) that helps prevent diaper rash too.. u tried b4? what do u use for body & hair wash?