(2012/01) Jan 2012

My boss not getting temp staff to replace me cos of work nature. My work will be split out to my colleagues till I return from ML. Think my colleagues will curse and swear. Haha.

Ur part time helper from mymmar? How u get the contacts? Hmm..mine is from china. Recommended by neighbour. Before that, actually got difficulties finding one
hehe...

liquidskye, i think shld be quite normal ba.. my bb also got lazy days (esp when i'm very tired or sick) & active days.. as long as can feel bb kicking shld be fine? let me know what your gynae says abt this?

catherine
i also think my ML will affect my existing coll. Cos no matter how we hand over, temp staff will sure lost, so she will have to take the initiative to ask around and need ple to guide her. Some coll. will be piss, i guess, but i bo chup lo....i mean if you are not happy, there is nothing i can do about it either.

zhuzhu
at least if we are piss, we only see them once a week and damage is minimal...cant imagine if we get a live-in maid....more nonsense from them unless we got the v v good ones...which is rarer than striking 4D!

jingles: dats why my hb told me oso...if i got a live in maid..i might wan to hammer her one day..

catherine: i got this maid from some stupid agency whom advertised in the paper..which i don't like the person in charge..

jingles:
temp comes in 2 weeks b4hand is good...can handover properly. my un-nice boss was thinking of 5 days (!). i told him so little time? he said "got so many things to hand over meh"... argh!
i wish i can be like u instead of worrying over this. i only started abit on listing down my worklist for the temp which i think is quite "fei" coz like u said she will be *lost* and when packnicked will sure ask ard instead of looking at our help menu, ha. i guess i dun like the idea of going for ML during my peak coz i dun like pp to *mess* up my things and i have to clear it when i am back...

catherine:
ha, i think unless your colleagues are of childbearing age, they would be more *understanding"? those who gave birth long time ago would have forgotten abt this. ...

zhuzhu:
yes i agree about wat u said about the terminating part.

re: part time maid
l rather not have a live-in maid also. though i can very frustrated that i have to do a lot of thing by myself, i keep reminding myseld a live-in maid will give me more frustrations. is mymmar maid good? i get phobia using them coz 4 out of 5 i hired b4 from that ctry burnt my iron cover...is this normal? :p so until one pt, i iron my own clothes even though i had a part maid.

jkids
err...it actuali depends, my p/t maid ever burnt my blouse and iron cover before....not v happy on the burnt part not cos of my blouse but i was worried she forgets to off the iron -.- but well, i always got to remind myself, if you engage help from others (though we are paying) we cant expect help 100% to our liking also. So got to give and take and trust bah.

jac
oh no!! which part we made u worried? is it helpers? No worries la, everyone has different expectation....i guess mine is more of a higher kind - cos I will also prefer my laundry to hang in a certain way and fashion, when my hub helps me to do it for the past few months, he also nearly fainted over my expectation lo...so...it actuali depends on ur luck, expectation as well as patience....

zhuzhu
i guess there are always a bunch of us that is not able to tolerate living with maids bah....last weekend we were having dinner, we saw this maid sitting next to our table having a good time eating the expensive dishes....well, having a maid is not just purely paying for her levy...we still have to aportion an amount for her if she is gg to follow us to the restaurants...haiz...

jkids, i oso have a parttime maid, but i oni let her do the wash toilet and other heavy duty stuffs. ironing clothes and changing bedsheet type i rather do myself cos im quite particular abt these stuffs, don't wana get pissed off over small things, esp when shes a gd PT maid. jingles is right, have to give n take cos we r not the ones doing it. =x

jingles, i oso cant tolerate living w maid FT, though im gonna employ one b4 my ML ends, to help MIL w hsehold chores while she look after my kid. im gonna let my maid stay w my MIL fulltime, cos me and hubby find it v weird and troublesome to have an outsider at home w us. abit no privacy.

liquidskye
ermm ur mum currently looking after another kid? or has many other members in her house tats why need a maid? or is she elderly? errmmm dont mean to be kpo hur...cos i am just wondering why to get a maid if only 1 bb cos bb most of the time will be ZZZzzz also....for me, i will be getting a p/t helper to help my mum with house work after my ML as we most prob gg to have a prob as both houses dont wan strangers in their own houses

for me, i am quite fussy. I will not wan her to do my laundry although she offers, cant imagine what load she will mix with. also will not ask her to help me change sheets, as i dont wan her to be climbing around where i sleep :p

Seems like a lot of ya intending to do cloth diapering..very encouraged by u all to try also haha cos most of my frens discourage it due to the frequent washes needed. Not sure if you feel that way but I was very confused about all the available cloth diapers out there, e.g what one size, All- in-twos, inserts, soakers, liners, plastic covers ect ect ect.. I just scare if there might be possible leaking from the cloth diapers.

Anyone using or going to use the traditional kind of cloth napkins where you fold (like origami) on your babies? Heheh.. Wondering if any mummies have done cloth diapering before would like to share? =)

my hb & i also do not want to employ FT maid. if the maid is very young, just like having another kid at hm.. and their salary is going up, not cheap to have one.
I was thinking of engaging PT maid if we can cope. How often does your PT maid comes? I was thinking of just wkend. sweep/ mop floor, clean windows, toilets. Don't think will ask her to do laundry ba.

moscato
my p/t maid comes in once a week, when i am not around. She is not v keen in doing weekends. So we got to trust her in getting in/out not having us ard.

karcool
kekekeke i am also v confused by all the items...but i guess i will let the more experienced mummies to guide as i intend to use disposables. Ermm by way, cloth and disposables all can leak, its more to the fitting/size.

jingles... not my mum. i wish is my mum taking care. but she stay too far away frm me liaos. oh, i got 2 nephews, 2yo n 9 mth. they will come over to my MIL hse in e afternoons. so if i dun have maid to help MIL w hsehold chores. my MIL will b busy running after 2 toddlers + hsehold chores, no1 look after my BB. =(

Moscato, my PT maid comes every sunday am, 4 hours. she just go ard the hse doing the chores while me and hubby will just nua. wkday work so hard liao, cannot imagine wkend oso must slog over hsework. so pay abit of $ to give us more relaxed time. =P

liquidskye
ohh i see....haiz, sometimes how i wish i had figure out getting a p/t helper earlier so that we had much more time to shop and play -.- but i just wan save the 200+ per month by doing housework on my own..

moscato
ya..she already told us b/f. To lock up all the valuables lo..i think she also scared if we misplaced things, we will accuse her la..my p/t helper is also a person who loves to disclaim things first :p

jingles, yah lo.. worried abt maid problems.. but boh bian leh.. sigh..

liquidskye, according to the maid agency, if u put the maid full-time at your MIL's house, then u might need to hire the maid under your MIL's name.. if so, u won't be eligible for the FDW income tax relief & also got to appeal to MOM to have the levy changed to $170 (instead of $265).. also fresh maid will take abt 2mths to come into SG so u need to plan ahead..

btw, i juz got a FT maid (coming in dec) coz my mum is still working (thou on flexi hours) so need maid to take care of bb when mum goes out.. the plan is to bring bb & maid to mum's house in the morn & then bring both back at night.. maid will sleep at my hse since she's hired under my name.. i'm also SO not used to having a stranger ard & ordering her ard the hse.. but boh bian.. praying hard & keeping fingers & toes crossed!! intend to send bb to full-day childcare when he turns 18mth & get a PT maid to help with the housework instead.. this is one of my biggest headache..

my hb said he will help out with the chores but i doubt so..so ultimately has to get a PT maid.

when i need one, will get the contacts from you all. :p

Anyone taking 3D/4D scan? I called TMC not cheap wo...anyone has cheaper alternative?

Was told to scan b4 wk30 , so tt BB have space to move ....

hmm i am thinking is it necessary to get a p/t helper once the baby arrives to help out with the housework both at my place and my mum's place.. But i am worried that the helper will not do a gd job and will make my blood/my mum's blood boil..
Currently i am still doing light housework..like washing clothings ( hee just throw inside washing machine lah ), folding clothings etc the more siong ones like mopping floor, vacumning the floor..washing toilet etc is done by hubby...

Hey mommies!
nice weather to nuah..hope everyone had a good lunch!

Jac: not much 'shou huo' leh..only 1 casual dress i got for myself..hehe
really resisting to buy things for baby because the baby fair's coming up!
I paid $68 for the Mt.A ladies card.
thanks for your comments on the Medele pumps
will consider carefully

jingles: thanks! will check out Vivo! havent been there in ages!! haha
think i walk 1 flight of stairs only will get super breathless liao..
will slowly build up to prob 2/3 flights bah.. but will prob only do it last
month before delivery..hehe..

Mrs Gui: got myself a dress! hahaha..wah u really made my day cos i have
been feeling guilty not doing much exercise or walking..haha
since your gynae say walk more during last mth before delivery,
i got excuse to nuah liao...hehehehe
so happy to hear you're finally able to see your princess!!

my baby like not very active leh..worried leh..dunno is it cos he loves sleeping
or what.. liek today, never really kick leh..i was expecting
the kicking frequency and intensity to increase as days pass but not really
leh...

maids: I am currently using a PT maid..$12 and hour and she usually takes 4 hours to finish my stuff..basically ironing, vacuum, mopping, wash 2 toilets, clean tabletops and stuff..she's quite good and fast...heng ah.. last time i got an Singaporean aunty as PT helper..then aunty likes to chat and chat and when she open her mouth, her hand stops..wah piang..waste time = waste my $$$
but when bb comes gotta get a live in maid le, think my MIL not able to cope alone.. now discussing with this maid my aunt used to have for 9 years..her current employment is ending so she looking for another employer..now still negotiating with her..got experienced maid also headache, new maids also headache..sianzzz

moscato
if hub said will help, i think he will but i guess his standard may differs from your expectation...so got to set realistic standards :x

poseidon
i also doing laundry (as in just throwing clothes in the washer) but has a challenging time hanging up the laundry..so always will seek hb/pt helper to help out.

lebebe
i heard some mummies gg to JB to do it, heard that its cheaper there.

vanessa
ya....getting a F/T maid is not easy. kekekeke P/T maid, chitchatting....wah i cant imagine if she comes and chit chat with me...i will ask her..aunty u come here to chit chat or work lei :p

Lebebe: how much is the 3D scan at TMC? Hehe... Actually I also quite interested. But hubby say waste $$
hehe... It would be nice to see how baby look in advance. Hehe...

vanessa, it'll be good if u can get your aunt's maid.. your aunt can used her for 9 yrs so shld be not too bad ba.. althou experienced maid will be more keng, but at least u already know her pattern liao.. no new surprises.. i got no one with maid to transfer to me leh, else will be real good..

jingles: if u use washable diapers..depend on whether ur house had enuff space to dry those diapers o not...if ur kitchen had enuff sunlight..then can dry faster lar...
cos 1 day can change quite a lot of time..that means a lot of washing to do..which oso mean alot of water wasted..

I bot 2 dozen of washable diaper previously..end up just use disposable one..easier

zhuzhu
ya...i intend to use disposable de..but now thinking to buy some washable to stock..we wont know if bb will be allergy to disposables or not..heard tat some bb will not be able to wear disposables. my kitchen also ultra tiny and no space....and i have monkey neighbours which love to wash their toilet louvers every single day/night, smoke and throw the butt, spit and throw rubbish down, so cant sun outside also.

catherine, the 3D scan need to have any referral letter from gynae? let us know how long the scan & how many pics they give k..
i feel cheated by my gynae.. hahah..

Think goon is sold in cold storage and via their website at diaper.com.sg. Everyone tell me it's gd. Worth the try

Jac: ok, I going down to my gynae clinic tonite to get the referral letter. Will let u all know the outcome whether gd or not.

jingles: yalor..aunty funny right..haha.. i didnt respond to her..so after a while of talking she stopped..haha..
your neighbours so terrible one ah? new estate right?

Jac: experienced maids have their own pattern also..but i was thinking with baby, i need someone who knows how things are done and i don't need to teach.. they are really more keng lor..can nego terms one leh.. haizz..the most i use her for 2 years then change when baby is older lo..

Im also getting a helper but just worried I'm to used to the extra help; too lazy to do my own housework
trying to pysco myself the limit is 2 yrs! Does anyone has a schedule to give our helpers to work in a day?

have a qtn. for newborns, at night they supp to wear longsleeved PJs to bed right? is it ok to buy 6m size instead of newborn size? not sure what size i sld get for my BB...

at a loss cos what my frens passed me are mostly going out clothes. thanks!

catherine, jingles: i have tried Goon Premiums (the lady told me it's new series) on my #1, samples given to me. Very soft, but when the diaper is soiled, the top thin layer "floated" up. Don't think it's a prob ba unless it will tear. But it's ex lor...about $0.50 per pc, more ex than Pampers.

liquidskye: depends what kind of longsleeved PJ u are buying and also depends how big is your bb. Those covered toes ones tends to outgrown fast. I let my #1 wear those without covered toes, let her wear socks to sleep instead. Maybe u can get a few 3 mths size..or else 6 mths will be too big for bb to wear initially.

moscato
allo pom pom moscato! :p wahhh i think its a bit expensive lei...cos i think used pampers already abit exp. But if its really good, i dont mind giving it a try. Maybe i will stock 1 pampers/1 goo.n for bb

liquidskye
hmmmm i think 6 months is abit big lei..norm bb will wear 0-3 months initially.

hmm i was just happily praising my helper yesterday afternoon and when i went back home ytd, i discovered she did not off my a/c -.- haiz.....really cannot praise helpers too much

liquidsky
for sleeping, i will be dressing baby in normal romper + swaddle/sleepsack, so won't be buying PJs. from my experience with #1, might have diaper change at night, so it's a bit troublesome with 1pc sleepsuits (PJs with covered toes). if they wear separates (T+pants), the shirt tends to ride up and expose the tummy. So i decided to opt for this combination instead.

jingles: goon is good..cos its thin enuff when u wan to bring out..but super X lor..u try nepia first..also from Japan and slightly cheaper..i oso think pampers should be able to suit most bb..TMC use pampers also leh..

sometimes pampers got promo..like 2 packs in 1 box at a special price..but i am not sure if that include NB size..I always buy at carrefour..then abt 6 boxes..can ask them to deliver for free

Liquidskye: i think for pants its okie to get slightly longer..after all bb grow very fast..for the top..if the sleeves are too long..just fold it lor..last time my boy oso wear super long pants and tops..

Dun get too many NB size..i rather u start from 3m onwards..i am a KS mummy...buy bigger can last longer..

Re: Mittens
oh and if the mittens is too big n keep dropping off..get those surgical tapes from the pharamcy..and tape a bit to bb hand..surgical tape are less painful when tear off..

And also, those who are expecting boys, when u are changing their diapers, take a napkins or tissue to cover their penis..in case they decide to pee at this moment..at least their urine will not spray all over u..

zhuzhu
tats a brilliant idea lei! think not only for guys...i heard from another friend, while he is changing for his bb girl, the girl squarts poo out and landed on his face....so....its a v good tip to avoid poo on face also :p

usually pampers promo is 2 boxes for abt $48+. 1 box contains 2 packs. Only for M size onwards. Giant will have similar promo too. I always stock up during promo. Abt $0.31-0.32 per pc.

NTUC & Cold storage carries the bigger packaging. During promo, also net out to be abt $0.31-32 per pc.

on disposable diapers, I read that mamy poko also not bad? saw Sheng Siong having promo once in a while.. TMC using huggies newborn I think..

jac
i think if u pay more, then u get more expensive one lo :p

maternity issues aside
anyone been to any good high tea lately hur :p really will like to relax over a cuppa this weekend!