(2012/01) Jan 2012

echo, thanks! saw tat most ppl got maxi cosi carbiofix for the bucket one & britax for the FF.. quite surprised yours is the other way round.. but anyway, both r good brands.. & not cheap too.. hahah..

jac
haha i think the day that we went to mothercare, they were having a discount on the britax, so that's the one that we bought. and maxi-cosi FF was also bought on offer at taka baby fair. so it's discounts that help us decide! haha.

echo, icic.. yah so very true.. i'm also shortlisting some of the brands & models now.. but will decide on the day itself depending on discount/price..

Has any mommy considered getting Baby Jogger City Mini for stroller? thought it's quite light, sturdy and easy to maneuver...

vanessa: i did consider...but then after closing it is not as compact as combi/capella and it is not able to stand on its own..so taking public transport could be a problem.. it is good for people that drves..

jingles: i just pour the dry shampoo on my hair after i wipe my body...will shake away the excess shampoo..

lebebe: i got the rapid sterliser..can sterlised all ur breast pump part oso..got a seperate warmer..but then i find it waste electicity..and sometimes if u din adjust the temp properly..the water becomes too hot..

re: Episotomy
seriously i din even know if i had episotomy the last round..
i only know i squeeze 1 pile out..which was very painful..in the end get hb to buy a rubber ring from the pharmacy below..and I sat on the rubber ring for 1 whole mth..

Re: Disposiable panties
I din get the maternity one..i got the normal one..but XL size...then when I got home..i just use all my old panties..wear liao throw away..no need to wash

poseidon: ya not standing on its own is the only minus point of this stroller.. peg perego is really good but not sure if i can manage the weight if i bring baby out alone.. so much to consider! :|

Have the follwing items to let go as im clearing space:

1. Preloved Tommee Tippee Maunal Breast Pump
2. Mustela Stretch Mark Double Action cream
3. Milk Storage btls (7medela, 4evenflo & 3farlin)
4. Milk btl carrier (those that can keeps water warm for bringing outdoor)
5. Chicco Carrier (Blue Color)
6. Blue TIMEX watch
7. Baby cot bumper
8. Lucky Baby Milk Btl Drying Rack (RESERVED)
9. Baby's changing Mat

Kindly pm me if interested.

i've a few items to let go.

1)Lamaze gardenbug foot finder & wrist rattle set ($10)
2)Lamaze Spin & Explore Garden Gym ($15)
3)3 tins of Similac Mum, expiring Oct 2013 ($12 each)

Kindly PM me if you're keen.

I'm from Sep 2011 thread and I have a good CL that I will like to recommend to all mummies. Siew Ling jie was the CL for my 2 SILs and they sang praises of her which was the reason why I decided to engage her.

On the first day she arrived, she revamp my kitchen and create a very neat system for keeping the milk bottles and my breast pump equipment. She is also very encouraging and supportive of breastfeeding. The first 4 days, my breast milk has not kick in yet and I was feeling very stressed and down. She boiled papaya soups and always remind me to drink lots of red dates tea to help with the milk production. During that period, she gave me alot of encouragement on breastfeeding. She is very alert especially for night duty of taking care of baby. The moment my baby starts to go eh eh, she is already up and heating up ebm to feed him.

After being discharged from hospital and that 1st week of back home and trying to adjust to be a mum, Siew Ling jie is really a godsend helper and teaching me alot of things about taking care of baby, learning how to differentiate the various tones of my baby's cries which means different needs of my baby.

She is also a very good cook and takes care of me very well. She always whip up interesting dishes cooked in different ways. Check out some of the dishes she has cooked for me so far.

6133201.jpg

6133202.jpg

She is very hardworking and even cleans those hard to reach corners in my kitchen and does the household chores fast and efficient.

Overall, she is really a good CL and I will highly recommend her to all mummies. I will definitely engage her again when I have my 2nd child.

Her contact is:
Singapore HP - 81195431 (contactable when she is working in SG)
Malaysia HP - +60137067061 / +60127609538 (contactable when she is in Malaysia). Do tell her you are recommended by Meiyu. She usually will give higher priority to those who are recommended by mummies who engaged her before. Do book her early for your confinement as she get booked pretty fast!

zhuzhu: wah..how many old panties you throw??!! normally how many days will be that heavy?? I wonder how much maternity pad i need to buy..coz my friend gave me some of her leftovers..

poseidon gal: duno how many panties i throw leh..
i think like every day throw 1 or 2 panties..no need to get too many maternity pad..get those long overnite pads will be good enuff..cos maternity pad like kotex needs to tie one..unless u know how to do it..if not get those like 35cm or so overnite pads will be good enuff..then get some bed padding from like guardian or NTUC unity..in case u stain the bed..

lebebe: my steriliser is a hand-me-down. It's convenient compared to boiling water using the traditional way. Both are fine. During anenatal class, Mrs Wong will teach you the traditional method as well.

poseido: LG playmat is better than Parklon. LG itself has a few series. Prime, Asobang and think now they have 1 more new series. The difference is the size & thickness of the mat. Currently i'm using Asobang, 18mm thick. When u put something heavy on it, the mat will "bounce" back very fast, Prime which is abt 15mm thick, takes a longer time to recover but both are equally gd.
I bought mine from the SMH BP. Prices went up again.

hkbaby: Desitin should be easy available in shops like Target, Walmart. No need to stock up too much. 1 tube last me for a year. Only need to apply a thin layer.

Another wet day .....how come it never does rain over the weekend!!

zhuzhu
maternity pads need to tie?? hur...v troublesome lei..

hmm i heard some mummies also got many of those old shorts, so once stain, they also throw the shorts away, no need to wash...

jingles: yup yup..stated in the packaging. Adhesive is in plastic packaging i think.
But maternity pads are much thicker.

liquidskye: maternity pads are available in NTUCs. You can also find them in kiddypalace and dept stores like Metro (in bb sections). Other brands are Pureen, etc

Moscato - tks for the reply. Can California bb b found at target n walmart too? But dun know if he has time n can get easy access to these super mart while there.. If not have to order thru amazon.. I like palmers bb bottom balm too! Smells nice n work well! Also similar price to desitin creamy.

jingles: good idea to use old shorts..in this way..u save the trouble of washing..and also can decluttered ur waredrobe..

I tot kotex only had the tie maternity pad.. cos i remember the one given by the hospital is tie kind..

hkbaby: u might wan to double check the pricing for california bb in target n walmart..might not necessary be cheaper there..

yup yup, i got mine from Target.
Can be found in Toy R Us too.
But you can surf the website to see if he can find the particular pdt from that outlet. If order from amazon, might be cheaper but u have to order in more, like 6 in a pack. Maybe the mummies can share?

zhuzhu
the problem is all my old shorts cant wear liao..kekekekekekeke so i will not be able to adopt this suggestion.

liquidskye
maternity pads, its written on the box...you can check it out

any1 still gg doing housework at home hur? seems like simple chores are already making me tired....seems like the sleepy bugs are back!

i only fold clothes and do simple packing of tables etc... the heavy duty stuffs of carrying stuffs, hanging clothes etc, hubby take care. mobility qite limited nowadays w sucha big tummy.

hope everyone had a good lunch, like me.
monday blues will go away soon...keep counting down!

jingle: i also so simple ones like folding clothes. ironing wise, nobody at home does it for the longest time, ha. i will engage a pt maid once i deliver.

Dear mummies & mummies to be,

Sorry to interrupt.
I've got 1 bottle of Clarins anti stretch mark oil to sell at $60 include normal postage. I think retail price is $80 plus. Let me know if anyone keen

i still iron & fold my own clothes.. & do light tidying up, sweeping (using magic clean), vacuuming & mopping (see where got hair/dirt then clean) once in awhile.. hb does the laundry, wiping down of furnitures, heavy duty vacuuming & mopping, etc.. i do find myself getting more n more easily tired & sleepy nowadays.. also getting indigestion & heartburn again at nite.. same as 1st tri..

jac
yes the indigestion seems to be back, i just pray the pukiness will not return

jkids
kekeekekekee sorry hur...kind of misread

any idea when you all gg to start ur ML hur?

oh..Jac & jingles, you are having indigestion probs too? I had quite a bad one last fri..i thought i was coming down with stomach flu..

i'm planning to start on 1st Jan.

mine is c sec... i'll prob work till a couple of days before the scheduled csec date.
Dun want to "waste" leave waiting at home. Haha...

Jac... go into 3rd tri will get heartburn n indigestion again one ah? cos im having it this 2 wks... tot is cos of new work environment.

liquidskye
u changed new environment ah? is it just change new office or new job?

moscato
same here....some of my friends advise not to take ML too early as once stop work, will tend to work less. More walking encourage easier labour....that is for natural delivery la.

ya...seems like i cant eat too big meals too...got to eat small ones..seems like reverting back to 1st trim.

go shopping when ML starts lor..that's what happened to me for #1. Went shopping on the 1st day of my ML (i was clearing leave so went on leave early), i went into labour that night..LOL

jingles: i still do the laundry daily..sometimes i take the magic mop and clean the floor also..other houseworks..leave it to my PT maid..

RE: Mat leave
haiz..my co policy is to take 2 wks b4 EDD..so i LL had to stop working and wait at home for 2 wks..

Helo Mommies, monday blues huh! I'm stuck in a training for 3 days...super sleepy and have lesser chance to chat but I'm reading all your posts!

Seems like some of us getting the heartburn and indigestion already. For me...i keep getting gastric pain whenever i take honey with lemon (warm) duno why also! Are we allowed to take that in the first place? The gastric pain is so painful and only by drinking warm water it will help ease the pain alittle!

Going for my check-up later....gng to ask Doc to prescribe something...or else I also duno what to take to ease the pain!

As for doing housework...i still wash clothes occassionally but getting more tired easily so cannot do too much or else I will get this very bad ache around the pelvic area. Hubby will do the rest of the tougher work like mopping floor and ironing.

Do you mummies experience pelvic pain when u walk too much? I think I went out too long on Sat....at nite came back home...the pain was horrible and i cannot even move! Sigh....i think cos our tummy is getting bigger and heavier...time for us to rest more!

Have been a silent reader for quite a while
hehe.. Would appreciate if you can add me into Jan MTB in FB or I'm this forum listing

Edd: 5 jan
Gynae: dr Adrian woodworth
Hospital: TMC
Email: [email protected]

Saw in previous postings abt babies bellies. Went for their prenatal massage last weekend. It was great and I signed up with them for post natal massage as well

Will be going for ML from 27 dec onwards
now counting down.

Btw, saw someone post abt cloth diapers earlier on. Was the brand bumwear? Went to united square to see.. It's $27 per piece? Is there any cheap and gd brand for cloth diapers?

For housework, I engage part time helper once a week to mop the whole hse, iron clothes, wash toilets

Hehe.. I also encounter pelvic pain when walk too much..baby is now 1.1kg at 27 weeks
think will get worse later on. Back pain is another killer

Welcome Catherine ;)

So you went to babies bellies as well. My appt is this Sat..so looking forward to it! Hmm..another good review...great! So you sign up the post-natal le? Heard they will be having promo during the baby fair on 21 Oct, the sales folks nber inform you?

As for cloth diapers, yes one of the brands is bumwear, not too sure the cost, but there are other brands such as babykicks, moo moo kow and one more new brand that is in the market. I saw from the motherhood mag tis mth but i forgot the brand le, that one cost $25/pc. But i realise that the material of the inserts seem to be different, babykicks and moo moo kow uses hemp whereas some others use fleece. So i guess the price difference is due to the quality of the insert. Seem like hemp material is better...may consider getting the moo moo kow one during the baby fair cos that their package comes with 2 inserts. Babykicks only provide 1 insert and i manage to purchase it for $25/set during a promo online. I saw one really cheap one from gmarket, but I dun really trust the material, cos I think it is only selling at $9/set if i'm not wrong!

ML...i think i will take one week before my EDD, tat is if I can tahan till then! Not yet tell my new boss yet...cos he just came in a 3 days...better dun bug him first! hehe

I will be flying off to Bali on 21 oct, so can't go baby expo. The person at baby bellies tell me can reserve one goodie bag for me on my nxt visit
so I just pay the deposit of $100. Going for basic post natal 10 session package

Heard there a parenthood fair on 11 to 13 nov.. Wonder all these diaper store will set up booth there or not. How many cloth diapers will u all buy for standby. I already bought 2 nb huggies disposable diapers. Hope it's enuff
for maternity pads, I bought kotex tied pads. But nv use before. Dun know whether I know how to use or not haha...

catherine
welcome
i heard tat the pads (tied kind) u need some arty genes :p cos need to loop and hoop here..def not something i need if i am in pain or doing confinement. Believe the baby stores will be at the parenthood fair also....

ermm for disposable diapers...i think i will just buy 1 pack first...cos i heard normally discharge hospital will also give u one pack....bb may be allergy or different in size or brand...so just buy 1 to stand by

Hehe.. Since already bought the tied one, will just try first. If really dun know how to use, will buy the adhesive type. Think 20 piece cost $8.75?

Ok, will go to parenthood fair nxt mth to grab whatever I need. Still got alot of things haven't buy yet
have anyone bought breastpump? Just bought my medela freestyle from amazon.. It's only half the price... Now waiting for shipment. This forum is really useful.. The other time read abt you all buy maternity clothes from asos. just ordered and received mine within 7 days. Quality v gd
just nice for maternity photoshoot in Bali
hehe..

wahhhh u gg there for maternity photoshoot ah? nice! self or with photographer?
i also intend to buy medela freestyle...is it the one which can operate via batteries? how much did u pay for it?