(2012/01) Jan 2012

catherine, wha so nice.. can go bali for maternity photoshoot.. i'm dying to get out of SG.. but hb & mum strongly objects.. sigh.. i juz got the medela freestyle from a BP seller for $450.. how much did u pay in total to ship from amazon?

jingles:
nice of u to compile the list...but y u din include bb gender and birth order? thought it would be interesting to noe...

For my Bali photoshoot, I engage photographer from Bali
I paid $474 for the medela freestyle including shipping
BP stands for bulk purchase? Looks like jac got a better buy at $450..

Catherine- one mummy told me that the parenthood fair in Nov will have bumwear, maybe u can go take a look. Dun worry bot fairs cos end of the year sure got lots of sale gng on! Only thing is whether we have energy to shop. These days I think shopping online is easier..no need to go out! Just need to let your fingers do the work!

For those who are inheriting breast pump, got to replace most of the parts. That is what the medela sale girl told me! Even the tube connecting the pump also need to change, on top of the valves and shields. I calculated...not cheap also...add up about $100+!

My medela breastpump is a sealed brand new set.. So no need to replace any parts

Nov shd still got energy to shop bah.. I will definitely go for the parenthood fair. Hehe.. Maybe buy 2 bumwear and let baby try. But Xmas period, I guess I no energy to buy presents Liao. If wanna buy anything, must buy earlier. Hehe...Baby stuff super ex. My hubby always grumbling to me money keep flowing out though we pay on 50/50

jkids
no prob la if anyone wan add in the info let me know...its jst tat, tis is the 2nd table for this forum..the mummies who had done the 1st table mostly had "migrated" chatting in FB liao..so just tot of doing something simple for the remaining of us who are chatting here

catherine
hmmm but having a kid is must spend $$ de...and its only the beginning lei....more to come when he goes to school and so on..... i guess it also depends on the bp and lobang u have, then can save some $$

mummies who've booked/booking mt. A, when did u all book your ward? did u all get the alvernia ladies card? saw that the card got $100 off single ward.. to get the $100 off, need to apply the card b4 booking the ward? btw, I juz faxed in my pre-registration form to book the ward.. haven't apply for the card yet thou.. hmm..

Btw, for mummys who choose Mt A or TMC, wanna find out what are the reasons that attract you to Mt A/TMC. Actually I had a hard time deciding between Mt A and TMC

hey mommies! now then got time to come in read all your posts
was ouot shopping whole day.. still cannot find a nice dress for my friend's wedding in Nov..boohoo! Went to Mt.A to book antenatal class only to find that the weekend classes are all full! so bo bian sign up for Friday evening class.. good way to 'force' my hubby to learn baby stuff..hehe..

Welcome Catherine!
so envy! get to go Bali for maternity shots! still waiting for my friend to take maternity shots for me..haha.. bo bian free things must wait..keke :p

housework: I wash clothes and do some light mopping with magic clean mop if I cook.. the rest leave it to my PT helper.. with the big tummy very difficult to do housework leh..get breathless very easily and same with Mrs Gui and Catherine, get pelvic pains..and serious backache! i find that when i wake up in the morning my hips are really stiff..maybe cos sleep in 1 position for too long..

start of ML: hmm havent really decided..didn't wanna waste my ML by starting too early so was thinking 2 weeks before my EDD i'll request to work from home so in that sense i can work till i go into labour..keke.. but gotta really discipline myself to still do some walking lo..cos in office can walk about but at home tend to be lazy..hehe.. wonder if climbing stairs is ok or not..

Mt A: i havent booked my ward yet.. the nurse at my gynae says can book thru them..so prob will ask them at my next appointment on 20th

I just applied for the Mt.A ladies card today when I was there to book my antenatal class cos got 10% off..and for single ward got $100 off and if buy things from the pharmacy can also get discount.. so not a bad deal at all...
The reason I chose Mt.A over TMC is i find that alot of my friends who gave birth in Mt.A all had positive feedback on the nurses and staff there.. i also find the environment more cosy and warm as compared to TMC... i also had bad experience with TMC's parking twice.. had to wait for 30mins to collect my valet-parked car!

just wanna ask if anyone knows what is the difference between Medele freestyle and pump-in-style? i got mixed reviews from friends so quite confused... still deciding which is a better model to get..appreciate if any mommies can shed some light and share what you know abt these 2 models..thanks lotss!!

Hi Catherine,
I chose Mt A because I love the nurses there, very kind and helpful.
And most of all the confinement food are super yummy.
My hubby say don't go TMC because the parking lots are very limited.
That's why I'm going back there for #2.

vanessa, nice! whole day shopping got any "shou huo"?.. can try asos.com for nice wedding dress.. how much did u pay for the mt A ladies card? wonder if the $68 promo is still on?.. on medela freestyle (FS) vs pump-in-style (PIS).. from what i read & advice from others (haven't try out any pumps before).. FS is more ex, but lighter & more portable.. PIS is heavier, but is cheaper & suppose to have better/stronger suction.. FS is good if u intend to pump at work after your ML (esp if u dun drive) & for 1st timer (like me) who might not be used to the strong suction of PIS..

catherine, i chose mt A coz my gynae's nurses say my gynae "prefers" mt A.. no reasons given thou.. but we decided to go along with her preference.. hahah.. but seriously, the parking at TMC sux!! i went there for my detailed scan & had to wait abt 20mins b4 the valet guys pack us up into a van to collect our car which was parked in an open carpark abt 5-10mins away from TMC.. it was drizzling somemore.. super turned off!!

<font color="119911">Hi Mummies!

ive the following vouchers you might need it. pm me if u interested. open for exchange for token.

2 x Maternity Exchange voucher, 10% off purchase of maternity &amp; nursing wear &amp; lingerie valid till 30 Sep 2012

1 x $5 Off for any 3 pks purchase of Huggies Newborn 24s or Small 44s in a single receipt valid: 30 April 2012

1 x Drypers Weewee Dry 2pcs in a pkt for 3-7kg

1 x Drypers Soft 2 pcs in a pkt for newborn</font>

choose TMC because was told that Mt A under reno during end of the yr/beginning of next yr and because me got the FBI card..hee sign up for it during my oscar scan..so decide to stick to TMC to make my FBI card worth it..
yah i agree the parking sucks though..

3 more days to the fair

catherine
though i am not a TMC/Mt A mummy but I will choose Mt A between the 2 cos of 1) ample carpark spaces (i also dont wan my hub to have a tough time looking for lots whenever we go there for checkups) 2) Mt A is a consolidated hospital where all staff and doctors are under the same management unlike for TMC, where they operate in their own clinics and only share common facilities

vanessa
no wonder whole day no see u pop in!
hey you can try shopping in Vivo, had seen some nice dresses there last weekend which can accommodate our big tummies!

Morning mummies! Raining cats and dogs again! Do walk carefully and keep urself warm!

Jingles- I tot the baby fair is next Friday? Another one more week to go!

Vanessa- So shiok! Go shopping....manage to get any good deals? You also got pelvic pain? I just visited my doc yesterday....ask about the pelvic pain and sarcrum pain and she said that cos during pregnancy our ligaments are all loose so there is a tendancy that we will feel all the aches and pain. Her advice, don't walk too much and get as much bed rest as possible. We should only walk more during the last mth before delivery so that baby can slowly engage and that will help in delivery.

So happy to see my princess yesterday, finally she is in a good position and can see her clearly cos for the past few scans, she has been showing mummy and daddy her bumbum...only yesterday she was lying nicely and doc manage to get a nice shot of her. She is now 0.65kg at 24 weeks and doc said she is growing well ;)

mrs gui
:p kekekee yes...pardon me..my days just fast forward by a week

sacrum pain may be caused by the following reasons:
1) too much walking esp up/down stairs
2) wrong position while sleeping
one way of relieving it is to kneel on a couch, facing back of the couch, hands hugging the couch, and call hub to gently massage lower back, sacrum area. Bear in mind using finger tips to GENTLY massage and never the knuckles of the hand...it may help

vanessa
walking up/down the stairs, 2/3 flights ok. But if its in a form of exercise like vertical marathon, NO NO! Suppose to rest lei....if you wan you can do walking

So looks like the main cause for not choosing TMC is the parking space. Hmm..me and hubby dun drive, so this is nor a problem
hehe.. We are more scared of the bad traffic jam at TMC area during peak hrs.

I went for hospital tour last fri.. Mt A undergoing Reno. Quite dusty and noisy. Have to admit the Reno turn me off. Ward wise, both were equally big
due to mt A having reno, found overall environment in TMC more conducive.. So decide to choose TMC

jingles: still do the simple floor cleaning with the magic clean..cos if dun clean for whole week..the floor is very dusty..esp my boy likes to play on the floor.

Catherine: 2pk of NB diapers should be sufficient..hospital will give u the bal diapers to bring home

i chose TMC cos my gynae's clinic is there. Usually i go for 9am or 9am+ appt, park at the public carpark opp TMC, go for breakfast then for my checkup.
Mt. A's carpark lots actually limited too. My PD is there. In the beginning, we always parked in loading bay. Then subsequently, i tried to get 1st appt so still got carpark lots available.

Yup, one of the cause of pelvic pain is due to wrong sleeping position. Can try buying those long pillows to hug. V comfortable. In OG, they sell those long pillows that resembles pregnancy pillows. It's much cheaper... Only cost abt $15 after discount

seems like i am one hell of a lazy mummy...i really stop mopping/cleaning the floor once i got preggy and leave it totally to my helper. Though i still pack the house abit and do once a week cooking. But I do feel long time of standing infront of the stove my tummy felt a bit hot..and legs do get a little tired. So normally I will do quick quick dinners.

moscato
morning!

i love the tau sar piah near that carpark
YUMZ!

catherine
$15 for the pregnancy pillows!!! Its cheap lei!!! I think I should get it this weekend

re: Parking at TMC
They usually have valets to help u park..even though the parking sucks..but i still choose TMC..cos my #1 was delivered there..and my gynae clinic is nearer to TMC than Mt A

Zhu zhu: hehe. Looks like I dun need to buy anymore nb diapers Liao. But will be getting some cloth diapers to try out. Went to moo moo kow website Liao. Looks like their starter pack looks gd. Maybe will buy that

Jingles: same same lah. I also stop mopping the floor since I get PT helper. Haha.. Dun even sweep:p hehe.. Just do simple packing to make hse look neater. Engage cleaner 4.5 hrs every Sunday. If I need her to clean windows, not enuff time. Then I will iron my clothes to spare some time to clean up windows

i am choosing tmc coz its nearer my house n since i stayed there b4, i would stick to it. nearer for colleagues to visit also. dun like the nurse's service-so so only. the old nurse are not helpful one. young ones are better attitute. but well, its only 3 days n this is the last experiience...i noe i wun be going back again.

i will start my ml from 2 jan! a good start, ha.

catherine
kekeke...out of curiosity, what does your helper do hur?
mine
1) hang up my washed laundry
2) wash both toilets
3) clean surfaces/mop floor
4) iron clothes (normally consist of 5 dress shirts, 2 shirt, and 5 dresses)
5) making up my bed
i pay her a rate of $50 per week...how much does it cost for yours?

cloth diaper:
wow...if u use cloh diaper...muz change once bb is wet else they will cry due to discomfort. i had this problem previously. though cl was the one who washed the cloth diaper, i din like the idea of changing the cloth diaper and washing them often, kinda disrupt bb's sleep. worse was if bb poos. the liner may not effectively prevent the cloth diaper form soiling. once soiled, it become yellowish, hard to wash away. i will stick to disposable diapers.

jingles: Long Fatt tau sia piah har?..haha..i always help my colleagues to buy during my checkups..
I also go there for breakfast before my checkup.

jingle: how many hrs she does for you? local or? seems ex.

i din engage pt maid for 2 yrs ever since the good one left to go back to her home country.
but i wil restart in dec coz dh cannot take it liao, haha. poor him always mop floor at nite when the kids are sleeping n help do the handwashing...

1) wash both toilets
2) sweep and mop whole hse
3) iron 1 whole week of clothes
4) wipe my wooden furniture
5) clean the windows if extra time allows. Usually only got time to clean at most 2 room windows.

Also $50 per week.

jkids
hahahahaa seems like we are worrying about the same thing. That is my boss may prefer the temp staff and will not need me anymore when I am back from ML...though they are not able to sack us due to MOM law, but well they can always bring up 10001 things to say.....BUT WELL! i told myself...just go off for few months, and have a good bonding time with baby...what will be, will be. Too much wild speculation will not get us anywhere and do us any good either.

my helper normally she will do half a day about 4-5 hours...so far i find she is a gem. She is not local though.....not sure where she is from.

moscato
u eat tau sah piah for b/f? hmmm not too dry ah? normally i will not eat too much stuff before my routine test...i am just too worried that i will show some weird readings in my test again...

jingles: they have fried beehoon, noodles in the morning.
toast bread also have but takes a while for the uncle to make...so i usually eat beehoon.

Jkids: think no need to worry too much. Dun think company will sack pple cos of that. My company wun sack, at most give bad performance appraisal? Hehe.. I intend to take childcare leave right after my ML... After 4 mths leave, will take half day every day till I use up the childcare leave and some AL. Cos scared I suddenly go back work full time, my mother can't cope. For a start, work half day first

is ur baby v active everyday? cos mine like got pattern one, 2 days lazy baby (happy den kick abit here and there), 2 days active baby (kick like free one thruout the day)... not sure if this is normal anot... cos i get the impression that baby supp to be v active everyday as the pregnancy progresses.

hope im worrying for nothing. thanks! =)

yah..i sure kena a lousy appraisal, and no performance bonus also. i have a lousy boss who toks and thinks differently. in his mind he can't wait for me to go back to work after 2 mths, if not, he wouldnt even suggest this idea to me in the 1st place. but from his mouth, he would tell me "work should be the last thing on my mind". sucks big times. i thought male boss would be better but its not true!!!!

liquidskye: my baby quite active daily leh...quite consistant with the kicks. my gynae said do expect 10 kicks a day...did yours do that? i think u shd be worry if there is no kick a day at all. then u muz wake bb up so it will do the kicks!

catherine
v envious now...half day everyday ah .....i think if i do like this...my boss will tell me, i dont need to come already.....she cant live w/o an assistant :p wahahahahaha

liquidskye
errmm i think every bb differs..mine seems to be v active during rainy days. Not sure why. Maybe it enjoys the cool weather. Guess the best person to check will be with ur gynae lei..

moscato
got bee hoon! YUMZ YUMZ! I like to eat beehoon lei......now i am thinking of black carrot cake also :p...wat a greedy mummy!

My baby kicks v actively in every few hrs
abt 3 hrs interval. he will just keep kicking and moving around. Probably he's awake at that time. Other than that, most of time, he just move a little here and there. I assume he sleeping Liao. Hehe...

Jingles: Half day still come to work right? Hehe... Think company wun bother cos even if u work half day, ur workload is still the same as those who work 1 full day. Just that u got to complete in half day lor. Hehe...

Bee hoon is my favourite too. I ordered Packet vegetarian beehoon for lunch in later

has your boss tell u how many days u are given to train the temp staff? or how many days the temp will handover to u?

do u intend to list down wat is the list of work the temp muz do?

catherine
.............how i wish my place can order in food -.- then i dont need to walk down the flight of stairs..boo!

my boss will not see the same lo....she will think that why i always come in half day, like chalet. Previously she kept asking me to take my full 4 months and question me if its legal to take a partial ML, may sounds v nice at first, but knowing her pattern, better not take the full ML, cos when appraisal comes, thats when the crap from her will start lo.

jkids
HR has advised to bring in temp at least 2 weeks before my EDD...for me its not a tough job as I am working as an assistant (something like a secretary). The most important thing is to be able to handle my bosses' expectation which is something I cant list down and the list will never end......

haiz...i seem to worry alot about the handover &amp; temp issues over any other things else.... maybe its coz its the peak and i am away for a while... wat to do...i also dun wana...

jingles: my PT maid is from mymmar..$12/hr..min 4 hrs..

so for these 4 hrs, she will do these:
-iron clothings
-vaccum &amp; mop floor
-Clean the windows
-wash toilet
-misc like wash fans, clean the divider, clean the toy house, wipe the tables (these are not done every wk, so I will tell her wat to do each wk)

I was quite pissed with her over the wkend..duno is it pregnancy had reduce my tolerance level..she took the window keys to open the grills to wipe..then anyhow leave the key..i cannot find the key after she left..look high n low..finally saw it on the sofa..then she charge her hp at my plc..i am OK with it..but the worse if..after charging..she din off the switch..n never put the safety cover back oso..wao lao..if my boy go play with dat..then die lar..

liquidskye: bb also like us..somedays we are lazy to do anything oso..
i think 10 kicks a day is quite good lar..

towards the last stage..gynea will ask u to count the # of kicks..

jkids: if the co is determine to get rid of someone..they sure can find 1000 excuse for it..if that really happn after ur AL..then this co is not worth staying on..