(2012/01) Jan 2012

enjoy your trip Alicia!! envy envy!!

hkbaby: can get your hubby to do shopping for baby in U.S. baby stuff's soooo cheap there!!

Yes yes, Vanessa! Oredi compiled a shopping list still adding to it! Haha! US got so much things to buy! Plus w attractive exchange! They have baby r us, gap kids, osh gosh, etc! Apart fr tt still got my numerous bags request wonder how he's going to manage the luggage! Sure super overwt! any must buys u recommend?

Morning mommies!! TGIF!!! yippee!!

hkbaby: my sis in U.S. now, got her to buy California Baby's Calendular Cream as well as Desitin Cream. Not sure if she managed to get them cos she doesn't have mush time for shopping..haha..for baby clothes probably if ur hubby got chance to go to the baby gap outlets it'd be much cheaper.Carter's is also cheap there..or he can just go into Target or Walmart..got alot of baby stuff cheap cheap.. if he is up to it, can consider getting stroller there.. some of the models i saw is half the price of SG's..haizz..how i wish i were there now.. think i'll go mad shopping..hahaha
The exchange rate went up liao..a month or two ago was much cheaper...but nonetheless still cheap lah..

hkababy
if you are buying elec. products have to ensure that they can be used in spore after using the convertor.

vanessa
no envy la...we are having sales here also mar..and we do not need to go through the hassle of thinking how to carry all the heavy luggage back :p

jingles: our sales here is more expensive than their normal price there...hahaha.. yah the only problem is how to lug back all the stuff.. i sooo wanna get stroller from there..seriously almost half price leh..SG stuff are really overpriced!!

hkbaby: is your hb going over for biz trip? Maybe you can shop online 1st then ship to his US office? :p

if he is going to premium outlets for shopping, Osh Gosh is a good buy. I bought Osh Gosh rompers for US$2.99 and US$3.99 each. For Carter's in premium outlets, the prices same as what he can find in their outlets in town.

when i bought California Baby's Calendular cream and shampoo from US that time, cost abt the same as the SMH price here. But the exchange rate was abt 1.4 back then.

vanessa: in sg, the prices include "shipping charges".

btw LG playmats are a good buy though on the high side. You can find them in SMH BP. I have checked the pricing with my Korea colleague. It's much cheaper over there but with the shipping charges, it cost only slightly more here. Don't think about hand-carrying back cos the mat is abt 12kg each!

yeah, US is so much cheaper & has so much more variety.. stroller, carrier, car seat, breast pump, nursing accessories, cloth diapers, clothes, etc etc.. SG not very baby friendly..

i'm feeling abit down.. having to be stuck in SG.. so wanna get out of town..

jac
dont feel down la...u will instantly brighten up when u see bb's face in 3 months time

hmmmm wonder if there is anything that is call maternity disposal panty? it is different from normal disposals hur?

Good morning mommies! TGIF! Weekend is so near! Yipee!

Liquidskye- to answer your qn about the ginger cream, it is suppose to help ease the aches and pain and its heating effect help to relieve cramps. Can apply during pregnancy except the tummy area.

Medory- aiyo i not happening la....its cos i have difficulty to bend down to cut my toe nails...that's why bo bian have to go do pedicure. Anyway going to attend a wedding tomolo so might as well get the nails done ;)

This morning topic is all about shopping! I guess weekend is near and all of us are into the shopping mode le! So many things to buy for baby!
Those getting their stuff from US can buy more, as for us who are in SG, still can buy but buy wisely. Wait for baby fairs or year end sale. Still have to buy right even though it is more expensive!

Jingles- maternity disposable panty isit the one selling at TMC, one of the mommies posted the pic last week and cost bot $4/pc..the one with holes?
i bot the normal cotton ones from Watson. $3 for 5 pcs.

have you gals bot your maternity bra yet? I heard from a sales person to buy only when in 7-8 mths cos duno if ur boobs will still grow bigger so don't buy too early i heard.

Tks for all the advice, Vanessa, Jingles & Moscato. Is Desitin cream really much cheaper? Not familiar w California bb pdts? It's also diaper cream? Yes, he says will try to go premium outlet esp the big one w 220 stores at Woodbury NYC. Hav u ladies been there? Really worth traveling there? Read some recent travel reviews tt most things aren't cheap similar to store prices unless some public hols
will get him to attack the bb clothes esp Osh Gosh n gap kids, not getting strollers cos I have 1 peg Perego n 1 maclauren. How abt kids shoes? Is it also cheaper? Ya too bad exchange went back up abit but still cheaper than last time rate.

mrs gui
hmmm i also not sure lei..cos a friend of mine gave me a list and there stated disposal panty (maternity). so wondering if got any difference. Think this weekend I will go mothercare and ask the salesgirl there.
Regarding maternity bra, yes, the salesgirl there advise me to get it during my last trim. So now I will use on extensions first.

hkbaby
peg perego?? Is it piko III hur? cos we are intending to buy that model

carseats
not sure if anyone bot it already? Did you all buy the bassinet kind or sit up kind hur?

hkbaby: I'm not sure if Desitin cream is cheaper. In SMH BP, it's selling at $10 for 4oz. Let your hb knows so that he can compare the prices. my PD sold to me at $11 for 2oz last time. California baby has a wide range of pdts. Calendula cream can be used as diaper cream (very mild. More for maintenance. If really have nappy rash, Desitin is more effective), rashes, skin problems, etc. They have top to toe shampoo too.

I have only been to premium outlets in SFO, also with hundreds of stores. The one in NYC should be about the same ba. Check out their websites, they might have coupons for u to print out.

jingles: i didnt buy any infant car seat. i always carry my #1 cos i take lorry, cant put carseat. Only bought 1 when she is going 1 year old and i put it in my dad's car. So she is still not using carseat if travelling in lorry. :p

jingles
for #1, i bought a bucket car seat, which we used until 9m. then switched to a forward-facing car-seat. if you plan to have 2 kids or more, can just get a bucket seat for now. So that when #2 comes along, you will not have to squeeze 2 convertible seats (the sit-up kind that can be rear & front facing) in your back seat.

hkbaby
california baby products are good for sensitive skin. the cream is all-purpose. can use for diaper rash, eczema, insect bites, cuts, etc. Even mummies can use as moisturiser, body lotion.

echo
thanks for the pointers..ya after thinking through, i think a bucket seat is more practical as NB are v soft. Some relatives are trying to give me their preloved car seats and getting a little unhappy when I refuse to accept their offers....haiz...how come no one knows each preference differs.. -.-

moscato
hello pom pom moscato :p kekkekee.....ohhh i learn something new today...tat is lorry dont need car seats

jingles, i also can't decide whether to get the bucket car seat (i.e. maxi cosi) or the convertible care seat (i.e. britax).. but both cost abt the same leh.. ~$300-400.. so was thinking of going for the convertible car seat.. althou the bucket kind seems to be more comfortable for NB?

echo, y cannot squeeze 2 convertible car seats? very bulky compared to bucket + foward-facing huh?

i got a new nick..pom pom moscato..haa.
i think by law should put car seats but if we put, i cant sit already. Even i can squeeze, also not right cos there is no safety belt in the middle to hold the car seat.
With #2 coming, headache leh. Got to take public transport when going out liao.

hkbaby: Desitin is to prevent diaper rash and Amazon's selling for USD$2.99 per 4oz tube. So it's really much cheaper. California Bb's calendular cream is can be used for skin rashes/eczema or when baby scratch himself/hersels, can use the cream to relieve.

Mrs Gui: will get nursing bra during 3rd trimester..boobs may balloon during 3rd trimester..

jac
hmm i will go and look2 see2 this weekend...not sure which brand is good also...but i think we dont need to buy something too fanciful...some bucket seats seems to have alot of functions.

echo
i am just wondering la...how u fasten the bucket hur? belt over the bassinet hur?

Anyone bought/ is using Pigeon steriliser?

Saw 2 models at Taka member sale.
1) Pigeon Rapid Steam Sterilizer
- can keep bottle sterilizer up to 6 hrs (ie no need to find another container to keep after sterilizing)

2) Multi-function Sterilizer
- steriliser
- bottle warmer
- food warmer
BUT capacity smaller than Rapid cos can only hold 5 standard bottles...

Dilemma - cos 1st time mummy, dunno which is more practical...

Any advice??
Thaks!!

jac
convertible is about the same size as a FF seat. a bucket seat is smaller than a convertible. so with 2 kids, you can use 1 bucket + 1 FF, which will be less bulky than 2 convertibles. hope it makes sense.

jingles
i don't know about other models, but for the Britax that I used, the seatbelt went around and over the seat to secure it. but a bit leceh, cos have to remove the seatbelt every single time to remove baby. with my FF seat, the seatbelt secures the car seat from behind, and my girl is just secured with the 5-point harness. if i want to take her out, i just have to undo the 5-pt harness.

brands of car seats
i've used britax and maxi cosi and have no complaints about both. I feel that the material for the maxi-cosi is more comfortable than the britax, but maybe that's just for the models that i have.

lebebe, i'm using the rapid sterilizer. fast and easy to clean. can hold up to 6 wide-neck bottles.
It depends on whether u need a bottle & food warmer. I nearly bought separate bottle cum food warmer to heat up the unfinished milk. But in the end i only immersed the bottle in a cup of hot water cos my colleagues said no need to use a warmer. By the way, i'm referring to FM.
But if u are warming up EBM, maybe a warmer will be useful.

I never need to warm up food. my #1 not into those jar food. Even when i tried, i just immerse in a bowl of hot water.

moscato : IC, my gf even best - she used boiling water in stainless steel pot like our mother days for sterilizing and food/milk warming...

There's a point i even think if these gauge is necessary -esp with the price tag!! ;p

jingles - i bot a 2nd hand maxicosi cabriofix, which is supp to last til 9m, then after that will change to a FF seat. so if no2 comes along, i can have 1 big 1 small seat. if 2 FF seats, my backseat not enuff space to have 2 FF seats + 1 adult.

seems like maxicosi is a favourite here

Ok i will go and check it out over the weekend.
frankly i got to know this here...if not i thought a carseat can last from NB to a toddler...didnt know that there is this age category kind of thing for even car seat!

lebebe
yes, i think some mummies are still doing the traditional way. But what I am worried about is the large pot of water we will be boiling...when we are kanchiong still have a huge pot of boiling water..like v accident prone lei. Thats why i decided to buy a steriliser. Just to share

Jingles - which brand/model u buying /using? ;p

Gd thing abt electric steriliser is auto-cut off.. gd for absent-minded me!! ;p

lebebe
i bot Avent from OG last weekend, they are having 20% sales.
Now i am wondering do i need to buy a seperate bottle air rack? Or just leave the washed bottles in the steriliser for later use?

lol. i oso din know car seats got so many pattern... until i went to the taka fair then... me and hubby were like o_O ...

alot of my frens bot the type that can use from newborn to toddler... but i din like it... cos like too big for newborn... so im one of the "hiao" ones that will have 2 sets... but is personal pref la. =)

liquidskye
yes i will also buy seperate - basket for NB, FF for toddler. For me, its not of a hiao issue, its more to a safety issue. If the seat is much more fitting and secure, it will be much better, i guess

haha. yah. i meant my frens think i hiao. =P

btw, any one knows what e average price of those in ear thermometers and the "zap forehead" infra red thermometers?

i saw some spree in this forum, a braun in ear thermo cost ard $50~60... like qite worth it.

was told by friend that the 2 popular korean playmat brand is LG Prime and Parklon..LG Prime is more expensive than Parklon..
I saw a few shops selling LG Prime playmat.. expensive ley.. anyone know where can I get LG prime or parklon playmat at a lower price??
Don't dare to buy those "made in china" playmat.. haa scare it is full of toxin..

poseidon
kekekekeke - yes anything that is made from that country now scares me...cos u know la, alot of -ve stuff from that place. Now i buy clothes also must see made from where....cos NB skin is much more sensitive.

liquidskye
think it sells average about $80, as I ever bot one for my friend bb shower b4.

echo, which model did u get for the maxi cosi & britax? the britax u using is FF or convertible? actually i was thinking if #2 comes along & outgrows the bucket car seat after 9mths then means i'll have to get another FF for #2 as well, so will need 2 FF also..

Tks, Moscato, Echo n Vanessa for sharing abt the cream. I have tried Desitin it is v effective. Read in some parenting magazine tt Himalaya nappy rash cream also gd so may give it a try. Since price is so cheap for Desitin, will ask him to buy more. I intend to use more diapers this time. Where to find Desitin n California? At pharmacy there?

Jingles - mine was 2007 peg Perego p3. Still looking new. Think they have improved version now prob lighter cos mine is 7.5kg wo bb! Now I looked back it wld b better to get jus one lightwt brand instead of 2 strollers, easier to manage as bb grows n also some shops r really narrow.

Car seat - we chose to get just one Britax FF seat which can b used fr infant till I think 18kg. Do check out manufacturing date b4 buying. I was surprised to learn tt there is expiry date to all car seats on pdt websites when I tried to buy a 2nd hand one fr the forum. If I recalled correctly, it's abt safety improvements made on the car seats over the yrs. So expiry date is like covering the manufacturers' backside in case of accidents n claim.

hkbaby
yes i think now the version is about 4-5kg (if i never recall correctly). But i am v impress by its sturdiness and 1 touch open and close. Compared to combi, i will still be able to sling my bag on the handles. I am afraid if i buy combi, pram may topple lei...esp if i forget and hang something on it.

Hi Vanessa, Thanks! I've actually signed up for TMC childbirth course as the Mt A one is starting only in Nov and I scare by then I will be too big to want to move ard heheh..

natural vs c-section:
natural's healing is definitely faster than c-section.

whether the aftermath of episotomy is painful or not not only depend on your body and also your gynae's skills.
some people didn't feel the pain at all, while some had it for 2 weeks or so. u can always take painkiller after you delivered so u wun even feel the pain or sore.

if u dare not poo, can also buy from guardian the syrup that helps to soften the stool. breastfeeding mums can drink it, juz doublecheck with the pharmaist.

if u have gone thro natural birth, you would never want to go thro c-section.

today i went for checkup and gynae told me i could very likely go for natural (i have low placenta), so happy. bb's about 700+ now, normal.

food:
yes i agree that the 1st meal after delivery tasted the best!
) my appetite is currently only 80% returned. but once after delivery it will return back to 100% appetite.

Jingles - 4-5kg is more manageable or rather quite a common wt for stroller. It can recline, right? How much is it now? Can go for it! We also like its sturdiness. Others seem firmsy. Mine has a step pad behind so the elder one can also hav a standing ride if she is lazy to walk. But no cup holder or tray.

Car seat - think abt 6 yrs expiry in general. If buying second hand or using hand downs also look out for any worn out padding. Someone tried to sell me a new in box but kept too long. We took out the cover to wash n found the sponge disintegrated!

Jingles - 4-5kg is more manageable or rather quite a common wt for stroller. It can recline, right? How much is it now? Can go for it! We also like its sturdiness. Others seem firmsy. Mine has a step pad behind so the elder one can also hav a standing ride if she is lazy to walk. But no cup holder or tray.

Car seat - think abt 6 yrs expiry in general. If buying second hand or using hand downs also look out for any worn out padding. Someone tried to sell me a new in box but kept too long. We took out the cover to wash n found the sponge disintegrated!

hkbaby, which model did u get for ya britax car seat? din know there's such thing as expiry date for car seats! thks for highlighting!

jingles, which peg perego model u eying ah? tot all peg perego seems quite heavy.. i'm thinking of getting maclaren XT, but 2008 model to save some $$..

hkbaby
talking abt the step pad...yes i was v impressed cos when the sales girl step up on the pad, it did not even flip lo! and i think she is at least about 48kg???? yes, it is able to recline, i think if not wrong its about 53+ right now...about 540.
Yes, i also dont see any cup holder/tray....unless i miss seeing it :p

jac
i am eyeing on PP pliko 3. I think the weight compared to quinny, its lighter. Though i got to admit that its slightly heavier than combi/maclaren, but at least when i am muddle headed and i sling my bag on it, i will not be worried about the pram toppling! Also i find among all the prams i tried steering, it had good steering controls lo...i guess most imp, individual mummies must be comfy in using it. Afterall, we will be the one using it most often

jac
yes looks like tis is the one...not sure abt the weight lei..i tot i heard 4-5kg....but its sturdy lei...and they have the 1 button close/open i think it will be v conv when u bring bb out alone.