(2012/01) Jan 2012

Mrs Gui - I recalled it was when I washed w dettol or any antiseptic handwash. Thot I was handling bb so better use such soap but one of my hand was numb! So I minimized usage as in not wash w such soap every time or use sanitizer. Yup, I tried not to touch water too often unless necessary. This happened during confinement mth prob my body was weaker than others. But we really go thru alot during preg n delivery giving alot to bb sure our body is weak esp the 1st mth. This time must really recover well.

vanessa
i also love korean food lei

where is the best korean food you have eaten in spore? mine is Aunty Kim's at Thomson Road. v nice esp the pancake

wear pants lo..esp when you know the sessions have exercise lesson....

as in men's thinking on parenthood, pls bear in mind many of them will only zoom in after 3 months...they will think of bringing kids to east coast fly kite and all but they forgot abt night feeds n changing the poo2

medory
i also working in some god forsaken place. everyday i only have 1 chinese rice stall, malay stall, indian stall and noodles stall to choose from. Imagine for 5 yrs, same choice

Vanessa: Ya, I'll switch the air con tempature between 25 to 26 degrees also. To avoid catching a cold

I juz had kimchi stew! So appetizing!

I'm new here! My Edd is 24 Jan 2012, Hospital is Mt A and Gynae is Doc Adrian Woodworth. If its not too much trouble do add me k. Thanks!
Excited to be learning so many new things on preparing for motherhood!

Jingles - even for drinking water. Some say cannot drink water as it is cooling n will cause wind. So thru'out confinement suppose only can drink red date longan tea. This drink plus confinement fd makes our body heaty then also will have problem w going toilet! Aiyoh!

But I will follow those rules w reasons that sounds logical to me. Better recover properly than suffer later..

hkbaby
yes..tat is why most confinement food, if you order from tingkat, it will come with this lo...i love to drink the tea lei..super yummy!
Drink water also cannot ah...i tot only cold/ice water lei....hmm i think i will still drink plain warm water bah...later too much longan tea duno will have diabetes bo..plus confinement period we will not be able to move ard much lei....

Wah all mummies very active after lunch ahh! Reply very fast!

Confinement that time i think i will be queen liao...let hubby and mum do all the job le since i cannot touch water.

As for pre-natal class i encourage all 1st time mummies to attend and yes pls drag your hubby along so that they know what we go thru. We just watched a video on how a baby was delivered during the antenatal class and then my hubby know it is not an easy thing! The nurse very funny...told us if you want your hubby to cut the cord, gota let Doc know and no photo taking is allowed. My huuby said machem like ribbon cutting ceremony, cut liao still wana take pic haha!

I agree with Jingles, men view parenthood very differently from us. They always skip the night feeds and diaper changing part and zoom into bringin them out for outings and playing with them!

Vanessa- glad u enjoyed ur facial! As for pre-natal class, if just lecture, just wear normal clothes, unless they specify exercise, then better to be in more comfy outfit cos they may want you to move around or sit on the floor to do the exercises. But it is a very educational class for us mummies to attend cos we get to learn alot of things and information with one another!

re: confinement
I think sometimes it might be better to follow the rules..rather suffer for 1 mth than to regret for the rest of ur life..

previously i tahan for 2 wks b4 washing my hair..but every day or so I will use a towel to wipe my body..

during my previous confinement, i only drink milo n the red date tea..

but i still touch water like washing the breast pump n bb bottles..cos night feeding mar..i dun wna to wake my MIL up to do these for me

jingles: The best korean food i had was an authentic resturant at boat quay and another at far east square..cannot rem the name though! hahaha..

i totally agree with you on men's thinking on parenthood. They only think of what they can do with the kid when they are older..they forgot about the baby stage! *faint*

Adeline: You're making me droool!!! hahaha

Karcool: Welcome! yesh alot to learn about motherhood...i was just asking another mommy about antenatal class at Mt.Alvernia..did you sign up?

hkbaby: yah heard that cannot touch water at all..we can only drink logan+red date drink and not water at all. i like! hehe..better than plain tasting water..hehe//

Mrs Gui: Thanks! will keep that in mind for the classes

heard the video is quite scary..aiyo i scared i watch liao dun dare to give birth..hahaha

zhuzhu: wah really salute you leh..can tahan for 2 weeks without washing hair!! wah think i can only tahan 3 days max! i also think that not bathing very unhygenic leh..if we latch baby then hot and sweaty how?

vanessa
like wat zhu2 said, can use towel to dry wipe body...dont worry la...2 weeks is not very long. Sure you can tahan de...
hmmmmmmmmm now i feel like eating korean pancake :p

mrs gui: cannot apply the ginger cream now la. I applied after giving birth..after confinement or 1,2 mths later cos i find my tummy still there. My friend said she applied and she can fit into her bottoms so i tried.

vanessa: ya ya..fan is moving air and aircon is stagnant, that's y can use aircon.

can only drink longan tea during confinement and drink while it's still hot/ warm. Plain water got "air" so got to avoid. Not sure if becos of that, i got slight UTI after confinement.

My right hand fingers tends to get numb easily, e.g. when holding spoon, handrails in MRT. I think it's becos i touched water during #1 confinement. Wash bottles, pumps, shower bb. That's why i get a CL this time.

yawnz.. feel so sleepy after lunch..

hkbaby, sounds like u had a tough confinement.. did u had a c-sect or normal vaginal birth? coz was thinking if got episotomy during normal vaginal birth.. then will be quite jialat if heaty & got problem going toilet.. btw, breastfeeding makes u very thirsty.. so muz drink more plain water..

Wah got video showing the process of giving birth? Vanessa, I'll be like you. I worry i watch liao don't dare give birth also. Haha! Not to mention my hubby. He cfm won't watch. Can go for the class but skip watching the video or not ar?

jac
kekekeke no need to think...dont mean to frighten you but majority of asians will have the cut due to our size, to allow bb to go through. And what drs will always tell u, a good cut is better than a natural tear.

adeline
can..you will be able to skip as they will schedule and list down wat they gg to teach in class de..so you just dont go for that lo....

vanessa:i use the dry shampoo for 2 wks lor..b4 bf-ing bb..use a towel to clean urself 1st...2 wks will pass in a flash..then after 2 wks..i wash my hair alt days..and make sure i blow dry my hair.

jingles and zhuzhu: will try but seriously dunt think will tahan if the weather is too hot! hehe.. dry shampoo? where do u get that? and how does it work?

Adeline: think i will skip the video session..haha..dont wanna scare myself..haha

jingles, tats y i'm actually thinking whether to opt for elective c-sect.. a cut up there is better than a cut down there? dunno which one will heal faster.. if episotomy then got to eat stool softener? else wound down there might tear if got problem doing biz? btw, i watched the video liao.. tat'y wondering how best to get the baby out with minimal pain & fastest recovery time.. hahah..

vanessa
basically is just powder you put on your hair and comb through...think it will be better if you call some1 to do for you as i have a prob putting it on my scalp/hair :p

zhuzhu
can share how u dry wash ur hair the other time? cos when i did during my time, the powder all over the floor and like v messy lei.

jac
u watched the video liao ah? frightening and over realistic?
errmmm actually it depends, alot of mummies told me - natural birth, is pain now, c-sect, is pain later. So depends you wan to pain now or later..and good thing abt natural is after delivering, you can be up and walking already...c-sect most of the time you will still be in pain lying on bed.

Jac - mine is natural w epidural. Episotomy is usually done for most of us to avoid ugly tears. I was also scared abt going to poo w the healing wound so I asked gynae to prescribe stool softener tablets. Tt's the only thing i recalled terrible cos it took me 1hr to go 4 days af delivery. Had some piles af tt too. Otherwise, my confinement was actually ok! 1 mth of some uncomfort n pain is nothing compared to waiting to pop for 40wks! Haha! I was so happy enjoying my fd fr my 1st meal at mt A. Everything n anything tastes so yummy. Stomach was relieved of the pressure.

jac: I agree with jingles. I've a friend who went through c-sect coz baby is too big at 4kg. She was still in pain during baby shower and have difficulties walking and carrying baby.

Moscato- icic...so u apply on the tummy after giving birth. Now i'm using it for my backache and numbness of the hand, seem to work abit.

Seem like we have to kuai kuai adhere to the rules of confinement hor..or else later so many probs jialet le!

The video although its a very old one...but u an see how the baby come out from below. The angmo woman still look damn calm manz! Hmm... I see liao also abit scare of natural birth. My hubby still dare to say...or else call labour...must be painful one! But i think it is good to watch cos at least we know how the whole procedure is. Let us be prepared.

During confinement, only can drink logan and red date tea? I found a few receipe from the web, can also drink dang shen tea and i think i will try this....lemongrass with ginger and red dates tea! Or else for 30 days drink red dates with longan abit boring rite! Can alternate different drinks but all serving the same purpose...to "qu feng"

hkbaby
yes i heard.....alot of mummies after natural will be wolfing down the food after they push and push :p now i cannot imagine gg through labour w/o food lei.....
the strength comes from where siahhhh :p

vanessa & adeline, i think it's better to watch the video leh.. tat's wat u r paying for mah.. i mean go to prenatal class is to get a better sense of what u'll be going thro' & so that u can prepare yourself mentally for it mah.. btw, i'm also very scared of blood, pain, etc..

mrs gui
ur posting makes me smile la...
looks damn calm!
i think it may not be her first child.....
i think if its you or me we will be damn hysterical liao..
but i agree with you...better be aware of the procedure than duno wat we are gg to go through later.

hkbaby, so episotomy wound won't hurt at all? need to take any painkillers?

wonder if any mummies had both episotomy & c-sect b4? which one more painful & take longer to heal ah?

jac: i didn't take stool softener after delivery but i do have piles from the pushing. Takes quite a while to recover from that. Didn't have much problem doing biz but sitting down is uncomfortable. Tried sitting on a swimming float but not comfy too so i just put a cushion on chair/ sofa.

mrs gui: my mum and MIL added the dang shen with longan & red dates for the tea. Everything in..
i drink milo for breakfast though.

I agree with Jac- pay liao, just go watch it. At least you are mentally prepared. I think comparing contraction pain and episotomy, the later is nothing. The nurse told us they will cut when contractions is at the highest point, so we wun feel the pain at all! If u having epi, then shld not feel anything ba!

Jingles- I think by that time comes.....we will auto have the energy to push cos the baby will wana come out....sure u will push. But the nurse say cannot anyhow push..gota wait for nurse or doc advise then can push. We have to wait till we are 10cm dialiated then we are allowed to push. Then the dialiation depends...some take along time to dialiate then jialet liao! Aiyo imagine holding on the urge to push! haha i tink we will be screaming le and holding on to whatever we can when the contractions come. Thinking of it...already make my legs wobbly le!

Giving birth is so amazing and yet sounds so scary haha..

My mum also told me the episotomy is nothing compared to the contractions pain, won't feel a thing during that time..

Are most mummies going for epi?

X, wha! 4.15kg.. heaviest i've heard so far.. muz be tough carrying baby.. kudos.. my gynae was also saying that it's not true that c-sect takes longer to heal.. depends on the skill of the gynae.. sometimes tearing might take even longer to heal..

jingles & mrs gui, yeah.. during prenatal class got mention that cannot anyhow push one.. muz wait for the nurse/doc say push then can push.. else baby's head will start banging on your pelvic bone then get blue black on the head.. & your birth canal will swell & take longer to reach 10cm.. & your baby might come out too fast & not enough time to rotate to correct position.. etc etc.. not sure if i got all the info correct.. but basically is got to REN!!

anyway, got another 2-3mths more to go.. i'll worry abt this again when the time gets nearer.. sigh..

Jingles - enjoying fd for me then was more cos I dun enjoy them now not so much cos I used up my energy! ;)

Jac - we r given pain killers. So I guai guai took them when nurse came to give me and also when I went home. But I reduced the qty subsequently. Some moms r so brave never take any painkillers! Contraction of uterus is also painful. I dun recalled any pain when gynae did the episotomy or when go toilet. It's more a psychological thing worrying the wound will tear fr poo but it shldnt break so easily lah! In fact I felt tight as if doc has sewn it v securely!

there is another table update? where is the previous one?

anyway mine is below
edd : 12 jan
TMC with Dr Adrian Woodworth

i think i read somewhere in the archive that some mummies work in bugis area? me too.. maybe we can meet for lunch

ginger cream - i am using it to rub my backache only and not on the tummy.

hkbaby, thanks! so much more comforting.. was worried that the episotomy wound will also be very painful & take long to heal..

i think i'll juz leave it to the gynae to decide which is the best for me & baby when the time comes ba.. think too much also scared..

medory
yes, thats right i also heard that the pain will be so intense that compared to the cut, it will b nothing.
thru wat i gather, i think most of the mummies are afraid of the pain (me included!) so all of us will be opting for epi

jac
yes...another thing is also if gynae not in time to be there, and you start pushing, they cannot charge you for delivery fee by gynae liao...hahhaa so maybe thats why they will also call us to hold lo
dont worry too much la
no plan is the best plan...and wild speculations will not help either. The boat will goes the right path when it hits the right river...

jac: no need to worry so much. You won't feel the pain when the gynae cut you cos either u are on epidural or the contractions will be more painful. If u are not on epidural, the gynae will give u a jab before sewing up the cut.

But if you don't want episotomy, you have to tell your gynae.

Jingles- well said. Ya no point worrying at this point also, there is little that we can do. Till now I still duno if i want epi or not. Duno can last min then tell doc if i want.

Oh no...storm when we are knocking off, pls dun rain....i gng to do my pedicure later! Dun wana get caught in the rain manz! tomolo finally friday le..so happy!

mrs gui
we both KKH patients right?
dont worry through wat i heard, the nurse will come in every 10-15 mins to ask u if u wan epi...ask till u go crazy :p
kekekekeke

Jingles- ya KKH patient! Isit...then good....i will tahan until i cannot tahan then take haha!

Ok have a great evening ahead all mommies! Rest well and don't get caught in the rain! Cont'd tomolo! Bye bye!

jingles: well said..i think we won't even remember what's the plan in the labour ward

wow mrs gui so happening..i've been going less for my pedi n mani, miss my pretty nails..

mummies better bring a brolly, think the rain is going to be heavy

mrs gui/medory
yes...and as for the cut, if you happen to accept epi and still can feel the stitching while gynae stitch, pls do not hesitate to speak up...cos he will then apply another LA to ease the pain (from stitching)

wow here begins to rain cats and dawgs lo

jingles: I totally agree! even if we plan and plan, it may not go according to our plan..we will just improvise what is to be done depending on the situation!
so now just be a happy mommy!

raining le! be careful yah mommies! tok again tomorrow! have a good evening ya'all!

hello mummies! these 2 days have been mad crazy for me no more slack slack.
been reading on and off though hehe and i see that many informative things were being covered!

am going for my babymoon trip tomorrow whee! will talk to you all next week. have a good weekend ahead!

Have fun, Alicia! I drooling here made worse by hubby going away for 3 wks fr Sun to US, NYC n Budapest! Can't join

Jac - dun worry abt delivery. Just know the various options choose as u go along. If decided on epi, u really won't feel anything! I didn't at all, they tell me pushed I pushed more like simulating pushing n next moment bb in ur arms! U never know u mayb able to brave thru like my sil wanted c-sect ended up natural wo epi!!