(2012/01) Jan 2012

vanessa
kekekeke ya...esp for first time parents sure kanchiong de....n i find if can set up slightly earlier will prevent "3rd world war disaster"....see how bah...maybe i will call my dad over to help

6109188.jpg

Jingles- haha "3rd world war" ya better be early so at least anything we need we can still go buy! Cannot depend on hubby to buy....cos dun trust their taste..later buy back we dun like...we complain another "war" again! haha!
So you bot ur cap at mothercare too. How much u pay? I saw some nice ones but i find abit ex leh...wear awhile cannot wear le! Now i searching for a seller at the bp at forum, i think she sell quite nice caps too. I bot so many things from this bp forum le...my hubby everyday help me receive different package...he see liao also wana faint! haha..the wife can shop like siao w/o even going out! haha!

Ya at least now we know who gng to pop the earliest...seem ur princess is the jie jie here!

vanessa- ya i agree so i think mummies better go buy cos at least we know where to get them. U tell the daddies later they say so far la, what design and ask one hundred and one questions! Rather i go buy faster! hehe!

jingles: If you wan Ikea to help u deliver n assemble the items..have to pay for it..

delivery fee is either $50/$55 ..depending on the purchase amount..assembly charges is 6% of retail price..I know cos recently i bot the cupboards n beds from them..

jingles- nope...the one i saw the design plain white and there is a crown which is using those gliter to make one. Cannot remember where i saw...i'm now searching thru the bp site.

Btw...did you buy a diaper holder? Do you think its necessary? You going to do cloth diapering or just use disaposables?

mrs gui: i think what i will buy from mothercare are the bundled white / blue baby sets..those are quite worth it and like you say, the material's good. other than that, for normal wear, can look around ba

jac: i just went to the website to take a look..i got the "firm support nursing bra". i rarely wear t-shirts so i prefer more support
yup you can try before buying hehe..make sure you "bounce" around abit to confirm the support is good enough. dun jump though! lol. when i went spring (the vivo branch) i saw similar t-shirt bras too..around $30+..cant remember the exact price. but sizes at spring abit weird..they only have C cups, band size can vary. i am usually a a 34D. so in mothercare i bought 34D too, but 36C in spring. hope it helps!

vanessa: haha dun worry i am becoming aunty too! i dun usually bother but now every dollar matters yeah. especially when we all know that having a baby is quite expensive!

Mrs Gui: which BP forum for the caps? can share? thanks

ya..we buy faster if not they complain till the cows come home why we make them do shopping..they are clueless when it comes to shopping! at least for my hubby...hahahah :p

There was a table previously...
then dunno what happen.

EDD: 7 Jan 2012
Hospital: Mt Al
Gynae: Dr Cheng Jew Ping
Child order : #2

Great to hear everyone is busy preparing for bb arrival

Cyy - agreed totally w u! At tis stage, there r gd days n bad n we just hav to tong till the end. I personally can't wait to deliver at least everything is back to normal! I want my life back! Haha! I'm prob one selfish mom!

Had gastric since morning n thot will ease off n have a nice anniversary lunch w hubby.. Ended up merlion everything out after tt
luckily brought plastic bag out in time n not dirty his car.. So awful now still having aftermath some mild gastric pain.. Wasted nice fd n spoilt the mood.. So sian

Jingles - tks for compiling the list. My EDD is 30 Jan 2012 Hospital is Mt A, Gynae is Dr Vincent Lee.

zhuzhu
thanks for the info. think if i buy from ikea will get them to assemble over a weekend and just let hub to supervise

mrs gui
glitters?? is it glitter glue will come out or not? careful later get into princess eyes lei ..
i am just banking on disposals first lo..

alicia
u gg to buy the set from mothercare ah? intend to buy 0-3 months or NB size hur?

6109584.jpg

Vanessa- ya i'm going thru the bp trying to find the link. If cannot find let u know tomolo ok ;)
Same same my hubby also...aiyo ask him to choose the design...come bk sure I will complain haha! So i rather go buy myself. But these days he is trained to go grocery shopping, i think grocery wise still quite safe....baby stuff..i think mummy have better taste haha!

Alicia- so u are getting from mothercare as well? ya the baby set quite nice and quality is good.

Oh for mummies who want cheaper option, I manage to find a shop at Chinatown market that sells baby romper sets and new born clothes. I bot one set consisting of a top and bottom, one romper, one bib plus 1 pair of botties cost $29. According to the owner they are the supplier for baby clothes for some website. So its cheaper to get it from him than online. Do you all know that bossini has new born clothes too! Its those plain white long/short pants, 4 for $10. Those who are keen can go over to the chinatown market level 1 to check it out, the shop its at one corner where you come down from the escalator.

As for being aunty....aiya no choice one...once married and haf kids sure aunty one...cos as Alicia said..everything is expensive these days...gota find the best bargain to save cost!

hkbaby- take care...if the gastric still persist, drink alittle warm water...it may help to ease the pain cos i just had a very bad gastric pain last Fri too....didn't merlion but it was like contractions...so painful! So better take good care!

Jingles- im not too sure leh...tat's y wana go back to the link to see again! but i think quite ex also!..Need to find back the link first! Ya i'm worried that the gliter will fall off tat z y didn't order the last time i saw.
Ic.....i think I will use both disposables and cloth diapers concurrently....maybe nite time use disposables so can last longer. I think cloth is good to prevent diaper rash. Let's see how when bb is born!

Finally Monday is almost over...great chatting in this forum...time can pass real fast! So many things to share! Cont'd tomolo mommies! have a good evening ahead!

Mrs Gui: Thanks yah!
the chinatown market you're referring to is which one ah? the one near OG or the one near CK dept store?

hkbaby: take care yah! eat some warm comfort food..or drink plain milo? it helps for me

hkbaby: oh dear hope you are feeling better already..hugs! take care~!

mrs gui: yup planning to get 1 - 2 of those basic sets from mothercare. then for more colorful clothes, will look for alternatives. thanks for sharing on the chinatown market part hee!
and your day ended so early! i still have to wait till 6.30pm sian!

jingles: planning to buy 0 - 3 months..abit loose for 1st few weeks nevermind one la kekeke >_< if buy NB and cannot wear after 2 weeks i will sob!! lol. not cheap leh =p

alicia, thanks! was worried mothercare/spring don't allow us to try on the bras.. don't dare to buy bras from bp coz cutting of bras varies &amp; it's impt to get the right fit.. i'm also thinking of getting the bodysuit set (7pc bodysuit for $48.. reasonable?) from mothercare if i cant find any better deal at the baby fair.. the basic set u referring to is 8pc gift set (includes bib, mitt, hat, etc)?

jingles, the NB size is relle relle very tiny.. think suitable for first 2 weeks nia.. don't even know can last till 1 mth anot.. 0-3 mths will be better.. can use longer..

Babes, there is an earlier spreadsheet if u refer to earlier weeks
most of us migrated to fb to chat alr. Cos can share photos! Haha.

hihi, so long din login here cos we migrated

Anyway, here's a place for BB clothing :

Wholesale BB clothing at Bugis
Shen Kwang Trading Co
Blk 269 Queen Street #01-246 S(183269)
biz HR: 9am to 6pm, closed on sun n PH.

Eg: Pre pack BB clothing in pack of 6 (cant choose colour) - $12.
Found sold in pasar malam - 4 for $10.

Hope it helps

mrs gui
i did cloth diapering for my #1. Will continue for #2. I use disposables at night and when going out. bought bumwear diapers before, but thinking of buying from other brands now. which brand did you buy?

jac
i used prefolds at first and started using one-size after 6 months (when bb was 5kg). At about 1 year, switched to one-size and training pants. Then totally stopped using at 1.5y because the diaper was not enough to hold my girl's urine and kept leaking during naps. My girl was potty trained at 2.5y (except for naps). But this time around, I saw that there are other brands with one-size diapers that can be used from nb stage, so I will try those as well.

In total, I had approx
- 12 prefolds (nb size)
- 12 prefolds (large size)
- 6 one-size
- 6 training pants
- 12 inserts (but I didn't need to use all, because we use dryer at home and we did our laundry daily)

Morning Mommies! Nice weather to sleep in today...but too bad I guess most of us are at work..sloggin away!

Vanessa- the Chinatown market I'm talking about is the CK one, at level 1...there are many stores selling towels, nightgown, baby clothes. If you wana buy those front button night wear, can get from there also. I bought mine there....about $8/ set. Quite reasonable!

Jac &amp; Jingles- I think NB clothes no need to buy too many cos we also wun know how big our babies will be. And I heard some babies "balloon" very fast...so its best to big bigger size so can wear longer. I bot a few pieces of NB clothes, mostly 2 pcs and a few rompers from the Chinatown market.
I think baby fair won't have much selection of baby clothes, I don't remember seeing any during the last fair in June. Mostly they sell maternity and nursing wear. Baby clothes I think best go to departmental stores to buy, more selection.

lebebe- thanks for the info. I've been tryin to find this shop cos someone told me that bugis has a baby clothes wholeseller but i can't seem to find it. Thanks for giving us the address. By the way is there a great selection of clothes? Or just those basic types?

Echo- Yup...I plan to do that as well. Cloth in the morning and afternoon. And bedtime and outtings will be on disposables. I just received my babykicks one size. I got this deal from the website voucherwow.com and they had this promo, $25/set for both organic and 3G bbaykick cloth diaper with 1 insert. The material is pretty good but I'm not sure if its good for baby until i try it next year. It suits from NB to toddler, so It think its worth the $$$. Plan to get moo moo kow during the baby fair as well. I bot bumwear prefolds as well but did not get their cloth diaper cos I find it is a little ex. Thanks for letting us know the qty of prefolds and cloth diapers that you are using, at least let us estimate how much we may need. So you didn't use any inserts? Then the cloth diaper wun get wet meh? I mean wun the pee leak if there is no insert in the cloth diaper?

6112424.jpg

yes indeed it will be a great weather to snuggle.

alicia/jac
ya that's wat alot of ple told me also....NB will very fast outgrow but i bot 4 no. of clothes for NB lo...so at least for first few weeks if got visitor then bb will nicer with fitting clothes :p kkekekee

mrs gui
actually i am quite confuse...so what goes what first? for cloth diaper?
inserts - then cloth diaper - then bumwear?
wahhh then bb will wear alot of layers...

Morning Jingles- haha dun confuse. Bumwear is one of the brands of the cloth diaper. Insert is a layer of "cloth" that is placed inside the cloth diaper to absorb the pee. So baby only wear 2 layers. But actually it just one piece of cloth diaper cos the insert will be inside the diaper already. Some mummies can use prefolds to act as inserts as well. Prefolds are like nappy only we do not need to do "origami" with it. Hope that clarifies ;)

mrs gui
the diaper package from bumwear comes with 6 one-size + 12 inserts, because if you air-dry, the diaper can dry in 1 day but inserts may need 2 days. for me, because i used electric dryer, my inserts could be dried in 1 day, so I just kept using the same 6 inserts for the 6 diapers, did not need to use the extra inserts.

Dear Mommies,

Just to share a little tips in saving money.

Buy milk formula and diapers from those traditional chinese medical hall. I have compared and it's cheaper by 10%(example ntuc:$69 CMH: $61). I have been looking around and have found 1 located at hougang mall area beside the new Kangkar mall(only chinese medical hall found nearby the corner).

If you are worry about the orgin and shelve life of the formula i suggest comparing the manufacture code or date with those from NTUC? So far my sister whom has a toddler and been having formula bought from TCMH and so far ok.

So in order to save a little here and there I hope my info helps a bit

Baby Expo 2011
Admission: Public - Free Admission
Venue: Hall 5B
Time: 11 am to 9pm (Fri &amp; Sat), 11am to 8pm (Sun)
Organiser: Vivacious Media Pte Ltd

cyy
thanks for the info

mrs gui
thanks for the clearer picture....hmmm then i assume inserts are not disposable right? got to wash and all..then during jan period duno will be rainy bo....later cannot dry whole house will be full of inserts :p cos my house no dryer lei...

cyy,
About the milk powder, I think similar to milo, the price difference is because of the origins. I know for Enfa, the cheaper ones at medical hall origins from New Zealand. The NTUC one is from Netherlands. The thing is there is a difference in the taste. So if your baby is used to a certain taste, may not like the other version

Echo- oic...i get what you mean. That is the benefit of having a dryer. Well...i have to depend on nature dryer (Sunlight) That is why i plan to use the prefolds as inserts as well. In case the inserts don't dry still got back up!

Cyy-thanks for sharing the $ saving tip and the info on the baby fair!

Jingles- Nope..inserts gota wash also, but if you hse got direct sunlight, should dry quite fast! Provided gota wash everyday la! My hse also no dryer, so i plan to get more inserts or use prefolds as substitute. Back up plan will be the disposables liao!

hello mummies! what a sleepy and rainy day! end up coming to work at 12pm cos was just tooo tired lol.

anyways i will be going Bali for 4D3N this friday..1st babymoon trip hehe. any mummies been there before? anything to take note of when in Bali or anything to take note of when travelling? abit worried about the taking plane part hehe.

thank you!!

Hi Alicia- wah so shiok...came to work at 12pm! So good! I just had my lunch...aiyo super sleepy now! Still need to tahan till 5.15pm! ;(

Woo..Bali nice place. I went during my 1st trimester and basically i just go there to sleep and eat and nua in the villa cos was too tired to move around. Cos was preggie or else there are alot of things to do there, especially water sports. I guess since you are preggie, the only water spot you can do is swim in the pool!

I can recommend you some nice restaurants:

Cafe Wayan &amp; Bakery located in Ubud. Serve nice decent Indo food!
Recommendations: nasi campur, black rice pudding.

Café Degan opposite Metis restaurant in Jalan Petitenget
Address: Jalan Petitenget No. 9 in front of the pretentious Metis resto.

Recommendations: flourless chocolate cake with vanilla ice-cream,
bebek goring(fried duck) , tahu telor

If you like italian food...then can try ULTIMO Restaurant located along Jl Laksamana/Oberoi

I think for a relaxing trip...just go there to laze, eat, shop and sleep. Quite nice also.

Oh i bot a few dresses for my princess when i was there...although that time duno if i was having a girl or boy, i just buy the dresses cos they are so pretty and cheap! The sun dresses are so pretty...1 pc cost about SGD$4-$5. If you manage to go the the factory outlet, can get Oshkosh clothes for less than $10. Super cheap!!! My hubby had to stop me from buyin so many cos that time we did not know the gender yet!

Just a word of caution, try not to drink their water, buy bottled water to drink, just to be safe. Put on more sunblock cos its really hot! hehe...happy shopping and enjoy ur babymoon trip!

Alicia: Enjoy ur babymoon! So envious. Guess I'll be stuck in SIN until nxt yr coz my hubby doesn't want me to travel now

Mrs Gui: I knock of 5.15pm too! Haha. Wah u don't know gender can still buy ar? I went Bangkok when I was in the 1st trimester. Saw so many baby clothes. Nice and cheap somemore but yet bought nothing coz don't know gender. Regretted now coz I've a feeling my baby is a boy once I learnt about my pregnancy. And true enough, it's a boy! Should have bought when I was in Bangkok!

Adeline- oh you also 5.15pm cool! Quite early actually hor! What time you start work?

Aiyo how come never buy? Now wana travel out also abit hard. I wanted to go BKK but hubby forbids say cannot travel liao..tummy so big le. Anyway i think now go BKK also abit wasted, cos cannot walk too long need to rest more. These days shop in SG already very tiring le...not say BKK so many places to shop. Mummy shld trust ur gut feel. I'm so attracted to the dresses in Bali so took the risk to buy, heng is girl! If not I will just keep for #2! Ya i heard BKK baby clothes super cheap...what a waste not to buy!

alicia
enjoy your trip

mrs gui
never mind bah....never go overseas trip also can spend hubby bonding time in spore also

kekkekee i guess no one can beat me lei...i start work at 8am but normally i will be in office at 7plus liao

Mrs Gui: Thanks! will check out the stall at Chinatown market

cyy: Thanks for the info! will check out the medical hall when i go to hougang mall area. My colleague did tell me to get milk formula and diapers from medical halls and she recommended 1 in bukit panjang but too far for me. Hougang will be good! hehe!

Alicia: So good! going babymoon!
enjoy yourself yah!!

so most mommies are using the bumwear/cloth diapers instead of disposable diapers? So is bumwear the same as cloth diapers? i am still confused..hehe.. disposable diapers are more convenient but bb may have nappy rash right? so those bumwear won't have nappy rask at all? i see that there is a lot of washing to do for bumwear type of diapers

Jingles- Wah...u reach office so early? U stay near ur workplace?

Vanessa- Bumwear is a brand of cloth diapers. They have a shop over at United Square. Read that cloth diaper is better cos baby develop lesser diaper rash, I don't think it will completely prevent diaper rash, unless you keep changing the diapers. But cloth diaper allows the skin to "breath" therefore lesser chance of getting rash. But the downside is that we have to keep washing the diapers. Save more $ in the long run cos i just went NTUC to see the cost of diapers, super ex! Cloth diapers are expensive when you buy them at first but in the long run, I suppose it will save more $ and also more environmentally friendly!

Mrs Gui: I start work officially at 8.30am. But I always reach office at 8.50am. Hehe. Ya, end work at 5.15pm quite early but I like. Haha. If meeting friends after work then a bit sian coz gotta wait for them to knock off. So far among my friends, the earliest to knock off is 5.30pm. Difficult to find ppl who knock off at 5.15pm. What time u start work?

I think I feel baby's fingers scratching form within my stomach. So itchy!

mrs gui
i stay nearby la...but sometimes after b/f nothing much to do just start work earlier lo. No ple in the office also better, can zap my stuff then no monkeys will print out excess stuff while i am zapping and jam the printer -.-

ehh....actually cloth doesnt mean save $ lei...u use water to wash, energy to dry...also consider $$ lo...so...i think come into all these consideration, its the same but i do agree it reduces the possibility of rashes.

adeline
kekekkeke wah...u reach office late no one will point finger ah? if i do so, everyone will be radaring at me liao.....
sometimes i also feel like bb's legs or toes also stretching tummy at one point....make me quite uncomfy!

mrs gui: whao thanks for all the details!! :D yup my plan is to go there and nua and be like a stone hehe. wanna spend some quiet time with the hubby before baby pops
their factory outlets will be in seminyak? and noted about the water part..think i will skip their ice too. thanks sweets

adeline: your hubby means well la
actually our parents are quite skeptical about us going overseas now, but my hubby's friend's getting married in Bali this weekend so we took this as an excuse to go for a short getaway hehe! waa how come you and mrs gui end so early..envy! i end 6.30pm lor
but i start really late too..9.30pm. what time do you start? mrs gui you neh?

jingles &amp; vanessa: thanks dearies
will enjoy! but am getting abit paranoid about travelling. i was telling my hubby, what if got tsunami..i sure die lor cos i cannot run! and kena ignored by him hahaha.

Adeline- same same! me also start at 8.30am but i'm alittle better..i reach office latest at 845am haha! Ya agree...my frens all knock off at 6pm. So normally i will go shop ard while waiting for them!

haha so cute...baby scratching from inside ur tummy! Mine everyday do kickboxing and somersaults i tink! Can feel her kicking the whole afternoon!

Jingles- ya i do agree we are not really saving alot if you count in the time and water + electricity to wash those diapers, but if can help baby reduce or prevent rash i still think it is worth it!

So you go in office early to use the photocopier so no one can interupt your printing! Wah...u really hardworking!

Alicia- no prob! Cos i just went in June and i still have all the info on my comp! Yup..most of the factory outlets are located at Seminyak area, alot of shoppin to do there. Good go there to relax and spend some couple time tgt!

Oh i think i read somewhere about preggie ladies going thru the scanner at the airport. Heard it is not good for baby. Maybe u check with the officers there if can omit you from passing thru those scanners.

jingles: my office very slack one. almost half of the ppl will be late. 1 or 2 colleagues are even later than me! I'm one of the slack ones. Hehe. Reach 8.50am, wash cup, eat bfast until 9.30am, then msn and fb in between work hrs. LOL

Alicia: Both me and Mrs Gui start work at 8.30am

Mrs Gui: high five! Hehe. Ur princess very active! Mine also everyday kickboxing but thinks he likes to scratch recently. Haha